Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Private Mountain Home Close to Skiing and Winter Activities - Hot tub

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Located on 5 acres behind the gate in Old Timberline, Bear's Lair offers the privacy of a beautiful wooded setting 5 minutes from the slopes in winter, or scenic Spruce Island Lake in summer. This large, comfortable home has two large master suites with walk-in closets and private baths - one conveniently located on the first floor. The great room is a favorite gathering place with a huge stone fireplace and plenty of windows providing views of the woods and wildlife. Enjoy preparing hearty mountain breakfasts in the crowd sized well-equipped kitchen. The dining area will comfortably accommodate dinner for 12 around a huge carved oak table. Game room with pool table. Enjoy star studded nights and golden sunsets from the hot tub on the two-level deck. Exceptional natural beauty, comfort, and convenience make Bear's Lair a experience that you'll want to return to.

Karen Williams
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017


Old Timberline House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjoins master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjoins upstairs master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Adjacent to Bedrooms 3 and 4
    Half Bathroom - toilet , Located on first floor
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
The game room provides the opportunity for a game of pool while catching sports on the TV..


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
10% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private Mountain Home Close to Skiing and Winter Activities - Hot tub
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews

Great House, Bad experience with Mgt. Company

  • 3 of 5

While we were at the property we had an amazing time. The house is very spacious and very private. Some things in the home are out-dated, but easily overlooked based on the location and the size of the home. The hot tub, was a great amenity, however needed to be cleaned.

My negative reviews are from the management company. A little over a week after our checkout we were told that we left the property unclean, covered in animal feces, urine and vomit. We have rented several houses for trips like this, and have never ever had a problem. We did not leave the house dirty or with feces and vomit. It is unfortunately our word versus there’s as there is no proof on either party’s side of the condition of the house on check out. SO if you choose to rent this property my suggestions are to take before/after photos to have on record, so you do not run into this same problem. This was a huge shame, because we truly loved staying there and had already began discussing when we could go back to stay longer. I think we return to Canaan but definitely not though a timberland rental property.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anonymous, I am the representative of the management company who assisted you while we walked through the rental home situation. You are right, the rental home is absolutely lovely! However when you and your guests departed, our housekeeping team found dog pee and poop in the home, it smelled of urine from your stay and vomit was found on the carpet of one of the bedrooms. Our team dealt with you fairly and politely with all professionalism. When a guest departs, they agree to leave a home in good shape as it was when they arrived. You did not do that. I spoke to you over the phone about what we found. Your review is disingenuous. You did not represent the situation fairly. We value every one of our guests and do everything possible to provide a wonderful vacation. We only charged you the amount required to pay for carpet cleaning. We will continue to make sure all our guests are afforded an excellent stay and excellent customer service. We value our guests! But we also need to be sure our homes are cared for in a decent manner so that the next guest can have a fabulous stay as well! Thank you for your comments but I hope you will take the time to consider our responsibility to maintaining excellent homes for future guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Valley Forge, PA

A must rental!!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the Bear's Lair for a long weekend and we were so pleased with the accommodations. It was a great location in the gated community. The house was very secluded and had LOTS of privacy! We saw deer almost every morning.

Our daughters LOVED having the entire upstairs to themselves with the roomy 3 bedrooms. The house has a fantastic flow of rooms and a beautiful view from the master BR. It was very close to the grocery store, a few restaurants and attractions-Seneca Rocks and Spruce Knob. We would definitely recommend renting this secluded gem.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Northern VA

Could be better...disappointing since the hot tub was broken for our entire stay

  • 3 of 5

We have vacationed numerous times in the Timberline area and love the activities and the "get away from it all" feeling, bother winter and summer. We liked the house and location and setting. However, the kitchen is in need of updates, though it worked for us. The towels were very old and frayed and the house was a bit dusty - leaky sink in the powder room. Most of all, the hot tub was broken when we arrived and was still broken when we left. We called the realty company numerous times and got several different estimates of when repairs might happen - nothing changed. Though the realty company refunded the "hot tub fee" the money was not the main issue. The runaround with the realty company and the complete loss of the hot tub for the duration of our stay was the problem. We were very disappointed. Hot tub time is very important on our family getaways and if the hot tub was broken prior to our arrival we should have been notified. We will rent elsewhere next time.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1
Winfield, WV

wonderful property

  • 3 of 5

would definately stay here again....Canaan Valley is one of my very favorite places ever...used to have a place up there myself...the house if fully furnished....made great use of all the kitchen appliances and tub and outdoor fire pit were put to good use...used this as a girls getaway, my friend and her daughter along with my 13 yr old golden retriever had an amazing few days...

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: September 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Benfleet, Essex

Perfect... could not ask for more

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at Bears Lair. The house is extremely comfortable. We made great use of the Hottub, it was lovely to be able to relax and watch the Deer roam on the lawn. The Visitor Information centre in Davis were very helpful. We visited Blackwater Falls and Senaca Rocks and Caves which were great. We had a fun afternoon on the lake in the Canoe and spent plenty of time playing pool when the weather was not so good. We would certainly recommend this cabin and would love to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: July 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Satsuma, FL

Awsome visit

  • 5 of 5

I can't really express how impressed I was with my ski trip and stay at the Bear's Lair. First off, I arrived after a heavy snow, so the place was postcard perfect for winter adventures. Old Norman Rockwell himself could not have painted a more beautiful picture. Then walking into the entrance and seeing all the rustic construction and decor automatically sets the tone for a first rate experience. The pictures you see on this site are an excellent hint of what it looks like, but you have to be there with the occasional creaks of aged wood flooring under foot and the smell of fireplace smoke in the air. Every room is picture perfect with decor befitting a Bear's Lair motif. There's something for everyone, from small children up. There's a well appointed kitchen with pretty much everything you'll need.

After an excellent day of skiing at Timberline ski resort, which is only minutes away, the hot tub was a fantastic way to relax for a while. I had a lot of fun with my friends shooting pool in the billiards room, that was a nice addition! Then later watching a movie down in the "pit" next to a roaring fire in that hugh fireplace. That was awsome, and so was the entire visit. I was so impressed that I look forward to future trips to the Bear's Lair not just during the winter, but would like to check it out during some of the other seasons as well. Thank you for having me and hope to be back soon!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2011
  • Stayed: February 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Timberline Resort
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Canaan Valley Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 32
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Timberline Resort
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Timberline Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Canaan Valley, West Virginia - a lovely unspoiled area surrounded by mountains within minutes of two state parks. 3 1/2 hours from the DC metro area. Restful and restorative setting but lots of activities for outdoor sports enthusiasts.

Other Activities: kayaking


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Waiver Insurance $39
Hot tub fee $79.5
Pet Fee $60
Property Mgr Fee $86
Tax Rate 12.0%

Two nights or Holiday ... .... please call or email owner. MLK and Presidents Days holiday rate is $1275 plus taxes and fees.
Spring, Summer, Fall 4th night free and 2 night stays welcome.

Our vacation home is managed by a local property management company. Once you contact the owner she will provide contact info for the property manager who handles the booking process and anything you might need during your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties