Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Old World Vacation Villa in Peter Bay. North shore beaches in both directions

Bedrooms 4
Space 8,000 sq ft
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 5 full bathrooms, sleeps 8, total AC, Pool, Beach

Amorosa Peter Bay is surrounded by St. John's National Park and located in the islands most desirable location. The fabulous north shore beaches at Peter Bay, Trunk Bay, Cinnamon Bay, Maho Bay, Francis Bay, Hawks Nest and more, are only a few moments drive in either direction. In fact, you can hike downhill to the Peter Bay Beach. Views from the villa stretch from Cinnamon Bay out to Jost Van Dyke and the BVI and out to Francis Bay and Tortola.

The design of Amorosa captures the old world splendor of a great Italian villa dating back hundreds of years. At the same time, all the modern conveniences blend in as well. The 14' waterfall between two ponds sits beneath the upper terrace and surrounds the 8 person outdoor bar and barbecue. The pool is surrounded by sun terrace and veranda. Be sure to view some photos of the many amenities.

Special Amenities: A/C all rooms. Hike to Peter Bay Beach. . Outdoor speakers at Pool and Bar. . WIFI reception. Satellite TV.

More Details

John and Vicky Daly
Member since: 1999
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About John and Vicky Daly

John and Vicky Daly are Veterinarians in Harrisonburg, Virginia. When not practicing medicine in the job they love, John and Vicky and daughter Aidan visit St John as often as possible.

John and Vicky Daly purchased this villa in 2006

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family just returned from a wonderful summer stay at Villa Amorosa. St. John is one of our favorite retreats for swimming, snorkeling, diving and exploring and we wanted to take our children and grandchildren, a six month old and a twenty four month old.

Villa Amorosa was truly lovely with a great layout, luxurious amenities and spectacular views. While I think it was designed to accommodate four couples offering maximum privacy with private balconies and outdoor showers, it was perfect for all of us. We felt very comfortable with the layout for our young family. (The oversized closets in the two bedrooms of the main house became our small nurseries with a crib in each.)

The central North Shore location made trips to the beaches easy and the pool was always a nice place to come home to in the evening and enjoy our amazing view.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1


Estate Peter Bay Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 8000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 2 showers
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , guest changing room
    Outdoors - outdoor shower
  • All bathrooms are elegantly finished in travertine marble and stone. There is also a convenient full bath and changing room with chair and dresser off the pool deck and great room for the convenience of visiting guests and their friends. Another outdoor shower for rinsing before or after massage table or swimming is at the outdoor bar.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 14' latex foam mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 14' latex foam mattress
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 14' latex foam mattress
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 14' latex foam mattress
  • All bedrooms are furnished with King Sized Beds of 14' latex foam. Hypoallergenic (including down alternative comforters) and very comfortable. Bedrooms have views to Cinnamon and Peter Bay, Jost Van Dyke's White Bay, and Tortola. All bedrooms are air conditioned with individual thermostats. Each bedroom suite has full bathroom with covered outdoor shower (one has indoor and outdoor) and a private balcony.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 15 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Old World Vacation Villa in Peter Bay. North shore beaches in both directions
average rating of 4.730769 based on 27 reviews

Post-Irma Jitters, but All Good!

  • 5 of 5

We had apprehension heading down and were not expecting everything at the villa to be perfect. We are seasoned St. John travelers and knew what happened to the island. We were more than pleasantly surprised. Cruz Bay was maybe not it's bustling self, but pretty darn close. Restaurants were all great. The villa either was spared the wrath of the storm or they quickly got it in ship-shape. Everything was clean and fresh. Pool was great. We even had internet, wifi and satellite TV.

Thanks for the great week!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amorosa is the pits!

  • 1 of 5

After staying at Amorosa for a week, I think I should advise future potential renters NOT to rent this home unless they see it in person, as we feel that the description from management is extremely deceptive and inaccurate. The pictures were obviously taken years ago. The home has been for sale for nine years, and it is apparent that the upkeep and maintenance has been sadly neglected. The house is not beach side,no walk to the beach. Here is just a sample of the problems that we noticed with the house Filthy although housekeeping was leaving when we arrived we still found items from other renters Most screens have holes/patches where they have attempted to repair Rugs in master bedroom are shredding The monogramed beach towels are shredding –the captain of the dive boat we rented kept making jokes about our towels and the “classy” place we must be staying at. Patio dining set – 3 chairs are broken, you can’t sit back Light fixtures throughout the property are broken and dirty with lights missing Exposed wires in electrical box at the front entrance Paint splashed all over the bedroom doors in Master bedroom Rubber seals on some doors are pulled out or hanging Many windows need replacement MAJOR ANT PROBLEM Steps near hammock are washed out and the pergola above is rotting with pieces that have fallen, the area around the hammock has not been cleaned or weeded in ages Light pole by the pool area is falling apart, broken light and leaning terribly, lounge area by this pole has obviously been overlooked in the cleaning process for some time, would not sit on the furniture. This is just a list off the top of my head At one time this house must have been magnificent, but unfortunately it has not been maintained and through our experience with management, they do not seem to care. The owner of the home is aware of the issues. He did offer to “buy a few hundred dollar gift certificate” to a restaurant, we thanked him but told him that we felt that we should advise future potential renters of the conditions instead. When we go on a family vacation, we expect to stay at a place that is at least as nice if not nicer than our own home. Our visit to St. John was enjoyable, our stay at Amorosa was the pits.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "We are always as humble and respectful as possible with our guests. This review is very difficult to read though because most of it is not true and all of it is exaggerated beyond anything reasonable. I spoke to these guests several times during their stay, they called our managers multiple times per day (who were very responsive) and our maintenance man went out many times, mostly for odd reasons. We have a very close and long-term relationship with our maintenance man and spend money right away when things come up. One complaint, however, was about ants on an "outdoor" terrace. Another complaint was that the artwork in the house was "outdated" (it's the same artwork as shown in the photos). They got the idea that Peter Bay Beach was closed just embedded in their mind, which was definitely not the case and we tried several times explaining this. I have no idea where they got the idea that the house is beachfront. It is in walking distance, not beach front. To top it all off, our property manager received a butt-dial voice message from the guests where we heard them laughing and saying how they would complain about everything possible until they got the trip for free. There are indeed about half a dozen small screen patches, but we are replacing all of the screens right now. When they say things like "Paint splashed all over the bedroom doors in Master bedroom" I have to assume that they are talking about a small speck somewhere because I have never seen what they are referring to and I believe that applies to the other comments as well. I don't like writing this sort of thing in response to a guest. I'd rather be completely complimentary, but the review is just so unfair that I have to defend the house and our wonderful staff. Thank you for reading!"
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Very nice property

  • 4 of 5

Spent a week with three adult children and their friends and significant others (29-35). There were 8 of us and the home was perfect for this size group. Four bedrooms, none of them really significantly worse than the others. All with private baths and balconies with views. Plenty of room inside or out for all of us to sit down to dinner, beautiful kitchen with large Viking fridge and Wolf oven and range. Great place to cook (one of our group is a chef), though light at night was a bit weak due to low wattage bulbs I assume. Plenty of space for lounging outside with 8 padded lounge chairs. View was wonderful, I could have spent all my time in the pool looking at the BVI's. 5 or 10 minute drive to Cinnamon beach, perhaps 15 to Trunk. Easy to get back and forth. Overall we had a truly wonderful time in this home, but there were a few issues renters should be aware of

"Wine room" not as advertised, no furniture. Not sure we would have done anything in there anyway, but not as advertised (not a big deal at all). All electricity is on timers, and AC shuts off after three hours in bedrooms unless you get up and turn the timer again. Have rented other homes in the Caribbean and never seen this. Wasn't a big deal, electricity is very expensive on St Johns. Mostly just interesting. Others have said that you could walk to the beach with your coffee - not quite accurate if you are a 65 y/o guy with a hip replacement. It is VERY STEEP to get down and up from the closest beach, fortunately my wife and two children went down there first and I didn't attempt this. Pool filter system didn't seem to work real well, water was not clear. Pool guy showed up at midweek unannounced and while it was a bit awkward to suddenly have this guy in the back yard, he at least did dump some chlorine in the pool. There were a few other very minor issues with the home but nothing major. My only real complaint is that there is no garbage pickup. You have to drive to a dumpster to get rid of the garbage (and none are particularly close) And if you don't take it when you leave, they "charge" you an additional $75. Not sure that a rental this nice and in this price range should charge you additional for this service.

To me these issues are really minor...this is a lovely place and my children have repeatedly told me it was the best week ever. I would recommend it without any reservations...just wanted to touch on the above small issues so others were aware.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the compliments and we're so glad that you enjoyed the villa. There is a minor misunderstanding about garbage pickup which I'd like to clarify. We do not charge for garbage pickup when you leave. Our maids take care of anything left at the house as part of the rental deal. There is a company that will charge to pick up garbage mid stay though if you want that additional service. I hope this helps and I hope we see you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Villa

  • 5 of 5

Island Stones provided our family with a wonderful week. Amazing views of the north shore of St. John and the BVI. The outdoor pool, bar, and patio area are wonderful for relaxing and taking in the sun. Most of our time was spent there taking in the stunning views. The kitchen, dining, and living area were perfect for our large group. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very private and well maintained. Outdoor showers took a little time to get used to but very enjoyable.

A few minor issues occurred, but responded to and remedied quickly by the management staff.

Overall, would recommend to others and would definitely return for vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Amorosa is beautiful and spacious! The views are stunning. We cooked and ate most of our meals on the veranda and loved it.

We also liked being so close to the beaches. You could literally be at Trunk Bay in 2 minutes!

I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Potomac Falls, VA

Beautiful property - Gorgeous views!

  • 5 of 5

We were 2 families visiting St. John for spring break week. Amarosa was just as the pictures showed - gorgeous view, well maintained, beautiful grounds. We have no complaints. It was perfect for our week vacation. The location is the best on the island, close to all the North Shore beaches yet conveniently close to town. St. John is a magical place and the villa takes full advantage of its surroundings. We are already dreaming up ways to make a return trip some day!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
St. Thomas STT
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Cinnamon Beach
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Cruz Bay
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
North Shore Road
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Cruz Bay
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Peter Bay Beach & Cinnamon & Trunk
Car: recommended

Amorosa Peter Bay is located right in the middle of perhaps the nicest of any Caribbean destinations. The National Park of St. John USVI covers over 2/3rds of the island and surrounds the property. Amorosa is also surrounded by many of the world's most fabulous white sand warm blue water beaches. Water sports are available at nearby Cinnamon Bay Beach. The Reef Bay trail to ancient petroglyphs, the ruins at Annaberg and Catherineberg, and Caneel Bay Resort are all nearby. Coral Bay is about a 15 minute car ride. Cruz Bay about ten minutes away offers many fine restaurants, duty free shops, and ferry connections to the BVI and St. Thomas.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $450 + Tax

Guests 2 years old and under are no charge.
Thanksgiving and Christmas rates are for up to 8 guests. Please inquire for additional guests.
We encourage Saturday turnover unless previously arranged. Please inquire via email if you desire a different arrival/departure date.
There is a 3% convenience fee for credit card/PayPal transactions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties