Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Incredible VIEWS! VIEWS !! Rent 2 nights get 1 Free in February

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bed, 3.5 bath, Plus Loft with additional bedding and Gameroom/Den sleeps 12

Please Read!

This cabin sits on 10 private acres atop a mountain, with incredible views from both the upper and lower porches. No expenses were spared when designing and building this unique one of a kind cabin. Some of the many features include; hand made & peeled log and iron railings, tree posts, extra large porches for enjoying the views and stars at night.

Some other features of this home include granite and stainless kitchen, 2 custom real wood burning fireplaces. Master features a King pillow top bed with a mounted 48in LCD flat screen TV for your comfort and fireplace. Master Bath has a large black corner jetted jacuzzi tub, Huge slate walk in shower w/rain head. The 2nd bedroom features a queen bed, sitting area, vaulted ceilings and has a private balcony for viewing wildlife from above. The 3rd bedroom also has very high vaulted ceilings and 2 double beds. 4th bedroom features a king pillow top log with custom wall murals of the outdoors. The loft serves as a 5th BR. & offers an additional full size bed and computer desk for those of us that may have to work while enjoying their vacation.

Downstairs is a large gameroom with ping pong, pool table, arcade machine, folding poker table, mini kitchen, flat screen tv and fireplace.

Outdoors we have a covered hot tub to enjoy the mountain views, grilling area, plenty of setting to sit and enjoy the gorgeous mountain views and a firepit area for late night fire's.

I rented a helicopter and took a few arial photos of the cabin so you can get a feel how it sits with its surroundings. Taken 8/10/11

More Details

Owner
Sandy & Steve Shuey
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Sandy & Steve Shuey

We purchased the land and designed the home plan ourselves and decorated our home with a mountain theme after the home was built.

This is our mountain retreat with all of the comforts of home

Sandy & Steve Shuey purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Sandy & Steve Shuey chose Cleveland

I have always loved visiting the Helen GA area. Its so calm and quiet with just the right amount of wildlife and charm to relax and enjoy being outside and taking in the love of the natural forest, rivers and waterfalls and state parks.

What makes this cabin unique

Plenty of entertainment without having to leave the cabin.

Ping pong, Pool table, Arcade machine, fold out poker table, outdoor fire pit, hot tub and over 50 movies , Netflixs on greatroom smart tv. to sit and watch and enjoy the gorgeous mountain views

Guestbook comments from the owner

All of our family enjoyed the cabin. It was spacious and all of us had plenty of room. The teenagers especially enjoyed the game room with the ping pong and

pool table for a little family competition. Every night we hung out on the main deck cooked and enjoyed the views and the stars. He were close to Helen and went in town one day to go shopping, we mostly enjoyed just being together at the cabin. I would definitely visit again and will recommend to friends. We give it 5 Stars
May 2016
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Cleveland Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Kitchen ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master Slate Walkin Shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd Floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , main floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Slate & River Rock Shower
  • Master bath features a large black corner jacuzzi tub. A large walk in slate shower with rainhead and hand sprayer w/massage. Its located on the main floor. There is also a 1/2 bath on main floor off the living area. Top Floor has a full tub/shower bathroom. Bottom Floor has a full bathroom with hand made rock walk-in shower bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , corner fireplace
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , private balcony
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Log Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , Full size bed
  • Beds are New pillow top mattresses. There is 2-Kings 1-Queen 3-Doubles or Full Size
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
I do have an additional folding table and four chairs that can be used in either the dining room for additional setting or in the game room as a game table.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(81 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Incredible VIEWS! VIEWS !! Rent 2 nights get 1 Free in February
average rating of 4.728395 based on 85 reviews
5

Spacious Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our cabin getaway was perfect for our families! We liked that the bedrooms were spread out on 3 levels to give everyone their space. At the same time, we all could be together in the game room and the living room. There was enough seating for everyone in both rooms which is a plus! The open floor plan was great for us all to be together. The cabin was clean and we had everything we needed. The views out the front windows was Awesome! We seen a rainbow the morning we left, how cool! Sandy, the owner, was great. She was quick to respond to any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our home for your visit. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Sandy Shuey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Christmas in Helen GA

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property!!! Wonderfully decorated for Christmas. All we needed was family and gifts to make it complete. 6 adults and 5 kids were very comfortable with beautiful views and lots to do. Highly recommend it. Owners were fabulous to work with.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay FAR FAR away!!!

  • 1 of 5

Pros: The cabin is big. Nice views.

Cons: The cabin is dated. The couch is broken & pool table & ping pong table are old. Don't book in winter. If there is any ice you won't be able to get up the driveway due to several hills. We had ice and had to leave our car halfway down the drive & carry our luggage the rest of the way slipping and falling. The biggest downside of this cabin is the owners. Short story: there was no power in the cabin for our stay and the owner refuses to refund our money. Long story: The power went out 9:30 Friday night, our first night there. Usually, a rented cabin would be fitted with a generator; this cabin is not. The temps were below freezing but we couldn't leave due to hazardous road conditions. The fireplace was not sufficient. Saturday the power was still out. We waited for the power to return but it never did. Since the temps would be in the 20s that night, & there was no heat, we were forced to return home. We kept an eye on the online power outage map that night & into Sunday morning to see if the power was ever returned. It was not. When I asked for a refund for Saturday night the owners refused. They told me the power company called them & told them the power was restored Saturday. I took pictures of the online outage map to show them the power had not been returned for that address. They then told me they called the power company and were told the power was turned back on Saturday. This sounded fishy, so I called the power company & they said the power was not returned to that address until 6:30 pm Sunday. I confronted her with this & she told me she personally went to the cabin Saturday to decorate for Christmas & the power was on. So, she was clearly lying, again, because the power company just told us there was no power Saturday, AND if she did go to the cabin while we had it rented she clearly violated VRBO rules. So which is it, did the power company call her, did she call the power company, or did she witness the power on herself? The owner is still refusing to refund our money. Any place you stay would refund your money without thought if they could not provide power and heat, but this owner feels it is completely within her rights to charge us to stay in an uninhabitable cabin. The best she could offer me was a free night if I booked a 3 night stay during the off season, which is standard practice in Helen. I am having to take them to small claims court to get my money. I regret the day I booked this.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest checked in on the Friday night. She called Saturday to let me know the power went out due to the weather in our area. We have two real wood burning fireplaces and supply firewood for our guest. Guest sent me an email letting me know, that since the other guest were not able to attend they chose to leave . I do not offer refunds for no shows, early departures or due to the weather. I did offer her a free night she could use with her next visit. VRBO and HomeAway sites offer travelers insurance for last minute cancellations and 100% refunds. This guest chose not to purchase insurance..She filed a complaint thru VRBO. VRBO dismissed her complaint. She then chose to list this review. If you need additional information please just give me a call. Sincerely Sandy Shuey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Thanksgiving Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful Thanksgiving week. The house is exactly as pictured.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday with your family and friends in our home. I look forward to helping you plan future visits to " A Point of View" Merry Christmas Sandy and Steve Shuey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We had a great family vacation. The only scary thing was the drive way but we did enjoy the privacy

  • 4 of 5

Plenty of room; everyone had a bed! Loved the fire pit and the wood supplied for us. Can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to having your family back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious

  • 5 of 5

This was a beautiful cabin with a beautiful view. The cabin was clean and stocked with everything we might need to feel at home. The bedrooms were large and the beds were comfortable. It was minutes away from all of the attractions in Helen. My family of six had a wonderful time.

Thanks Sandy

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks again for choosing A Point of View for your vacation. Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Cool River Tubing Company
"Just a few miles from the cabin. Enjoy tubing on the Chattahoochee River. Best thing to do..."
Anna Ruby Falls
"Just a 10 min. drive. You must see the beautiful Anna Ruby Falls while walking thru the tra..."
Unicoi State Park and Lodge
"Beautiful park for cooking out and enjoying the walking trails lakes and waterfalls. "
Betty's Country Store
"Closest Grocery Store in Helen GA just a few miles away Hometown charm with great local wine..."
Alpine Helen Mini Golf
"Outdoor putt putt for the family with mountain views in Helen"
Habersham Winery
"Local winery in Helen GA "
Hofer's of Helen
"Local Bakery that offers great breakfast, pastries and lunch just a few miles in Helen "
Ingles Market
"Large nice new grocery store in Cleveland just 7 miles from the cabin "
Helen Tubing & Waterpark
"Summer wouldn't be complete without enjoying the waterpark with the family"
Babyland General Hospital
"My granddaughters favorite day Watch Cabbage Patch babies be born and come to life. You ca..."
Appalachian Trail (Georgia)
"Hike the historic Appalachian Trail"
Mully's Nacoochee Grill
"Local Family owned restaurant sometime they have nightly music"
Bigg Daddy's
"Bigg Daddy's has a large outdoor deck to sit and enjoy dinner with nightly music and enterta..."
Paul’s Steakhouse and Seafood
"Great location on the Chattahoochee River it has a separate bar with music for adults"
Smithgall Woods State Park
"World Known Trout Fishing and walking trails just a few miles from the cabin"
Spice 55
"We always visit this asian restaurant when we visit great cooked food and sushi well priced"
Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar
"Best steaks and salmon Local small western restaurant above average pricing but the food has..."
The Cottage Vineyard and Winery
"Just 5 minutes around the corner on Hwy 129 Gorgeous Views Sit outside and do wine and craft..."
Three Sisters Vineyards & Winery
"My favorite small winery and tasting room Must try the Blood Mountain and the Fat Boy Red W..."
Frogtown Cellars
"Large Gorgeous Winery with gorgeous views of the orchards have lunch. They are often listed ..."
Brasstown Bald Visitors Center
"Better have good shows on. Quite a steep walk up but well worth the views"
The Nacoochee Village Tavern & Pizzeria
"Great pizza Cute setting"
Innsbruck Resort & Golf Club
"Closest golf course located in Helen Beautiful views and wildlife My husband has played seve..."
Troll Tavern
"Local restaurant in Helen Sit outside and enjoy the Chattahoochee River Lunch or dinner"
Duke's Creek Falls
"Nice walking trails thru the woods to the beautiful water falls about a mile or so one way, ..."
North Georgia Barbeque
"Best BBQ I have ever had Sitting outside Call first to be sure they are open"
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Innsbruck
Car: recommended

Chestatee Drive may not appear on GPS or Google Maps

Please look for Heartland Drive

This is the first name for our street

Other Activities: Tubing on the Chattahoochee River within 3 miles

Dukes Creek Falls 3 miles

Helen is 4 miles

Smithgall Woods 2 miles

Anna Ruby Falls and Unicio State Park 6 min. drive

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $165
Refundable damage deposit $250
$50 for over 12 guest $0
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 15.0%

Refundable security deposit $250.00 $100 per pet fee.2 max.
Summer Months 4 night min. stay
Legal Holiday 3 or 4 night min. stay
Holiday rate is $425.00 per night

See more at www.mountainandbeachrentals.com
Rates are for up to 12 persons
$50 extra guest charge with approval
--------------------------------------------------------------

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties