Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Brownstone Beauty - Steps from Central Park & museum

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
5
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
6 - 7 nights

About the property

1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, full kitchen, sleeps 5

Truly home away from home! This stunning, newly renovated, tastefully furnished, spacious 1 bedroom is located in the heart of Upper West Side. It consists of 2 sleeping areas with one queen size bed, sofa in the bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. An optional air mattress is available upon request. This home includes modern kitchen with granite counter tops and a bathroom with a jacuzzi. It also has a lovely balcony off the bedroom facing a quiet garden. The apartment includes A/C, 2 TVs, cable service, WIFI, hair dryer, walk-in closets, laundry in the building. It is on the 2nd Fl (no elevator), 750 sq ft with 12ft ceilings. It is located 100 ft from CPW. Surrounded many famous museums including American Museum of Natural History, CMOM, famous restaurants and specialty stores, such as Zabars. It is also walking distance to world renowned Dakota in addition to many other famous sights. Conveniently located just 4 subway stops from Theater District. As you can see this landmarked, historic district has something for everyone!


Property Manager
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, russian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

Amenities

Upper West Side Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Newly Renovated, and includes a jacuzzi
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , air mattress
  • Spacious bedroom that includes a TV and 2 walk-in closets. A large size balcony, facing a quiet street.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • roller blading
Notes:
Cancelation ; We need 60 days written notice for a full refund

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

Brownstone Beauty - Steps from Central Park & museum
average rating of 4.744186 based on 43 reviews
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

I had an idea that I chose a good location but not until we woke up the next morning, was it clear just how good it was! The host, Michel, was not visible until we needed help with internet connection, for example, and then he promptly solved the problem. He turned out to be most pleasant and polite and helpful. That made a huge difference. He took the trouble to come and say "good bye" before we were about to leave.

The flat was just so comfortable and quiet and pleasant, down to the satin sheets and the very full equipment. It felt simply like a home. I would go back there any time!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
New Orleans
5

Lovely place & fantastic location!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a couple weeks here and it was just perfect. Right around the corner from Central Park.. Very spacious. Super clean. Generous balcony. Closet space. Beautiful kitchen. High ceilings. It was such a charm and the managers were very hospitable. We will definitely be back soon! I am from the area and couldn't believe how we scored with this place and at such a good price. 5 star

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Thanksgiving in NYS

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Nice location and as a bonus the balloons for the parade were being blow up just around the corner. We saw them with our making special arrangements . I would recommend this rental

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful apartment, excellent location, wonderful neighborhood (UWS), amazing city. So much better than a hotel-based stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner was nice . Location nice Apartment was not clean

  • 1 of 5

Owner offerred to send someone to clean but didn't even see how dirty it was himself and denies that it was dirty. I offered to send him the pictures I took of how unclean and he wouldn't accept them and claims it was cleaned before we got there. Not true!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take all constructive criticism very seriously and tell our guests we're available 24/7 for anything.. Unfortunately, this guest had unrealistic expectation, as per her friends. I extended them an early check-in and even waited for them at 7:30AM when they arrived after a long flight. I proceeded to carry their luggage to the apt. On the spot, Abbie informed me that she is not staying in the apt and will be moving out because it "feels" dirty. Her friends rolled their eyes behind her back and shrugged their shoulders. I was fine with this and was ready to reimburse them. Instead, Abbie had a change of heart and stayed the full length of her rental. After they left the apt, she demanded that I reimburse her for the cleaning fee or else she will write a bad review. Please see below my email to her: "The cleaning fee is for thorough cleaning before your arrival and if you don't like anything, the cleaning girl will be happy to redo. Even before you even entered the apt you, claimed that it "feels dirty". When I asked you to show me where it is dirty, you couldn't find ANYTHING. You wipe your hand on the AC and it was clean. On the spot you told me that you are not staying in the apt, and informed me that you will be leaving the same day. I offered to take your luggage downstairs and also told you the names of several hotels in the area. I waited for you to make up your mind , and told you I was OK either way. I came back to the apt and offered for the cleaning girl to come back and re-clean it under your supervision. You declined my offer. I personally mopped the bathroom floor & tub with Clorox while you watched me even though everything was already spotless. You then complained why there is dust inside the vacuum cleaner. I explained to you that we don't expect our guest to use the vacuum, and the cleaning person empties it when it gets full. In order to please you, I emptied the vacuum. You told me that you made up your mind and that you will be leaving on the same day or the next day. My wife spoke to you the following day to see if you are leaving and you told her " Don't worry about it, my friends calmed me down and they told me that I'm too picky." I'm sorry that my apt didn't meet your expectations, and I tried my best to accommodate you."
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great Location but shabby property

  • 2 of 5

The location on the upper west side was very convenient but the property was a disappointment. The exterior front stairs of the building are falling apart and there were pieces of wood on one side of the stairs to help mount the stairs. Unfortunately, several pieces had screws that had popped out and this made the whole entrance seem very unsafe. The building is still covered in scaffolding which, according to previous reviews, has been in place for some time. We were not told that the building was under renovation. The internal stairs up to the apartment are tilted at a scary angle. They look like they will give way at any time. On arrival, we found that the bed sheets were stained. We eventually found an unstained pair of sheets to replace on the bed. The glassware in the kitchen hadn't been cleaned and we had to wash a selection of glasses, cutlery and crockery before we used any of it. The bath towels were old and permanently stained and frayed. The net curtains in the living room had not been cleaned for a very long time. They were charcoal coloured, not their original white. On the plus side, the apartment is quite near a subway stop and the area is quiet which is quite a plus for New York. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

The owners need to invest in the linens and towels and provide a better standard of accommodation which would correspond better to the great location. We arrived late at night and we had a full schedule of activities booked and we did not want to waste time making complaints to the landlord which would have cut into our holiday schedule. We simply changed sheets, washed dishes and put up with the shabbiness however we would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In April we were ordered by DOB to restore the facade of the building (as were many of our neighbors). Unfortunately this turned out to be a much lengthier process than anticipated since every step has to be inspected by Landmark Preservation Committee. The building is not under renovation - just the facade. The stairs were not falling apart but were being restored and we added the boards as a safety precaution. When the guests arrived, I personally met them in the apartment and reviewed everything with them. The apartment was spotless. They actually commented that it looks much nicer than in pictures. I told them that I'm available 24/7 if they need ANYTHING. I could have easily cleaned the apartment without impacting their "holiday schedule" if I knew there were any issues. However they assured me that everything was "great" and that they don't need anything. I'm shocked to see the ludicrous comments such as "tilted staircase", dirty dishes, stained sheets, etc. I did find a stained towel on the floor so perhaps this was an oversight. However there were 10 other towels in perfect condition. Perhaps they are confusing this property with another one. It's also it's ironic that they are assuming that the curtains are supposed to be white when they are actually light grey and are not dirty. Meanwhile, these guests left the apartment in deplorable condition- stained sheets, dirty dishes and towels scattered throughout the apartment and 5 full bags of garbage even though I specifically asked to take it downstairs before leaving. Though this isn't Ritz Carlton, we strive to ensure all our guests have the best experience and that is why we have a lot of return guests and primarily 5 star reviews. Please look at all the other reviews to get an accurate sense of these accommodations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
central park, all the museums,.shopping .dining
Car: not necessary

Located 1/2 block from C/B subway trains. Central Park is just steps away as is the the Natural History Museum. Metropolitan Museum is directly across the park. Many things to do - restaurants, museums, stores., etc. Incredible location for a romantic getaway or a memorable family trip. No car needed. Dogs are permitted on case by case basis.

Other Activities: PLEASE VIEW OUR OTHER LISTING #201963

Photos

Rates & Availability

Upper West Side Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off peak
Jan 11 2017 - Mar 10 2017
6 night minimum stay
$175
From
$195
Sat,Sun
$1,200
$4,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak
Mar 11 2017 - Jan 10 2018
6 night minimum stay
$295
$1,960
$6,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$295
$6,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $135
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $135
Tax Rate 5.0%

CAUTION: 30 days minimum, Please use caution when reserving a property. Do not wire any funds to anyone. Use only a credit card or paypal to pay for a reservation. Do not interact with anyone who is from LuxuryVacations@gmail.com, getawaydestination@gmail.com', Dreamholidayrentals@gmail.com or rentyourholiday@gmail.com, etc .

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Partner Offers