check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bud or Kathy Schonder

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Breathtaking Oceanfront Condo, 20 Feet to Ocean

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 full baths sleeps 4 adults plus 2 children

Fully equipped 2 bedrooms with Tommy Bahama Linens. Fully equipped kitchen plus high speed Internet. Amazing sunsets from the private lanai with spectacular waves as they meet the cliffs. Only a 10 minute walk to the swimming beach at Poipu or Shipwreck beach in front of the Hyatt. A beautiful pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court, & barbecue are available for your use in the condo complex. Both bathrooms were recently remodeled with modern amenities, LED lighting, customized closets, and they are beautiful!!

**** Please see our personal website for more photos. Link to site can be found above contact information ****

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bud or Kathy Schonder (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Bud or Kathy Schonder chose Kauai

Because you come to Hawaii to get away from it all and relax. This property affords you the possibility to RELAX and ENJOY all the qualities that make Hawaii a favorite destination. Amazing Sunsets, the Ocean to view by day and to lull you to sleep at night, and the BEAUTY is breathtaking!!!!

What makes this condo unique

Our condo is located at a vantage point where others come to watch the sunsets. You can watch amazing sunsets from the privacy of your lanai. You can view much of the sea life right from the lanai, i.e. whale watching, school of Dolphin as they swim by, the turtles right below the cliffs, and so much more!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Bud,



We had a great time during our two week stay in your condo.



Thanks so much



Bob



P.S. By the way - Those Bathrooms Are Great!
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 13

Reviews

4.7
based on 18 traveler reviews

Breathtaking Oceanfront Condo, 20 Feet to Ocean
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 31 reviews
Spanish Fork, Utah
4

Relaxing and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We really liked this place a lot! The view is fantastic! We ate breakfast out on the lanai every morning and saw so many sea turtles while eating. Wonderful trade winds to keep you cool. We felt very comfortable in this home. Well stocked kitchen, had everything we needed. My kids loved taking the little "hike" from the parking lot to the sea cliffs and looking at the pools of marine life. The arch is really cool too. The only small negative is that because you are close to the ocean, you are far from the parking lot (but really it's not that far, it just seems farther when you are carrying your load from Costco ;) ) I recommend this place, I plan to come back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Hopefully you read & used the ramp with no steps from the parking lot to the condo as directed in the provided welcoming package. Also we provided a dolly for those bulk Costco items. Glad you had a great time & enjoyed our condo. Couldn't be 20 feet from the ocean without some elevation change. Bud
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, beautiful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We really loved our stay in this condo. It's situated between Poipu Beach, which is very fun and family-friendly, and a breath-taking walk to Shipwreck Beach. We spent a lot of time just exploring these areas close to us. I would definitely recommend continuing your walk passed Shipwreck Beach onto the cliffs that take you out to Gillins Beach. Very beautiful and great way to watch the sunrise! After the day's busy activities, we loved coming back to this peaceful condo away from the crowds. There's nothing between you and the waves crashing against the rocks. We spent a lot of time sitting on the lanai enjoying the waves. We saw many turtles and dolphins swimming by. We loved the welcome basket when we first arrived. The place was very clean, the furnishings nice and the bed comfortable. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 stars. You covered all the reasons that we love this place. Also the condo is located close to many good restaurants, golf & shopping. Bud
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This was a great place for us..2 kids 4 adults. Location is every thing ..great view of the ocean,

  • 5 of 5

Great location...Popui beach, was best for kids and adult...centrally located to try native foodies.....and see all the sights...raining all over the island but not here. Humility was high the last two days of our stay. No air conditioning but there are fans and it kept us comfortable. We would definitely come back...you will not be disappointed. Mahola Jerry Jarett eliz elliot and daphne!!😀򐀽򐈀

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 stars. That is why they call location: sunny Poipu. Bud
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible, spacious oceanfront view of crashing waves, morning rainbows and sunsets

  • 5 of 5

Since we had never been to Kauai before, we had no idea of really what to expect. Saying that, we were blown away by the beauty of the island and of this condo. It was bigger than we had ever dreamed of. We always rented studios on Maui for our family of four. So, having two spacious bedrooms with a large kitchen/dining area and a separate living room area, we never felt like we were tripping over each other. Since the unit was on the ground floor, the unit even seemed bigger beyond the lanai because of the lawn, rocks and ocean that were directly out front. We slept wonderfully every night and sat for hours watching the waves crash up on the rocks directly in front of the unit. The location worked well for us too. It was less than a two minute drive to Poipu beach, 6 minutes to downtown Koloa, 4 minutes from Uncles Shave Ice, about 20-25 minutes to Safeway/Costco, 25-30 minutes from the airport, 35 minutes to Kapa'a, 1 hour to Waimea Canyon, and 1-1/2 hours max. to the north shore (Hanalei Bay, Tunnels Beach and Ke'e Beach). The kitchen had everything we needed for our dinners, the TV was well used with Euro soccer (ESPN), and we even were able to set up our Netflix account. There are four beach chairs that we used but our kids weren't interested in using the two boogie boards. We did use the pool and hot tub once which was nice. It also came with 7-8 beach towels and 1 small cooler that could hold about 12 water bottles. The best beaches for our family to snorkel and hang out at were Tunnels Beach, Kepuhi Beach, Poipu Beach and then Salt Pond Beach. We were told to go to Anini to snorkel but we loved Tunnels, especially early in the morning. We loved Uncles in Koloa and Hee Fat in Kapa'a for shaved ice. We shopped after landing at both Costco and Safeway in Lihue but filled in the rest of our vacation with Big Save in Koloa. Thank you again for sharing your amazing, beautiful, comfortable, affordable condo and we will definitely rent it again the next time we come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your long, complete & complementary review! We always want to give our clients more than they expect! Bud
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Location was wonderful

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in this condo. Views from lanai were fabulous We would stay again if the opportunity arises. We had a very comfortable stay with all the amenities of home.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! This is our second home & we want our guests to enjoy their visit & have all the comforts of home plus the experience of a great tropical vacation! Bud & Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely getaway

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful week at Makahuena. The condo was beautifully laid out, with just about everything you'd need for a relaxing week on Kauai. We were very sad to leave that lanai on the last morning! :-/

The owners left a nice welcome basket with snacks and coffee and even some fresh island fruit -- that's really going the extra mile. Plus, all our dealings with the Schonders were just great...they seem like very nice people.

Two things to keep in mind, though: first, though it doesn't jump right out in the description, there's no AC. The tradewinds and the fans do an okay job of regulating the temperature, but with the fans on all the time, there's quite a bit of noise. Second: there's a lava rock promontory right by the condo, and it's perfectly legal for anyone to fish from it. This happened several times during our stay, and the young men fishing were there all night. We were woken up by shouting (lots of celebratory profanity) at 4am one day when they landed a particularly large fish.

If you're a sound sleeper, this is the place to be. :-)

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review & your positive comments. We want to treat our guests the way we wish to be treated plus give them more than they expect. We have never had a previous complaint that the fans are noise. We are staying in our condo at this time & don't find them a problem, but are replacing them for decorative reasons. We feel that listening to the ocean & enjoying the tropical trade winds is part of the great experience of this direct ocean front condo! Air conditioning would remove part of the tropical vacation experience! Only hotels & inland condos have air conditioning on Kauai. We have rarely experienced the fisherman below our condo in the years that we have owned the condo. We are so sorry that you were disturbed by their enthusiastic untimely appearance. To the contrary, the norm is that the soothing sounds of the ocean create the most nourishing sleep! We appreciate & your comments. Mahalo, Bud & Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Lihui
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Kia Huna Golf or The Hyatt
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Poipu Beach
Car: recommended

We are 1/2 mile or less from one of the best rated beaches in Hawaii. Many wonderful restaurants and shops are equally as close. Our condominium affords some of the best sunset views on the island as well as sea life viewing. The complex has a wonderful swimming pool, hot tub, tennis courts and the outdoor community grilling area is modern and beautiful. All the amenities that you may require are offered in the condo including a full washer and dryer. Outdoor amenities are numerous but the view from our condo is by far the greatest amenity of all!! A guest book inside the condo has numerous suggestions from previous guests regarding, restaurants, must-see places and must do activities during your stay.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Poipu Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2016
Dec 20 2016 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
Winter 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Apr 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Beautifully remodeled bathrooms as/of Dec. 2012
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Newly remodeled as/of December 2012
  • The new bathrooms have specialized amenities such as LED lighting, custom made cabinetry, modern design with specialized closets and plumbing fixtures, Roburn medicine chests, Master dressing and makeup area.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Bedroom two can be a King or two twins.
  • King with Tommy Bahama Linens. Second bedroom configured as king or 2 twins. Very comfortable Queen hide a bed in living room. Master bedroom is oceanfront.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers