check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Joseph Walsh

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Immaculate Boothbay Region Waterfront Home Weekly Rentals

29 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Edgecomb House Rental Photos and Description

3-4 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 6 (summer rates based on 4)

Experience all that Summer or Fall in Maine offers! New Boothbay Peninsula custom cape with Sheepscot River frontage, fifteen minutes from Boothbay Harbor, Wiscasset (prettiest village in Maine) and Damariscotta. House offers air conditioning, wood burning fireplace, hardwood floors, granite kitchen counters and ceramic tiled baths. Area offers fine restaurants and beaches, great kayaking, and numerous whale watching, deep sea fishing and sight seeing excursion boats. Visit the renowned Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, or go antique hunting. Watch lobster boats haul traps in front of the property, or launch your kayak from the Association dock a short walk from the house and explore the Sheepscot.

Modern Luxury: This custom cape was built in the fall of 2006. As you enter the large foyer, to the left through French doors is the kitchen, dining and living area that opens to the spacious 14' x 22' deck. Right of the foyer is a large laundry room, and then a self contained bedroom / bath suite. Upstairs is the master bedroom/bath suite, a small bedroom and a third large bedroom/bath suite. Floor plans available.

Solitude Yet Close To Town: The house is accessed via either Mill Rd ( from Route 27) or Cross Point Rd (from Route 1), which are idyllic country roads with water vistas. The house sits on a 2 acre lot. No highway noise can be heard, and at night no lights are visible from the opposite shore. Peace and quiet are the norm at the house, yet it is only 15 minutes to Boothbay Harbor, Damariscotta or Wiscasset.

Designed To Please: The house design allows each of the 3 large bedrooms to be isolated from the rest of the house, with each having a private bathroom. Accordingly, the house is ideal for an extended family or 3 independent couples vacationing together. Multiple users can access the wireless Internet service simultaneously via laptops. Additional photos available on request.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Joseph Walsh (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Joseph Walsh

Joe first came to the Boothbay during his high school and college years, spending the summers of 1967-72 working at Burleigh Hill, a boys' sailing camp owned and operated by Joe's junior high school gym teacher and coach, Lester Rhoads. Burleigh Hill operated as a camp from 1955 to 1975, and was also a registered yacht club that each summer competed against other state and New England yacht clubs. After the camp ceased operations, Joe continued to vacation at the former camp property with his family (wife Marian and sons Colin and Pete) as a guest of the owner until the owner's death in 2000. In 2004, Joe and Marian purchased the Quarry Farm property that is about 4 miles away from Burleigh Hill and built the house in 2006. Joe and Marian practice law together with one other partner.

Joseph Walsh purchased this house in 2006

Why Joseph Walsh chose Boothbay Harbor Area

Joe has been associated with Boothbay since 1967 and has spent at least a part of each summer since then in the region. Joe introduced Marian to the region in 1985. When the former Burleigh Hill property was sold by the heir of Lester Rhoads in 2001, Joe and Marian continued to vacation in the region for several years, and then decided to buy their own property. Joe and Marian and the boys first viewed the Quarry Farm property on a bitterly cold January day, but everyone immediately said 'this is it'. Over the fireplace mantel, the Burleigh Hill Yacht Club Burgee continues to fly!

What makes this house unique

Some of the major factors that attracted the family to this property are its proximity to the major population centers of Boothbay Harbor, Wiscasset and Damariscotta, and yet the house enjoys an incredibly peaceful, quiet and idyllic setting overlooking the Sheepscot River with almost 180 degree views up and down the river from the property. At night, there are no lights to be seen across the river, as the opposite shore remains largely undeveloped. The night sky, with little ambient light, highlights the stars. The two roads that access the property from either Route 1 or Route 27 can also be truly described as scenic; the Mill Road winds and turns and offers views of river coves at two points, while the Cross Point Road runs along the Sheepscot River for most of its length. A stay at the property thus allows each day to begin and end in a very private and peaceful way, yet the day itself can be spent enjoying the many things to do and see in Mid Coast Maine.

Reviews

5
based on 29 traveler reviews

Immaculate Boothbay Region Waterfront Home Weekly Rentals
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
Temple, TX
5

Immmaculate Way Beyond Expectations

  • 5 of 5

This house is immaculate way beyond expectations. Owners have obviously lavished it with care. The linens, towels, and bedding were of good quality. Dishes, glassware and flatware were of excellent quality. The appliances were top of the line. The only negatives I would mention are the lack of ceiling fans, and no reading lamps or nightstands by the beds. We purchased a fan, large mixing bowl, potato peeler, and small lamps at the nearest Wal Mart. For those with the room in their vehicle, a crock pot would be nice. If you went on a trip each day, your meal would be ready when you return in the evening. Restaurants in the area we particularly enjoyed were Sarah's, Reds Eats, and Treats (excellent chicken pies that are available for take out along with soups, sandwiches, etc.) all in Wiscasset. We did not enjoy Bintliffs. In Bath, we particularly liked J.R. Maxwells on the main shopping street downtown. The owners were concerned about making the house comfortable and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet and beautiful vacation spot. Members of our party enjoyed Kayaking, Whale Watches, Botanical Gardens, Outlet Shopping, the many Lobster Pounds in the area and visiting Acadia National Park. The locals were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Owner will provide window fans for future guests, though generally evening temperatures quickly drop to comfortable levels, and house has over 50 large windows for ventilation. Night stands and additional lamps will be added in the near future (looking for suitable antique or custom made tables).
Did you find this review helpful?
33 3
5

Exceptionally Beautiful Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

I spent the week of July 2 - July 9, 2016 with my sister and her husband at this beautiful Edgecomb, Maine home.

I have never felt so comfortable and at peace while on vacation - and this home - hit the spot! Just sitting on the deck and "listening to the silence" was phenomenal. It became a daily routine in the morning and was just perfect. If you like privacy and peacefulness - this is the place to be.

The home itself is immaculately kept and spacious. It was a sheer pleasure to treat it like our own and we actually loved the daily upkeep while even on vacation. The amenities are plentiful from kitchen supplies to comfortable linens. While we were out early in the day and home late - it was just so nice to come home to this cozy house.

I love mid-coastal Maine and what it has to offer near and far. We visited Damariscotta - Pemaquid lighthouse and beach - Boothbay Harbor - The Shore Road - Porter Preserve ( a nice little hike along the shore line) - Popham Beach State Park - Bar Harbor - and the "cream of the crop" Acadia National Park where we enjoyed a picturesque hike through the trees and rocks enjoying the ocean views along the way. We tooled around back country roads taking in so many sights and snapping lot's of pictures.

We had some awesome dinners out. We went to "Ports of Italy" which my sister Theresa insisted that the food was the closest to dining in Italy that she ever had. Delicious - highly recommend it. We also went to Robinson's Wharf for some great seafood.

I myself did not communicate with the owner Joe but according to Theresa he was a pleasure to communicate with. Very professional ,detailed, and offered great information.

Would we come back - "You Bet"!! I can imagine it would be beautiful in the fall and winter too! A seasonable home to say the least! As I sit at my desk in work today - I wish I was back there. So refreshing!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome experience

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for us We are three couples over 60 who travel well together. The house was perfect because we each had our own suite with queen beds and our own bathrooms. The kitchen was well appointed, I personally love to cook and it was great. The location was peaceful and relaxing. A good base location to venture out and explore the area. The owners were most helpful in suggesting restaurants, places to visit and activities. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your little bit of heaven

Cheryl

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

House Beautiful in a Tranquil Waterfront Setting

  • 5 of 5

Without a doubt, this is the best place we have ever rented for our vacation! The home is lovely, gracious and furnished with beautiful and comfortable furniture. The kitchen was a wonderful place for several cooks to work together and well stocked with all the right pans, bowls and utensils and most of the spices we needed. The layout allowed everyone to enjoy the chefs, mill around, relax and laugh together. I am totally changing my plans for our kitchen remodel in 2016!

The location was excellent for day trips to Wiscasset, Bath, Damariscotta, Belfast and Boothbay. It was wonderful to come back, relax on the deck with a glass of wine and some cheese and let the peace and quiet permeate our souls. The stars at night were so close with no ambient light to spoil the show.

The room arrangement is excellent - giving two couples their own space and privacy. It would be a great house to bring family as more beds are available. There were great magazines and books to be found all over the house and provided us with interesting reading about Maine and other topics. A good selection of games is also available.

The house is spotless and very well-maintained. Bathrooms are lovely and the new washer and dryer were excellent. Linens were top quality and towels were just like home - not your usual scratchy rental towels!

The owner was extremely responsive - we never had to wait long for any communication. The listing information was accurate.

We strongly recommend this property, location and owner to anyone looking for a vacation in this area. You just won't believe how wonderful this house it!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Dallas, TX
5

great!!

  • 5 of 5

We were in the house for a week with another couple. We have rented many VRBOs, and this was probably the most comfortable. It was exceptionally clean and organized, very spacious (roomier than the pictures show), very well equipped. We would highly recommend this rental to couples or families.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
valhalla, new york
5

Immaculate is the perfect word!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just finished a week at this beautiful home. Every summer for the past 10 years we pick a new location to rent a house for our vacation. I can easily say this home has a top place on our list of favorites.

The home itself has everything you could need - fully stocked kitchen, spacious great room, comfortable bedrooms, spotless bathrooms, even a new washer and dryer.

The layout of the home was perfect for us. My three children were thrilled to have their own rooms (spaced far enough away from each other) with views of the water. In the morning we sat on the porch and had breakfast and in the evening we hung out in the great room playing board games and watching movies. My teenage daughter liked to venture down to the water and sit and read her book, my teenage son was relieved that the wifi signal was strong, while my 9 year old's favorite thing was probably the ping pong table in the basement.

Joe couldn't have been more accommodating and we relied on his suggestions for just about everything - day trips, beaches, restaurants - and we were happy we did. This was our first time to the Boothbay region (to Maine even) and having Joe's recommendations made planning our days that much easier.

I really liked the location of the house because we spent our days busy sightseeing and shopping and then we came home to a quiet house and felt away from it all, just what you want in a vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Portland
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US Route 1
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Car: necessary

Located on the Boothbay Peninsula in Edgecomb, the property is accessed by scenic country roads that follow the Sheepscot River and tidal coves. Centrally located to Boothbay Harbor, Wiscasset and Damariscotta in midcoast Maine. 35 minutes to the Bath/ Brunswick/ Freeport area, and Rockland, Rockport and Camden are all within an hour's drive. The house also has access to an Association dock from which kayaks can be launched. This is a fabulous area for kayaking. For Additional Photos Taken Throughout The Seasons And Floor Plans- Inquire for Website!

Other Activities: Private 47 Foot Sail Boat Charters - Contact Owner. Winery tours, kayak rentals, sight seeing boat tours and sailboat trips. Numerous lighthouses to visit in the mid coast area.

Golf: Boothbay Country Club-15 minutes. Bath-35 minutes. Camden Rockland Golf courses-one hour.

Ski: Camden Snow Bowl is 38 miles and one hour away. Sugarloaf and Sunday River Ski resorts are 135 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Edgecomb House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 11 2016 - Dec 31 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,095
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
off season
Jan 7 2017 - May 13 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
May 14 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
 
Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,095
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,480
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $160 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

Rate based on no more than 4 persons
During the primary season of June 18 - September 10, 2016 the rate is for a maximum of 4 persons. There is a $30.00 per person extra charge after the 4th person to a maximum of 8 persons. For the Off Season period and any other date not covered by a specified period rate, for each person in excess of 2, there is a $30 per day charge to a maximum of 8 persons. During the Off Season, a heating fuel charge of $12. per day applies. For 2017 Early Summer, the rte is based on four (4) persons, and there i an extra $30/day/person charge in excess of four persons. For Summer 2017, the rate is based on 4 persons, and there is n extra charge of $30/dy/person in excess of 4, to a maximum of 8 persons.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Edgecomb House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • River ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Pedestal sinks and ceramic tile
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms are large, with private baths, and numerous large windows afford westerly views of the Sheepscot River. There is a small 4th bedroom set up with bunk beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The house has 220 feet of tidal deep water river frontage, but presently there is no private dock. There is an association dock and wharf with seating that may be used and enjoyed. Guests may launch their own Kayaks or small craft that may be carried to and from the Association dock.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties