Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

It's All About The View! Remodeled Oceanfront Condo located in Kapaa.

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom / 1 bathroom, sleeps 3

Enjoy the comfort of our remodeled and tastefully decorated (so we have been told), one-bedroom, one bath condominium. Imagine being 75 steps from a mile long golden sand beach on the east shore of Kauai. From your private lanai with unobstructed views of the pacific ocean, you can watch the incredible sunrises and listen to the soothing sounds of the ocean.

Our condominium is a Non-Smoking corner unit on the 2nd floor that has been completely remodeled. Custom-made cherry cabinets and granite counter tops have been installed in our fully equipped kitchen. Porcelain tiles grace the entry, bathroom and kitchen areas. The bathroom has a large tiled walk-in shower.

Besides the new additions, the condo comes with all the amenities listed above. Added amenities include FREE SECURE WiFi internet connection, HD TV with On-demand, beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, and tennis rackets for your use during your staying at our condominium.

The Pono Kai resort is a non-smoking property. The resort provides a front desk that is open 24 hours a day. There is onsite free parking. Each building has a coin-operated laundry facility and an elevator. The grounds are beautifully maintained with extensive grass areas, herb garden so you can pick fresh herbs for your meals and a Koi pond. For your convenience, there is an activities desk so you can arrange for your island adventures. Each Thursday and Sunday morning a 'tour operator' presentation is hosted at the pool area (highly recommended) and you may even win a two-for-one excursion. A workout room has also been added as well as a 5-mile all-purpose path which follows the coastline just steps outside the resort. There are a pool/spa area and 2 tennis courts and many other on-property activities.

Come enjoy a stay in paradise!!!

More Details

Owner
Shirley Cooney
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2017

About Shirley Cooney

We live in Marin County which is part of the San Francisco bay area. My husband & I are semi-retired. We have 2 grown children and 2 grandsons. We are very lucky to have our children and grandsons close by.

Shirley Cooney purchased this condo in 2001

Why Shirley Cooney chose Kauai

The first time we came to Kauai was in 1971. We toured 4 of the islands and fell in love with the 'Garden Isle'.

We had friends who owned a condo at the Pono Kai Resort. We started renting their unit and spending many of our family vacations on Kauai.

We always hoped one day to buy a little piece of paradise. In 2001, our wish came true.

What makes this condo unique

The Pono Kai is centrally located on the east side of the island. This location is great for people who want to explore the island. The resort is conveniently located in the historical town of Kapaa. The condo is in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The beach and a 5 mile walking/bike path is right out front of our condo.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the most beautiful Hawaiian floral gift that we found on arrival at your lovely home. It was totally unexpected, but a most thoughtful & sweet thing to do for us on our 25th wedding anniversary.



We've already taken a 1 hour Safari helicopter tour of the Nepali Coast & Waimea Valley & that's been the most exciting time we've had since Colorado. We've driven Southwest & Northwest & Kauai is lovely & pristine.

Your home is warm & welcoming and we're treating it as if it were our own - we're both fussy & clean nuts so everything is being kept clean & tidy.



Your furnishings, pictures and overall color scheme is perfect for this great island. The view from your balcony is so terrific - we watched the sunrise from there & it was delightful.



Thank you for the flowers & for making our stay a memorable one on the island of Kauai.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Kapaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 740 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 3
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , natural cherry vanity with granite counter tops.
  • remodeled with large walk-in shower (no tub)
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • A comfortable queen size bed in the bedroom / queen sofa bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Each building has a coin operated washer and dryer, an outside propane BBQ and outside beach showers. A workout room was added in December 2010

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(66 traveler reviews)

It's All About The View! Remodeled Oceanfront Condo located in Kapaa.
average rating of 4.878788 based on 69 reviews
4

A Beautiful Condo located close to beaches and Kapa'a town

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with the feel of this condo, the extra care, cleaning and consideration the owner put into making the environment feel like home.

We were also very grateful for the owner's prompt reconciliation of issues in the building and her willingness to work with the management in resolving them.

Thank-you for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Sunrise!

  • 4 of 5

Very nice condo. Great finishes. Thin walls, so noisy. Cigarette smoke seemed to come in through the bathroom exhaust fan. Kept on the fan and problem was solved.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Pono Kai Resort has had a non-smoking policy since 2013 and we have had a non-smoking policy since we bought our condo in 2001. Someone must have been illegally smoking inside one of the neighbouring condos or on the lanai. The Pono Kai Resort was built in the late 1970's. The use of soundproofing was minimal at that time. The resort is going through each of the buildings and installing sound proofing as well as renovating many of the timeshares.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great condo awesome view

  • 5 of 5

Great condo. Had everything we needed. Well equipped. Felt like home

Centrally located to everything on the resort property. Fantastic view of the ocean

Very comfortable

Highly recommend this owner and condo. Also walking distance to the town and shops.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect ocean view

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I arrived for our third week and third vrbo rental , all very different but fitting their locations well. This spot was to be our last week,lay back and concentrate on beach. Well we found so much to do, that we never had time to use the great facilities offered at this resort.They did help us book some fantastic tours (Ali,i Kyaks and Capt Andy zodiac. ( DO IT)

The condo it's self however is superb , the owners have made every effort to make this a high end retreat, it is their home after all!

From the top quality bedding to the absolutely gorgeous and well equipped kitchen, there is not a thing lacking.

Start your morning early in the huge custom tile and glass shower, watch the sun come up over the ocean on the lanai .

Rent a bike and travel the paved bike path along the beach.

Loved it , would highly recommend this comfy spot.

Only tiny comment would be the heavy footed folks upstairs, we were just lucky that week!

Thanks for sharing Mahalo

Les and Don

Haida Gwaii Canada

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PREMIUM CONDO WITH PREMIUM LOCATION AND WHAT A VIEW

  • 5 of 5

EVERYTHING YOU WANT OR NEED IS AT YOUR FINGERTIPS OR WELL WITHIN A VERY SHORT STROLL . COOK IN THE WELL APPOINTED KITCHEN AND ENJOY THE MEAL ON YOUR LANAI WITH JUST A HINT OF THE TRADE WINDS AND A VIEW OF THE WAVES BREAKING IN FRONT OF YOU . RELAX IN THE VERY COMFORTABLE LIVING AREA WITH A COOL DRINK AND THE SOUNDS OF THE WAVES SLAPPING THE SHORE . THERE IS A PATH ALONG THE SHORELINE WHICH CAN BE WALKED OR BICYCLED TO BEACHES AND COVES NOT SEEN BY CAR . ITS AN EASY WALK TO RESTAURANTS , SHOPS AND MARKETS . ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING YOU COULD POSSIBLY WANT TO DO ON THE ISLAND CAN BE ARRANGED ON SITE !!

THE PROPERTY ON WHICH THE CONDO IS LOCATED IS VERY WELL MAINTAINED FROM THE PONDS AND GRASS TO THE POOL AND HOT TUB . WANT TO RELAX AND ENJOY WITHOUT WANDERING FAR ? THIS IS WHERE YOU NEED TO BE . WANT TO HAVE A GREAT HOME BASE TO VISIT VARIOUS PARTS OF THE ISLAND FROM ? THIS IS WHERE YOU NEED TO BE .

SHIRLEY AND TONY HAVE DONE THEIR PART IN PROVIDING A DIAMOND OF A CONDO FOR YOUR USE . THE REST IS UP TO YOU !!!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Seattle, WA
4

Very nice condo and well stocked. Sad that the shower was broken

  • 4 of 5

Good location with all you need in walking distance Condo well furnished with comfortable bed and very comfortable sleeper sofa. Quite grounds to walk in the morning, friendly staff, plenty of close parking to the unit. Only disappointment the shower handle was broke off which made it a challenge to operate and really warm in the bedroom with one fan. Overall, I would stay again for weekend getaway Thank you for sharing you beautiful condo

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The shower handle came off and we had the replacement part overnighted by FedEx. Our manager told us that the existing handle could still be used temporarily to turn on and off the shower. We have high-end plumbing fixtures so we needed to order the Rohl replacement handle from the mainland. Unfortunately, FedEx lost the package. We had another handle overnighted and the new handle was installed. We are so sorry that you had any inconvenience during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Rates & Availability

Kapaa Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter - Spring
Dec 20 2016 - Apr 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,098
 
 
Spring - Fall
Apr 16 2017 - Dec 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,031
 
 
Winter - Spring
Dec 20 2017 - Apr 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,098
 
 
Spring - Winter
Apr 16 2018 - Dec 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,031
 
 
Winter - Spring
Dec 20 2018 - Apr 15 2019
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,098
 
 
Spring - Fall
Apr 16 2019 - Dec 19 2019
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,031
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,098
 

Additional information about rental rates

one-time cleaning fee $110 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

$200.00 deposit is required to reserve the dates. Cancellations made 60 days prior to the check-in date will receive a full refund. Homeaway service fee is non-refundable. Cancellations made less than 60 days prior to the check-in date will forfeit all rents paid (cleaning fee will be refunded). If we are able to re-rent the condo so that we have no loss, we will waive the cancellation fee.
Payment in full is required if the reservation is made less than 60 days prior to the check-in date.
Minimum age to book the condo is 25.
Maximum number of people is 3.
TA & GE Tax ID # 027-128-0128-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Lihue airport
Car: recommended

You will find our condominium at the Pono Kai, in the historic town of Kapaa, on a 12 acre beach front resort centrally located on the east shore in the historic town of Kapaa. We are only 15 minutes (8 miles) from Lihue Airport and shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The north shore and south shore are approximately 35 minutes away from our location.

Other Activities: Lydgate Park, boogie boarding, restaurants, boating, kite surfing, rafting, shuffleboard, shopping, kayaking, paragliding and golf.

Golf: There are 10 golf courses on Kauai. The closes one to the Pono Kai is the municipal Wailua Golf Course.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties