check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mark Holzbach

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: german, Japanese

Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting

58 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kyle House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 8 adults, 2 children

This dramatic limestone and steel architectural landmark is quietly nestled on 17 acres just 30 miles from downtown Austin. 3BR home sleeps up to 10 in 1 king, 3 queen + 2 bunk beds. Perfect for weddings, parties, family gatherings, and corporate retreats. Year-round indoor/outdoor living perfected in Texas ranches includes long walks, relaxing in “the world’s largest screened-in porch,” or swimming in the outdoor pool. Indoors, adjacent to the large gourmet stainless-steel kitchen is the sunny, loft-like living/dining room with an elm dining/conference table (seats ten), and a leather living room ensemble seating seven in front of a massive limestone inglenook fireplace.

A dirt road leads past large live oaks and pastures to this unique, award-winning house. Located near Interstate 35 and Mopac and all the venues of Austin and San Antonio. Shop at San Marcos outlets, explore charming small town attractions, dine at famous BBQ or gourmet restaurants, or visit nearby vineyard.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Mark Holzbach (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: german, Japanese

Reviews

4.8
based on 58 traveler reviews

Stunning architecture in dramatic Hill Country setting
average rating of 4.827586 based on 58 reviews
Austin, Texas
5

wedding at the plant

  • 5 of 5

This was my husband and I's first choice when deciding on a venue for our wedding. We both have a love for architecture and design and this contemporary home with the outdoor space in the hill country was the perfect setting for what we envisioned. We both love the outdoors and that is where we spend much of our time, so it made sense to get married outside at sunset with an outdoor party following. I will admit that I was concerned about the distance from Austin, because a majority of our guests were coming from not only out of town, but out of state, plus we wanted people to enjoy themselves and not have to worry about drinking and driving. Therefore we chartered buses, and as far as we heard they worked out flawlessly. This was my biggest concern, but all the feedback was positive. Many of our friends and family had funny stories from their bus trips that made the entire experience more memorable. The owners were wonderful to work with, very accommodating to any special requests we made and they were a pleasure to work with. The property was in perfect condition and it was seamless for our rental company, catering company and band to load in and out. Our guests all raved about the location and will not soon forget the event. It is such a unique venue that your event will definitely be memorable. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone for not only events but a fun getaway. It made our wedding so special and unique and we would not change a thing. We look forward to using this venue again and again for romantic getaways to our future anniversary parties. The owners were excellent to work with and the venue was a spectacular locale.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Michael

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 2
5

FANTASTIC

  • 5 of 5

The Plant at Kyle is an absolutely wonderful place. The structures and setting would be enough but then on top of those it is beautifully furnished in a way that perfectly fits the surroundings. FULLY stocked kitchen makes meals easy and a joy for group cooking. They haven't missed a detail - from plenty of indoor and outdoor chairs, to towels for the pool to dishes and glassware for 20. Wonderful covered pool is a blast for all ages. And the sleeping accommodations are laid out in a way that creates privacy for everyone staying overnight. We arrived to find small vases of wildflowers on the dining table, in the kitchen and other areas - a lovely touch. The caretakers are very responsive and helpful. This is a place not to be missed.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning & Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Mark and the host team made the stay so inviting. They have been the best hosts I've had by far. The home is beautifully maintained and has all the expected amenities and more. The indoor/ outdoor setting was better than I could have imagined or expected. It made our weekend so relaxing and unforgettable. It is so rare to be able to rent a home like this and be hosted so well. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Inviting," "beautifully maintained," "better than I could have imagined," "relaxing and unforgettable," "rare" -- receiving words of praise like these is wonderful and so meaningful to us. THANK YOU!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Retreat for Three Families

  • 5 of 5

Every year we get together with two other families for a few days in the summer. Staying at the Plant was great for our group. The house is split into three very distinct bedroom spaces which worked well for each family to have their defined private space. Most of the kids (ranging from ages 2-13) slept together in the Living Room.

It is an unique and beautiful home that keeps you connected with the outdoors. Most of our time was spent on the porch and in the pool. It was a memorable experience that was the perfect setting for our families to get together.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, the house is so brilliantly designed (by Lake|Flato) so that one can seamlessly go from being together in a group to having privacy, always surrounded by nature.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful property very secluded also.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I took a short trip to the plant, let me tell you we left wishing we had booked more days. The property is beautiful and the pool was amazing very clean also. All that you need is there (shampoo,condiments etc.) we loved our stay and would be returning soon. Quick tip watch out for the critters especially at night. Overall a great experience. Thank you Mark for letting us stay at the plant. We had a lot of fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Plant is a great summer getaway place for groups including families of all types. I'm not sure which night critters these guests are referring to - perhaps it could be deer, cattle, horses or donkeys crossing the dirt road that leads to The Plant.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Houston
5

Beautiful and Relaxing as Always

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Plant (our 6th year doing so) was fantastic as always. The property keeps getting better. It is clean, well maintained, secluded and quiet. We could not recommend the property more highly.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are trying to make obvious how much we cherish this special place and our guests. We aim to be the best stewards we can be of both.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
I-35
Car: necessary

Located between the charming Hill Country towns of Kyle and Wimberley, The Plant at Kyle is 30 miles from downtown Austin, easily accessible by either I-35 or Mopac.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kyle House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$3,500
$12,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning $300
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 6.0%

Additional interim cleanings required for weeklong (or longer) stays.
*
Also available at separate additional charge for non-overnight weddings, meetings and special events with larger groups.

Special event rental rates are based on headcount as follows:

non-overnight event up to 15 people: no additional charge per person
non-overnight event with 16 or more people: $40 per person

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kyle House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • south bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    north bath - toilet , jetted tub
    downstairs bath - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • South bedroom - 1 king , 2 child bed
    North bedroom - 1 queen
    downstairs bedroom - 2 queen
  • 1 king size bed + 3 queen size beds: 8 adults 1 bunk bed: 2 children
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties