check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Roxanne

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

10 Min. to Town - Peaceful, Private, Perfect, Riverfront! Spa!

29 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Southwest Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths

PEACEFUL, PRIVATE, and PERFECT along the Kalamazoo River. A comfortable and clean home located in a natural setting in the woods. To make the property more family friendly we remodeled Spring 2016. The new Master Bed has an en-suite bathroom and can be accessed from the house or from an external door. Please inquire if you would like a more detailed description. New windows and doors add natural light.

Harmony River House is a tranquil and private home set on one acre of woods, overlooking the Kalamazoo River and only 10 minutes from town. The peaceful setting in the woods is incredible. There is abundant wildlife such as birds, deer, wild turkey, etc.

Hardwood floors, an open floor plan, a large three season room, private hot tub and wood burning fireplace are some of the amenities that you will enjoy at the Harmony River House.

Guided canoe tours or private Jet Boat tours are available through a local outfitter. You will spot Bald Eagles and other birds and animals while you travel on the Kalamazoo.

Beautifully decorated with special touches throughout, you will feel like you are home.

Whether you are seeking a nature retreat, family getaway, girls or guys weekend, or a romantic hideaway we can accommodate your visit any time during the year.

Keywords: River Front House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Roxanne (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 29 traveler reviews

10 Min. to Town - Peaceful, Private, Perfect, Riverfront! Spa!
average rating of 4.724138 based on 29 reviews
5

Outstanding retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This place is perfect for everybody -- romantic couples, families with kids, groups of friends! My partner and I came for the tulip festival in nearby Holland, and were joined by a couple of Michigander friends. There was plenty of room, the house was immaculate, and all of the amenities were just terrific -- from the perfect fire pit, complete with plenty of provided firewood -- to the roomy hot tub overlooking the river (and even though it was ~40f at night, it was plenty warm with a terrific view of the moon and stars!) -- the game room, the horseshoe pit, the comfy beds and fluffy towels, etc, etc! We didn't even use half of the amenities (outdoor chiminea, indoor fireplace, tv) -- but we had a blast, and it was so comfortable and relaxing! The location is terrific (though you'll want to ensure that you get all of your supplies for the day before you return to the house; it's only a 10-15 minute drive to the nearest store, but it gets old when you go 2-3 times a day!). Very close to Saugatuck/Douglas; Douglas is cute -- but Saugatuck is absolutely wonderful for dining, shopping, strolling, art -- so friendly and fun. I will absolutely rent this again when I'm up that way, it was well worth it!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We try to meet people's needs by providing the comfort you would normally find at home along with some fun amenities. It's important that our guests are happy with the rental. We look forward to your return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Awesome, Fun, Quiet Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

A group of friends and I decided to take a getaway trip for a few days away, we were planning on skiing/snowboarding at Bittersweet Ski Resort one of the days and wanted a nice, cozy, secluded rental to stay in. We were looking most forward to the hot tub and view of the river. Neither disappointed!

Unfortunately, the snow accumulation was not enough to ski, so we went into downtown Saugatuck and strolled around the cute shops, had lunch at Wally's (which I would recommend for a quick drink and good burger), the locals were so nice! We then decided to just stay in the rental, set up a fire, played the multitude of games that were provided, and enjoyed a nice sit in the hot tub. This house has everything you need! It was warm and inviting, very clean, private, quiet and serene. Only thing is the height of the ceilings (many of my friends are 6'2" or taller, so some ducking was occurring), but that is just in a minor hallway of the house; the wireless connection is limited but that was expected due to the location.

Roxanne was very accommodating and helpful prior to the stay, and we will most DEFINITELY be booking another stay at the Harmony River House any season of the year!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

RENTERS BEWARE, THIS PLACE IS NOT WHAT IS PICTURED ON LINE

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I plus another couple spent a week here. We love Saugatuck and have had great experiences renting from VRBO. Not this time, and the owner would rather keep our rent money AND our deposit than keep a satisfied customer. We left the place cleaner than we found it and she would not refund our deposit. The couch was all ripped up, the beds were terrible, there was dog hair all over the place, the sheets and towels were old and the whole place was dirtily and it smelled like mold. I would not recommend this to anyone. Few of the photos on line represent reality. To top it off, the next door neighbors liked target practice at night with their guns.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for reading our reviews. We have 13 years in the vacation rental business and pride ourselves on offering our guests a relaxing vacation experience. Please be assured that our property is well maintained. We employ local service people for cleaning, spa maintenance, landscaping, etc. We are happy with them and stand by their work. However, if there is something that you find unsatisfactory we will be more than happy to fix it. Please email, call or text upon your arrival so that we are made aware of the situation and we will respond asap. We contacted this guest on the 5th day of their stay and we were told everything was great. After the 7th day they demanded a full refund and said they would contact an attorney and expose us on social media if we did not send them money. Their deposit was refunded after their stay. Please read our other reviews and contact us if you have concerns about this review or need clarification on the features of this property. In addition, to make the property more family friendly, we remodeled spring 2016. We changed the configuration of the bedrooms. The new Master Bed has an en-suite bath and can be accessed from the house for families or from an external door for 2 couples travelling together. Please inquire if you would like a more detailed description. In addition we changed some windows and doors and added internet and a TV to the new Master we also added a washer and dryer. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
12 6
Minooka, IL
5

Couple Weekend Getaway..with the pups!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I decided we needed to get out of IL for a weekend, but we hate boarding up our two dogs. We ended up going with another couple who also had a puppy and it was the best thing! There is so much space for the dogs to run around. We enjoyed our stay as well! The house was very clean and all the lights were on when we got there, just in case we did get there in the dark we could see where we are going. It is in a great location if you want to have the private feeling. The hot tub was definitely a hit. Only thing is that that when we showered there was no hot water, HOWEVER that is due to us not turning on the hot water heater! The place is great and I highly recommend it! Downtown Saugatuck actually had a small music fest, so that was nice to go see! During the day there is plenty to do as well..and it is only a short drive to town! We are currently trying to figure out our next VRBO trip :) Thanks for a great first experience Roxanne!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Joliet, IL
5

Wonderful Clean, Private, Large Rental Close to Saugatuck!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time to this rental. For us, it was perfect. I loved the Oriental Décor! Very comfortable and large. Very clean! The hot tub overlooks the river and is very private! The fact that we could bring our dog made this place perfect for us! The refrigerator was a tad small, but good for the two of us. I liked the retro look. I think I would be a bit afraid of small children trying to go down the steep steps to the river, but the front yard is big. The second bedroom and bathroom are detached from the house. There is a separate outside entrance. This could be ideal for another couple, but I think people with small children might possibly be disappointed with this arrangement. The furniture is comfortable and clean. Woods are all around the place. We loved the seclusion! I would & have recommended this place to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, to make the property more family friendly we remodeled spring 2016. We changed the configuration of the bedrooms. The new Master Bed has an en-suite bath and can be accessed from the house for families or from an external door for 2 couples travelling together. Please inquire if you would like a more detailed description. In addition we changed some windows and doors and added internet and a TV to the new Master we also added a washer and dryer. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville, Fl
5

Peaceful and private location

  • 5 of 5

One of the cleanest places we have ever stayed at! The short 10 to 15 minute ride into town was worth the trip from a secluded and peaceful surrounding. My son enjoyed the separate bedroom/bathroom space that he could have as his own space. The large porch provided a lot of fun family time playing fussball and ping pong too. Only negative was not having a washing machine and dryer available.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, to make the property more family friendly we remodeled spring 2016. We changed the configuration of the bedrooms. The new Master Bed has an en-suite bath and can be accessed from the house for families or from an external door for 2 couples travelling together. Please inquire if you would like a more detailed description. In addition we changed some windows and doors and added internet and a TV to the new Master we also added a washer and dryer. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Fine dining, family dining, great shopping, nightlife, antiques and art galleries, bowling alley, 10 minutes to Fenn Valley Winery & Vineyard for tours and wine tasting, 10 minutes to blueberry, raspberry, peach, and apple picking farms & orchards, dune buggy rides, golfing, sailing, boating, live theater/music, waterfront film festival, autumn foliage, state/local hiking-cross country ski trails/parks & beaches - Mt. Baldhead, Oval Beach, Douglas Beach, Saugatuck Dunes State Park, Jet Boat river tours and night time fishing trips for giant catfish. Salmon fishing charter boats. Guided canoe trips. Canoe on site.

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Richmond House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 28 2016 - Sep 3 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Fall, Winter, Spring
Sep 4 2016 - May 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 8.0%

This property is located in a heavily wooded area, along the Kalamazoo River. You may see wildlife such as deer, wild turkey, etc. In addition you may see forest animals such as squirrels, chipmunks, raccoons, snakes, mice and spiders. Our property is maintained for pest control but we cannot guarantee that you will not encounter one or all of the above in the surrounding area. If you have issues with any of these animals this property may not suit your needs.

50% due to reserve. Balance due 2 weeks prior to stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Southwest Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bed linens are provided for the queen beds only
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Natural setting along Kalamazoo River. You may see wildlife as we are situated in the woods. DVD Movies, board games, train table, bird feeders, Humming bird feeder, fountain, Heavy Duty Camp Cots, horseshoe pit, fire pit, large screen porch, view of nature conservancy, wildlife. Jet Boat river tours and night fishing trips available.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties