Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fantastic Pet-Friendly Log Cabin Close to Skiing

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms plus den, 2 full baths, 1 half bath, sleeps 10

+++++APRIL SPECIAL+++++

RENT ONE WEEKEND NIGHT, GET ALL SUBSEQUENT NIGHTS AT 50% OFF. MESSAGE ME TO BOOK!

The Lazy Dog Cabin is perfectly located to take advantage of all the area has to offer, just 10 minutes from Mt. Snow, and 30 minutes from Stratton, Bromley and Magic Mountain.

If skiing isn’t your thing, you’ll find plenty of other ways to entertain yourself -- and just as many ways to relax and do nothing. The cabin sits on two wooded acres on a quiet country road, ideal for communing with nature and catching a spectacular star show in the night sky. From the secluded setting it’s a short drive to several adorable towns with great shopping and dining, and magnificent state parks.

Our cabin is cozy but by no means cramped, and is as comfortable for 10 people as it is for 2. There are three bedrooms, plus a den. There are 2 full baths (including master with jetted tub), and an additional half bath. Unwind in front of the inviting fire in the living room, or splash around at the heated pool in the nearby clubhouse. And, true to our name, we're dog friendly.

More Details

Owner
Angie
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had an amazing time at your house. It's so cozy and fit our big family! We enjoyed the DVDs and watched 5 in one day. Thanks for the wifi! Master bedroom was awesome and all the beds were so comfy. It was a great relaxing atmosphere for hanging out stuffing our faces and exploring.
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Wardsboro Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Off master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On first floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , On second floor
  • All towels are included.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , On first floor, with private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , On second floor, shared bath
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , On 2nd floor, great for kids or rearrange for couples
  • Bedrooms include quality bedding, such as flannel sheets and quilts/duvets. All linens are included.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Fantastic Pet-Friendly Log Cabin Close to Skiing
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 26 reviews
2

surprisingly disappointing

  • 2 of 5

I really rely on reviews of properties before I book them which is why I am writing this review. When our family looked at this cabin on line we dubbed it: "The Xmas Cabin" thinking how cozy and inviting it appears in the pictures. It also has mostly great reviews. We rented it over President's weekend to celebrate my son's birthday and ski at Mt. Snow. It is convenient to Mt. Snow- being around 10-15 mins away. Upon arrival I noticed that the place is worn and had not been cleaned. Traveling with a dog I expect those rentals usually feel more worn. I can deal with that. However, here there was dust and debris on the floors, even pieces of packaging from long underwear that I am guessing was left by the previous renter. There were flies. Dead ones on the floor and window sills; and yes, live ones too. I went to kill one on the window and noticed a previously crushed one on the window that was still stuck there. But who would notice, because the windows have not been cleaned. As I tried to prepare food, I found the cabinets to be unsightly as there are old and have not been cleaned. There was debris in the bottom and they were disorganized. The garbage container was really dirty and I ended up wrapping a paper towel around the handle because I didn't want to touch it. When we arrived we tried the TV which is located in a back lower level room. It did not work. I tried to contact the owner several times but she never responded. I tried to locate a vacuum so I could make the place feel a little better, but the cleaning closet only had some sort of electric broom and the closet was strewn with more debris and old bug spray. I gave up on that. The shared bathrm tub is surrounded in black mold, and the master shower has no water pressure. We actually left a day early because the one thing we just couldn't deal with was the heat. The furnace turns on constantly and it sounds like someone is beating a metal trash can in the basement. It echos through the whole house. None of us slept a wink for the two nights we were there. I finally heard back from Angie the day before we were suppose to leave, she wanted to know when we'd be gone. I told her we had already left. She asked why. I explained we couldn't sleep with the furnace and she said she wished I had contacted her and it had just been serviced. My husband has been a builder for 35 years. The heating system is simply designed poorly. Plus, we had tried to reach her- she never responded. My son's bir

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have so many beautiful memories at the cabin - as do hundreds of other families - and I am so sorry that you did not have the same experience! As you read in many reviews, whenever I am contacted I am quick to respond and correct any issues. If I had known you had complaints about the cleanliness, I would have been happy to have the housekeeper come back until it met your standards. I was unaware of any issue with the tv, but would have quickly contacted the cable company to get service restored. Unfortunately in this case, I did not receive any emails, texts or calls to my cell (the number to which I give to all guests) to alert me to any problems. I sincerely wish I had gotten the opportunity to satisfy you so your memories of the cabin would be happy ones, too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Warm & wonderful & minutes from Skiing!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place to stay near Mount Snow and decided to try renting an independent space for the whole family including the dog. Found this property on VRBO and decided to give it a try. It was perfect! Exceeded all our expectations. Warm and cozy plus a pool table in the basement! It was just minutes from great skiing. The owner was very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with.

Would go there again - highly recommend it.

Mike - from Long Island

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved having you, Mike. Hope you and your family return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
5

Great cabinet, incredibly cozy and nicely provisioned for a wnter getaway.

  • 5 of 5

Friendly, unpretentious & comfortable log cabin in quiet wooded enclave, dog friendly with great sleeping space for a family of six or even eight. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you and your family enjoyed it! Please come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Positive.

  • 4 of 5

Lots of dry firewood kindling and newspaper made for some beautiful fires. Well-equipped kitchen. Comfortable quiet and my dog really loved it.

Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful, peaceful and quiet

  • 5 of 5

This was my second year staying at the cabin. The dogs and I loved it, and it's a great time away for relaxing and quiet.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, comfortable and clean.

  • 5 of 5

Angie was quick to respond to emails and made the planning of our trip easy. It was a perfect space for our family of 5 and our dog.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Wardsboro Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Ski Season
Feb 27 2017 - Apr 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 
 
Spring/Summer/Fall
Apr 3 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,000
 
 
Holiday
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$450
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Pets welcome! Holiday rates higher. Discounts available for smaller groups. Please inquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Awesome base for exploring Vermont. Skiing at Mt. Snow, Haystack, Stratton, Bromley and Magic Mountain are nearby. Fantastic hiking (and great swimmin' holes for your four-legged companions). Nearby towns feature antique shopping and outlets, and a wide range of restaurants.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties