Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

City Centre Penthouse Apartment - Parking, Wifi, Sleeps 6

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, open plan spacious city centre living at its best

One of the best located apartments in the city, overlooking Exeter Cathedral to one side and the moors in the distance to the other. Upon leaving the apartment you can be shopping in John Lewis, House of Fraser or one of the wonderful bespoke shops in the high street, enjoying a meal in Cote next to the Cathedral or even walking along the canal all within a matter of minutes.

Amongst other things the accommodation benefits from having a Master On-Suite Double bedroom, and two further double bedrooms, a spacious front room diner where you can gaze out through the large windows over the Cathedral, fully equipped Kitchen with Granite work services, washer/dryer, dishwasher etc. Access to the apartment is via a security coded lift which opens up into your apartment. A car parking space behind electronic gates is also at your disposal.

More Details

Owner
Elliot Gould
Member since: 2015
Speaks: french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2017

Amenities

Exeter Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Elevator ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
City Centre Penthouse Apartment - Parking, Wifi, Sleeps 6
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
1

The apartment had a noxious odor. We became ill and left early.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed here once before and gave it an excellent review. This time we experienced a noxious odor from the en suite bathroom. On our second night I had severe vomiting, weakness, headache, and muscle aches. I initially attributed this to food poisoning. The odor continued and we were unable to completely eliminate it even by opening the window and closing the bathroom door with the exhaust fan on. When my wife had the same illness two nights later I could not ignore the possibility that whatever caused the odor also caused our illness. I felt we could not take the chance of our two granddaughters becoming ill and we left the next day when my wife was strong enough to leave. We only used 5 of our 15 nights.

Fortunately our granddaughters did not become sick. We all ate the same food - the only difference was that we kept them out of our bedroom and bath. When we notified the owner of the problem he came over promptly. He was unable to detect the odor. We had noticed that a tile was missing next to the commode that left a hole in the wall. The hole was covered by a sheet of paper. We also learned that there had been a water leak with substantial water damage a few weeks earlier. We have notified the Exeter environmental health department and suggested they determine whether there is any issue that needs to be addressed.

I should also note that we proposed that the owner refund half of our payment. He was unwilling to do this and did not suggest any compromise.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate that you might not be happy with the outcome and of course you are entitled to write feedback but what you are writing is simply not true. I do not contest that you and your wife became ill, I do accept that you did only stay in the apartment for half your allotted stay but you did not become ill from anything related to the apartment. I came to the apartment promptly upon your initial complaint - you told me you were leaving there was no room for me to compromise as you left the following day. We have had guests stay before and after you left with no issues whatsoever. In fact we are occupied between 85-90% all year round with no issues whatsoever! No one has become ill staying at the apartment and to say such without proof is not acceptable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Brilliant!

  • 4 of 5

A very nice, clean and well equipped apartment, centrally situated and with parking - not always available in the centre of Exeter. Did bang my head on the sloping ceiling in our bedroom - but that's really my fault! But watch out! Overall very pleased.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent property in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. It is a very well maintained property. The location is first rate. It's a five minute walk to the Cathedral which places it close to the heart of Exeter's shopping district, as well as many fine restaurants. The apartment is in a quiet and secure building and has a wonderful view of the Cathedral. It will be our first choice of places to stay on our next visit to our son and his family.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fab, beautiful apartment, amazing location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay, the apartment was lovely, spacious, well decorated and had great finishing touches including the helpful little bits in the kitchen like clingfilm, salt etc. The owner was very helpful, really quick on communication. The location is perfect for shops, bars, cathedral & the quay. Definitely coming back!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

Five of us stayed at the Penthouse for three nights - I wish we had booked a little longer!

First off, communication with the property owners was excellent, they got straight back to us via e mail with any quires.

We were immediately impressed by the quality of the place, the decor and the fittings. You will find everything you need. The open plan kitchen with bar / lounge area has quite a luxurious feel.

Nice en-suite, beds were comfy. My wife loved the Hydro bath!

The playstation and the internal music system are nice touches - plug in your phone and listen throughout the apartment. Parking space provided, easy to park a second vehicle nearby. Many pubs and restaurants within a five minute walk.

I highly recommend the Penthouse Exeter, it's a good base to do a little exploring - knowing that you will be going back to a little luxury. Hope to stay again.

Matt - Bristol

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Tolle geräumige Ferienwohnung

  • 5 of 5

Alles vorhanden.

Super Aussicht. Schöne helle Räume bis auf die innenliegenden Bäder.

Unkompliziertes Ein- und Auschecken mit Code-System.

Umland, wie Dartmoor sehr zu empfehlen.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Exeter International Airport
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Multiple
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Exeter Golf and Country Club
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Exeter Central Station
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
M5
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Multiple
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Exmouth Beach
Car: not necessary

Exeter is one of the host cities for the Rugby World Cup 18th September - 31st October

Devon’s county town of Exeter is nestled on the north banks of the winding River Exe. Step inside the 2,000-year-old walls for the cosmopolitan High Street or lazy Cathedral Green, while a holiday vibe engulfs the café terraces and galleries on the Historic Quayside. West of the city, follow legends of pixies and stone circles to the endless granite expanse of Dartmoor National Park, and a pebble’s throw to the south stretches the English Riviera with the busy fishing town of Torquay.

Exeter comes and goes on Cathedral Close in front of the grand, Norman Exeter Cathedral facade. Get your bearings across the city’s waterways from the North Tower before you navigate the gentle Exeter Ship Canal weirs and pubs by canoe, kayak or bike. You can take a walk in Exeter’s medieval, subterranean side through the echoing vaults and water passages of Exeter’s Underground Passages just beneath the High Street. Back on the surface, the eclectic Royal Albert Memorial Museum – RAMM for short – is crammed with historical gems, from prehistoric pick axes to ornate Egyptian tombs. There are also plenty of great annual events, such as the Exeter Fine Art Collection, the Exeter Contemporary Open, Abbamania and Racing at Exeter.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $333.64

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed. Minimum stay is 3 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties