expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Exclusive home within the walls of the Medina

El Mokhifa, Fes, Morocco
  • Villa
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay1 nights

3 bedroom house in the Medina with great views from terrace

Dar-Lek is in the centre of the ancient Medina in Fez; an oasis of calm set against the bustling alleys, we are a 2 minute walk from Bab R'Cif. This house is your private retreat within the old town of Sais. This traditional house has been has been lovingly and sympathetically restored to offer good value accommodation.

It sleeps a maximum of 6 people in three double bedrooms. Two of the bedrooms are en-suite with showers, there is an addition family bathroom with bath-tub on the ground floor. The house has a salon with a kitchen-ette which allows you to prepare your own snacks.

You should note that, as with all traditional houses in the medina, we have very steep stairs.



Member Since 2015
Response rate:
Response time:
within one day
Calendar last updated:
Apr 18, 2018


    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Kids Welcome


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
      • Bedroom 1
        1 double
      • Bedroom 2
        1 double
      • Bedroom 3
        1 double
      • There are 3 bedrooms each with a double bed. Two are located on the first floor and the Third on the top floor. Two bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with a shower.


      • 3 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, shower, This is en-suite for bedroom 1. It is a wetroom.
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, shower, This is en-suite for bedroom 2. It is a wet room.
      • Bathroom 3
        toilet, combination tub/shower, This bathroom is on the ground floor.
      • Two of the bathrooms are en-suite and have a shower. In addition there is a family bathroom on the ground floor with a bath-tub.

      Location Type

        • Downtown


            • Budget
            • Historic


                • Guests provide their own meals


                    • Air Conditioning
                      A single, large A/C unit is situated centrally and provides conditioned air to the whole house In addition we have fans available in the bedrooms for the summer months.
                    • Heating
                      Electric fires are available in each of the bedrooms for the winter months.
                    • Internet
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Towels Provided


                        • Kitchen
                          There is a small kitchenette at one end of the salon which allows you to prepare snacks. There is an additional kitchen available on the terrace with a small beer fridge.
                        • Microwave
                          A microwave is available
                        • Refrigerator
                          A normal size fridge is available in the kitchen-ette. In addition a small beer fridge is available on the terrace.
                        • Stove
                          A double hob is available. Please note that this is an INDUCTION hob, it uses magnetic technology and must be used with ferrous pans (which are provided). It must have a pan on the hob before it works


                            • Dining
                              Most people choose to eat on the terrace (especially in the summer months) however .....if you would prefer (or in bad weather) the table can be moved from the terrace into the salon.
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 4 people


                                • Deck / Patio
                                  There are wonderful views of the medina available from the terrace. A great place to spend the evening.


                                    • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                    • limited accessibility
                                      This property is not suitable for wheelchairs. As with all properties in the medina the stairs are steep.
                                    • smoking allowed
                                      Smoking only allowed on terrace


                                        • ruins

                                          Leisure Activities

                                            • horseback riding
                                            • sight seeing
                                            • walking

                                              House Rules

                                              Check-in: 2:00 PM

                                              Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                              Cancellation Policy

                                              100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                              5 Reviews


                                              Latest reviews

                                              Fes Medina , 19 Gzira

                                              terry k.

                                              WE enjoyed our stay at the house in the Fes Medina, "street" number 19 Gzira.

                                              It was quite large, quiet, easy to find once one is led to the front door, has

                                              all necessary equipment, and the couple to guide and clean are good.

                                              IT could use a few lamp-the 2 on-site have improper plugs.

                                              It is quite an experience, living within the Medina.

                                              terry kita

                                              Great Location, staff, interior needs upgrade

                                              Sheri T.

                                              Spent five nights at Dar Lek. We loved the location in the old medina, near cafes, shops and restaurants. The staff (housekeeper and guide) were welcoming and extremely helpful. We appreciated the home baked pastries. The riad itself was extremely spacious and could be beautiful if better attention were paid to upgrading the furniture, rugs, and fixtures. The "kitchen" wasn't conducive enough for us to make a cup of tea!

                                              Owner's Response:

                                              Thank you for your review, our staff try hard to make our guests feel at home and will make sure that I provide them with your feedback.

                                              We have tried to provide accommodation which is good value for money for travellers and as such keep our furnishings simple but functional. Our kitchen has a kettle, microwave, small induction hob and fridge; it is designed for our guests to prepare snacks rather than prepare full meals; this is because there are many opportunities nearby to eat out ......from high end restaurants to street food ......sampling genuine Moroccan food is one of the attractions of the Medina; I am sorry that our kitchen did not meet your expectations.

                                              Cockroaches galore. Filthy.

                                              peter h.

                                              The kitchen area and bathrooms were dirty. The 'cooker' was broken. Rubbish was not removed from our stay or from previous guests. The ground floor and disgusting hammam (also not working) were infested with cockroaches which jumped at us. There were cigarette ends on the floors throughout the property. The villa itself had some charm, but beware there are a lot of very steep stairs and every room felt unloved and neglected. The sunny roof terrace has great views, but needs shade to be of any use during the day. Overall, we would rather pay more and have the place maintained properly.

                                              Owner's Response:

                                              Let me apologies that Dar-Lek did not meet your expectations, it is a shame that you did not contact us during your stay (there is free wifi in the house) so that we had the opportunity to addressed your issues immediately. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and although we have not had any previous reports regarding the standard of cleaning, there is no excuse for the house being dirty, and so, following your comments we have regretfully let the cleaner “go”. We will be replacing her prior to our next guests arriving.

                                              We have checked the cooker since your departure and it is functioning, it is an induction hob (works through magnetism) you must have a ferrous pan on the hob for it to operate, we do explain this in the “Things you should know” literature which is emailed to you prior to your stay. We use induction technology for safety reasons so that it cannot be left on accidentally if there is no pan present.

                                              Regarding the Hammam ......I did email when you booked to explain that the steam generator in the hammam was malfunctioning; we did try hard to get this rectified (and in fact had workmen in the hammam up until an hour before you arrived) but unfortunately this was not possible; I’m sure that you will appreciate that mechanical failures do happen from time to time.

                                              On a more positive note ........we provided wine for you to enjoy with your evening meals as it is virtually impossible to purchase alcohol in Fez at this time (ie. the month of Ramadan), I do hope that this went some way to helping you to enjoy your stay with us.

                                              Fantastic place to stay!

                                              Laurie G.

                                              Absolutely amazing place to stay, authentic Moroccan riad, could not recommend it highly enough!

                                              Jolie riad

                                              anne b.Nantes

                                              Très jolie riad bcp de charme très propre mais accueil pas très chaleureux personne souriante .

                                              Dommage déranger à deux fois part accès à la terrasse et le plombier plus le bruit des jeunes qui sont rester là moitié de la nuit devant notre porte à parler obliger de descendre à deux fois pour le dire de partir .

                                              Sinon logement tout confort très agréable et échange de renseignements avec la propriétaire parfait .


                                              El Mokhifa, Fes, Morocco

                                              Rates & Availability

                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                              Additional Guest Fee

                                              The house is for your exclusive use ie. you will not share the house with other people during your stay. To make it as economical as possible we charge accordingly for the number of people in your party. One bedroom (up to 2 guests) - £25 per night Two bedroom (up to 4 guests) - £45 per night

                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                              Instant Confirmation
                                              For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                              Property # 1771133