Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

A short walk from Loch Fleet, great location just outside Dornoch.

Bedrooms 2
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow


About the property

2 bedroom modern holiday home, open plan kitchen/dining/lounge.

This comfortable and fully equipped small cottage is located three miles from the historic market town of Dornoch, in a peaceful location yet within easy reach of Dornoch’s shops, eateries, award-winning beach and the Royal Dornoch Golf Course.

The small cottage has lovely views of the surrounding countryside and offers a quiet space in which to unwind and relax. There is a rear storage room which provides a secure location for bikes, golf and fishing equipment, and an enclosed garden where children can play safely.

The local hotel, one mile from the cottage, has a restaurant and bar, and Dunrobin Castle and Gardens is a 20 minute drive north.

The Loch Fleet Nature Reserve and Skelbo Wood are both within walking distance of the cottage. Seals are spotted regularly at low tide in the Nature Reserve, as well as osprey, and Skelbo Wood has a lovely walk with carved wooden animals and the remains of a 2000 year old broch. As well as walking in tranquil surroundings and wildlife watching, you can enjoy outdoor activities such as mountain biking, fishing and golfing.

In addition to Royal Dornoch other local golf courses include The Struie (also at Dornoch), Golspie, Brora, Tain, Strathpeffer, and Fortrose and Rosemarkie.

Accommodation & Facilities

Lounge/diner/kitchen: spacious, open-plan kitchen/dining/living room with dining table and patio door facing the sea.

Kitchen: fully fitted modern kitchen with electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, microwave oven, kettle, toaster.

Lounge: two settees, coffee table, flat panel TV, DVD and VHS, CD player, books and games.

Master bedroom: double bed, bedside cabinets, built in wardrobe, chest of drawers, hair dryer.

Twin bedroom: two single beds, bedside cabinet, single built in wardrobe.

Bathroom: bath with overhead electric shower, washing machine.

Bed linen, towels and electricity are included in the price. The holiday home is stocked with a starter supply of kitchen and bathroom supplies.

No smoking is permitted within the holiday home.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017


Highland Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bath with overhead electric shower, washing machine.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master bedroom: double bed, bedside cabinets, built in wardrobe, chest of drawers, hair dryer. Twin bedroom: two single beds, bedside cabinet, single built in wardrobe.
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
A short walk from Loch Fleet, great location just outside Dornoch.
average rating of 4.45 based on 20 reviews
Milano, Italy

Pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5

Nice small cottage, bright, warm, well equipped.

I loved the windows overlooking the countryside. Stunning sunsets.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Gael Holiday Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newtonmore, United Kingdom

Good holiday accommodation

  • 5 of 5

Return visitors to area and cottage. Cottage well equipped and clean. Ideally situated for sightseeing. Love the views from this cottage. Would visit cottage and use gael holiday homes again. Fair price for height of season.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Gael Holiday Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lyon, France

lovely place with beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful location with amazing views. The house is very well furnished with everything you need .Very nice indeed!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Gael Holiday Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Bowenfels, Australia


  • 4 of 5

Mostly as expected. Tttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.tttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Gael Holiday Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Walsall, United Kingdom

Brilliant little place

  • 5 of 5

It was clean which that what's mostly important when you have a 8 month old baby, well stocked kitchen. Beautiful location 20 mins walk from seal watching and about an 8 min drive from local town Dornoch which had a lovely little museum. It located 2 hours drive from John o groats which we took advantage of one of the days. It's also not far from Dunrobin castle overall it was an amazing week in a beautifully located cottage.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Gael Holiday Homes
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clydebank, United Kingdom

Love Dornoch but....

  • 2 of 5

We have been to Dornoch many times and love the area, however this time we were left very disappointed with the accommodation. The location was good and the views very nice but the cottage was a let down.

There was no welcome pack, not even a wee pint of milk, most places provide a little something, so arrive prepared.

There was absolutely no outside signs to welcome you in, no plants/flowers nothing at all; inside, the living area was sparse.

The two settees are well past their sell by date, very uncomfortable, getting out off them was a task in it's self. The curtains were stained and not very fresh. A bland unwelcoming room.

In the kitchen the fridge struggled to stay cool, never mind cold. Not sure if the appliances aren't well enough ventilated but the area around both the fridge and freezer was warm, and it wasn't warm outside.

We also found crumbs and chips under the oven door.

The bedding was lovely, fresh and clean but the pillows were as flat as pancakes. Between the settees and the pillows our backs and necks were sore the whole time - and we're not elderly. Bring a decent pillow.

There is no wifi, which wasn't clear to us. While this may be a massive plus for some, it could be a deal breaker for others. If you are visiting with children bring plenty books, and games as the supply there is woeful.

It wouldn't take much to make this place so much more welcoming, as the location is good; a bit of modernisation and some TLC is long overdue.

All in all very disappointing - there are better places for less (the same) money.

We left for home feeling very much like the accommodation - flat and tired.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Gael Holiday Homes
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are very shocked and saddened that you were so disappointed with our cottage. It clearly didn’t meet with your expectations, which is not the response we get from many guests who return year after year to us, and who are very happy with the cottage. So I would like to respond to each comment you have made. Welcome Pack- We do not say that we provide a welcome pack, and I can understand that you would have appreciated some milk , but it is not practical to leave fresh milk, as there may be a week before the property has guests by which time it would be past its sell by date No plants/flowers- The garden is kept simple because of its setting. There are some beautiful mature trees. It is a country garden. Living area sparse- the living space is small and so we try to keep furniture to a minimum. There is a coffee table between to sofas. We try not to detract from the view. Settees – I am sorry you found these uncomfortable – I will check them Curtains – Sadly the curtains were stained by coffee from a previous guest and have been dry cleaned twice. We plan to change them at the end of this season Oven door – I will have this checked by the cleaner Fridge- I will have the thermostat checked Pillows – I will provide more pillows Wifi – it is clear from the website that we do not have wifi. Games- there are some games in the sitting room , I will provide some more. I hope next time you visit the area – that you find somewhere that meets your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Follow the A9 north until you cross the Dornoch Firth Bridge. Continue north for approximately 1.5 miles (passing the A949 signposted to Dornoch) until you reach the Trentham Hotel. Take the right hand turn immediately opposite the hotel, onto a single track road. The cottage is one mile down this road on the left hand side.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Contractual booking deposit: 25.00% rent
  • Damage deposit: GBP50.00

You might like these similar properties