Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Sunset View Platinum Downtown Condo with Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views

Bedrooms Studio
Space 630 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay nights


About the property

studio, 1 bath, AC, laundry, kichen, living room, dining area, patio, sleeps 2

Sunset View is a platinum condo located in the middle of Cruz Bay, St. John. The unit is about 630 sq. ft. with a clever design that fits a bedroom, bath, kitchen, living room and dining area into a moderate sized space. A 28 X 5 ft. deck runs along the side of this condo and a 12 X 7 ft. wall of glass allows pleasant views from anywhere within. This unit contains a washer, dryer, dishwasher, oven, refrigerator and AC. This is a non-smoking condo and is not suited for children. Sunset View is on the 3rd floor of a 3 story building, so you're high enough to overlook the other buildings in town. Considering you're in Cruz Bay, this view is quite picturesque. The view shows St. Thomas and neighboring islands, memorable Caribbean sunsets and the lights of St. Thomas at night. You're in the middle of action in Cruz Bay and for a small island town, Cruz Bay, has a lot going on. But if you get restless, walk 4 minutes down to the ferry and go to St. Thomas, Tortola, or Jost Van Dyke.

We are not responsible for nor can we control electric or telephone outages. We cannot control street noise or construction projects that occur on the island.

More Details

Rebecca Green
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 26, 2017


Contant Hill Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 630 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • 1 queen sleigh bed in studio.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 beach chairs
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
If child under 1 year of age, sleeping in a portable crib and not walking, will be allowed. Crib not provided.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Sunset View Platinum Downtown Condo with Spectacular Sunset and Ocean Views
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
East Hampton, CT

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place to stay. The condo was very clean, modern, had all the ammenties you would ever need. The balcony is a great place to sit and relax at the end of the day and watch the sunset. Becky (the owner) told us about all there is to do around the area wether it was within walking distance or driving distance. I would recommend this condo to anybody and will definitely return if the future permits us to.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you for your positive review. I am glad that you had such a great time at the condo and in St. John. I look forward to having you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location, less than perfect accomodations

  • 2 of 5

When we initially arrived we were super pleased with the condo. We've been the St. John many times, and this time chose not to rent a car and planned to walk to the beach everyday. For this type of thing, this is the perfect spot. One thing to keep in mind however, is that since it is right down town it can be very loud.

Our biggest criticism was that there were definitely pests in the condo. And listen, I get it, it's an island, but based on what we paid per night, a line must be drawn. We had multiple cockroach sightings and we were very, very clean. I contacted the owner our second morning because we found droppings on the couch, rug and on the dining room table. We were advised it was likely from the geckos that you see all over the island. I had my doubts because the droppings seemed a bit too large for that. Our last night at the condo was the worst and my suspicions about a larger pest were confirmed. Something was definitely nesting in the wall behind the fridge which connects to the guest closet. My husband and I were suddenly awoken to very, very loud scratching and something getting knocked over in the closet. We eventually went in to the closet and a towel had been knocked out of the cabinet, but we were unable to figure out what the critter was. However, said critter kept us up all night scratching and we didn't sleep at all. So all in all, not a great stay. I wish I could say it was better.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were contacted about a few droppings and the text said no worries. The cleaning crew felt it was from the geckos/lizards that sometimes get in and make an appearance. We take each and every concern of our guests seriously. We were never told about any noises or pests or loud noises. The condo has been inspected and pulled apart and there has been no evidence of any critters or pests. We checked the condo daily since your departure , set traps and nothing. There are iguanas everywhere on the island and they do crawl on the roof during day and night at times and that noise can be startling. The condo is sprayed monthly as a preventative since it is an island. Our guests prior and after your departure have not had any issues with noises, droppings, critters or pests. The condo is in town and you will her vehicle noise and any music from bands or festivals in town. All condos in Cruz bay will hear vehicles and music/festivals. Had we been contacted about any issues other than the one time droppings, we would have responded to you. Again we cannot find any evidence of anything. Please contact us if you would like to discuss anything with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A gem

  • 4 of 5

A gem in town! We stayed for a week in November. Luckily we had good weather! The condo is close to restaurants, the ferry, gift stores, grocery, and transportation. It also had a view of the water. The owner, Becky, was helpful with information. The location gave us flexibility. You do have to walk up a couple flights of stairs to the condo and there is more noise in town as there is some type of construction business across the road, but that is part of the character and charm of being close to everything. It was just what we wanted for our time

on St. John.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best Location

  • 4 of 5

If you are looking for a spot in the heart of the "city" this is the place. Rebecca was very accommodating and answered all of our questions in a timely manner. The pictures and all amenities were accurate and perfect for a getaway. I was so happy to have beach chairs and a cooler as we used them every day at the beaches which were 15 min away. We also went to Jost Van Dyke and the condo is located less than a 5 min walk to the dock.

The location of the condo was my priority in that we could walk to all restaurants and bars in less than 10 min. In Cruz Bay a parking spot is necassary and we were very lucky to have a spot to park our car right in front of the condo. You really don't need a car because you can take taxi's to the beach but we really wanted to explore the island and see all the different beaches. Plus I don't think the taxi's go to Coral Bay which was important to us because my uncle lives there.

We didn't really eat in much just because grocereis are expensive but I did notice that there was everything one could need if you decided to eat in. The dolphin market is 2 doors down and has everything.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would most definately stay here again when we go back. Enjoy!! Most beautiful island in Carribean

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you were happy with Sunset view condo and enjoyed your stay in St John. We would love to have you come back and stay with us on your next trip to St. John.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great condo with perfect location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the condo from 2/2/14-2/11/14 and enjoyed every aspect of the trip. The condo was clean and well decorated with everything we needed for our stay. The kitchen was well equiped to make some small meals for lunch or nights we wanted to eat in, and with the Dolphin Market next door this was very easy. The location is great as you are a two minute walk to the ferry dock, restaurants, and taxis. You have walking access to two beaches along with hiking trails. My wife and I love all of the trails on St. John and this location made to easy access. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed the beautiful island of St.John and the location of Sunset View Condo. We do try our best to make your stay in St. John and the condo a wonderful experience. We appreciate your wonderful comments and hope this will help others who choose to visit St. John and stay at Sunset View Condo in downtown Cruz Bay. We look forward to your return to St. John and staying at the condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfectly Situated

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Sunset View Platinum Condo was a pleasant experience. My husband and I were first time visitors to the Caribbean and first time users of a vacation rental. We wanted to stay in Cruz Bay for a taste of the local flair and accessibility to essentials and entertainment. Sunset View perfectly fits the description. For groceries, Dolphin Market is around the corner while the ferry building for island hopping, Mongoose Junction for gift shopping and dining, and the National Park Visitors Center for hiking and beach maps are an easy 8 minute stroll. Many other shops, restaurants, and businesses are just steps away. The condo includes a convenient parking space since parking in town can be difficult during high season. Taxis can take you almost anywhere around St. John, although we chose to rent a car in order to come and go as we please. If renting a vehicle, consider a narrower width to fit between the two poles marking the condo’s parking space.

The studio is comfortably spacious. Sliding shutters separate the sleeping quarters from the living area. We were happy with the amount of closet space for storing our snorkeling gear and luggage, the laundry unit, fully equipped kitchen, newly tiled shower, and comfortable dining and living room. Even better were the air conditioning unit and ceiling fans for the warm evenings. Our hostess and condo owner Rebecca left thoughtful touches such as extra bed linens, beach chairs and small cooler, DVD’s, and plenty of reading for those balmy evenings while viewing the sunset from the balcony. She was easy to reach prior and during our stay and also supplied an extensive list of recommendations for activities, restaurants, and modes of transportation. One of the recommended restaurants, ZoZo’s is very popular. For fine dining and a great sunset view, be sure to make reservations for the bar a week or two in advance during high season. We were too late but found the dining room also allows comfortable viewing, excellent service, and fine Italian cuisine. Many of Rebecca’s other suggestions also satisfied our appetites. We enjoyed our stay at Sunset View for its comfort and convenience and highly recommend it to anyone looking for the same.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Driftwood Davids
Nearest Restaurant
Car: not necessary

St. John is the smallest of the 3 United States Virgin Islands. Two-Thirds of the island is national park land and the remaining is small towns with shopping and homes. St. John averages a daily temperatures of 88 degrees and varies 5-7 degrees from winter and summer months. The nights are always comfortably warm, even in the winter. Rainfall usually happens during the night in brief and rarely does a storm last more than a day. Once you are in St. John, it is less than a 5-minute walk from everything in Cruz Bay; you don't need to rent a jeep, and you can spend the $450 you save on a jeep rental on pain killer's at Woody's, diving, snorkeling, sailing, eating at amazing restaurants or shopping at Mongoose Junction. If you decide to rent a jeep, you can explore the entire island including Coral Bay. There is great snorkeling, diving, fishing, boating, restaurants, night life, music, hiking in the national parks and visiting a variety of islands nearby.


Rates & Availability

Contant Hill Condo Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Deposit $250

Cleaning fee on rentals less than 7 nights. Payment accepted only with Bank Checks.
There is a 10% hotel tax required by Virgin Islands for all rentals. $250 security deposit for damage/missing items.

Payment is made by bank certified check only. 50% due at time of booking and balance due 60 days prior to check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar properties