Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Private Chalet, Steps from Born Free Ski Run & Eagle Bahn Gondola, WIFI

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10) -- newly renovated bathroom + new sofas!

Vail Business License #2629

Just off of 'Born Free', the ski run leading to the gondola. The house is 120 yards from the ski run and overlooks the magnificent Gore Range Mountains. Named 'Chalet du Soleil', this charming four bedroom home is within easy walking distance of fine restaurants and shops. The house is on a large lot. Sledding and playing in the snow can be enjoyed by those with excess energy after skiing. We provide the sleds. The house is equipped with all the amenities you are accustomed to in your own home.

The house comfortably accommodates up to ten people. The master suite features a queen-size bed plus whirlpool tub for two (jacuzzi type) and separate shower room. The other main floor bedroom includes a queen-size bed, bath/shower, and an expansive bay window. The third bedroom on the upper floor has a queen-size bed, two twin-size beds, plenty of closet space, and a large vanity sink area.

The fourth bedroom is, in fact, an adjoining studio-apartment with king-size bed, compact kitchen, full bath, and large walk-in closet. All beds are made up in the Swiss-style with comforters, extra pillows, and ironed sheets.

Smoking is not permitted.

It has been a very dry summer and fire danger is extreme. We ask that you heighten your awareness of these concerns in our state so that we can all continue to enjoy it’s beauty.

Limit 10 people, in excess of that number renters are subject to forfeiture of security deposit.

Please provide names of all occupants.

Owner reserves right to knock and check on state of unit during reasonable hours.

Any sign of tobacco or marijuana use will result in eviction if found out during the stay, this includes on the decks. If smoke or paraphernalia is found post stay by the cleaning crew and documented then the entire $500 deposit will not be returned. We have not had to enforce these policies and hope to keep the record of people enjoying our family home without incident.

The owners, Fred and Thea, live in the house next door and will be happy to make your stay a pleasant one! Their daughter, Heather Kehoe, lives in Eagle and manages the property.

Fewer people in your party? Need a little less space? Please visit the other property I manage: www.homeaway.com/4794495

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Heather Kehoe
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2018

About Heather Kehoe

This is a family-run business. Thea Rumford and daughter, Heather Kehoe, manage this beautiful mountain home.The photo is of Heather and Thea on the deck of the Chalet in the summertime.

Fred and Thea Rumford have owned this charming mountain home since 1966 when it was built as a weekend getaway for their family. Skiing is a large part of their lives. They have raised their children to grow up with a tremendous appreciation for the alpine lifestyle. They take great joy in now seeing their grandchildren follow in the ski tracks of their parents.

Thea says, 'The character of Chalet du Soleil is incomparable and is sure to please.'

The Rumfords also take pride in upgrading and maintaining their beautiful home each year.

Heather Kehoe purchased this house in 1966

Why Heather Kehoe chose Vail Ski Resort

It's the little things that the owners/manager do to make this place special.

What makes this house unique

Prime Lionshead location. Specular views of the Gore Range Mountains. Very family friendly accommodations.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time skiing and the house was perfect! See you next year!
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 94

Amenities

Vail Ski Resort House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please treat this historic Vail home with great care. Shoes and ski boots must remain on brick area. Please respect quiet hours between 10pm and 8am
  • Please provide names of all occupants. Ten travelers max!
  • If smoke, vaping or paraphernalia is found post stay by the cleaning crew and documented then the entire $500 deposit will not be returned.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • All bathrooms complete with Chalet logo soaps, lotion and chapstick
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) pack-'n-play portable crib available upon request infant high chair and/or booster seat also available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There are 4 outside parking spaces in front of the Chalet for your use during your stay. Parking on the residential street (Forest Road) is not allowed. Thank you for your compliance. There is now a new natural foods grocery store in Lionshead Village by the main bus stop, a short 5-7 minute walk from the Chalet. Great for those few items you may have forgotten or need at the last minute like milk and eggs.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Private Chalet, Steps from Born Free Ski Run & Eagle Bahn Gondola, WIFI
average rating of 4.875 based on 134 reviews
5

Perfect home for family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year for a family summer vacation at Chalet du Soleil and we had another wonderful time. The house is spacious and comfortable and feels like home. It was perfect for our family of 10 (6 adults and 4 children). It had everything we could possibly need, including a pack-n-play for the newest member of our family. The location is ideal so we were able to walk everywhere. Heather is always so pleasant and helpful and we have enjoyed working with her. We plan to return next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved having you and your family return to Vail this summer! You are always welcome at Chalet du Soleil!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, relaxing vacation home

  • 5 of 5

We just spent our third summer vacation at Chalet du Soleil and it was wonderful as always. The house has plenty of room for our family of 10 (three generations), and we all just love it. The grandkids would like to spend the entire summer there. It's charming, comfortable, and in the perfect location. It's in such a peaceful, relaxing setting, especially with the beautiful creek that runs through the property. We miss it already and plan to return next summer.

Joan and Bill K.

Allen, TX

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Duncanville Tx
5

Great location & good property for family gathering

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting with deck & creek running through yard. Very peaceful, relaxing outdoor setting. The house was well-stocked & all our needs were considered. All 4 bedrooms provide privacy. Kitchen well-stocked.

We visited in July and Outdoors was much more pleasant temp-wise during the day. The owner had placed floor fans in each room which helped a bit at night.

We would consider a winter vacation here as well. Convenient to slopes & all amenities of the village, within short somewhat steep walking distance.

Couches & beds could use some updating but overall the house was cozy and relaxed,

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyed our stay

  • 4 of 5

Overall we were very happy with our stay here. The home is charming and very comfortable. We had one minor issue with a broken showerhead and when we contacted Heather it was taken care of (actually replaced) promptly. Communications with the owner were timely and responsive. Picturesque setting in a really lovey neighborhood. I would clarify for guests the fact that it is 100 yard walk to the slopes, not ski-in ski-out.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our lovely Chalet and it's surroundings. We are glad you were able to enjoy our special home while skiing in Vail. Heather
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and very comfortable property

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of avid skiers looking for a comfortable and easy access property. The property is approximately 150 yards walk to the ski slopes. The house was very comfortable and the living area with TV was utilized extensively. The appliances were all updated and we used the grill to make brats one day after skiing. The house is older but very clean and the bathrooms had been updated. Heather was very responsive and accommodating. Would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Chalet! Thank you for your thoughtful comments. It means a lot to us to hear your appreciation for our charming historic home with it's modern touches. We hope to see you again next ski season!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

House, location, hosts great

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you and your family at the Chalet. We hope you'll return again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Eagle
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Vail
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-70
Nearest Ski
100 Metres
Vail (Lionshead)
Car: not necessary

Across Gore Creek from the gondola.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Limit 10 people, in excess of that number renters are subject to forfeiture of security deposit.
Please provide names of all occupants.
Owner reserves right to knock and check on state of unit during reasonable hours.
Any sign of tobacco or marijuana use will result in eviction if found out during the stay, this includes on the decks. If smoke or paraphernalia is found post stay by the cleaning crew and documented then the entire $500 deposit will not be returned. We have not had to enforce these policies and hope to keep the record of people enjoying our family home without incident.
It has been a very dry summer and fire danger is extreme. We ask that you heighten your awareness of these concerns in our state so that we can all continue to enjoy it’s beauty.
In order to receive a full refund of your security deposit, we ask that you please do the following before your departure:
1.) put all dirty dishes in the dishwasher and start it
2.) dispose of all trash in the proper location -- in the green bins in the garage between the two vehicles (on the lower level studio, out the door marked PRIVATE)
3.) put all recycleable materials in the labeled bin in the laundry room (cans, bottles, newspapers, etc.)
4.) put all soiled/wet towels and washclothes in the bathtub at the end of the hallway or on top of the dryer in the laundry room

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties