Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Rivers Whisper Your Moutain Getaway Retreat

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

4 Bedrooms 3 Baths

River's Whisper is located on the banks of the Little Tennessee River over looking mountain views and rich rolling landscapes. Our cabin will embrace a loving couple wishing for time away or accommodate a large family and a couple friends. Curl up with a book by the fireplace or soak in the Jacuzzi out on the deck over looking mountain vistas and the river. The large yard is great for the kids to play with over six acres of landscape and the river is wonderful for tubing and swimming. You will have every comfort of home provided for you and absolutely none of the stress!!! Temporary fishing license can be purchased online or at the local Walmart. Tubing equipment rentals nearby.

CHECK- IN 4:00 P.M.

CHECK-OUT 11:00 A.M.

More Details

Owner
Shirl
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Shirl;



I have repeatedly attempted to post the following Review. At least on HomeAway, your last review is over a year old. DO YOU HAVE THE ABILITY TO POST THIS?

THANKS AGAIN, Ron





MUCH MORE THAN WE EXPECTED! This is NOT the typical vacation rental. EXPECT TO BE VERY FAVORABLY IMPRESSED... First of all this home is on a totally private river front estate with the mountains all around. The home is very well appointed and decorated, with highest quality fixtures and appliances. The huge Living Room with high ceilings has four leather sofas providing plenty of room. There is a massive stone fireplace with remote control gas logs to take the "chill" off the mornings. The large "picture perfect" Dining Room has a second stone fireplace. All of this with views of the river and the mountainside beyond that. The Master Bedroom Suite is extraordinary. My grandsons didn't want to get out of the Hot Tub. We enjoyed the Fire Pit for Smores next to the river, and the extensive grounds for foot ball. So much to do in this area. Do not miss tubing or rafting down the river. As we were leaving, my grandson said, "I want to Stay! I don't want to leave!" We all agreed with him. DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS FINE VACATION HOME....
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

Rivers Whisper Your Moutain Getaway Retreat
average rating of 4.7384615 based on 66 reviews
Boiling Springs, SC
5

Better than fhe pictures!

  • 5 of 5

We were pleasantly surprised to find the house nicer than the pictures. The river was so beautiful, with quite a few rafters passing by. River was shallow enough for our two teenagers to enjoy swimming. We thoroughly enjoyed coffee out on the deck every morning. With table seating for 8 inside and out, everyone had plenty of room to dine. Kitchen is small, so I would recommend bringing some sort of storage containers for food and kitchen items. We had a great time...thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
5

Great cabin, great landscape

  • 5 of 5

We've been doing an annual winter cabin trip for about a decade and this place ranks in our top 3 cabins we've ever stayed in. Certainly number 1 for value. Great cabin, great landscape, couldn't ask for more.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable and Warm by the River

  • 5 of 5

Rivers Whisper might be one of the most warm, comfortable, and inviting vacation homes I have ever stayed at. When we first walked in, our whole group was really blown away by how much living/lounging place there was and the quality of the furniture and home decor.

The living area is very large and open, with seating room for at least ten people that included very comfortable reclining leather sofas. There is no "cheap" beach rental furniture. The large open floor space was great for the kids to play board games. There is a large amount of taxidermy in the living room and kitchen that gives a warm "cabin" or "mountain lodge" feel. There are also TWO easy to control gas fireplaces in living room and next to the kitchen. The table is large enough for eight people to sit comfortably. My only negative comment (and really the only critical thing I could find to say about the whole place) was that the kitchen was only big enough for one or two people with limited prep space. However, it was well-equipped and had everything we needed to feed our group.

The master bedroom and bathroom are tastefully decorated with a Native American theme and has a high quality bedroom suite. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had two sinks, a walk-in shower, and whirlpool tub. The remaining bedroom were spacious and also had very nice furniture. Again, very impressed by the decor and furniture quality. The DirecTV was a nice bonus, and we had no problems with the WiFi the whole time we were there. I did not get a chance to run a speed test to know how fast it was, but we were able to stream movies and YouTube videos to the Chromecast we brought without issues.

There was plenty of room on the deck for the hot tub (clean and very easy to operate), 3-4 Adirondack chairs (can't remember) and a picnic table. The fire pit was quite large and the rocks situated around the pit were a welcome addition due to our shortage of chairs. The yard and surrounding fields created a very private environment, despite being so open. We could only see two houses, one maybe 150-200 yards downstream and another one under construction across the river, at least 200 yards away. I was specifically looking for something private and was very happy with what we got.

I honestly can't wait to come back in the summer. It was freezing cold outside, so unfortunately no kayaking could be had... but this place exceeded my expectations and I would recommend Rivers Whisper to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, inviting, beautifully decorated

  • 5 of 5

Amazing! We had a great trip over the Christmas holiday. From the fresh flowers on the table, the smell of fresh clean linens to the nice and hot hottub, it was a great house. Shirl has certainly put her time and thought into making her home warm and inviting. We enjoyed the firepit outside and the indoor fireplaces as well. We were able to beautifully decorated the table for Christmas with her China and table linens provided. The attention to detail didn't go unnoticed. The beds weren't much to be desired unfortunately. The master was okay, but the others were very soft and lumpy and you sunk in the middle. Several pillows were also very lumpy. That said, the sheets were very nice! Also, the only other thing was the horrible sulfur smell in the water. The master shower seemed to be the worst. It smelled the entire bedroom up for hours afterwards. But, we noticed salt systems downstairs so clearly there is an effort to minimize.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Shirl is very attentive and responsive. We would definitely enjoy returning to this cabin. Thanks for a memorable stay, Shirl!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry you felt our beds were uncomfortable. We have never had anyone complain about that. We keep extra pillows in the closet because we know everyone is different from liking a firm to soft pillow, again sorry you didn't find one to meet your needs. Any home near a river will experience a sulfur smell but with the salt water system we have, the only time you usually will experience anything is if the water has not been used for a while, also never had any complaints to any sulfur smells. I do appreciate you bringing it to my attention though. We strive very hard to make sure our guest have a great time and experience at our cabin. We look forward to having you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairhope, Alabama
5

This was our favorite Franklin rental ever!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED Rivers Whisper! We will be booking again in the summer.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, secluded getaway

  • 5 of 5

We wanted to take a family vacation that included our pet. Loved that dogs were allowed. Beautifully decorated home kitchen stocked with all you need to make some fantastic meals. Our pet loved running around the grounds. The river was low and cold when we stayed so we just dipped our feet in. Our ten month old enjoyed playing in the huge living room. My only suggestion is the master bedroom gets much colder than the rest of the home. the hot tub was delightful and we loved sitting on the porch watching the cows on the ridge. We loved loved loved Caffe Rel. the food was so good and we also got a pizza from elevation pizza and it was very good as well.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Caffe Rel
Historic Downtown Franklin
Little Tennessee River Greenway
Rose Creek Mine
The Factory - Franklin
The Sunset
Fat Buddies Ribs & BBQ
Smoky Mountain Center for the Performing Arts
Scottish Tartans Museum Center
Fun Factory, The
"Very fun place for the kids but don't warn the kids not to expect much when redeeming their ..."
Ingles Market
Franklin Chamber of Commerce
Gazebo Creekside Cafe
Nearest Airport
73.7 Miles
Asheville Airport
Nearest Barpub
7.7 Miles
Mixers & Rathskellers
Nearest Golf
8.23 Miles
Franklin Golf Course
Nearest Train
19.43 Miles
Smoky Mountain Railway
Nearest Restaurant
8.74 Miles
Fatz
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Sapphire Valley Ski Area, Cashiers, & Sapphire, NC
Car: recommended

Hiking, Fishing, Wildlife, Shopping, Restaurants, Swimming, Rafting, Campfires, Smoky Mountains National Park, Nantahala Outdoor Center, Whitewater Rafting, Harrah's Casino, Highlands Restaurants, Theater, Gem Mines, Saturday Nigh Picking on the Square in downtown Franklin, Cherokee Reservation, Smokey Mountain Railway.

Other Activities: Cherokee Casino about a 35 minute drive

Photos

Rates & Availability

Franklin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,300
$5,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 10.75%

The damage protection is non-refundable. If you choose not to purchase the damage protection, you will have to pay the 200.00 damage deposit. We strongly suggest purchasing the damage protection. Even though it is non-refundable, you as a guest are more protected from accidental damages and you don't have to pay the extra 200.00 on your total rate and wait to get it refunded.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master Suite
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Upper Level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Main Level
    Queen Sleeper Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Main Level
  • First bedroom upstairs with queen bed has its own private balcony. Second bedroom upstairs has two twin beds.Master Bedroom (main level) has over sized king bed, Second bedroom on main level has a Queen bed and then we have a Queen sleeper sofa in game/sitting area.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, all cookware and utensils. Laundry room with full size washer & dryer, linens and towels provided. Flat screen TV's in living room and master bedroom with DVD players and satellite dish, central air and heat, over size deck with patio furniture and stainless steel gas grill for barbecuing. (Exchange gas cylinders available so guest only have to pay exchange price, gas not provided) and a huge outdoor fire pit for campfires on those chilly nights. Stone fireplace and natural oak hardwood floors throughout accent this beautifully furnished home that has everything you need...just bring your suitcases and personal items.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties