Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type house

Overview

About the property

4 BR, 3 BA sleeps 16 (10 in 5 beds; 6 in 3 sofabeds)

Less than 1 block to the beach --- wide white-sand beach.

What is unique about Tybee Island?

. Barrier island due east of historic Savannah

. Just 3-mile diameter, and half that is salt marsh

. Birthplace and home of a C-list actor; chosen home of an

A-list actor; nesting home of loggerhead sea turtles.

. Great dolphin viewing --- virtually guaranteed on the

north end of the island. Dolphin boat tours are always

available, but sitting on the north beach is just as

effective. We once watched a band of dolphins frolicking

with a delighted kayaker.

. Impressive pier that extends way, way out into the water.

Each end has a nice covered pavilion.

What is close to Coral House?: . The beach

. Across the street: 5 restaurants

1) McElwhee's Seafood,

2) Mexican

3) Sundae Cafe - a hole-in-the-wall, white-tablecloth, Gourmet

restaurant. Sundaes? Nah. (go figure) But The Sugar Shack has great ones.

4) The Sugar Shack - a decidedly downscale, inexpensive

place that serves a good breakfast, sandwiches, and hand-

dipped ice cream. Indoor or covered outdoor dining.

5) Pizza

The 2 Lighthouses: Two lighthouses less than 3 miles apart but so radically different in character. As you approach Tybee Island, you see the impressive Tybee Light in the distance. Tall, dark, and handsome with a white cumberbund. He was honored a couple of years ago when he got his own US postage stamp. ( In lighthouse circles that is akin to an Oscar.) But then as you cross the Lazaretto bridge onto Tybee Island, you look down to the left and blink. Is that a lighthouse in the water? Indeed it is. That's plucky little Cockspur Lighthouse. Weathered, plain white masonry. Not flashy at all, except ... At every high tide Cockspur stands in the ocean well off-shore. Only at low tide does the stony spur appear that supports the little lighthouse. A firm foundation after all.

Lost in the 40's/50's: So far the quaint shopping district near the pier has pretty much escaped the wrecking ball. Witness Arby's --- Tybee Island's only fast food restaurant. This is pretty much what Arby's looked like when they began in the early 60's. As for shopping, no Sak's here. We're talking beach shopping: T-shirts, souvenirs, Sno-Cones, umbrella drinks, seafood. But remember, for culture and serious shopping, there is colorful, historic Savannah, just 20-25 minutes away. Recommended reading: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an amusing look at Savannah's high- and low-life (about 2 years on the NY Times nonfiction best seller list).

Coral House is located about mid-beach between south beach (home of the pier and shopping) and north beach ( home of the majestic Tybee Light and the former Ft. Screven, now a museum).

More Details

Property Manager
Ted Walker
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

Amenities

Tybee Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1st floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Sunroom bedroom, 1st floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Mezzanine bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , Top floor
  • Bedroom 3 is a mezzanine bedroom with its own balcony. Queen sofa sleepers (3) are in 3 living areas. The King-size bed can be split into 2 twin beds. If needed, the house can sleep up to 18 people: 16 on 8 beds & sofa-beds + 1 on a couch + 1 on a twin air mattress.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 7 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Available to guests without extra charge: . WIFI . Pet Friendly . Laundry Room --- washer, dryer, detergent, fabric softener . Bikes --- in excellent condition are available to our guests at half-price from a bike rental shop. They deliver and they pick up. . 200+ Movies on DVD . Outdoor shower . Beach wagon --- similar to a Radio Flyer. Load up your beach gear & pull it to the beach. . 4 TV's & Comcast cable

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
Coral House --- close to beach, Spring Break and pet friendly, WIFI
average rating of 4.45 based on 20 reviews
5

Fantastic Girl Scout Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 12 Girl Scouts staying for a weekend of activities in Savannah and Tybee. This cottage was perfect! So cute, clean, and well furnished. We saved money by cooking meals: easily done with the 3 kitchens and plenty of supplies. This was the BEST location! Just 2 houses down from public beach access for cool night ghost crab hunts! Easy access to everything fun! On Tybee you should visit the Lighthouse and Marine Science Center; in Savannah the JGL House, Savannah Theatre and Pirate House for lunch... all awesome attractions and welcoming to Girl Scouts.The cottage owner was super friendly and easy to work with. This is a nice alternative to a hotel room, and extremely economical too! The girls cant quit talking about how much fun we had!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2011
  • Stayed: November 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
1

The house itself was in a great location on the island, there were something’s that needed updated.

  • 1 of 5

I am giving a low review due to the circumstances of the booking and handling of it. We were originally booked to stay from Sunday-Wed. I contacted the owner about staying an additional night. I was asked to pay right away which was done and told we were confirmed to stay until Thursday morning. While my Girl Scout troop was at the lighthouse museum and tour, I received a call from the owner. He stated that there was a conflict and he needed us to leave the house NOW! He had doubled booked it and wanted our troop and parents (13 people) to vacate now. We agreed to leave after our tour with no place else to stay 12 hours from home. He offered a 50% refund but we needed to leave so his cleaning people could prepare for his arriving guests. Again, we agreed to leave after our tour. It unfortunately turned into harassment while we were trying to finish our tour and also getting people back to the house to eat lunch. Why eat lunch? This was because we had food for 13 people to finish up as that was our plan for the day. So it took us from the first call at 10:23 (waiting to go into the lighthouse) to leaving his house at 2:15. This was not our fault, we paid all payments, had all confirmations and we were being harassed and threatened to have the police called. This was all with 7 Girl Scouts having their day disrupted, packing feverishly and watching moms try to stay calm. As Girl Scouts we have learned to adapt. There were no hotels for miles with vacancy due to the time we finished our evening plans. We ended up with three rooms almost to North Carolina in a horrible hotel just to be able to sleep. Again, the house was great for the space, could have used a little updating nothing major, but use caution the owner isn’t mistaken and doesn’t have you double booked and need to throw you out at any given time.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Because of an error in the online calendar, their last night was double-booked. We offered them $1200 to check out a day early, and they agreed. We refunded $1200 but they wouldn’t leave. Check-out is by 10:00 am. New guests were checking in at 3:00 pm. They didn’t leave until 2:00 pm. That left us 1 hour to clean a large 2-story house, which was impossible. Girl Scout leaders tend to be more demanding than the general public, but the behavior of this one was unethical.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Charming property

  • 4 of 5

I brought a group of 15 Girl Scouts and adults for a long anticipated trip to Tybee/Savannah. The house was spotless and we enjoyed our time there. However, I was surprised to find it is broken up into three units and not one, big, open house. It worked out fine because it gave the girls down time without the noise of 11 girls all in one space. But the listing should be updated to reflect that the house is three separate units.

Otherwise, the Sugar Shack across the street was delicious, the beach a short walk to the end of the street and the trip was declared amazing by my Girl Scouts.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Budget friendly

  • 5 of 5

We stayed on bottom floor. Our stay was pleasant and accommodating. Plenty of extras helped our stay be even more pleasant than we expected including extra beach chairs and a new beach umbrella. Floors were nice and overall I would stay again. As I titled this, budget friendly!!! Not a 5 star but very nice.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Cozy Beach House

  • 5 of 5

We visited Tybee Island during St. Patrick's Day weekend for a bachelorette party. The house was PERFECT! We had 14 girls staying with us and the house had all of the amenities that we needed. We were able to walk across the street to the convenient store for things we had forgotten and we walked to dinner on Friday night. There was plenty of room for everyone to park as well in the side yard.

The pictures of the house do not do it justice! We were amazed with how much room there was for everyone and abundant places for everyone to sleep. The backyard and side yard were perfect for hanging outside and playing games. Inside, we had plenty of space to store food (3 fridges!) and everyone to be comfortable. We had to be creative with making a schedule for showers since there were only 3 but everything worked out fabulous! The upstairs bathroom even had a huge mirror that pulled out while other girls were in the shower/bathroom. Everything was well maintained and cleaned. Customer service was quick the few times I contacted them before our stay too.

I will definitely be returning to stay again and tell anyone heading this way to stay too!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Relaxing thanksgiving with friends at Tybee island

  • 2 of 5

Me and friends of mine stayed at the Coral house for the thanksgiving holiday. The coral house location was perfect for us. 5 minutes walk to beach, close to liquor store, gas station and light house. However, the house itself wasnot what we expected. They claimed for 16 beds. 6 of beds actually were sofa beds and there was two twin beds which are not roomy for two. There were not enough towels, sheets, blanket and pillows. They were dirty. The first floor was not clean. The plates, glasses and other dishwares were not clean and we had to wash them off again. The dishwashers did not work properly so we had to wash off things by hand. The outdoor seats were very old. There was only a small charcoal grill in the yard. So for each meal we had to reload the charcoal 2 times.

The bottom line, we only enjoyed each other company and the first floor of the house and its amenities should be renewed. It does not worth the money that we spent.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Coral House has 2 Queen beds, 1 King bed, 2 Full beds, and 3 Queen sofa-beds. That's 8 beds. With 2 people per bed, we can sleep 16 comfortably. I ran both dishwashers through a cycle and they cleaned normally. It's just not credible that all the dishes and glasses were put away dirty and nobody noticed before these guests arrived.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Savannah
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Cleaning $165 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

$1500 - $2890 per Week. $225 -$480 per Day.
April and Oct are similar to Miami Beach in winter.

Last-minute deals are available when a reservation is made within 10 days of arrival.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Last-minute deals are available when booked 10 days or less in advance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.