An old farmworker's cottage recently refurbished in a rustic style but with modern amenities. It is located in its own garden with an ample area in front for outdoor dining. The kitchen retains original features, including a stone sink but also includes a gas cooker and refrigerator. The handmade oak table easily seats eight. The bedroom has its own bathroom. The property is part of a larger group of farm buildings, which now sits among huge fruit trees and well-loved flower gardens. At the bottom of the garden is the Gardonnette stream shrouded in mature poplars and oaks; a ramblers paradise. Set some distance from the gite is the main house which also has 2 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms to let as well.
Rustic haven in tranquil garden setting
- Calendar last updated:
- Feb 20, 2019
About Maurice Halder
While originally coming from New Zealand I have now been away from the country almost as long as I lived in it. Teaching has allowed me to travel work and get to know people in a wide range of places all over the planet. In between postings to various countries in Asia the UK has been home until very recently when we made the move across to France to try something new.
Maurice Halder purchased this Cottage in 2014
Why Maurice Halder chose Gardonne
We were on the hunt for the quintessential French stone farmhouse and think we found it, Nestled in its own mature orchard with the garden sloping down to a stream, the house and its ancient farm buildings just seemed like a dream come true. While it has taken a some work to update the house and our gite, we have not lost our initial enthusiasm and still take great pleasure in the house and its surroundings.
What makes this Cottage unique
An oasis of calm, the house and gite are cool in the summer when the Dordogne is baked by the sun. But if the desire to be outside gets too much then there is always the shade of the 300 year old Lebanese cedar.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
WARNING – THIS PROPERTY IS NOT AS DESCRIBED. AVERTISSEMENT - CETTE PROPRIÉTÉ N'EST PAS DÉCRITE.
The property was described as having air-conditioning, a microwave and a washing machine. None of these were fitted in the property.
The property was very dark and had a dirty log burner which caused smoke to fill the whole property.
The upstairs bedroom had no means of escape other than a wooden staircase. This staircase only consisted of a top and bottom newal and a handrail but had no spindles fitted in between. The Velux window in the upstairs bedroom was filthy and covered in an old frayed net which had several dead insects trapped in it. There were also multiple electric plugs in single sockets throughout the property, which were another fire risk.
The cooking pots, stone ‘sink’ cutlery, crockery and drinking utensils were filthy and had ingrained dirt. The fridge had a strange noxious odour and there was old seafood still in the freezer. A settee had stained cushions and on lifting the cushions, there were food deposits and dust on the frame. The dining chair cushions were all stained.
There was a stack of logs in the sitting area which were home to numerous insects as well as numerous spiders’ webs.
In the second bedroom downstairs the bed settee was dirty, stained and smelt damp. The toilet pan was stained brown and the remains of previous contents were evident around the inside of the waste pipe.
We did not approach the owner late at night, as he had two guard dogs in his garden. We had no way of finding alternative accommodation at that time of night, so we had no option but to stay the night.
When we had found alternative accommodation we returned and knocked on the owner’s door but there was no answer, so we tried to call him but there was no answer. We emailed the owner as soon as we could. The owner replied but offered no refund. We subsequently sent several emails to the owner requesting a refund but he refused.
He subsequently suggested that a microwave had to be requested in advance and that we could have used the washing machine in his house. He also said that the ‘air-conditioning’ was “natural air-conditioning as it was a stone property”. There was no mention of any of this in the listing when we booked or when he showed us around the property on arrival.
The owner had the audacity to deny the property was dirty. However our photographs prove to the contrary. The owner had blatantly miss described the property and is not telling the truth in his replies to our emails, so read his reply to our feedback with this in mind.
Virtually nothing this guest says is an accurate description of the property. On the website when they made the booking it clearly stated that a microwave was available on request, washing could be done at the main house and that the house was 'naturally air-conditioned' due to its thick stone walls. Having made this oversight of not reading any of the accompanying notes and clearly not being willing to admit this, they chose to leave instead, without first discussing the matter with us. They also immediately placed a complaint with the website. Had they spoken with us reasonably, rather than adopting a bullying and intimidating tone in subsequent emails a clear attempt to extort money, we would have definitely considered their point of view and been willing to consider some reimbursement.
The latest result in this ongoing and unnecessary saga is this vitriolic review which needs to read in the context of all the other reviews we have had. The inaccuracies and distortions are legion and throughout. Our dogs are gentle pets not guard dogs. We are very careful and thorough with our cleaning. The woodburner has doors keeping smoke inside so the room is warm but not smoky. We were actually at home when they left. etc etc.
What you are reading is the attempt of a very angry man yet again to bully and intimidate others. It is not the way we work and we do not feel it is an effective way to deal with others either.
Quaint cottage....charming host...pity about the weather.
Maurice was welcoming and had the wood burner going as the weather was wet and chilly (not so good for early Sept). We found the cottage rustic and quaint, pretty much as advertised. Unfortunately the weather remained unseasonable and we really think the cottage would be at its best when it's warm and you can eat and sit outside. We found it a little gloomy and needed the light on in the daytime. Maurice lit the stove each day so it was warm when we came in......and we needed it. Thank you for welcoming us and our dog. Tim and Sky
Our stay in Toni & Maurice's cottage has been a great holiday. The cottage is comfortable and charming, it has Well equipped with what we needed for our stay. The garden is full of greenery (fruits trees & flowers) a beautiful rustic setting, we enjoyed our meal time sitting out. The location of the cottage is within easy reach to lots of interesting places I would recommend to those who with younger children who struggle with long car journey look no further! We're so glad to meet you guys and wish it could have been longer. We wish you the best in the future plan for the garden.
We loved having you and the children to stay and the fact that you made the most of what the cottage has to offer.
Set in beautiful gardens
We had a lovely stay at the aptly named Iris Meadow Cottage near Gardonne. The cottage has been renovated well and contains lots of interesting features like a stone sink and stone walls, as well as wooden floorboards. Unfortunately, the weather was bad when we were staying so we didn’t get to enjoy the gardens as much we had hoped, however they are just beautiful. Spring flowers abound and there was plenty of room for our dog to run around and play with Archie, one of the resident dogs. Maurice and Tony were fantastic and friendly hosts and we enjoyed chatting to them. They even had a fire burning for us when we arrived as the temperatures had dropped and they provided lots of wood to keep us warm during our stay. Thanks again!
I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the Dordogne and staying in this little cottage made it more lovely. Maurice & Tony are wonderful hosts. They knew just the right amount of interaction. Since I was traveling on my own, they invited me to a couple of outings with their friends which was very fun. Tony has made the gardens a paradise, and I would highly recomend it.
Great Little Cottage in idyllic settings
FANTASTIC!!!!!! The cottage is old french farm cottage. Most of the original features remain - very cosy. Lovely modern shower and bedroom. The setting is idyllic -one day we spent the whole afternoon in the garden after a visit to Emet market in the morning. Tony and Maurice are the perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble for them and they have a great knowledge of the area. Looking at other views -this is not luxury but very comfortable, in a beautiful setting at a great price. Also only a 15 minute very easy drive from Bergerac airport and well positioned to see quite a bit of the Dordogne.
Once again Fantastic!!!!
There are several chateaux very close to the house including Monbazillac, famous for its dessert wines. Tastings can be arranged at most of the vineyards. In nearby Ste Foi-le-Grande there is a regular large weekend market on Saturday mornings. There is also a buddhist retreat located about 5 kms from the house in Thenac. Up the hill from us is Sigoules, about 8 kms away. They run a marche gourmande all through the summer. Everyone shares trestle tables in the square - make sure you take a plate, cutlery and glasses so you too can enjoy the wonderful food and wine.
Additional information about rental rates
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. There is an additional fee charged for extra guests beyond the minimum of two. This is 15 euros per additional person per night. The property at present sleeps 5 comfortably.