check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Leanne Crowell

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beach town Apartment right in the heart of the fun! 1 1/2 blocks from water.l

28 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Grand Haven Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1100 sq ft apartment, 2 bedrooms plus Queen inflatable bed. 1 full bath. sleeps

Beautiful Downtown Apartment in the center of it all. Here you can walk to everything in Downtown while still enjoying the serenity of a spacious upper level apartment above a Downtown boutique. The entrance is located at ground level on Washington Ave. and has one flight of stairs to the upper level. It's convenient location is only 1 1/2 blocks off the Boardwalk that leads to the Famous Musical Fountain and out to the Grand Haven Lighthouse on Lake Michigan. Located right smack in the center of all the Downtown shopping and restaurants. Everything is right outside your door. 1100 sq ft of living space with 11 ft ceilings, original brick walls and beautiful wood floors in a Historical Downtown Building built in the late 1890's. Contemporary, clean and inviting. Open Kitchen, Dinning room and Living room designed for your comfort and relaxation. Living room features comfortable furniture, Large 50' T.V. and DVD player and a wonderful view of our Downtown boutiques. Dining room has a 4 chair dining table with extra dining chairs for larger parties and is a open floor plan to Kitchen and Living room. Kitchen is open and has plenty of cupboard space. Fully stocked with your cookware, dishes and basic appliances like coffee maker, coffee grinder, blender, and toaster. Master bedroom has king size bed outfitted with high end linens , small smart TV, night stands and large closet. In Master bedroom you will find french doors leading to a relaxing outside deck with patio table and chairs. Guest bedroom has a queen size bed with high end linens and large closet. For parties over 4 people, we have a high end Inflate-a-bed on it's own bed frame that can be set up in the Living room area. Central Air will keep you comfortable in hot weather. In the Hallway you will find a Stack-able washer and dryer. The bathroom has Kohler pedestal sink and toilet and the original but restored claw foot soaking tub with shower. Our apartment has it's roots in the cream city brick walls and the original claw foot tub. We renovated and added 500 sq ft in 2000 to give it a open and comfortable feel but save it's charm. Grand Haven is a beautiful place to build family vacation memories and we hope staying in one of it's historical Downtown buildings will add to your experience.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leanne Crowell (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Leanne Crowell

I have lived near Lake Michigan now for about 30 years, moving hear from Grand Rapids, MI. I find it hard to imagine not being near the beach at this point. Grand Rapids is a nice city but living near the water offers a peace that can't be duplicated, and it's free! My husband has lived his entire life in this area and runs his own company in Muskegon. I am able to do bookkeeping and property management from my home or if lucky enough from a warm sunny spot near our many friends we have acquired in Florida.

Leanne Crowell purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Leanne Crowell chose Western Michigan

In 2000 my husband and I purchased this building on the main street of Downtown Grand Haven so that I could open a boutique and live a personal dream of having my own business. I chose Grand Haven for a few good reasons. 1) It was close to home. 2) Grand Haven was a perfect small town. It had the right mix of people and they loved and supported their town. 3) Grand Haven was my favorite place to spend my free time.

It seemed a perfect spot to build and business and a sense of community. My experience was wonderful and a dream come true. I was welcomed with open arms by locals and other business owners and soon became knitted into the community. This experience has left me only wanting to make it a better place. I no longer run my boutique, I left that behind after

10 years so that my husband and I could travel more freely, mostly in the winter :) but I still own this wonderful property and find Grand Haven a great investment. I rent out the boutique below and the apartment above is still a vacation apartment for guests to enjoy. My husband and I live close by and are very hands on, we think of our apartment as our possible summer home if we ever make the move to become regular snow birds and let go of our own home on the lake. I hope you enjoy our apartment for it was a dream come true for me and will always be a blessing in our lives.

What makes this apartment unique

Although I have never made this apartment our home, we have stayed there quite a bit. I think what I love about it is that it has so many conveniences. I love that the businesses Downtown are still family owned and operated. Many of them have raised their families right at work, making all of us extended family. People are friendly and helpful. It is the kind of town that makes you feel safe and cared about. I always meet visitors who are returning because they grew up vacationing in Grand Haven and want to keep the tradition going. Grand Haven is a slice of the American Dream.

Reviews

4.9
based on 28 traveler reviews

Beach town Apartment right in the heart of the fun! 1 1/2 blocks from water.l
average rating of 4.892857 based on 28 reviews
St. Louis, MO
5

Awesome Location, Beautiful Condo!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just spent our honeymoon in this fantastic condo. We walked in and it looked exactly like it does in the pictures. The owner was great in all communications and she was extremely helpful and nice. It was so nice having a washer and dryer in the condo! We were so sad to leave the place where we had such a relaxing week. I have been going to Grand Haven all my life, but I have never stayed in town. I absolutely loved it! It was so great that all the action was just a short walk away. We walked to the pier almost every night to watch the beautiful sunsets. Every morning, I'd walk to a great coffee shop with extremely friendly staff. And of course, we could easily walk to get ice cream or grab a Pronto Pup. We cannot wait to go back and I will definitely tell everyone about this condo.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo, and our beautiful Downtown! It is a unique experience to have all the energy and buzz around you but the peace and solitude of a quiet condo that sits above and lets you watch the action below. We look forward to your visits and promise to make each stay special.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

Loved Grand Haven!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 5 loved this apartment in downtown Grand Haven. Our adult children liked being able to walk to shops, restaurants, and bars on their own schedules, and it was close to beaches and everything else too. Location is great! The open floor plan allowed plenty of room for us all to relax and be together. It was fun to look out the front windows and see/hear the hustle and bustle in town, although it always seemed quiet in the apartment. This place has a lot of charm! And we really appreciate being able to bring our dog along. Great vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful!

  • 4 of 5

Awesome location in town for shopping and musical fountain! Open, airy and beautiful inside. Very comfortable and cozy. Only drawbacks are shower is a freestanding tub with a pull around curtain and there is no stairwell to the deck in the back. The pros definitely outshine the cons in this great vacation spot! We loved it.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great week in Grand Haven. Apartment is spacious, bright, clean, and in a perfect location. We loved grabbing coffee from the various coffee shops on Washington, going on runs to the pier, and walking to the musical fountain. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous place in the heart of everything!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time at this condo. The location cannot be beat. Walk to everything. It was very quiet, clean, wide open interior, private, easy parking right out back. Loved the decor and layout of the home, bedrooms in the back, huge outdoor rear patio, floor to ceiling windows in the front. Very comfortable and inviting space. We happen to be there during the downtown arts festival, great weather all weekend. Highly recommend this deluxe condo for your next trip to Grand Haven. Our first trip to Grand Haven and certainly not our last!

The listing description was accurate and we discovered so much more once we arrived that made the trip even more enjoyable.

The property was very clean and well maintained. No issues at all.

The owner was easy to communicate with, very pleasant experience.

Yes, definitely recommend to friends and family. We will be back again.

There is so much to do in the area. Musical fountain, YMCA playground, beach, lighthouse, community events/activities, splash pad, harbor, fishing boats rentals, boutiques, restaurants. Places to explore in towns right next to GH. Really a fun area.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful location to experience Grand Haven!

  • 5 of 5

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Beach town Apartment. All my siblings gathered in Grand Haven where my brother lives to celebrate his retirement and 4th of July. My sister and I stayed at the apartment with our dog, Izzo. Not only did we love the convenient location in downtown GH and a short 4 block walk to my brother's house where the rest of my family was staying, but Izzo loved to looking down on Washington Ave. What a beautiful place to spend a week with family.

Leanne was very helpful and was able to allow us to drop off our things early so that we could enjoy my brother's retirement dinner without having to worry about unloading late at night. We would recommend this Grand Haven apartment for those wanting easy access to shops, dining, the boardwalk and the beach!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Muskegon airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Wooden Nickle
Nearest Ferry
14 Miles
Lake Express
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Grand Haven Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Holland Train Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US 31
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres
De-lite, The Grand, The Grill Room, Kirby's, more
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Mulligan's Hollow ski bowl
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lake Michigan
Car: recommended

Grand Haven, Michigan is a small Lakeshore town 45 minutes West of Grand Rapids, Michigan where you will find concerts at Van Andel Arenaand Fredrick Meijers Gardens. Baseball at Comerica Park. Muskegon, Michigan is located 10 minute north and has more great beaches, The Lake Express Ferry going to and from Milwaukee, WI. South 20 minutes you will find Holland, Michigan and the famous Tulip Festival in the spring.

Other Activities: Lake Michigan Beaches

Photos

Rates & Availability

Grand Haven Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall, Winter, Early Spring
Aug 28 2016 - May 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$950
$1,600
 
 
Summer
May 28 2017 - Jul 1 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
4th of July week
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 8 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Late summer
Jul 9 2017 - Jul 29 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Coast Guard week
Jul 30 2017 - Aug 5 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
End of summer
Aug 6 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Fall/Winter
Sep 3 2017 - May 26 2018
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee 2015 $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.0%

There is a pet fee of $100.00 per week. This is a fee and not a deposit. If staying less than 7 nights, Pet fee can be adjusted to $15.00 per night.
Failure to disclose a pet will result in possible loss of your damage deposit refund. (Please be upfront about your desire to include your pet)
Pets are almost always allowed but are still under the discretion of the owner. All responsibility for damages due to your pet/pets will be in addition to the damage deposit if it should exceed the deposit amount. By booking you agree to these terms.
Owner's are pet lovers and travel with their pet. We are only promoting responsibility for this convenience.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Grand Haven Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Original claw foot tub from late1800's was saved and used in our newly remodeled bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Inflatable queen bed - 1 queen , Can be set up in guest bedroom or livingroom
  • Master bedroom has King size bed with high quality linens, seasonally appropriate down comforter/Duvet, French doors leading to outside deck for lounging, two nightstands, reading lamp, alarm clock, full dressing mirror, small T.V. with VCR, ceiling fan. Guest bedroom has queen size bed with high quality linens, seasonally appropriate down comforter/ coverlet, one night table, reading lamp, ceiling fan. Living room has a queen size Inflatable mattress and chaise lounge chair, guest seating and large flat screen T.V.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers