Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5BR/3BA - Resort Style Oasis - Private Pool & Spa, Putting & Play Area & More!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

House - 5 Bedrooms - 3 Baths - (Sleeps 12)

Casa de Allegra has been featured in the New York Times Travel Section's Great Escapes column. We are proud to share our private paradise -- Casa de Allegra -- with you! You won’t find another vacation rental in the area with more to offer than our spectacular resort-style oasis--Casa de Allegra! We’ve thought of everything to make this your best vacation ever in Southern California!

We have the perfect 3/4 acre cul-de-sac location just off I-5 in South Oceanside and minutes to downtown Carlsbad Village! We are centrally located with short drive times to the San Diego Safari Park (30 minutes), Legoland (8 minutes), San Diego Zoo (35 minutes), Sea World (30 minutes), Disneyland (45 minutes), and Knotts Berry Farm (55 minutes)! We’re close to everything you could need on vacation. Walk to restaurants, grocery store, and shopping. The Pacific Ocean is only one mile away! Walk, drive or bike--we have adult and children’s bikes for your use! We also offer beach chairs, sand toys, Boogie boards, coolers, umbrellas, and lots of beach towels for a fun day at the beach!

But who needs the beach when you have a backyard like this to hang out in? Custom putting green, gigantic grassy play area for kids with double tower play fort, swings and rock wall! Tropical pool with 10-foot Shamu shelf, waterfalls and hotel-sized Jacuzzi, and it's gated so your little ones will be safe! Chaise lounges and umbrellas for your sunbathing pleasure! Outdoor living room with huge gas fireplace, cable TV, comfortable sofa, chairs and luxurious dining table/area for 10+ guests overlooking pool make this an entertainer's delight! If that's not enough, enjoy cooking your meals in the outdoor kitchen equipped with top-of-the-line gas barbecue, two side burners, sink/wet bar, refrigerator and lots of prep space! Your family will never forget this vacation!

Our two-story house offers 3,000 square feet of living space with hardwood floors, maple cabinetry and an open floor plan perfect for any family. The home features five beautifully appointed bedrooms and three bathrooms. Each room has been decorated with a theme to make your trip a true adventure! On the second floor, the Pirate and Princess rooms offer two twin beds each, the Aloha Room has a queen-size bed, and these rooms share a spacious bathroom with double sink and separate toilet and shower/tub. Also, on the second floor, the Master Suite has a luxurious cal-king bed, and adjoining bathroom with jacuzzi tub! The flower fields room has a with queen bed and is on the first floor with a bathroom close by. Each room offers a TV and walk-in closet!

The gourmet kitchen includes all the utensils, cookware and place settings needed for 12 people. Our family-sized breakfast 'nook' seats 8 comfortably and overlooks the lushly landscaped backyard! Family room has an entertainment center featuring a huge flat screen TV mounted over the fireplace, with digital cable, HDTV, DVD, VCR, and surround sound stereo, and comfy denim sofas and chairs for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing or surfing! We offer wireless internet connection and unlimited local and long distance calls within the US.

IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING ANOTHER VACATION RENTAL LISTING - BE SURE TO CHECK THEIR REVIEWS AND NOTICE THAT MANY OF THEM ARE SUBMITTED ON THE SAME DAY. I QUESTION THEIR VALIDITY. ALSO NOTE THAT OTHER LARGER UNITS CLAIM TO BE BEACHFRONT BUT THEY ARE NOT ON THE BEACH AT ALL. DON'T BE FOOLED! I CAN PROMISE IF YOU BOOK WITH US - WE ARE HONEST ABOUT WHAT WE OFFER AND ALL OF OUR REVIEWS ARE 100% AUTHENTIC.

THIS IS NOT A SPECIAL EVENT VENUE - NO WEDDINGS, ANNIVERSARY PARTIES, REUNIONS, CORPORATE RETREATS, ETC.! THANK YOU!

FAQs

HOW FAR TO BEACH? 1 mile to Cassidy Street Beach! You can walk or drive directly west to the public access at Cassidy Street. Cassidy street is the nearest cross street to Casa de Allegra! This is a wonderful beach for families, no rocks - plenty of sand and lots of public parking! Oceanside Pier and Carlsbad Beaches are about 2 miles away.

WHAT GOLF COURSES ARE CLOSE BY? Four Season Aviara Resort Golf Club - 10 minutes, The Crossings at Carlsbad - 10 minutes, Encinitas Ranch Golf Club - 15 minutes, La Costa Resort - 15 minutes, Torrey Pines Golf Course - 30 minutes!

HOW FAR TO GROCERY STORE? Just 6 houses down the street there is a private fire lane which provides pedestrian access to a shopping center which includes Stater Brothers, Wal-Mart, Best Buy, Bed Bath & Beyond, Cost Plus, Sports Authority and more!

More Details

Owner
Carrie Wilhite
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2017

About Carrie Wilhite

In my life before kids, I was a special events professional! I love having fun and now I've found a way to share that with others - stay in my home and have the vacation of a lifetime with your family and friends!

Carrie Wilhite purchased this house in 2001

Why Carrie Wilhite chose Oceanside

We lived in this amazing oasis for 6 years! Oceanside is a terrific beach town and is central to everything you could want to do in San Diego or Orange County!

What makes this house unique

Our home gives you the opportunity to enjoy everything the area has to offer. You can zip to the beach to enjoy a dip in the ocean and to play in the sand. Then, when you feel like something else, you can come back to relax in the spa, lay in the sun, or lounge in the water on our shamu shelf. If you are an outdoorsy person, all of your meals can be cooked outside just like you are camping - without all the hassle of setting up a tent and a campsite! You can even roast marshmallows around the fire, but you can do it while watching a Disney movie on the outdoor TV. It's an amazing home with all the entertainment opportunities you could possibly want on a special trip to San Diego. Casa de Allegra isn't just any old vacation rental, this is a home that was built with family and making memories as our main priorities. Now it can be yours to share with your loved ones and make your own amazing memories.

Amenities

Fire Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 12
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Village
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs - toilet , shower
  • This house is an appropriate destination for 5-6 adults and 4-5 children (under 13) maximum. The master bedroom has it's own bath, three bedrooms upstairs share one double sink bathroom with shower/tub, and the bedroom downstairs has it's own full bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    Flower Fields - 1 queen
    Princess - 2 twin/ single
    Pirate - 2 twin/ single
    Aloha - 1 queen
  • This house is an appropriate destination for 5-6 adults and 4-5 children (under 13). The master bedroom has a king bed, the Pirate and Princess rooms each offer two twin beds, the Aloha room has a full bed and the Flower Fields room has a queen.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor living at its best! Enjoy resort style pool and spa, outdoor kitchen, dining and living rooms with fireplace and TV! Fabulous 1000 square foot custom putting green--a golfer's dream come true! Huge grassy play area for your kids complete with play fort, clubhouse, and swings! Please Note - This Is Not A Special Event Venue. We Do Not Welcome Weddings, Reunions, Or Corporate Retreats. This Home Is Located In A Residential Neighborhood.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(79 traveler reviews)

5BR/3BA - Resort Style Oasis - Private Pool & Spa, Putting & Play Area & More!
average rating of 4.962025 based on 79 reviews
Minnesota
4

Beautiful Home!

  • 4 of 5

We use VRBO often and we are pretty fussy. We had 8 family members and found the house to be very accommodating. House is large, has plenty of seating in the living and dining room areas and the kitchen has absolutely everything you could want. Bedrooms were very nice and the grandkids loved the themed bedrooms. The master suite was lovely and incredibly large. The entire back yard is a playground of swimming pool, hot tub, outdoor kitchen and grill, fireplace with seating around it, a large outdoor dining area, a playground area for the kids, and a putting green. Really fun. Plenty of beach towels and sand toys to take to the beach. Only one complaint and that is that the pool is not very warm. Because of that, some people didn't use the pool.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I just need to clarify something for future guests. Our pool is heated to 72 degrees and is definitely swimmable. During the winter, it has always been acceptable to our guests at this temperature. Since we lived in our house, and still visit it frequently, we feel this is a reasonable temp to keep the pool and enjoy it. This winter has been unusually wet and cold because of the crazy weather. With that in mind, we bumped the temp up to 78 degrees to keep it a little warmer. We did not charge any of our guests extra for this, and it is very expensive to run the heater during the winter. This guest wanted the pool to be heated to 85 degrees. That is just not something we can do. First, because we do not have a commercial heater like you would have at a hotel pool. Our system would break down trying to output that kind of heat. Second, the heater would need to be on 24/7 to keep it that warm and the cost would be huge! I'm sorry this guest did not enjoy the pool, but they were well aware of the contracted temperature. Had we discussed the 85 degrees beforehand, I would have certainly let him know that was not possible. The spa can be adjusted to.any temperature and is quite large. I find that most guests prefer the spa during the winter months anyways. People don't generally swim in the pool when it's cold, rainy and overcast like it's been this year. We want every family who visits to have an amazing vacation and strive to make our house 5 star all the way!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great value, family friendly, exceptional pool and patio area, Better than advertised

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 1 couple with 4 children and 2 sets of grandparents stayed at this amazing home February 4-11. It was a perfect base for our San Diego vacation. This rental came with high references but it is rare that something is better than advertised. This was! We found the home very clean and ready for occupancy when we checked in. The kitchen was well-stocked with all the pans, dishes and glassware needed. It seemed everything was available to make our stay enjoyable including bicycles, scooters, boogie boards, playroom and playground equipment, TVs and strollers for our days out. While we spent most days "out", the highlight was returning to the pool and patio area by mid-afternoon. The pool and patio area was in a word AMAZING. Both children and adults loved this time of day. We used the very nice barbecue several times. It rained some of the time or we would have enjoyed the outdoor fireplace also. This rental is 5 minutes from Legoland and 30 minutes from most San Diego tourist spots although sometimes the heavy traffic made it longer. We would definitely return and have recommended it to other families. Thank you Carrie and Brad for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

We have just come back to the cold of Canada after an awesome week with family at Casa Allegra in Oceanside, California. The house was exactly what we needed to accommodate 5 adults and one two-year old grandson. It gave us plenty of space to be together or apart. We really appreciated the family set up, that is, high chairs, playpens, toys, bikes, strollers, toddler dishes and utensils, right down to the 'sippy cups.' And my grandson absolutely loved his own little play space tucked under the stairs! The weather cooperated as well and we were able to spend a lot of time in the spectacular backyard. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to make more special family memories......Bernadette

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place, centrally located. Fun family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Great place, centrally located. Fun family vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this house

Everything was as we expected

Our three adult children and their families joined one being a baby

The hot tub was a huge draw as it was a little chilly in January

Would strongly recommend this property

Huge yard back yard for the kids

All amenities you could need

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Casa de Allegra

  • 5 of 5

My famiy had a fantastic time. The house lived up to all expectations and the backyard far exceeded. The location is great with easy access to the 5 and a very short distance to legoland, Sea World etc which was a great benefit as we had small children with us. The house is very well set up for families with lots of games and toys for youngsters. At the same time it is and elegant hone that worked very well for the adults. Carrie was a pleasure to work with very clear, accessible and friendly. I will be recommending this property to anybody who expresses an interest in the San Diego area.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Amtrak Oceanside
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Cassidy Street
Car: recommended

We are centrally located with short drive times to the San Diego Safari Park (30 minutes), Legoland (8 minutes), San Diego Zoo (35 minutes), Sea World (30 minutes), Disneyland (45 minutes), and Knotts Berry Farm (55 minutes)!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fire Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Feb 25 2017 - May 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
May 2017
May 6 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
August
Jul 29 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,000
 
 
September
Sep 9 2017 - Nov 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
Early Winter 2017
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 16 2017 - Dec 30 2017
14 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee (Required) $300
Pool Heating (Required) $500
Tax Rate 11.5%

WEEKLY RENTAL ONLY! NO PARTIES OR SPECIAL EVENTS!

Our rates vary from $2,500 low season to $6,500 during high season and holidays!

The following fees are collected in addition to the base rental fee:
11.5% City of Oceanside Tax
Pool Heating Fee: $500
Cleaning Fee: $300

Guest making payment via credit card, will pay an additional fee of 3% (domestic transactions) and 5% (international transactions) to cover credit card processing fees. The full balance of your account is due 90 days prior to check-in.

CANCELLATION - $500 fee for all cancellations. If you cancel within 90 days or less, we will try to re-book your week, but if your week cannot be rebooked we will keep the full amount paid. We like our guests to know they are planning on vacationing at our house before they book. We are not a hotel and cannot easily re-book cancelled bookings. Please do not book to just "hold" dates for a proposed trip. We like to work with families who are solidly planning on traveling and do not intend to cancel. Thank you!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties