Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lovely Sparrow Pond Cottage. Close to the beach and pool!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 6, enclosed sun porch with great view

You will love the new cottage look since we have updated inside and out. There are now two master bedrooms. One has a king bed, the second a queen bed and each has a flat screen TV with a built in DVD player. Our third bedroom has two twin beds and a flat screen TV. The great room invites all to enjoy the entertainment center or just the beautiful view of the subtropical forest out back. We’ve provided free Broadband internet with access to a secure wireless network. The sunroom has been enclosed with floor to ceiling windows to give a panoramic view of the outdoors. It’s not unusual to see a deer or two walk by!

Our new kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances is well equipped for your use. We also have a gas grill for outdoors cooking.

The stunning master bath has a claw foot tub, glass shower enclosure, skylights and a hand painted mural of the Vanderhorst plantation. There also is a second full bathroom. Our high standards of comfort also include plush new carpeting, mounted hair dryer and washer/dryer. The house is well insulated with a new roof, doors, decking and windows, Hunter Douglass honey comb shades and Hardi Plank siding.

Come on out and enjoy the wrap around deck. We’ve even left beach chairs for you to use!! There is a covered 3-car carport to keep your vehicle out of the sun/rain.

The beach is a three minute scenic stroll. You will pass the private neighborhood pool nestled in the trees. We’ll give you the code so you have access. The West Beach village shops, restaurants, tennis and golf are only a 2 minute walk from the cottage. The nearby Fresh Fields shopping area should have just about everything you might need for a week at the beach. Kiawah Island is a wonderful place. Come stay!

More Details

David & Joanne Bowers
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2017


West Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Resort
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , TV/DVD
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Lovely Sparrow Pond Cottage. Close to the beach and pool!
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 19 reviews

The house is beautiful, clean and well maintained!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay so much! Only 5 min walk to beach and Kiawah Island is beautiful! Lots of opportunity for biking and running and being active, but also excellent for relaxing!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kingsport, TN

Great vacation at a great property!

  • 4 of 5

The property was beautiful and well equipped for our vacation in Kiawah. The owners were beyond helpful. This was our first beach trip with a baby and JoAnne made me feel at ease by offering information as to what to expect when we got there along with things we did not need to bring because they were at the property in order to save room in our car. It is a very short drive to the beach. You could walk easily, but we didn't attempt it with a baby considering the stuff we had in tow. My only complaint was that the bedrooms were right off the main living area, so if my child was a light sleeper or someone needed to get away from the action of the house, there really isn't a place to do that. Had a great time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very lovely stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great fime in this unit on Kiawah! It is probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. Even the carpet was soft and comfortable and the glassed-in porch was amazing extra square footage. We would love to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointed; Feel like this cottage was misrepresented.

  • 2 of 5


1)Nice master bath- beautiful mural, nice tub and shower.

2) Very nice floor plan. Nice additional space/ view with enclosed sunroom.

3) Owners were professional, kind, and attentive.


1) Furniture- Not on par with rental price. Rattan sectional & sitting room chair/ottoman are pilled, stained and misshapen. Very dirty rusted metal/plastic patio furniture that could not have been cleaned for quite awhile, even given the natural Kiawah habitat. Nobody wanted to sit on these pieces of furniture. It gave the overall condo an uncomfortable feel. Condo feels as if it is stocked with used furniture like a college apartment might be.

2) The grill: GROSS, DISGUSTING. On the way in to Kiawah, we stopped at the market to purchase grill food items. We had to bake it all inside. What a disappointment! The grill is so dirty and rusted, we didn't want to touch it. Buy a new grill OR just don't state that you have a grill.

3) Outdated/misrepresented technology: Each room does indeed have a flat screen TV. They are actually computer screens in bedrooms(12- 18 inch maybe?) with exposed wires and cords. One didn't work at all. We had intermittent cable/internet problems all week (note:we are tech saavy).

4) Electrical: If notes are needed on every light, dimmer and fan switch, this might be an indication updating is needed. So many of the fans, dimmers, lights, etc. are inconsistent, despite following the sticker notes all over the switchplates. I cooked dinner several nights under flashing kitchen lights.

5) Kitchen items/utensils: There are updated appliances and granite countertops in the kitchen, but it stops there. There are TONS of mismatched pans and utensils, many dirty. Again, reminiscent of a college apartment. The first morning I pulled out a skillet to make eggs and found there were already eggs in this particular pan. Dishes look old, many mismatched cups/items. Kitchen needs a junk cleanout & an investment in updated key essentials (pizza cutter, wine glasses).

6) Master BR- Storage is a problem. Shabby old dresser (no handles) shoved in closet under the TV was the only place to store clothes , or the remote sides of closet to hang items. No room to store suitcases.

7) Misc: Broken lockbox, missing/broken gamepieces, washer makes black marks on clothing and on your sheets

This is a first negative VRBO experience for us. Feel it was misprepresented as newly renovated. Over priced relative to neighboring properties.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We strive to provide the best possible home and amenities for our guests to enjoy. This review is a rare exception. Everything starts clean, fresh, new and in place. We appreciate the efforts of most guests to maintain the cottage as they found it and the cleaning staff does an outstanding job. However, things happen. Perhaps someone threw out the pizza cutter in a pizza box, lost a puzzle piece, or forgot to return a cup they took to the beach. We replace items with remarkable frequency such as kitchen supplies, appliance items, linens, books, and puzzles each time we visit. We plan to replace the grill in August when we stay at our cottage. It is an ongoing process to maintain the best. The notes we leave are designed to help guests operate items that may be different than they may have in their homes. In our initial guest information letter, we ask guests to let us know if something isn’t right. We also follow up with a text upon their arrival. In this case, a simple note from our guest would have allowed us to let them know where to locate the kitchen light, how to operate flat screen TV’s with the built in DVD player, etc. We’ve had excellent feedback from nearly all of our guests over the years, both in online reviews and personal thank you notes. The number of repeat guests who love the place as we do speaks volumes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salisbury, North Carolina

Beautiful and very well kept!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is everything described and more! It is comfortably furnished with nice yet comfortable furniture. It is very baby/child friendly. Very clean and absolutely beautifully kept. We spent an entire week and felt like we were home every minute! The owners are fabulous to work with and are super responsive to your every need. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful, well-appointed cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, comfortable cottage with the feel and amenities of home, rather than a typical rental unit. The kitchen was very nicely stocked...and the beds and bed linens were very comfortable.

The layout is perfect for a family vacation. Sunroom is nice expansion of floor plan, offering quiet place to read a book overlooking the pretty natural setting.

We had a wonderful stay...and can't wait to rent again!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

West Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 25 2017 - May 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
Early Summer
May 6 2017 - May 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Peak Season
May 27 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 29 2017
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Security deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.5%

Weekly rentals required from May 27 to Aug 26, 2017. Saturday to Saturday rentals required during this period.
Check-in 4 pm. Check-out 10 am.
Add 12.5 % SC / local lodging taxes. Minimum stay is 4 nights in the off-season.
Holiday rates may be higher.
July 4 week = $2550.
Maximum occupancy is 6 people.
Rates subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties