Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautifully furnished apartment with roof terrace

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 175 m²
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Top floor apartment in prime location between city centre and main tourist zone

Originally occupied by the family who owned the historic Savoy Hotel before selling to developers prior to its demolition, this apartment is full of period furniture, paintings and prints that take you back to the "original" Madeira - you can just feel the history! Spacious three-bedroom accommodation with three balconies and two bathrooms, plus access to a huge roof terrace with views through 360 degrees from the ocean to the south to the mountains inland. The location is one of the best, with Funchal city centre being a gentle 10-15 minute stroll or two minutes by taxi or high-frequency bus. Being slightly to the west of the bay of Funchal, the microclimate here is much sunnier than central Funchal – in the opposite direction a ten-minute walk takes you to the main tourist zone where most of the large hotels are located. The actual location is very private, with an excellent small local café beneath the exclusive four-storey development. Being on the top floor there are no neighbours above, so the apartment is very quiet with views from every window.

In the immediate vicinity there are lots of local cafes, shops and even a couple of English style “pubs”, whilst there are restaurants to cater for every taste. There is cable television and free high-speed Wi-Fi is available throughout the apartment. A space in the private car park is allocated for guests who hire a car.

NOTE: In September 2015 the cable connection to this apartment was upgraded to super-fast 100Mbps (sufficient for streaming live TV on laptops and tablets/iPads) and the number of cable channels increased to 129.

NOTE: As of Autumn 2017 construction work is taking place to the south/south east of the apartment - some views can be disrupted by cranes.

More Details

Property Manager
Madeira Island Direct
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2017

Amenities

São Martinho Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 175 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 double , With private balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Shares private balcony with bedroom 3
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Shares private balcony with bedroom 2
  • Master bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Beautifully furnished apartment with roof terrace
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 24 reviews
5

Great value for 6 people

  • 5 of 5

Like others we have been contacted by the manager of the apartment and asked to submit an impartial review. I have given it five stars, not because it is perfect - which it isn't - but simply because it is great value! When you book for a week it works out at just over seventy pounds per night - that's twelve per person. Taking this into account it doesn't really matter that the fixtures and fittings are not brand new. It was however, well prepared and perfectly clean. Manager most helpful and photos accurate.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We cannot argue with your logic. The apartment is really good value for a larger party - and there is plenty of space.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent spacious value for money

  • 4 of 5

Like the previous guest the owner asked us to respond to an adverse review. We found the apartment spacious and very good value - at that price it is not going to be perfect. No idea why somebody should be upset - were the expecting a five-star hotel! Get real!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Brilliant value with character

  • 5 of 5

We have been contacted by the manager of this apartment and asked to leave a review to reflect our stay in the apartment in the light of a review that has just been left. Having just read this, I do not recognise where they are coming from. No TV channels in English - don't they know how to change channels on the cable box rather than just on the TV? Cleanliness - was absolutely fine - it is older, with character, so it is not going to be antiseptically clean. Great views, although the far left is being slightly diminished by the new hotel. No noise as far as we were aware. Management very helpful.

Finally, it is very, very, cheap for somewhere so large so near the middle of Funchal. We have recommended it friends since we returned.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

Not up to expectations

  • 1 of 5

We expected to rent clean, reasonably maintained, quiet apartment with nice view. What we found was:

-musty smell on arrival

-apartment view spoiled by building site with cranes and with constant intrusive noise

-instead of elegant sitting room, disgustingly stained sofas and chairs

-towels severely worn out with stains, one had blood stains

-blankets were stained

-in both bathrooms walls' tiles were pealing, shower cubicle was blocked, shower curtain filthy, towel ring hanging off the wall, water trickled from shower heads because they were full of limescale

-sink taps in small bathroom had to be manhandled every time to open and close

-boiler in the kitchen sounded like plane taking off

-electric sockets and switches unsafe

-fridge door had insulation on view

-washing machine rusty and dirty

- only 1 table lamp worked

-tea towels had holes in them and were stained

-cutlery needed good wash

-live cockroach on kitchen worktop

-my slippers, which were clean on arrival, had black soles because floor was not clean

-out of 129channels as advertised, none had news in English

-noisy music from the bar/hotel went on every night

It seems that apartment has not been updated and properly maintained for 40 years or so.

We decided to leave after 2nights.

We documented all the above problems and respective pictures and videos are going to be sent to HomeAway.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a completely inaccurate review, containing several 100% inaccuracies, written with the sole intention of obtaining a refund in today's complaint culture. The problem started before they arrived, with requests for anti-allergy pillows and sheets being replaced with new duvets. It became clear as soon as they arrived exactly what their intention was, as they "built" "evidence" including staged photos, and we offered to give them a 100% refund on day 2 provided they left immediately. They declined this, stayed on, reversed their credit card payment, and then wrote this review. HomeAway have been contacted and hopefully will remove this soon as a the complete fabrication that it is. We have contacted previous guests who had not written reviews and asked them to re-balance the perspective. Hopefully some of them will write factual and truthful accounts!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
3

Bring ear plugs!

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is well situated for local shops and restaurants and it is an easy walk into town, although being on a busy road junction there is a lot of traffic noise. Several nights a week a nearby bar has a singer with an amplifier until 11.00 pm. Unfortunately the lovely sea view was broken up by the six giant cranes working on the New Savoy Hotel opposite; far from being nearly finished, building is due to continue until 2018 and work starts promptly at 8.00 am six days a week. We still enjoyed our holiday but feel that future guests would want to be aware of these things.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. The issue with the loud music is being addressed - you can call the police here for any unreasonable noise after 10.00pm. The work on the hotel continues but is not as noisy as it was when the site was being prepared and foundations constructed. The cranes only impact on the view towards Funchal as the new hotel is east of the apartment. The price for the apartment has been adjusted to be even more competitive whilst construction is going on nearby.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice apartment

  • 4 of 5

We loved the apartment. The manager was very helpful. Two of the three bedrooms were a little noisy, though. They faced the bar a block or so away which broadcasted music until late in the night. We were told later the bar was not allowed to broadcast music after 10 PM so we should have complained.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately your stay coincided with the annual festival in Sao Martinho - the district where the apartment is located - celebrating their patron saint. The festival is always most evident on the weekend nearest the 11th of November, and is always an excuse for the locals to stay up all night, set off fireworks and generally party. We recommend that people avoid this weekend and will try to remember to withdraw the availability for that week in future years. There will also obviously be a late night on New Year's Eve. Sorry for the disturbance - you are correct - the police can be called after 10.00pm - and do attend. Otherwise we are pleased you enjoyed you stay - it is a lovely apartment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Kilometres
Madeira
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Numerous
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Palheiro Golf
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Via Rapida
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Numerous
Nearest Beach
4 Kilometres
Praia Formosa

Photos

Rates & Availability

São Martinho Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 12 2017
5 night minimum stay
$64
$348
$1,064
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 13 2017 - Sep 24 2017
5 night minimum stay
$70
$401
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $9 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers