check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Robert Sanson

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Magnificent View of Whiteface Mountain! Secluded Adirondack Retreat w/Wifi

41 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Wilmington Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Accommodations: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6

Seclusion, Privacy and a Million Dollar View!

Juniper Hill Lodge is perched on a steep incline with a magnificent view of Whiteface Mountain (4,867'), the fifth highest in New York. You won't see houses, or power lines, or roads, just the stunning High Peaks of the Adirondack Mountains laid out before you..

At night it's a star gazer's paradise! The high altitude, low population and huge deck make this one of the best places to take in the heavens. Magnificent!.

Savor a good long soak in the large, heated Jacuzzi whirlpool tub which easily accommodates two! mmmmmm!...

Enjoy the Outdoor Wood-Fired Sauna! Easy to use, Amazing for relaxing after a day on the slopes!

Outdoor Fire Pit and the hammock. Hike the miles of trails right out the back door.

With a total of nine rooms, Juniper Hill Lodge provides spacious accommodations for 5 people with its 2 full bedrooms, loft sleeping area, 1 1/2 baths, gourmet kitchen, dining and living room

Enjoy Cooking?: The kitchen is very well equipped for cooking any of your favorite dishes. The knives are sharp, the pans are heavy restaurant-quality. There's a Kitchen Aid mixer, all sorts of baking pans, pie tins and muffin trays. There's even a Waffle Maker and coffee grinder for your lazy mornings! And, you'll be cooking on a gas range of course.

The kitchen sink is a big and extra deep-- large enough to brine a turkey in. And the kitchen island is a huge flat working surface made of Adirondack Granite from the local garnet mines. We love it!

Clean up is no problem using the large capacity super quiet dishwasher.

Skiing at Whiteface: Whiteface Mountain--Greatest Vertical Drop in the East! Juniper Hill Loj is 1 mile away from the entrance! The mountain is so close (see the pictures!) that we use our walkie-talkies to communicate with the kids when they are skiing! You'll never fight traffic through the notch to make it in time for the first powder of the morning! And, Lake Placid is only 10 miles away--so, after a day of skiing, a fine evening out is very close by!

Ironman Lake Placid: We love IronMan! The house is in a great spot for it being a mile from the bike course. We usually watch the race at the out-and-back in Wilmington which is just a mile away. Remember, at the out-and-back you can stay in one place and see your Ironman 4 times on the bike loop! Parking there is really easy and you don't have to travel on the bike loop to see the race. Since the house is not directly on the bike route there are easy options for traveling either direction towards Keene or Lake Placid--at any time of day. Wilmington is a great, central location to spend your Ironman week--just a bit beyond the chaos of Lake Placid, Very easy to get around on race-day for your cheering squad. Book it now!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Robert Sanson (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 41 traveler reviews

Magnificent View of Whiteface Mountain! Secluded Adirondack Retreat w/Wifi
average rating of 4.707317 based on 41 reviews
5

Juniper Hill Home

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely. Amazing views. Super kitchen and bathroom. Enjoyed the sauna. Kids loved the piano and also the loft area because of tv and computer. We were a bit nervous about all the pottery up there...... So easy to knock over.... No accidents fortunately.

The lamp in the kids room next to the lego underneath the bed is not working.....

The bedrooms are a bit small and makes it tough for luggage. The area near the stove is helpful for extra stuff. The stove was not needed - surprisingly. When we used it, the temp got too hot in the bedrooms.

Thanks again for letting us stay. We would come back again.

Hope our comments are helpful.

Astrid

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
3

We had a great family time in the Adirondacks.

  • 3 of 5

The property was nice and we enjoyed our stay, however we would not stay there again for a couple reasons. The property was listed as a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, however when we arrived and looked at the property it was 2 bedroom and 1 1/2 bath. Had it been advertised properly, we wouldn't have chosen location.

There was no air conditioning, which we were aware of and for the most part the basement was cool, however in the loft or "3rd bedroom", 2 of our children slept in 88 degree temperatures.

The property is nice and the fire pit was a great place for family time and making s'mores. Plenty of cut wood and kindling. They have a hammock and chair/swing which was nice to relax and enjoy the summer breeze.

Again, a nice property, but we would've chose another location had we known that the property only had 1 shower and 2 bedrooms

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, amazing view!

  • 5 of 5

The home was well stocked, clean and comfortable. It is in a great location not far from Keene or Lake Placid which worked well for us since we do a lot of hiking.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a summer getaway to the mountains.

  • 5 of 5

The property was great for our family of four (4 & 6 year olds) plus grandma and grandpa. It was quite warm inside, but it was an unusually hot week. Even so, it still cooled off at night.

The Adirondack decor throughout the place was so nice!

We all hope to stay again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet relaxing retreat!!!

  • 4 of 5

We chose this lovely home for our annual girl's weekend. The home was perfect. Plenty of room and well stocked with all the needed essentials. Views were amazing. Had lovely breezes every evening to cool off the house after several 90 degree days. Even though there is no air conditioning the downstairs bedrooms stayed cool enough for pleasant sleeping conditions. Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent - 2nd Time Staying Here

  • 5 of 5

For Sauna Lovers, this place is amazing. Week was great even with the risk of lack of snow (which there wasn't).

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
130 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Hungry Trout, Wilmington, NY
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Lake Placid, NY
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Various in Wilmington, NY
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Whiteface Mt
Car: necessary

Located in the heart of the High Peaks Region just 2 minutes from Whiteface Mountain, site of the 1980 Olympic games. At the base of the mountain winds the renowned Ausable River known for its World Class trout fishing. Lake Everest Beach hosts live summer concerts every Thursday night. In Wilmington, you can submerge in the unique experience of an authentic Adirondack Village. Lake Placid Village with all that it has to offer is just ten miles away on the most picturesque road of the Adirondacks. Here you can enjoy shopping, dining, arts and crafts, museums, The Olympic Center, golf, horse shows, movies, festivals, nightlife, ... or 'in short' - hustle and bustle of this special, lively Olympic Village with an international flair.

Other Activities: Wood Fired Outdoor Sauna

Golf: Golf Details here

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wilmington Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Leaf Season 2016
Sep 23 2016 - Oct 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$245
From
$310
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 28 2016
5 night minimum stay
$310
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 28 2016
5 night minimum stay
$340
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$340
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 4 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$265
From
$340
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 18 2017
4 night minimum stay
$255
From
$320
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Ironman 2017
Jul 19 2017 - Jul 25 2017
5 night minimum stay
$340
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 26 2017 - Sep 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$255
From
$320
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$265
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,575
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning Fee $110
Tax Rate 3.0%

6 Guests maximum, No Pets, No Smoking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wilmington Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , 2 Person Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large Futon, sleeps 2, Very Comfortable
  • None of these beds are located in the living room which is quite large...
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers