check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Amazing Geodesic Dome House - Hot Tub - Fireplace - Wifi - Near Sunday River

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Bethel House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 10 / Indoor Hot Tub / Outdoor Private Pool

The Enchanted Dome House:

Featured in June/2002 Issue Of House Beautiful Magazine.

The only geodesic dome vacation rental property in the area, is sure to keep you interested & entertained!!

It offers an outdoor pool(summer only) patio, grill, flower garden, fire pit, nature trail & million dollar views.

The interior includes 3 bedrooms, two large lofts, ski den, 2 bar rooms, fireplace, indoor hot tub and two full bathrooms. The house sits on two mountainous acres bordered by two brooks and is 15 minutes from Sunday River.

Walk into an architectural dream, starting with cathedral pine ceilings into to the sunken den. Some of the amenities include, 2 televisons, Dish NetWork, DVD player, DVD's, CD Player, wood stove, fireplace, stocked wood, fresh linens, towels, pillows & comforters.

The house has oil, wood & electric heat.

Interesting art work is well appointed throughout the house.

The kitchen has is fully equipped with appliances, dishware & spices.

Dining area can seat 10

There is a laundry room with a washer & dryer(free to guests) as well as an exercise bike.

If you like an old fashioned bedroom, the master bedroom is it!, with an immense hope chest and claw foot tub. Walk a little further, and you have really entered Nirvana! Awaiting you is a large hot tub & a balsam pine bar room .

For all the musicians in the house there is a piano, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, microphone, amp & tambourine.

Most memorable is the indoor goldfish pond.

Truly A-One-Of-A-Kind Experience!

Guest Comments: Zoe-

' I Loved It !!! Great views, wonderful house, beautiful place to visit. I had a great time at The Enchanted Dome.'

' We had a great time and loved the house! Skiiing conditions were amazing. Thanks for the stay !'

Jennifer, Sierra, Brianna, Sarah, Curtis and Don

' The Enchanted Dome is a beautiful home we very much enjoyed our stay here. This is a beautiful area of Maine. Thank you. '

Mike, Penny, Joshua, Izaiah Volpe

'All Hail the Dome !'

'Rock on Great Place'

' It was a wonderful stay'

'It was an awesome place. This place is so cool to stay at. Thank you'

Danny of Wilsons Family

Guest Comments: 'Beautiful house, a wood stove and a fireplace is a great way to heat up a cold Maine night. Big difference than Boston. After spending last winter beating cancer, I am learning to enjoy life to its fullest and hope to make the dome a part of that every winter.

'Great house, great skiing!! See you next year.

Dave & Julia Arsenault

& our dogs

Buba & Mohamid

p.s. ' they loved the woods'

' The Enchanted Dome has opened up our hearts'

'Nice to call our home'

Lentos & Co

'Thank you Enchanted Dome ! From the moment we arrived we felt like we had arrived-it is perfect here. The snow almost hasn't stopped coming down & we have been warm, laughing, dancing, and causing mischeif.'

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Delia Kelly
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 28, 2016
Call Owner

Why Delia Kelly chose Bethel - Sunday River area

One Of A Kind Geodesic Dome House

Pet Friendly To Dogs One Year or Older / No Fee

What makes this house unique

Relaxed, No Worries, Interesting & Laid Back

Owner is Available

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a great time!
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 2


based on 10 traveler reviews

Amazing Geodesic Dome House - Hot Tub - Fireplace - Wifi - Near Sunday River
average rating of 4.3 based on 12 reviews

Beautiful/Fun Home

  • 5 of 5

Just as surprises. Everything was perfect for our stay! Quick trip to the mountain...great for a ski weekend.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Thrilled to hear your stay went well. Delia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Horribly Disappointed. Vacation Nightmare. Definitely Not As Advertised

  • 1 of 5

Would give 0 Stars if that was an option. Main reason we rented this house was for the pool. (August). Pool was disgusting. We could not swim in it the whole week we were there. It was loaded with bugs, and there was some disgusting slime floating around on the top. Owner came out twice during our stay to try and fix it but to no avail. She will tell you that she could not add more shock on the second time she came out because we were "lounging by the pool" and there were "floats in the pool". Lounging by the pool does not mean in the pool. the one time we tried to go in it stirred up a huge mess of bugs and debris. She left the chemicals with my wife and told her for us to add them. Sorry, but I paid good money for a private pool and could not even use it. Hot tub worked but was filmy and disgusting also. with no chemicals left to add. Killed a baby snake in living room, bees and bugs flying through the house due to huge gape in front door and most window screens with rips. Bathtub was disgusting. I felt cleaner before I showered. We brought our fishing poles but the path to the "brooks on site" was like heading into the thicket (no brook, just dried up sand). I will stop there (I could go on and on). I can't wait to see the owner's response to this and how she will disagree with everything I said. (that's usually the way it goes if someone gives and honest negative review). It's too bad I am not allowed to post pictures, because I would like to show you the true "DOME" !!!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I will refrain from responding to this review in any depth due to the gross inaccuracies and malicious intent of the writer. In short, two visits were made to the house during this weekly stay. Both visits involved picking up household garbage and testing / maintaining the pool and hot tub. Both the hot tub and pool were being used. On both visits I spoke with the visitors briefly and there were absolutely no complaints, everything was on the up and up and they thanked me for stopping by. Shortly after their stay, I began receiving nasty e-mails and actual threats leaning toward money back or we will leave a bad review. It is unfortunate and I am amazed that people would think this is ok. As such, Homeaway was notified and a report was made. To conclude, other reviews left for the Dome, speak volumes! Remaining Positive!! Delia / Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

We'll be back

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to the Dome, and it was even better than we remembered. We will be back next year. Thanks again Delia!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So Good To Hear! See You in 2017!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cool house, with a few gotchas

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely time staying in the geodesic dome, AND we had a few surprises...

The property is fantastic: nice location, close to skiing, nice places to walk on the property, pretty views, etc. The facilities in the house are basic and slightly dated, but adequate for some things: the hot tub is great, the living room and common areas are really nice, etc. The dome house is really cool to be in and the acoustics of the shape are fabulous. There's a piano which is super cool if someone plays.

However, there are a few things that renters should know, which we couldn't tell from the listing:

- The house is listed as having internet, which we assumed meant wifi. It doesn't mean wifi. There was a jack and phone number for dial-up, but we were traveling with tablets and iphones, not computers with phone-line modems (do laptops even have modems any more?)

- The mattresses are not comfortable - they are old and shot. As two couples, we intended to use the master bedroom and the separate entrance double bed space described, but the second double bed was an unusable pull-out couch, so one couple ended up staying in the 2 little rooms with individual twin beds

- Only one bathroom has a shower, the other only has a clawfoot tub with no shower - for a large group, that might cause congestion, especially as the water pressure is minimal so showers take longer.

- The kitchen has the bare minimum basics, but it is not especially well-stocked for cooking in terms of pots and pans, etc. Any cooking you do needs to be kept simple.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy, Thank you so much for your positive feedback in regards to The Enchanted Dome House. It is truly a a unique property that seems to have inspired many of its guests! I am pleased to announce Free WiFI is coming to the Dome July 1, 2016. Also, bedding will be gradually upgraded throughout the house - Spring - 2016 to be completed by July 1, 2016 I will respectfully disagree with you in regards to the water pressure & the kitchen. The water pressure throughout the house is excellent! I believe you may have commented on the shower head specifically. Currently a Kohler Rain shower head is installed. It creates a moderate shower pressure experience. I am going to install a shower wand with 4 different pressure settings, this will make a world of difference in regards to personal preference - pressure in the shower. To touch on the kitchen, I am a bit baffled by your comments. To name a few there are: dishes - large and small, spices, bowls - large and small, glasses, wine glasses, dish soap, paper towels, dishwasher, cutting board, cheeseboard, sharps, electric can opener, coffee maker, blender, coffee filters, pitcher, shot glasses, cheese grater, coffee mugs, large stove, microwave, large fridge - freezer, pots & pans, lobster pot, crock pot, strainers, silverware, spatulas, wisks, baking pans, food processor, frying pans, wine openers, salad bowls, etc. Well stocked Again, thank you for your feedback, it is valued. Delia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Wonderful unique abode!

  • 5 of 5

Five of us and 2 very large dogs spent 5 glorious nights at The Dome! We found it to be very clean, cozy yet spacious, with plenty of dry wood for burning, clean towels and also clean bedding. We loved the Matterhorn Restaurant after a day of skiing at Sunday River, which was about a 20 minute drive from The Dome. We also enjoyed cross country skiing at The Bethel Inn (which was on a golf course).

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Elaine, Thank you so much for the positive feedback. Please visit again & have a wonderful New year! Delia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

What A Pleasant Suprise!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing house!! Iv'e been Domed.

Staying in this geodesic dome house was a one of a kind stay.

I would recommend it highly. Not Dull At All & Owner was helpful, laid back and unpretentious. Very Refreshing.

We were having my best friend's Birthday Bash. We had a wonderful fire outside & barecque + a nice fireplace going inside.

Lots of wood was stocked and ready to burn, nice touch + good oil heat

There is art everywhere, if you like art, all kinds, right down to the custom bars to the floors.

InDoor Hot Tub / Excellent and Large, just like the picture.

Lots of towels, nice comforters + kitchen well stocked with

pots, pans, etc

We will be returning for the upcoming Ski Season, hopefully in February,

Thank you, Delia

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your So Welcome, Delia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Portland International Jetport
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Sunday River Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
60 Miles
Car: necessary

Sunday River, Ski, Bike & Golf, White Mountain National Forest. Northeast's Most Fantastic Snowboarding, Skiing. Downhill and Cross-Country.

Western Maine On The NH Border / Grafton Notch State Park


Rates & Availability

Bethel House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring / Summer / Fall
Apr 1 2016 - Dec 14 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

MasterCard, Visa, Discover & E-Check Accepted
All Rates Include Taxes, Amenities & Cleaning Fee
Check In: Anytime after 11am
Check Out: Anytime before 11:30am
Christmas Bookings: Complimentary Live - Decorated Tree
Pet Friendly To Dogs One Year or Older / No Fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bethel House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large Bathroom, stocked towels, soap & tissue
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , Claw Foot Tub ,stocked towels, soap & tissue
  • Indoor Hot Tub Room - Stocked Towels
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Blue Room - 1 twin/ single , guitar, microphone, amp
    Green Room - 1 twin/ single , portable DVD player, mountain view
    Ski Den - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Dish TV, wood stove, stocked wood, DVD player, DVD's
    Studio - 1 sleep sofa /futon , mini fridge, bar, recliner, table, books, private entrance
    Large Standing Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Stereo, CD Player, Large sofa chair
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Dish TV, Attached bathroom with Claw foot tub
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Outdoor Private Pool With Spectacular Views, Exercise Area, Fresh Towels & Linens, Large Indoor Hot Tub, Pet Friendly, Outdoor Swimming Pool(summer only) Fire Pit, Furnished Patio, Grill Christmas Bookings - Complimentary Live - Decorated Tree

Partner Offers