check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Elizabeth

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Family-Friendly Beach House - Gated Neighborhood with Pool & Tennis: 4br 3.5 ba

47 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dauphin Island House Rental Photos and Description

Relax, Unplug, Unwind, and Enjoy Time with Your Family and Friends

BEAUTIFUL FAMILY-FRIENDLY BEACH HOUSE

4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bath, WI-FI

Come and experience this wonderful home on Dauphin Island. The home is located on the East End of the Island in DeSoto Landing, the only gated subdivision on the beach with a neighborhood gulf-front pool and tennis court. You can have the benefits of a condo, with the space of a house. The house features multiple open and covered decks which offer gorgeous views of the gulf. The neighborhood boardwalk brings you to a beautiful beach, perfect for long walks, bird-watching, or dolphin spotting. The home includes a collection of books, magazines, chairs, and sand toys; everything you need for a perfect day at the beach. Dine out or cook local seafood in the fully-stocked kitchen. A local attractions guide is provided, including menus, maps and brochures. You will also find games for adults and kids, puzzles, playing cards, movies, and free wireless internet access.

As you are considering your rental options on Dauphin Island, I encourage you to click "About Elizabeth" and learn more about us, our home, and why we chose Dauphin Island. We are not a real estate company with 100+ homes to rent. This is our family beach house. We love sharing it with guests and look forward to hearing about the memories you make here.

Family-Friendly Vacation Home: The home includes lots of extras for your little travelers. Bedroom 2 contains a television hooked up to a DVD player and a collection of Children's Movies, including several Disney favorites. The room also contains a toy box full of toys, and the adjacent hallway holds a bookcase of Children's Books. A drawer in the kitchen holds coloring books and crayons. The bathroom connected to Bedroom 2 (as well as the downstairs half-bath) has a step-stool, so little ones can reach the sink, as well as 2 portable booster seat/high chairs, child-size cups and utensils. A crib-size mattress (and bedding) is available; however a crib is not provided. Under the house is a sandy area for the kids to play, particularly when everyone needs some time in the shade. The neighborhood pool, tennis, and playgrounds are must-haves for a family. (When not needed, the kids items can be stored out-of-sight.

Fun Things to Do Off the Island: If you are looking for sightseeing opportunities beyond Dauphin Island, the area has a lot to offer. With just a short drive, you can visit nearby Bellingrath Gardens and the many attractions of Mobile, including historic homes, the Gulf Coast Exploreum, IMAX Theater, Mobile Medical Museum, Mobile Museum of Art, U.S.S. Alabama, and Mardi Gras Museum, just to name a few. The Mobile Bay Ferry departs the East End of Dauphin Island for Fort Morgan, where you can explore the fort, or drive in to Gulf Shores for more shopping, dining, and golf. A day trip to the Outlet Mall in Foley, Alabama, just north of Gulf Shores, is a popular trip. The Saenger Theater in Mobile is a magnificent theater showcasing national talent. Or, drive over to the Mississippi Gulf Coast to enjoy the casinos, fine dining, and live entertainment.

Relax or Be Active...the Choice is Yours!: Kayak rentals are available on the Island, which allow you to explore the gulf, bay, and waterways surrounding the Island. Leave the car parked and bike to the seafood market, the store, the farmer's market, or the bakery using the Island's extensive bike paths. Take a hike through the trails of the Audubon Bird Sanctuary. Kids and adults enjoy Historic Fort Gaines and the Estuarium at the Dauphin Island Sea Lab. Play a game of tennis; swim in the gulf-front pool. Or, curl up with a book in the hammock, on the deck, by the pool, or on the uncrowded beach and just enjoy the peace and quiet. It takes only a few minutes to walk to the private neighborhood beach, pool, or tennis court.

Must Do's at the Salty Dog:

1) take a hot shower in the outdoor shower, don't just use it to rinse off from the beach (it's amazing);

2) read a book and/or take a nap in the hammock under the house;

3) enjoy your morning coffee on the exposed deck;

4) watch the sunset from the top level deck in the afternoon with your favorite cocktail;

5) play a board game on the screened porch;

6) use sidewalk chalk on the huge concrete driveway to play hopscotch or foursquare;

6) steam shrimp for dinner from Skinner's (or let them do it for you!);

7) try pigs in a blanket or a huge cinnamon roll from Lighthouse Bakery;

8) walk west on the beach to the 'cove' and see how many hermit crabs you can find;

9) go out on the beach at night with a flashlight to look for ghost crabs; and

10) relax, unplug, and have fun

What will you and your family add to this list?

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Elizabeth (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Elizabeth

We are a family from Jackson, Mississippi. After years of visiting Dauphin Island and renting various homes, we purchased a lot on the East End. We worked with a wonderful builder (and neighbor in our Dauphin Island neighborhood) and custom built this home. We have twin boys, age 12, and they love to visit the Island. We are fortunate to live close enough to visit the Island 8-10 times a year. We rent the home mostly in the summer months to our guests, but keep at least one week to enjoy ourselves. Our favorite time to visit is the Fall. The temperatures are milder, but the water is still warm enough to swim.

Elizabeth purchased this house in 2007

Why Elizabeth chose Alabama Gulf Coast

If you are looking for fast food, go-carts, putt-putts, long lines, and enjoy fighting for a spot on the beach -- Dauphin Island is not for you. But, if you are looking to slow down, spend time with your family and friends, relax, and unplug, we have what you are looking for. Dauphin Island has been referred to as 'Mayberry by the Sea.' It has a low-key, small town atmosphere. And if you are used to travelling East to Gulf Shores or Destin, you will be thrilled with the lack of traffic on your drive to and from Dauphin Island---no more fighting the Mobile Tunnel traffic! The Dauphin Island Exits off I-10 are West of the Tunnel.

One of the great features of this house is the neighborhood. You have the space of a rental house (rather than a condo), but you still have access to a swimming pool and tennis court. It is a great combination. And because the neighborhood is gated with minimal traffic, we can give our boys room to roam and explore. They can walk on the uncrowded beach, hit the tennis courts, or just ride their bikes. The small-town atmosphere lets them experience a little freedom.

We hope that you will love it as much as we do.

What makes this house unique

Because we were renters before we were owners, we try to incorporate the things we loved about houses that we have stayed in over the years. For example, we have little extras in the kitchen --- two coffeepots, a carafe, an iced tea maker, a mixer, and a crock pot. These things come in handy when you are feeding a family for a week. We also loved it when we stayed in a house with a few kids items --- books, toys, or sand toys. When you are traveling with small children, it's nice to have a way to keep them occupied if you have a rainy day or they need a break from the sun. And my favorite thing to do at the beach is read, so the house is stocked with books and magazines that you are welcome to enjoy and take with you if you don't have time to finish. The lending library on the Island is also a great source for beach reads. It is located in the Welcome Center. In the end, this is where we come to recharge, reconnect with our family, and make memories.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family loves to visit The Salty Dog Beach home. It offers many amenities for a family with young children. We can pack the essentials (clothes and food) and know the rest will be waiting for us when we get there. No need to pack things to entertain the kids as this house has beach toys, bikes, board games and a wii gaming system ect. The kitchen had everything I needed to cook breakfast each morning. We really feel right at home when we visit. The location of the home is also great. We love that it is located in a gated community within walking distance to the beach. We cannot thank the Howells enough for opening this home to us. We hope to visit again.

(posted by guest on The Salty Dog Beach House Facebook page)
Oct 2015
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 47 traveler reviews

Family-Friendly Beach House - Gated Neighborhood with Pool & Tennis: 4br 3.5 ba
average rating of 4.893617 based on 52 reviews
4

Great Getaway!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our week at the Salty Dog on Dauphin Island. I chose to stay at the Salty Dog because of all the positive reviews. I can tell you first hand that they are all true. First, the owner Elizabeth was quick to respond to every email I sent. This was a great home for my family of 5 ( 3 kids under 9) and my parents. The kitchen was fully stocked, and the room on the bottom floor was stocked with everything you would need to enjoy your time at the beach. The room had plenty of bikes, beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, coolers, and wagons to pull to the beach. My 5 year old even learned to ride a bike without training wheels! The neighborhood was quiet and the beach was empty most of the time. If you are looking for a beach vacation to just relax, the Salty Dog on Dauphin Island is a great choice.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place for our two sons, their spouses, and our grandkids to get away for a week. The Salty Dog was our answer.

1. The Salty Dog is the place to go if you want to get away from a crowded tourist attraction. We had the beach practically to ourselves everyday.

2. Elizabeth has thought of everything. Our grandkids rode the bicycles to the pool/beach everyday. The wagon was a big favorite of our 2 year old grandson. He rode in the wagon daily to the pool. My wife and I slept better at the Salty Dog than we do at home.

3. Definitely try Skinners Seafood and The Lighthouse Bakery.

4. Visit Fort Morgan and Fort Gaines (you will have to take the ferry to Fort Morgan).

Thanks again to Elizabeth for being a great host.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are welcome. Thank you Dwayne for being a great guest. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I love that you took the time to share your personal "favorites" with prospective guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great fit for blended family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This house was a great choice for our "Brady Bunch" family vacation of adult children and parents. Essentially, there are two master bedrooms, with private baths--one on the lower floor, and the other upstairs, and the remaining bedrooms share a Jack and Jill bathroom. The set up and house design is great for people being together but also having space. Everything is comfortable and casual, nothing fussy or precious that is going to be damaged by a wet bathing suit. You don't even need to shop for a beach novel: this house has baskets and shelves full of them! It is clear that Elizabeth has put a lot of effort into making the house comfortable, and herself extra accessible to her guests.

If you are considering this property, and have not visited Dauphin Island before, you need to know that a key feature of this property is the location. The west end of the island is densely built up, with houses on the beach three to five deep on the gulf side, built directly on the beach. The population density is similar to a multi-unit apartment complex, and most of the west-end houses would seem to be rentals handled by big, commercial leasing agencies, not like this property, where the guests are carefully screened by the owner to be good fits for the neighborhood, much of which seems to be owner occupied, not vacation rentals. The east end of the island, where this property is located, is much lower density in terms of development, and The Salty Dog is in the least developed area of the Desoto Landing subdivision. The short walk to the (practically private) beach is more than made up by being in a house surrounded by trees, not other beach houses. Here, we had privacy on the decks and porches, not other vacationers and their music and vehicles like we would have had on the west end of the island. Watching Eastern Bluebirds and woodpeckers from the kitchen window and the porch was a particular treat, and not one I would have had if we had picked a different rental location. Being in a gated community also created a sense of privacy and security. Visitors to Dauphin Island pick it for what it is not: not commercial, not busy, not fancy, not scary, where teens and tweens can bike and explore on their own and the adults can relax and visit. This is a great house for relaxing, comfortable quality family time, and I recommend it without reservation.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The Salty Dog is a perfect beach house for a family looking to get away from it all. The neighborhood is quiet & the house is an easy bike ride or walk to the community pool & beach Boardwalk. The owners have thought of everything when stocking the house. The house was exactly as pictured & very clean. We loved that it was pet friendly! We cooked dinner every night & didn't miss the crowded chain restaurants missing from Dauphin Island one time. The house has board games, beach toys, and tons of books and magazines--everything you need for your family to relax & reconnect. There's even wifi & Netflix for afternoons cooling off inside or rainy days. We rode the ferry to Ft Morgan one of the days we were here & couldn't wait to get back to the quiet, uncrowded beaches of Dauphin Island. Thanks for a great week-we'll be back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing week at the Salty Dog. The home was immaculate and well maintained with all the amenities one could possibly need to make this truly a home away from home. We traveled with our four teenage children and found the house spacious and well laid out so everyone had room to breathe. The kids took advantage of the bikes and tennis rackets, and we appreciated the availability of additional beach chairs. The neighborhood was quiet so evenings on the large deck were enjoyable. The walk to the beach was easy and once there we practically had it to ourselves. The owner, Liz Howell, went above and beyond making us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend this property to any family looking to relax and enjoy a quiet, peaceful beach experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed a memorable family vacation. We would love to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Independence, KY
5

Excellent Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This home has it all...close to the beach, pool, tennis court, golf and local attractions. But it's also secluded. This gated community provides privacy to vacationers. There were times we were the only ones on the beach. The house comfortably accommodated our group of eight and was very clean when we arrived. The owner, Elizabeth, made sure we were satisfied with the home and provided us with a nice arrival gift. The reservation process was quick, and check-out was easy. It's also pet-friendly so all "family members" were able to come. I highly recommend this home!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you had a great vacation experience. Isn't it nice not to have to fight for a spot on the beach? Thank you for choosing our home and for taking the time to write a review. We'd love to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Estuarium at Dauphin Island Sea Lab, The
Fort Gaines
Bellingrath Gardens
Gulf Coast Exploreum Science Center
USS Alabama Battleship Memorial Park
Lighthouse Bakery
Skinner's Seafood
Nearest Airport
39 Miles
Mobile Alabama
Nearest Motorway
26 Miles
Interstate 10
Car: necessary

Once you cross the bridge, you will see the appeal of Dauphin Island goes beyond the beach. The Estuarium, a small aquarium and learning center, and Fort Gaines, a civil war fort, are fun and educational. Audubon Bird Sanctuary offers unmatched bird-watching opportunities and wooded walking trails. A bike path runs the length of the Island; perfect for seeing the sights or running errands. The Ship 'n Shore, a small grocery/hardware store, stocks necessities. If you want to fish, or just see the open waters of the Gulf of Mexico, boat charters are available on the Island. Plan a quick stop at the Dauphin Island Welcome Center to pick up maps, brochures, and the Island Newsletter, and be sure to browse the lending library for books to borrow.

Use the map satellite view to familiarize yourself with the location of the home. boardwalk, pool, and gulf. The home is located on Hernando Place, the circular road just west of Hernando Street. Our Facebook page also has videos so you can experience the walk to the boardwalk and beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dauphin Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 4 2016 - Dec 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,250
 
 
Winter 2016-2017
Dec 4 2016 - Mar 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
 
Spring 2017
Mar 4 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $10
Tax Rate 11.0%

Tax and Cleaning Fee will be added to Rental Rate. All rentals require a $300 refundable damage deposit, which is due at booking.
We do allow one dog per stay with prior approval. Pet Fee of $10/night. Summer and Spring rentals require a 7-night booking. Shorter stays in the Fall and Winter at the discretion of the owner. Neighborhood rules require no more than one booking in a 7-day period, so shorter stays require "blocking off" by owner of unused days. Inquire for Snowbird (long-term) rates. Maximum Occupancy is 10. Please list the number of adults and children when submitting inquiry.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dauphin Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , attached to bedroom 1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , shared by bedroom 2 & 3
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , attached to bedroom 4
    Fully enclosed - outdoor shower , ground level, hot/cold
  • Bath Towels are provided for your convenience, located in each guest bathroom. You will love the Outdoor Shower (especially after a long day at the beach); it is fully enclosed and provides both hot and cold water. Bedrooms 1 and 4 are 'master suites' with attached full bathrooms, including a shower/tub combination. Bedrooms 2 and 3 share a large bathroom, which includes a shower and two separate sink/vanity areas. Each guest bath provides ample storage space and lots of hooks for hanging towels and wet bathing suits. The half bath is conveniently located off the family room.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , private full bath with shower/tub, golf course view
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , private full bath with shower/tub, deck access, gulf view
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , shared bath with shower & separate vanity, TV with DVD
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , shared bath w/ shower, upper deck access, cable TV, loveseat
  • Sleeps 8 in beds. Maximum Occupancy is 10 (Neighborhood Covenants). Linens Provided. Bedrooms 1, 3, and 4 contain new Sealy Posturepedic Queen Size Mattress and Box Springs Sets. Bedroom 2 contains two new Corsicana Twin Mattress and Box Spring Sets. Each guest bedroom has ample closet space, with plenty of room to unpack. All bedrooms are located above-ground; the ground level contains only a storage space and outdoor shower area. Bedroom 1 is located on the first elevated level and has a wonderful view of the golf course across the street. Bedrooms 2, 3, and 4 are located on the top level and have views of the beach. Bedrooms 3 and 4 both have access to the top level deck, which provides a gorgeous view of the beach. This deck is the perfect spot to enjoy a morning cup of coffee and provides stunning views of the afternoon sunset.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers