check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Exclusive home within the walls of the Medina

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa

Overview


Details
Property
villa
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2

Description

El Mokhifa Villa Rental Photos and Description

Dar-Lek is in the centre of the ancient Medina in Fez; an oasis of calm set against the bustling alleys. This house is your private retreat within the old town of Sais. This traditional house has been has been lovingly and sympathetically restored to an exceptionally high standard. It sleeps 4 people in two double en-suite bedrooms. The house has a kitchen-ette which allows you to prepare your own snacks.

In addition it has a spa which comprises a private hammam (steam room) where you can relax and a dedicated massage room where, for a small additional fee, you can choose from one of our treatments .

When you stay in the house it is not just a vacation rental but a true Moroccan experience. The excellent service and the attention to detail making your holiday with us a memory to treasure forever.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Julie
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 9, 2016

Reviews

3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Exclusive home within the walls of the Medina
average rating of 3.0 based on 4 reviews
3

Great Location, staff, interior needs upgrade

  • 3 of 5

Spent five nights at Dar Lek. We loved the location in the old medina, near cafes, shops and restaurants. The staff (housekeeper and guide) were welcoming and extremely helpful. We appreciated the home baked pastries. The riad itself was extremely spacious and could be beautiful if better attention were paid to upgrading the furniture, rugs, and fixtures. The "kitchen" wasn't conducive enough for us to make a cup of tea!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, our staff try hard to make our guests feel at home and will make sure that I provide them with your feedback. We have tried to provide accommodation which is good value for money for travellers and as such keep our furnishings simple but functional. Our kitchen has a kettle, microwave, small induction hob and fridge; it is designed for our guests to prepare snacks rather than prepare full meals; this is because there are many opportunities nearby to eat out ......from high end restaurants to street food ......sampling genuine Moroccan food is one of the attractions of the Medina; I am sorry that our kitchen did not meet your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cockroaches galore. Filthy.

  • 1 of 5

The kitchen area and bathrooms were dirty. The 'cooker' was broken. Rubbish was not removed from our stay or from previous guests. The ground floor and disgusting hammam (also not working) were infested with cockroaches which jumped at us. There were cigarette ends on the floors throughout the property. The villa itself had some charm, but beware there are a lot of very steep stairs and every room felt unloved and neglected. The sunny roof terrace has great views, but needs shade to be of any use during the day. Overall, we would rather pay more and have the place maintained properly.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Let me apologies that Dar-Lek did not meet your expectations, it is a shame that you did not contact us during your stay (there is free wifi in the house) so that we had the opportunity to addressed your issues immediately. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and although we have not had any previous reports regarding the standard of cleaning, there is no excuse for the house being dirty, and so, following your comments we have regretfully let the cleaner “go”. We will be replacing her prior to our next guests arriving. We have checked the cooker since your departure and it is functioning, it is an induction hob (works through magnetism) you must have a ferrous pan on the hob for it to operate, we do explain this in the “Things you should know” literature which is emailed to you prior to your stay. We use induction technology for safety reasons so that it cannot be left on accidentally if there is no pan present. Regarding the Hammam ......I did email when you booked to explain that the steam generator in the hammam was malfunctioning; we did try hard to get this rectified (and in fact had workmen in the hammam up until an hour before you arrived) but unfortunately this was not possible; I’m sure that you will appreciate that mechanical failures do happen from time to time. On a more positive note ........we provided wine for you to enjoy with your evening meals as it is virtually impossible to purchase alcohol in Fez at this time (ie. the month of Ramadan), I do hope that this went some way to helping you to enjoy your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Fantastic place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely amazing place to stay, authentic Moroccan riad, could not recommend it highly enough!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Jolie riad

  • 3 of 5

Très jolie riad bcp de charme très propre mais accueil pas très chaleureux personne souriante .

Dommage déranger à deux fois part accès à la terrasse et le plombier plus le bruit des jeunes qui sont rester là moitié de la nuit devant notre porte à parler obliger de descendre à deux fois pour le dire de partir .

Sinon logement tout confort très agréable et échange de renseignements avec la propriétaire parfait .

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Fez
Car: not necessary

Rates & Availability

El Mokhifa Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$26
$180
$741
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Tax Rate 20.0%

The house is for your exclusive use ie. you will not share the house with other people during your stay.
To make it as economical as possible we charge accordingly for the number of people in your party.

One bedroom (up to 2 guests) - £25 per night
Two bedroom (up to 4 guests) - £45 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

El Mokhifa Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Downtown
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms are en-suite and have a shower. In addition there is a private hammam (steam room) on the ground floor. If you would like to use this then please ask our house manager for instructions on how to use the steam generator.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • There are 2 bedrooms each with a double bed. One is located on the first floor and the other on the top floor. Both bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms.
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties