check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Pickeral

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury Log Home in Big Sky Montana

13 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Big Sky House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Luxurious log home located 15 minutes drive from Big Sky and Moonlight Basin world class downhill ski slopes. Ski-in-ski out access to the Cross country trails of Lone Mountain Ranch, with four free cross-trail passes for each day of your stay. Yellowstone Park is a one hour drive away for winter snow coach, cross country ski, and snowmobile tours.

The house is situated on the edge of a mountain meadow with road/driveway entrance through 20 acres of new growth pine forest. A seven person hot tub is located just off the back patio with incredible views of Lone Mountain and the surrounding ski slopes.

The 3600 sq ft house is artistically constructed with large cedar logs and stone fireplace and accents. The great room with antler chandelier has open viewing to the kitchen and dining room. Zoned stereo audio system covers the great room and dining room. The kitchen is furnished with top of the line appliances and is equipped for cooking and serving for up to 10 people.

There is a master bedroom with 55 inch HD TV, jet tub, walk-in shower and walk-in closet; and a second bedroom with TV and separate bathroom on the main level. The second floor has a large bedroom/bath with loft.

The house is in a wilderness setting with a local elk heard and isolated moose and bears passing through.

Keywords: House 3

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jim Pickeral (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Jim,

I just wanted to share with you how much we enjoyed your beautiful home in Big Sky! When we pulled up to the cabin my entire family sat in the car with our mouths wide open while we processed the beauty and view! We couldn't believe the beauty and detail! Everything was wonderful! We all have pictures on our phones of the cabin and seem to just stare at them now that we are back to reality! We feel so blessed to have been able to call your cabin home for a week. Our grandchildren are four and seven and they enjoyed all the goodies in the garage you provided for them to be able to play in the snow. To be honest, the grown ups did too! You really have a beautiful cabin and the breath taking view and location were perfect. It was the first time our family had ever seen snow and being at your cabin made it magical! We really want to thank you and hope we can return again next year. You need to take more pictures because the pictures on the website don't even begin to do it enough justice. Everything was perfect! Other than buying our food, you had everything we could possibly need or ask for. Please feel free to use us as a reference. I would welcome the opportunity to share every precious detail of our stay! Since our kids are grown, we decided we would start giving memories (taking trips) instead of presents. We are a very close family and being able to spend quality time together was the best gift ever. Thank you again for allowing my family to to do just that, and allowing us to create memories that will last forever!

Our Sincere Appreciation,

Judy
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Luxury Log Home in Big Sky Montana
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home and a great location. Everything was as advertised!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this home in Big Sky! It was just what we were looking for- secluded but close to town. We saw a bear on the road just outside the cabin and that was AWESOME! The house was perfect and clean. We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great location to stay in a beautiful town!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeoud

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful luxurious and spacious. Very private. Definitely need 4 wheel or all wheel drive to get there. No soap or shampoo, so take your own. Fireplace is tricky but vent chain is on the right hand wall in the fireplace. The lay out is PERFECT for lots of people to hang out both in LR and kitchen. Would definitely stay again. The cross country ski passes weren't available, but Lone Mountain Ranch did cover them for us after calling the management company. Great location and views.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Snellville, ga
5

Walts/Denard MT vacation

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful home, great location, Deer and Elk in the yard. Great Place for family or 2 sets of Adults. Thank you for letting us use your home.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great vacation

  • 5 of 5

Jim's house provided the perfect setting for our week in Montana. Located on a ridge, it has a dead-center view of Lone Mountain from the backyard. One night we had a rare July snow and the mountain was even more gorgeous. The house was beautiful, clean and well-equipped. We enjoyed evening cocktails and morning coffee outdoors. The house is about one hour from the west entrance to Yellowstone. From there it could take an hour or more to get where you want to go in the park. We went there twice. We also went white-water rafting and horseback riding. We took Jim's recommendation and went to Buck T4s -- twice. Fantastic food. I highly recommend the trout and duck.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the best time! This was our kids first time seeing snow and I had only seen it once before. The cabin is very close to the Big Sky Ski Resort and you can see the mountain just out side the back windows. The house was very clean and the kitchen is high end and has everything you would ever need. My kids will remember this trip for the rest of their lives.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Gallatin Field
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Snow shoeing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Sky House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
spring/summer
Apr 18 2016 - Dec 16 2016
5 night minimum stay
$400
$2,500
 
 
holiday
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
6 night minimum stay
$800
$5,600
 
 
early ski
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
peak ski
Feb 4 2017 - Mar 12 2017
5 night minimum stay
$600
$4,000
 
 
late ski season
Mar 19 2017 - Apr 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Big Sky House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Cross-country ski-in-ski out to Lone Mountain Ranch Trails with 4 free daily trail passes,two HD big screen TVs.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties