check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lois

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lanikai Ocean View - 180 degree ocean views

42 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lanikai House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 6 - king bed, queen bed, queen futon and full futon

Enjoy the gentle breezes of outdoor living on the windward side of the island of Oahu. This two bedroom, 2,000+ sq. foot private Lanikai hillside home is on a quiet street just a 5 minute walk to the widest section of Lanikai Beach. From our veranda you have unobstructed ocean views of all of Kailua Bay and the Mokulua Islands (the Mokes). The sunrises are spectacular, and when the full moon rises over the water with the Mokes as a backdrop it is breathtaking. In winter watch the breaching Humpback whales play just offshore.

The house is fully equipped with everything you need for your vacation, including all linens, towels and paper products. Just bring yourselves!

Our 6-person, fully automated, solar-heated natural salt hot tub was built-to-spec by Natural Salt Pools.

The house opens to a 900 sq. foot wrap-around veranda with extra large sliding glass doors to allow flow-through breezes throughout the house and 180 degree views of Lanikai Bay and the mountain behind the house.

Lanikai park, which has a new playground, a basketball court, an open field, and a workout station, is nearby. If you enjoy an early morning jog or a late afternoon walk, our 2.2 mile Lanikai loop is just the place. There is also the famous "pillbox trail" hike, which allows for even more spectacular views of Lanikai Bay and the Mokulua Islands.

I live on the one acre property in a separate house so I am always available if you need anything.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lois (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

What makes this house unique

It gets the trade winds, is away from the traffic and noise, and it has drop dead views. The house is airy and comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you Lois for opening up your wonderful Lanikai home to us. Everything was perfect! The view was amazing, the home was clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was easy to get around in (with the great view), and the hot tub was an added bonus! Waking up to that beautiful sun rising is a memory that will be with me forever. Lois, you were the perfect hostess. I appreciate your hospitality.
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 42 traveler reviews

Lanikai Ocean View - 180 degree ocean views
average rating of 4.9761906 based on 43 reviews
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay and wished to stay longer. Amazing views from every corner of the house made us feel like we were in paradise. It was awesome experience to wake up and see beautiful sunrise from the bed. After swimming, snorkeling, and napping at the beach, jumping into Jacuzzi was quite relaxing. House is much bigger and nicer than pictures. Our host, Lois, was so kind and very flexible. The three ring binder Lois made is very informative and helpful. It was a special occasion for our family and each one had different departure time including red eye flight but Lois allowed us a late check-out. Lois has provided items such as many towels & beach towels, additional pillows, blankets, beach chairs, boogie boards, beach parasol, etc..... generously. We did grocery shopping at Whole Foods and cooked almost every meal at this well equipped spacious kitchen. The ocean view from kitchen sink window can easily distract us while cleaning veggies or washing pots. Add one more thing, Lois already returned security deposit within two days. WOW! Yes, we will definitely come back to this property soon. MAHALO!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The picture doesn't do the view justice!!

  • 5 of 5

Spent the week with my wive and two daughters and couldn't have been happier. Did most of our meals in the home because there really isn't a restaurant with a better view. Lanikai and Kailua are great towns and we never ran out of things to do. Lois was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

stunning view!

  • 4 of 5

This property really is all about the view. It is breathtaking. The large lanai was great for hanging out and relaxing. The kitchen was well appointed for meals and the large counter was great for serving our 3 kids breakfasts, lunch and snacks. We mostly ate dinner out. While there was only bathroom, it was really large and so it worked fine for all 5 of us. Great closet space to unpack and feel at home. There were fans but no a/c and that was fine for the most part, though we were there a week that got really sticky due to no trade winds. There were all sorts of sand chairs, umbrellas, and kids sand toys were great, and beautiful Lanikai beach was just minutes away. The driveway was super steep and a bit intense, but I suppose thats how you get such great views! The only real bummer was that the lovely hot tub on the deck was not working during our stay. We communicated with the owner (who was off island at the time) and it was resolved, but I think that whole situation could have been handled with a bit more of the aloha spirit by her. That being said, the shadow cast from that aspect of our stay was minor compared to how lovely our overall experience was.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The hot tub circuit board was replaced and then the heater compressor also failed and needed to be special ordered from the mainland. It took a few days. Meanwhile I offered the renters use of my personal hot tub and salt water pool for them and their children. They used it several times during their stay, and the lower house hot tub was available for their last night. I refunded a portion of their stay because of the inconvenience. Things break, especially near the ocean. I try my best to accommodate.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful.

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay. Lois was very prompt in answering all our questions and concerns. The views are amazing photos don't do it justice. Waking up every morning to that view was my favorite part. The kitchen is well equipped and and the house is very roomy and clean. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Felt like a local

  • 5 of 5

Lois is as kind and wonderful as in the previous reviews. She met us at the bottom of the driveway to help guide us through the steep driveway parking routine. We rented a Jeep which worked well for parking and reversing on the driveway. The house is larger in person than the pictures may suggest. I was tempted to write a poor review so I could ensure more availability for a future stay, but Lois is just too nice!

This location makes you feel like a local Hawaiian: Walking or driving to the village market for food, walking to the beach and coming home to an outdoor shower, hearing the birds every morning, leaving your "slippahs" outside Hawaiian-style. The house has several little touches to make your stay special, such as sand toys and boogie boards for the kids, extra chairs for the deck, remote controlled fans, and a large closet for your garments.

If you're looking for the quiet side of O'hau away from the crowds, this will suit your style.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable home with impressive views

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything was as described, photos were accurate,

the kitchen generously appointed, the short walk to the beach enjoyable. The beach itself was

beautiful, lively but not crowded on the weekend, almost empty during the week, very gentle turquoise water.

Lanikai and Kailua are places to change gears and take things into a slower, gentler mode and I liked

that very much.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Honolulu International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Buzz's
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Midpac
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Buzz's
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Lanikai Beach
Car: recommended

We are a 5 minute walk from Lanikai beach and a 10 minute walk to Kailua beach.

The bay is perfect for swimming every day and kite surfing, windsurfing and boogie boarding on windy days and stand up paddling and kayaking when it's calmer. The water is clean, clear and warm with white sand. Lanikai has a 2.2 mile bike/jogging path. Kailua town is 5 minutes by car for shopping and restaurants. Waimanalo beach, another gorgeous beach, is 15 minutes away by car.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lanikai House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
xmas
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 28 2016
4 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$395
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.75%

Rate depends on how many nights one stays. Longer stays get discounts. Call to discuss.

I only allow up to 6 people.

The driveway is steep and there is a drop off from the deck so you must watch your children.
Please see cancellation fees on rental policy online.
NOTE: HomeAway and VRBO are now assessing a service fee This is not my fee. Please email me separately if you'd like to pay me directly.

TA license # W00081546-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lanikai House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , skylight over shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , full futon
  • The master bedroom is extremely large with a queen futon. The second bedroom is average size with a queen bed. The full futon is outside the second bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
crib available free of charge

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties