Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quinta del Sol, Private modern Villa close to playa Avellanas

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome


About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 baths, sleeps 6 + with internet Wi-Fi

Beautiful Villa , secluded. private yet very safe. Stay in a beautiful villa for less than a hotel room ,10 minutes to Playa Avellanas, 5 min to Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club, just 9 min toTamarindo, and it's beaches, golf, surfing ,and stores. Located in a very private setting with a small river running thru the property. Listen to the Howler monkeys, when you wake up ,in Paradise. Relax under the rancho by the pool and sip your favorite coctail! You are away from the hustle & bustle of town, till you want to go into to eat, drink and be merry, and there is plenty of that in Tamarindo & elsewhere.

You are 45 minutes from Liberia Airport or 10 min from Tamarindo Airport with flights to and from San Jose 4 hrs by car, 45 min by plane. You are located close to many great surfing beaches or secluded beaches as well.

The rain forest is 2+ hours away. World class Fishing is very close by.

The main house has 2 bed, 2 bath. The guest suite has 1 bed+ folding bed(good for kids, or one adult) -1 bathroom.

Surf, Golf, Fish, Sail, and eco-tourism: There is so much to do or absolutely nothing ,depending on why you have come to Costa Rica! We have had just a tremendous response to our new Villa, please call or email for any questions, help, price discounts, info on area, we are more than happy to help anyone who wants to visit a wonderful country such as Costa Rica! My villa is a perfect location to go on day trips, it is a fantastic new villa yet perfect for families who like to spend time together under the rancho watching the kids in the pool, and cooking on a very large Webber gas grill, with a new big American style grocery store just 10 min away , just the monkeys , birds, and frogs, chipping the night away , Experience the real Costa Rica as you drive to & from the villa , you can hike , ride mt Bike, horses for hire near by. See the real deal , yet you are minutes away from wonderful Tamarindo where you can do it all


Tamarindo info: Tamarindo has all the amenities of a Costa Rican beach town: surf, sand and sun, sun, sun. But it offers much more to many more. It is the ideal place for honeymoons and weddings, couples, and families, and wonderfully suited to Eco-adventures. Tamarindo offers first class sport fishing, sailing, surfing, golfing, ATV tours, turtle watching, diving, horseback riding, canopy tours, jungle boat rides, beauty spa, an art gallery and crafts and pottery stores. A multi-cultural community, Tamarindo have several bakeries, an outdoors vegetable market and more than 40 restaurants. Whether you like to eat French, Vegetarian, 'Tipico' Costa Rican, Italian or Sea Food, it is all here. Accommodations are available for every budget, from luxurious beach-front hotel to hostels.

The sun shines just about 365 days per year, and the temperature is pleasantly warm year round. In the rainy season, from May through October, you can expect a brief shower in the late afternoon, making the beach sparkle,

More Details

Property Manager
Enrique lucio Vico
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 15, 2017

About Enrique lucio Vico

As a profesional sailor, spent 20 years in the caribbean, I warranty that the property is always in good working order. As a yacht, this property requires constant manteinance, being on the spot, and manage it myself, assures all guests that any problem that arises is a problem solved.

Enrique lucio Vico purchased this villa in 2007

Why Enrique lucio Vico chose Guanacaste

This property is unique, the design , location and distribution makes it ideal for rental purposes, I like so much the place , that I build my home , close by. Any requirements from our guests are always listen to, having worked in the Tourism industry for years, My wife and I , know how to treat guests.

You'll have a personal attention that rental managers won't be able to offer. check our reviews by certified guests, that says it all.

What makes this villa unique

You wake up in the morning and listen to the Howler monkeys on the trees, and birds of all different colors running around the flowers and the breeze through the palm trees. It's really like being in the middle of the jungle, but with all the comfort.

If you want privacy, and peace and quiet , this is the Place!!!

This the real Costa Rica, nature at it's best, with all the comfort of a beautiful Villa.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Wow! What a wonderful time we had! From the very moment I contacted Enrique regarding our potential stay, he was so helpful. We came to Tamarindo to get married. He helped us plan every detail! Let's first start with the house. He had several properties to choose from. We ended up picking this one which he build and manages. It's about 10 minutes outside of Tamarindo. Enrique meet us at the Automeracdo, and then we followed him back to the house. The pictures are exactly as is, but they don't even do it justice. The house is absolutely amazing! Perfectly appointed. Has everything you could possibly need-all housewares, towels, TV, a speaker hook up for your music, crystal blue pool and a huge outdoor rancho with lots of relaxing seating. So peaceful. The grounds are lush and filled with tons of colorful flowers and birds. The beds were comfy and everything is very clean and fresh. Each room has it's own airconditioning system. Enrique's suggestions of food: Patagonia, Bamboo Sushi, La Papala (we got married on the beach in front of here) were all very delicious. Our wedding couldn't have been more perfect: fresh, bright tropical flowers, the perfect setting on the beach prepared by Henry at La Papala, fire dancers, a Mariachi band, champagne, seabass cervice, blackened tuna, frozen mojitos, and lots dancing with a reggae band with a killer saxophone player. All thanks the Enrique! We will be back again and again I am sure to make many more memories!
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 27


Tamarindo Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Catering available
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 280 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • River ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • there's an outdoor shower in the middle of palm trees, close to the swimming pool, perfect for when you arrive from the beach, to take your sand off, very private.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen folding bed, for extra guests
  • Each bedroom have their own AC units. In the Guest room we have a folding couch Also have a folding Baby crib .
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 5 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Now accepting Pay Pal payments, for reservations. The easiest and safest way to pay for you deposit. Immediate confirmation.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Quinta del Sol, Private modern Villa close to playa Avellanas
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 39 reviews

Would not recommend to my friends

  • 1 of 5

The villa is beautifully decorated and safe, but be prepared to have some surprises:

as mentioned by other renters, you will be charged for electricity -140$ for 10 days while we were told to expect max 20$ total - it's been added to the initial contract upon our arrival;

if you have an extra guest for 1 night, you will be charged AGAIN;

there is a cloths washing machine BUT you can’t use it!

appliances need to be changed (especially the refrigerator which was leaking);

cooking material is at minimum;

we were unlucky but the safe jammed and it never been repaired before our departure 5 days later (poor customer service);

You must provide the security deposit in cash ! so if you argue about the 'surprising' electric fees collected upon your departure, good luck!

They did a physical check-out before we left (inspect room by room) - we really felt like ordinary renters rather than special guests – and you could expect extra charge for an early check-out!

No chest of drawers in the rooms;

But the playa was wonderful, visit Lola’s for lunch – very nice.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a comment!!!! specially 8 months after they stayed in the Villa. Ok ,now this is the reality of this people!!!! I will answer directly for EVERYBODY to read abut this so called "guests". The villa is beautifully decorated and safe, but be prepared to have some surprises: as mentioned by other renters, you will be charged for electricity -140$ for 10 days while we were told to expect max 20$ total - IF YOU SPEND 140 DOLLARS IN 10 DAYS , IT MEANS 14 DOLLARS EXTRA PER DAY, USING THE AC UNITS ALL DAY AND NIGHT, THAT IS WHY!!!! . it's been added to the initial contract upon our arrival;IT'S if you have an extra guest for 1 night, you will be charged AGAIN; WHEN YOU ASK FOR A RESERVATION YOU MENTION THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE, IN THIS CASE THIS PEOPLE ASKED FOR A DISCOUNT BECAUSE THEY WERE 4 PEOPLE, THEN THEY SAID 5 AND FINALLY THEY SHOWED 7 PEOPLE, YES THERE ARE EXTRA CHARGES FOR PEOPLE THAT LIE TO GET A DISCOUNT!!!!!!!!!! there is a cloths washing machine BUT you can’t use it! THE WASHING MACHINE AND THE DRYER CAN BE USED AT THE GUEST RESPONSABILITY, AS THE MAID COMES EVERY THIRD DAY AND DOES THE LAUNDRY, AGAIN IF YOU WANT , YOU USE IT.(LIE) appliances need to be changed (especially the refrigerator which was leaking); IF YOU LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN AND OVERCHARGE THE FRIDGE , YES IT LEAKS, BUT IS SOMETHING YOU SHOULDN'T DO, ISN'T IT? cooking material is at minimum; FIRST TIME THAT HEARD THIS, SURE IF YOU COME ON A HOLIDAY AND ONLY DO COOKING FOUR TIMES A DAY, AND NEVER GO TO ANY RESTAURANT, THEN WHO KNOWS, MAYBE IT'S NOT ENOUGH!!!!! we were unlucky but the safe jammed and it never been repaired before our departure 5 days later (poor customer service); I SHOULD HAVE CHARGED YOU FOR IT, AS YOU BROKE IT AND JAMMED BY STUFFING A BIG CAMERA INSIDE, THIS HAPPEN WHEN YOU WANT TO BE NICE TO PEOPLE THAT AREN'T. You must provide the security deposit in cash ! so if you argue about the 'surprising' electric fees collected upon your departure, good luck! WITH PEOPLE LIKE THIS YOU CAN'T ARGUE, THEY GO BY THE PRINCIPLE THAT THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT. WELL SOMETIMES NOT. They did a physical check-out before we left (inspect room by room) - we really felt like ordinary renters rather than special guests – and you could expect extra charge for an early check-out! WE DO A CHECK IN AND A CHECK OUT, NOBODY HAS EVER BEEN OFENDED . No chest of drawers in the rooms; IT'S THE TROPICS, THE DRAWERS ATTRACT INSECTS AND MOLD!!!!!!!. TO OUR GUESTS AND READERS MAKE YOUR OWN CONCLUSIONS
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Beautiful villa

  • 3 of 5

Villa was beautiful and Enrique was a wonderful host. He helped us with all of our accommodations and excursions. We had arranged for Pascal & his wife for several meals and it was outstanding. The only concerns we had were having to worry about electricity limits per day. When your on vacation given the price per night, the last thing you want is to monitor your electricity consumption. This should just be built into the villa rental.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Robert.Thank you for your review. I understand that for most of the guests from the US or Canada, it is dificult to realize the electricity is an issue here in Costa Rica. We, as many other owners included electricity comsumption in the rental fees in the past, the problem was that AC units where running all day, lights where ON during the day, and nobody did care about something that was included in the price, Now we include 30KwH per day, enough for everything. If you go over that, ther is charge of 0,40 cents per KwH. This way , if you want to leave the AC ON all day, fine, but you will have to pay a litle extra , depending on the way you use power.. Since we implemented this system, most of our guests understand it and are responsible about it, so they don't have to pay anything or very litle. Best regards. Enrique
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Stunning, private and so easy to live in!

  • 4 of 5

This property is really a surprise when you drive up. Gorgeous outdoor living space protected by palm thatch roof and plenty of seats and comfy couches. Rentors might want to know that the indoor living space is divided - which worked great for us. However, the kitchen, dining and living room (which we hardly used) are in one "building". Two of the bedrooms are down an sort-of outside hallway and the third is its own building about 30 steps from the front door. Our 13 year old son loved that space - although he was a little nervous at first being totally separate from the house. Pool is perfect and there is AC but you'll only need it at night since the real living is done on the marble patio. The owners are next door which is great - not just because it's good to have someone next door but because they are absolutely delightful and will hook you up with whatever excursion you might need...or leave you entirely alone to enjoy their fabulous place.

You should know that the property is about 15 minutes outside of Tamarindo, which we didn't mind because it was private and safe...but it does require driving down truly one of the worst roads I have been on. Be prepared for that. It's terrible.

We were there at the end of the dry season so things were really dry. Enrique tells us that July and August are lovely with the vegetation and blooms returning. There is a nice market on your way in to Tamarindo and you can get to all the good "playas - Conchal, Langosta, Avellanas - in less that 20 minutes, all.

You'll love it. We were 4 people so each kid got a bedroom. You could easily put 6 adults. Plan to grill outside - the grill is fabulous. The pans in the kitchen are pretty sparse but who wants to cook on holiday, anyway! We looked a several other homes in the area and around Tamarindo - this is really a find.

Thank you - it was fabulous!!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sarah & Kevin. Thank you for the review. The road has it up's and downs, it always comes up to when they do some work on it, normally every three months, now they have passed the machine and it's all right again . Aparently the problems with the company that have to paved it ,are solved, so soon we will have a great paved road. In the meantime, it's fun for a week, to drive on dirt, The rentals are SUV, so no problem. part of the fun!!! I do this road everyday, and it's not that bad. come on, sure if you compare to roads in the US, or Europe, but here is Costa Rica, part of Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!!. . Enrique
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great vacation in an amazing villa

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week in March in this amazing villa and truly enjoyed our stay. The modern villa is exactly as shown in the photos, very spacious, tastefully decorated, very clean and well maintained. It has a modern yet warm feeling, and the Rancho (covered outdoor lounging and dining area) is the best part. Although there is a beautiful dining room, we never actually used it as we enjoyed all our meals outside in the Rancho. The private pool is great, big enough to swim some laps, and we used it a lot.

The owner, Enrique, lives next door and while he respects your privacy he is always ready to help or answer questions. He knows the area very well, has lots of good tips for beaches, shopping, restaurants or day trips, and even helps with organizing tours and activities.

The villa is outside of Tamarindo, so you do need a car (preferably 4WD), but it takes only 15 minutes to all the shops and restaurants. It is very quiet at the villa, and you can get a taste of the real Costa Rica where the locals live. Tamarindo is very busy and touristy, and we actually enjoyed being close to everything yet able to get away from the hustle and bustle in the evening.

It is only a short drive to some of Costa Rica's beautiful beaches, about an hour to Liberia, and about ninety minutes to Rincon de la Vieja National Park. The big Automercado is only ten minutes away and it has everything to stock up your fridge, from local groceries to North American and European foods.

We would not hesitate to rent this villa again, or recommend it to friends and family. Thanks, Enrique, for a great vacation rental!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carmen family. Thank you for this review. it was a pleasure to have you, and hopefully we'll see you again soon. It's always nice to us that our guests appreciate the time and effort I put into maintaining Quinta del Sol the best way possible, and believe me is not a easy task in the ecuatorial climate. I'll be in touch. best to you and your family.Enrique
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Wiltshire, UK

As beautiful as it looks!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here with our three kids, and it was perfect. It's a beautiful and peaceful villa, really well kitted out, well maintained and very clean. We had high expectations based on the photos on the site and were not disappointed.

Enrique and his wife were fantastically helpful and accommodating while we were there and provided some great local info so we were able to explore all the best beaches, and avoid getting burnt in the hot equatorial sun.

Would highly recommend this villa and think it's really good value.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Beautiful Home

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic time on our first visit to Costa Rica. Enrique and Natalie have a beautiful home and we enjoyed our stay very much. The outdorr rancho area was our favorite spot to hang out and we ended up cooking on the grill/eating "in" several times. The pool was a bonus and our kids (6 and 4) were swimming constantly. We were also luck enough to have a howler monkey visit the tree just behind the house on our last afternoon-what a treat!

A couple things to note that I wish I had paid more attention to...

First, if you are traveling with small kids note that the 2nd bedroom is not actually accessible from the master. Basically the bedrooms (with attached baths) are in a separate building from the living area and the entrance to each is from the enclosed "courtyard"/rancho area. If kids are older or couples traveling together this is a non-issue but those with little ones may find it useful info. Enrique was able to provide us with an air mattress so it worked out fine, but I do with I had understood the layout prior (my fault).

The only other thing is I wish the house was stocked with "the basics". It did have all the cutlery, dishes, grilling utensils etc, which was great but...the house only came with one roll of TP per bathroom, and one garbage bag per trash can. After that we were told we had to provide. Also, no hand soap/washcloths in the bathrooms or paper towels for the kitchen. Again, this may be a CR thing, but in prior rentals this has always been provided.

Overall it was a wonderful stay and we enjoyed ourselves very much. We will definitely go back to Costa Rica, but next time may stay a bit closer to Playa Langosta.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
5 minutes
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Golf Hacienda Pinilla
Nearest Restaurant
3.5 Miles
Town of Tamarindo
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Tamarindo-Playa Avellana
Car: necessary

Guanacaste Region, Near Playa Avellana and Playa Tamarindo, Playa Negra, Playa Conchal and town of Santa Cruz are all close by. Tamarindo is the closest beach 9 min by car and Playa Avellana is 15 min away and a great surfing spot and off the beaten track , so there is a lot of open beach , One of the nicest beaches and a wonderful place called Lola's !!! We are 1000yds away from main road. please do not hesitate to email me or call me for any questions you might have . It's a very lovely, private and safe location. Visit and stay in the real Costa Rica , we are at 10 min to the Big Town!!!! of Tamarindo ,where you'll find many diferent restaurants, night clubs,and everything you may need. It feels like you get into the Real thing, once you drive down the road , and pull into Quinta del Sol, Your Paradise , the peace and quiet , is the best !

Other Activities: ATV, Canopy tours, Rain forest tours

Golf: beautifull well known golf course of HACIENDA PINILLA just 2 minutes away.!!!!!!!!!!!


Rates & Availability

Tamarindo Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
chrismas holidays
Dec 21 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
high season
Jan 5 2018 - May 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Security deposit of 300 dollars to be paid in cash at arrival. we will returned to you, before you leave, provided ther's no damage or missing inventory.
Prices are per maximum of 6 guests. if one more or two more. 35 dollars per person per night. maximum of 8 guests alowed including children.
Electricity Consumtion: We include in the rate we give you 30KWh per day as electricity consumtion

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties