Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Immaculately presented period cottage, located directly on the village green

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Three double bedrooms, one bathroom, one shower room, sauna and gamesroom

Pope´s Cottage dates back to the early 19th century and is a typical traditional cottage with white weatherboard cladding and a Kent peg-tiled roof, and has been lovingly restored and expanded over the years, keeping the cottage charm, but bringing the house into the 21st Century. Both the kitchen and the upstairs bathroom have been entirely renovated in 2013 to a very high standard. All the sofas, beds, mattresses, furniture, etc date from 2014, except for of course the antiques.

Our freestanding detached cottage is located in the heart of the Woodchurch Conservation Area, directly on The Green, which is one the larger and nicer village cricket greens in Kent. You enter directly on to the Green by stepping through the original 19th C wooden gate in the garden.

In the garden we have a summer house with a table football, exercise bikes, and a sauna, which can be used by our guests.

Accommodation

Ground floor; character sitting room with beams and large inglenook with woodburner, 2 comfy sofas, and chair; large very well equiped kitchen with separate dining area, seating 6 (table extending to 8) with access to the garden; shower room with wash basin and toilet

First floor; 3 double bedrooms of which two with each a king sized double and one with two single beds (all with new mattrasses); family bathroom with bath, power shower over bath, wash basin and toilet

Outside: large front and back garden with comfortable new garden furniture, barbecue. In the garden you will also find a summer house with a table football, exercise bike, exercise bench, yoga matt and ball, and a sauna, which can be used by our guests.

Secure off road parking for up to 3 cars (right in front of cottage)

Both the kitchen and the upstairs bathroom have been entirely renovated in 2013 to a very high standard. All the sofa´s, beds, matrasses, furniture, etc are newly furnished, except of course the antiques.

We speak english - Nous parlons francais - wir sprechen Deutsch - wij spreken nederlands

More pictures can be found on Mulberrycottages under Pope´s Cottage.

More Details

Owner
Anna-Marie K
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french, german, dutch
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Anna-Marie K

We are an international family having lived in many countries over the years, but always love going back to good old England with all its charm and love spending time in Pope´s Cottage ourselves.

Anna-Marie K purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Anna-Marie K chose Kent

The location is extremely convenient in the hart of Kent, the Garden of England, close to London and the Channel Tunnel. The cottage itself has lots of charm, but also all the modcons, and is very well equipped, as we like to use it ourselves.

What makes this cottage unique

Pope´s Cottage is located directly on The Green in one of the nicest villages of Kent

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
London Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
The Six Bells
Nearest Ferry
29 Miles
Dover
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Tenterden Golf Club
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Ashford
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
M20
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
The Six Bells
Nearest Beach
13 Miles
Camber Sands
Car: necessary

Pope´s Cottage is situated in the pretty village of Woodchurch which is perhaps one of the most popular in the area with its picturesque village cricket green, parish church and inns. There are village shops and a doctor’s surgery with wider facilities in the surrounding area. The historic town of Tenterden with its busy shopping High Street offers supermarkets, schools and leisure amenities. The thriving market town of Ashford provides further retail opportunities, access to the M20 motorway and the International Station (Eurostar) along with 37 minute high speed trains to London St. Pancras.

Woodchurch

Woodchurch is a large, social village, with much to offer. It has a fine Grade 1 Listed church and there is the well maintained village green in the heart of the village with a play area for children. The impressive white smock windmill in the village has been fully restored and is opened to the public on Sunday afternoons and bank holidays, throughout the summer. The Rare Breeds Centre just outside the village is well known and holds many family functions throughout the year. A lottery grant was awarded to the village to fund the restoration of a timber frame barn and this is now the Woodchurch Museum.

The village became firmly established in the 13th century with the erection of a large church (All Saints) made of Kentish ragstone. Although it was extensively restored between 1840 and 1850, it still boasts a 13th-century chancel and a famous brass of the 14th century, depicting a floriated cross design. It has an unusual four-faced clock and a spire which is 18 inches out of the vertical at the top.

Woodchurch has a wealth of listed buildings concentrated mainly around the Green and the church; there are still a dozen early Wealden Hall houses in the parish. Two notable examples situated on the eastern edge of the Green are Henden Place and brick clad Place Farm .

Most of these houses on the north-eastern side of the Green exhibit common building themes that can be found frequently in the Weald including Kent peg-tiled roofs, simple weatherboard-clad elevations and the use of timber framing.

The Green - The most important and locally appreciated open space within Woodchurch is the communal land known as the Green. From its central position it is possible to look beyond the houses in a wide range of styles to the open countryside, especially to the south. These views are of gently wooded hills and fields - of particular beauty is the view towards the south-east. Views from the Green are best glimpsed through the open spaces on either side of Drayson House. The Green is flanked by listed buildings and others of architectural interest, and allows good views of these. These groups of buildings frame this open space. The Green is used regularly throughout the year for team sports or just walking and is rarely deserted.

Village Setting - The parish of Woodchurch extends 6 miles north to south and 4 miles east to west, one of Kent’s largest. There are few buildings to interrupt the views from the approach roads with a sharp transition from countryside to the village when arriving by the main roads. The village is a closely knit settlement on land which gently slopes to the south. To the north lies undulating scenery of hedged and pastured land with substantial woodlands. To the south-west, the flat expanse of Shirley Moor leads to Romney Marsh. The low wooded hills overlooking Appledore and the Marsh are to the south-east. In terms of landscape, the typical pattern of small fields and bushy hedgerows that characterise the Low Weald is evident around Woodchurch. The surrounding area is designated as a ‘Kent Special Landscape Area’. The village has a feeling of openness. From a distance, the settlement is seen to be situated on a wooded slope with the skyline being dominated by two buildings – its church and its windmill.

Amenities

Woodchurch Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Family bathroom with bath, power shower over bath, wash basin and toilet on first floor; Shower room with wash basin and toilet on ground floor
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • First floor; 3 double bedrooms of which two with each a king sized double and one with two single beds (all with new mattrasses); travel cot available
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Immaculately presented period cottage, located directly on the village green
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
4

Great house in a good location for touring

  • 4 of 5

Property has everything a family needs for a great holiday. Also very convenient for South Coast, Canterbury and Ashford International (for London or Eurostar)

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well equipped house in peaceful location

  • 5 of 5

We had a comfortable stay in this cosy and well-equipped house, a minor inconvenience was that the downstairs shower was out of order for the first couple of days which made life a bit difficult for my nearly 90 year old mother with some mobility problems. However we were warned about this ahead of time and the plumber was there early on Monday to fix it. The location was lovely, so quiet and surrounded by trees and birdsong, and ideal for exploring Kent and East Sussex. The place was extremely well equipped, everything we would possibly need and lovely extra touches. We re-discovered Trivial Pursuit and ended up playing it most evenings! Like your previous reviewer, there were some minor cleanliness issues (such as a large bundle of blond hair, presumably pulled from a hairbrush, under the bed) but I appreciate that a full top-to-bottom clean is impossible between lets. The important places (kitchen and bathrooms) were spotless. On the whole, a wonderful stay in a charming house.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely area and village, and very nice homely cottage suitable for a family. Back up help abysmal.

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed the location of this cosy well equipped cottage. The wood burner made it homely and the large opened plan kitchen fantastic for a young family. Went to local animal farm with children which they loved because of all the activities. Ahford was good for shopping & visited Canterbury.

However, when we arrived we found some bedroom lights not working and also in the rooms downstairs. There were old kleenex and sweet wrappers from previous rentals under the beds, and crumbs on the sofas and nuts under the coffee table of the sitting room downstairs. The cleaning had obviously not been thorough, a bit unpleasant for us.

Sadly there was no heating in the garden house to get to the sauna, so the children coudn't play there. The sauna was good though, but it was very chilly when you got out.

Lastly and the worst for us, was the main bathroom only light didn't work after 48hrs. Therefore, very inconvenient for bathing the children in the evening (especially in short winter's days) and also to use the toilet at night. We rang the number given to us on our booking form for local help (in case of difficulties & problems) to have the neon light bulb replaced and kept on only receiving texts, The person told us to look in a coded locked cupboard on the landing for the replacement neon light and do it ourselves. Well it didn't work and we texted back saying a electrician needed to repair the problem. We didn't hear anything for 36hrs and suddenly were texted by the "so called back up helper"that an electrican would sort it out on the friday morning, the day before our departure. The electrican never came !!

What a shame.

We did enjoy our holiday in a lovely place, BUT the back up help in case of problems and cleaning in some parts was abysmal.

Hopefully the local help to solve problems with the property needs to be seriously reviewed in the future.

We would recommend the area and this property ( when the back up helpers are changed and much more efficient) so that you can enjoy your stay to the full.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay in our cottage. At the same time we are sorry to read about your poor experience with our local property manager team, in particular in relation to fixing the broken bulb in one of the bathrooms. We have taken your comments seriously and understand it is due to a multiple miscommunication at their end, made worse by the fact your stay occurred during the Christmas period. We have been assured this is a one-off and will not happen again. Apologies once more, and we hope we can welcome you and your family on another visit to the beautiful Woodchurch area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun had by all.

  • 5 of 5

Loved staying at Popes Cottage. It was perfect. We needed for nothing.

So enjoyed Woodchrch. Beautiful area.

The cottage was so well equipped. Beautiful kitchen for preparing our meals. Family so enjoyed the game room. Enjoyed evening walks on The Green.

Loved our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable house in a sweet village

  • 5 of 5

Pope's Cottage was perfect for our family with young children and a grandparent -- a spacious well equipped kitchen, comfortable adult beds and two singles that were fine for the kids -- you can walk out of the garden gate on to the village green, with swings. The pub had very good beer (we didn't try the food), we were shown round the village's working windmill. Nearby are fine places to visit from the sea to the high weald. It really is a lovely place, highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house in a delightful location.

  • 5 of 5

The house was stunning. Everything we could possibly have wanted from a holiday cottage. The kitchen was stocked with everything a family of 6 could want (except for a potato masher!). The beds were comfortable, the garden beautiful.

My only complaint is the hot water in the taps was too hot. My 6 year old scolded himself whilst washing his hands. Perhaps changing the setting on the boiler would fix this?!

If we ever have the opportunity we will be back! So relaxing.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay! We have replaced the lost potato masher, and turned down the boiler a bit, as the water was indeed quite hot. We would be delighted to welcome you and your family again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $128.24
Damage Deposit $337.47

Maximum number of people staying in the house overnight is 6. This is a strict no smoking property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties