check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carol - Whymms Villas

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Whymms Villas - Luxury Beachfront - with Boat - Great for 2 Families!

13 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Long Island Villa Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms - Sleeps up to 8

This is a unique home comprised of 4 separate buildings - the way homes in the Bahamas were years ago. The separate living spaces give great privacy to the bedrooms so every member of the family has a place to retreat! Perfect for 3-4 couples as well as all bedrooms can be made as King with pvt. bath.

The main building is the gathering hub of the property – great room, dining room and kitchen as well as a laundry room / pantry and a powder room. Exit the Lodge onto a spacious deck which connects the other two cottages – the Master Cottage to your right and then the guest cottage to your left. All buildings have covered porches and comfortable furnishings for lounging or entertaining. There is an additional studio cottage off garage which can accomodate 2 guests That you can add to the base rental.

Center stage to all of this is the idyliic beach just a step off your private boardwalk - beautiful swimming and snorkeling and a great place to walk along the beach and collect shells or go bonefishing or kayaking.

About Long Island: Long Island is one of the most unique islands in the Bahamas. For many people, it is considered the hidden Bahamas. On the northern tip there are dramatic sea cliffs overlooking the dark blue water where Columbus anchored the Santa Maria when he discovered the island in 1492. In his ship’s log, an entry mentions taking on fresh water, trading with the natives, and notes that this was the most beautiful island he had ever seen. The beaches are incredible. Talcum-powder fine white sand and crushed pink and brown shell cover some of the most stunning beaches in the Bahamas. The water is clear, warm, and turquoise blue. From hillside perches, where cool trade winds blow, you can look down to stretches of spectacular coast and water so pristine you can see multiple shades of blue in the depths of the ocean. Yet this island has much more to offer than its natural beauty; it is safe, easily accessible by air, close to the United States, and home to friendly English-speaking locals.

About Us: Whymms Villas is committed to offering only luxury villa rentals to make your vacation one to remember. Our concierge services start when you book your villa - to help with travel arrangements - provisioning your villa in advance of your arrival - airport pick-up - arranging for a rental car - mid week maid service (or more often for a fee) - scheduling massages, bonefish guides, snorkeling or diving excursions, deep sea fishing, restaurant reservations (or a local chef to come to your villa and prepare a Bahamian dinner!) whatever you need to make your trip a truly relaxing, stress free vacation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carol - Whymms Villas (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Whymms Villas - Luxury Beachfront - with Boat - Great for 2 Families!
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
5

The best beach vacation we have ever had!

  • 5 of 5

This home exceeded our expectations in every way. The home was so beautifully appointed and well maintained. We felt like we had our own private and secluded beach home. The owner, Carol, took care of everything we could think of to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. She arranged everything from being picked up at the airport, having a rental car waiting at the villa, to having a fully stocked fridge with everything we needed to start enjoying ourselves. Carol was able to even have a local chef come to the villa to prepare an unbelievable meal. The villa sits right on the beach and has multiple outdoor seating areas to enjoy the breath taking views. To top it off, the villa comes with it's own boat and kayaks to explore the area. The villa has a guest binder that included a list of local attractions and restaurants to make it easy to get around. The island has plenty to do so you can have a good balance of relaxing time and getting immersed in the local culture. We would highly recommend this home and have already booked our next trip!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

4 seasons of VRBO

  • 5 of 5

Upon our arrival at the Stella Maris, we ran into a person and they said, "you are going to love Carol's house"... They were right. She has this program dialed in. These pictures do not lie. The house worked perfectly for a family of 6. She was there to help when we had questions. The information that she provided about the island made our stay most enjoyable. We would not have seen half of the places had we rented another villa. If you are wanting to visit Long Island... Call Carol and rent one of her places.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ryan, Ann and fabulous kids - thanks for your lovely note and we are so pleased you enjoyed Long Island. You also made an impression on Long Islanders who commented to me about what a special family they met that were staying at one of our villas. Hope to see you back again soon! My best, Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An exceptional exception

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous week at Carol's villa. We normally sail the out islands, and made an exception to stay in a villa. We are all glad we did, the villa was exceptional! We scheduled a return visit before even leaving the Bahamas. During our layover in Nassau I checked our calendar to book our next trip. Thank you for everything Carol. Please say "hi" to Nikko.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

50 Shades of Blue

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Sunset House was great. We had six adults and three children aged 8 to 12, and everyone had a wonderful time.

The villas were exactly as we expected, as the pictures showed them just as they are. With a large group, we were all comfortable and everyone wants to go back.

Just steps away from the beach with a postcard view, the house is in a great location. We spent many days on the beach and cruising the nearby waters, exploring caves, snorkeling and fishing, and taking in the 50 shades of Bahamian blue.

Carol was very attentive to our needs and even bailed us out by supplying us with a few essentials we'd forgotten. The villas are clean and perfectly appointed.

I've been visiting the Bahamas for over 15 years and have been to almost two dozen different islands. Long Island is one I'd be happy to go back to every year. The attractions, the people, the beauty...it has it all....Clean, Green and Pristine!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome week

  • 5 of 5

We spent a DELIGHTFUL week at the Whymm Villas on Long Island, Bahamas.

Our group resided in both Sunset House and On-a Whymm. The setting smack on a calm,quiet, turquoise bay, was the perfect 'wake up'..great for afternoon sun, breath taking sunsets and under a virgin canopy of stars at night. The water was inviting every time of the day.

Owner, Carol Condon has created an oasis of island charm w/ these two attractive homes appointed w/ island collections. Her architecture and design background are complemented by her family's love of gardening and inn keeping.

Both houses are impeccably maintained. From the most comfortable beds, to the super well-stocked kitchens to the numerous conversational seating areas inside and out, we found both to be the perfect respite from our active days of exploring all the natural treasures of Long Island's beaches and waters and sports.

What a spot!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Suasn - and all of your very fun gang...... it was such a pleasure meeting all of you. The week went by way too fast so you simply need to return very soon. So glad you were happy with the villas and loved Long Island - it is indeed a special place! My Best - Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
5

Once more...to Long Island

  • 5 of 5

We are repeat customers to this property. I guess we can't get enough of the beach, sun, ocean and unprecedented privacy. There were improvements made since our last stay- the most impressive being a mosquito misting system. This has made a difference with both the no-see-ums and mosquitos. Also- brand new outdoor furniture graced the terrace; this was especially nice as we eat every meal outside.

One of our favorite amenities is the optional boat rental. We took the boat out daily and this time we were rewarded with a visit by a family of dolphins. We caught them on video!

We also recorded a manatee that had come to shore while we were lunching at Long Island Breezes Resort (which serves up a very nice Philly cheese steak sandwich)- it is located a short drive south of the property.

Storms can reek havoc on a shore line and we were concerned hurricane Sandy might have damaged the beach. Our worries were unfounded; there was no damage here. We enjoyed miles of sandy beach and warm, calm waters just as on our previous visits.

We've already booked next year's winter get away.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Sandy and Michael - Always happy to see your names in our reservation book year after year - I think that frequent guest program we have with you is paying off! Thanks again for the kudos and making "Sunset House" your home away from home! Cheers - Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Stella Maris Aiport (SML)
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Club Washington
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Queens Highway
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Chez Pierre
Car: recommended

Long Island is located 165 miles southeast of Nassau, Bahamas. Daily flights are available. Flight time is approximately 45 minutes. On Long Island there are two very different coasts, 'Sunset House' is located on the one with soft white beaches and the other with rocky headlands that descend suddenly into the ocean. The terrain varies from sloping hills in the north to low hillsides, with numerous limestone caves, fading into flatlands in the south. Long Island stretches over 75 miles, with many small settlements along Queen’s Highway. The scenery from the highway changes from old buildings surrounded by stone walls, to beautiful beaches with calm blue water. One can spend the day on a remote beach with complete privacy, or tour the island and shop for pottery, woven goods, or fresh fruit. Go to lunch at an authentic island conch bar serving fresh fish, conch, and lobster. Take the time to meet the locals, becoming one with the island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Long Island Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value Season 2016
Jun 25 2016 - Nov 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 
 
Peak Season 2016-2017
Nov 19 2016 - Apr 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,850
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 29 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,900
 
 
Value Season 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Nov 17 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Studio Cottage Add-On $800
Refundable damage deposit $800

Our base rates each season are for three bedrooms - maximum occupancy is 6. Guests may add-on the studio cottage which can sleep an additional 2 guests for $800 per week. A credit card is required upon arrival for security / damage deposit. Check our website www.whymmsvillas.com for specials!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Long Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Parking
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Can be made as King
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Can be made as King
  • Master Cottage – large king bedroom, dressing room, laundry with mini bar, outdoor shower. Guest Cottage – one King bedded guest room with private bath and outdoor shower – Twin Bedded room with private bath and outdoor shower – covered porch (can be made as King). Studio Cottage with two twins in loft (can be made as King) sitting room, private bath and kitchenette.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 18 garden chairs
  • 12 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Fully Air-Conditioned. Kitchen with DW, gas cooktop, electric oven, microwave, frig & wine captain. 2 laundry centers. Stereo, Sat TV with surround sound and outdoor speakers, DVD player. Phone, internet access. Water by reverse osmosis. 2 kayaks, large gas grill – teak beach furniture, beach floats, cooler

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers