check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kane

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish, dutch, greek

Big Beach House on the Water

27 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Aruba House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 bath, Sleeps 8 / One bed room has 2 queen beds

Looking for the perfect place to retreat? Look no further! Spacious and nestled on Aruba's finest beach, its a home fit for paradise. Fully renovated, it has new furniture throughout the entire house including new beds and air conditioners. Amenities include plasma TVs in every room, a Playstation for the kids, a Persian Backgammon set, and a laptop with high speed Internet. Kitchen can't get the job done? No problem, the stainless steel barbecue grill has got you covered. Enjoy the romantic sunsets over sitting the white sandy beaches, a Cuban Cigar, or a glass of wine while sitting on your 900 sq. ft. porch with spectacular ocean view. With all this, you won't want to spend a minute fussing about chores like cleaning and laundry. Don't worry, the house comes with a maid FOR ONLY $160 WEEKLY, that comes in daily so you can spend your time enjoying your getaway, and only a short distance away; Shops, movie theaters, casinos, restaurants, clubs, are only 3/4 of a mile away.

This house is the total package,: but if you need some time away from your paradise, you are only a short distance away. Shops, movie theaters, casinos, restaurants, clubs, and much more are within approximately ¾ of a mile away. Paradise is here, the only question is where are you?

CELL PHONE: The house comes with a cell phone you can borrow with 25 international minutes. Minutes can be added very easily. Family and friends can contact you with ease.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kane (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish, dutch, greek

Reviews

4.6
based on 27 traveler reviews

Big Beach House on the Water
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 27 reviews
Franklin & New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
5

Spectacular View 5*

  • 5 of 5

It was a very difficult time deciding on where to stay when traveling to Aruba. We had 6 people in our group, all with different thoughts of what the perfect place to stay should be. The Big Beach House of the Water was more than ideal for us. Everything was exactly as described online. The location couldn’t have been better! Each morning we jogged up to the light house. There was no need to pack a cooler to go to Malmok beach! When we were thirsty we walked 500 feet to our house! Literally across the street to what seemed like our own private beach with palm tree umbrellas...we did cannonball jumps off the rocks and snorkeled while finding treasures in the beautiful crystal clear waters! We watched cruiseships come in the distance, and fishing boats bring in the catch of the day, all while enjoying coffee from the porch. It was also great after swimming in the ocean to rinse off in the outdoor shower. I cannot even begin to describe the gorgeous sunsets each night, also viewed from the porch. This home actually offered more than what was listed. It was great to use the library of books, rafts, coffee pot, and even candles! The suggestions given by Kanan were true to his word, the Lighthouse restaurant was one of our best meals of the week with an added bonus of steal drum music, the car rental service even drove us back to the airport, Jennifer kept everything in order – we don’t know how she get the towels so soft, and Alfred was waiting for us with keys in hand. We highly recommend this house! Thank you Kanan for sharing with us, the memories we made are fantastic!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your very welcome Suzy & family. Hope to see you guys back on the island soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
44 2
2

Disappointing but not terrible

  • 2 of 5

We had high hopes for this home in Aruba after reading other reviews on this site, but we were disappointed in the overall quality of the home. The house is old and looks old. The upholstered furniture on the front porch is torn to pieces and is kept covered by old beach towels so it can actually be used. The inside of the house has fancy TV's and video game systems everywhere, but the refrigerator is half rust, it's almost impossible to get the single cup pour coffee pot to dispense a cup, and the blender leaks out the bottom when you use it. Also, when the kids did finally get around to the video game system late in week, it wasn't hooked up. They hooked it up, but then none of the batteries in any of the controllers worked. As my title says, the house wasn't terrible but it certainly wasn't 5 stars.

There are definitely positives to the location. The snorkeling right across the street is excellent, and there are a couple of great snorkeling locations within a mile as well. If things had stayed this way, the house would have been ok. However, things deteriorated during the week

The internet in the house went out on Monday morning. That is a huge deal in a foreign country when you don't have data coverage and can't research restaurants, activities, or beaches. We contacted the manager on the island at 10:00 am Monday. After a couple calls but no action, I finally e-mailed the owner (from McDonald's parking lot) on Wednesday night. The internet ultimately needed a new modem, but the manager didn't get that for us until Friday at 6:00pm. Again, this had a significant impact on our vacation. We did our best to sit in the McDonald's parking lot using free wifi to make plans, but we really had trouble getting organized. My biggest complaint was how nonchalant everyone was about getting it fixed. After paying for water and electricity at the end, we spent over $3,000 on the house for the week. We would never have rented the house if it didn't have internet, and simple responsiveness could have had us a new modem on Monday.

The second big problem was the second bathroom, which by day two my oldest son had labeled the "bathroom of eternal poop" because it always smelled like sewage. By the end of the week, the shower in that bathroom was completely stopped up and the smell was so bad that we just kept that bathroom closed and everyone used the master. Disappointing.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sam, Unfortunately I couldn't give you a $258 dollar refund you requested because the internet modem was not working for 3 days. We did our best to get it back on time. Your on an island, it's not like the states. Then you write a review like this. I have been doing this for 9 years, very sad to see someone go that low and ask for that much and abuse people.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

No Filter Needed!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the house over Spring Break with my two boys (8 and 11), wife and in-laws. It was a short drive from the airport (we rented a car) and convenient to shopping and dining with Palm Beach less than a 10 minute drive.

The house was comfortable for hanging out as a family as well as spacious enough for us to go our separate ways. It was well appointed and has everything you need if you decide to cook.

As advertised, the snorkeling across the street was amazing! The water was crystal clear and calm enough enjoy swimming and snorkeling, even for the 8 year old. If you are looking for white sandy beaches drive to Palm Beach as the terrain to get to the water is very rocky and a bit rugged.

The property was cleaned daily by the housekeeper Jenny who was delightful.

The house was exactly as advertised and I would recommend it for anyone looking to get away from the busy resorts just up the street.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
PA, USA
2

Could be great

  • 2 of 5

This is a good house w/ a very desirable location - truly right across the street from the water. It’s on Malmok which is not great for beach sand (better for snorkeling). But the water and sunsets are pretty. The house is easily drivable to any of the main beaches (Eagle, Arashi, Palm). Kitchen is well equipped.

My main issue is the cost of utilities. I rented for 8 days (5 people) and my utility bill was $543. We were not extensive users of water. After checking the meter on day 3, we started only flushing after “number 2” and not showering every day. AC units were on only when we were there in the evening. Rates are specified in the contract, but water is priced as $50 per metric ton after the first two (I had no clue how much a metric ton is). You get the same amount of free water whether renting for 3 or 8 days. When you rent this house, you can expect a few hundred more in utility bills.

You will share this property with another house. In the back yard, there’s another small house that had renters in it. As I had paid for a house and not a resort I was hoping for a little more privacy. When using the outside shower, you’ll be in full view of the other house. The main back windows have no curtains, so the other renters can see right in to your house. To be fair, the other renters really kept to themselves. Still, it seems to negate the whole idea of true privacy that you hope for when renting a house.

No one met me at the house when I arrived. I had emailed the owner my schedule as requested and still no one was there. The house was locked so I had to knock on the door of the other renter’s house in the back. They called him. But it took a while and we just had to stand out in the sun waiting. When the property manager showed up he said the owner had not told him what time I’d arrive.

The stove wouldn’t light the first morning. I had bought $300 worth of groceries. We get up to cook breakfast and we can’t. I emailed the owner, who instead of taking my request seriously and sending someone out right away, sends me back an email telling me to light the stove. It kind of ticked me off that he assumed the fault was mine and that I had to send him multiple emails (on my internat’l data plan) to get him to fix something. He sent the property manager out and it was fixed by that evening.

The owner seemed nice enough and it is a good house, mainly due to the location. For this price, I guess I have high expectations.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great views, comfortable and safe environment.

  • 4 of 5

Location: Right across the street from awesome snorkeling and beach access. We went to almost every beach on the west side of the island and this is the best beach access snorkeling available. You are also a hop skip and jump from the north island dunes and lighthouse.

Amenities: Other than location, the house is in a safe area, it comes with home security that you can enable when you go out and about. The bathrooms are nice and clean. The kitchen is older like most of the house but all in good clean condition. Having access to a grill outside on a fantastic front patio was huge for us. We could grill and watch the sun set over the water and ships. The housekeeper was courteous and friendly which was much appreciated. Rooms are very spacious and inviting. Free internet access was a great feature as well.

Nitpicks: More of an Aruba nitpick, but the cost of electricity and water can creep up on you (understandable for the island limitations). Be mindful of that when you stay because its extra. My only other nitpick is that we couldnt stay longer! =)

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Fantastic house right at the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Perfect house for our family vacation. Several coves across street with sand access into ocean as well as shady areas for those less inclined to sunbathe. You can easily snorkel right across street, but we had best snorkeling about a half mile north of the property towards the lighthouse (south end of Arashi beach, in front of large yellow house at turn). Towards afternoon the pirate ships begin to hit the sea in front of the house; perfect entertainment for people watching.

The house has plenty of room. We lived on the front porch and large front family areas and found both the grill on front porch as well as kitchen were well appointed for preparing nearly all of our wonderful meals. The house is clean and very comfortable, the perfect spot to enjoy Aruba

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Oranjestad
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Malmok Arashi
Car: recommended

The house is less than a mile from Casino, shopping, theaters, restaurants, other beach resorts and water activities. There are many activities like ATV, Dune Buggy, scooter rentals and water activities that are very close by.

Other Activities: Quad racing, Jeep excursions, boating and fishing

Golf: The golf course is about 1/2 a mile away and T times can be arranged at a great price.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Malmok House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Mid Season
Sep 30 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
$8,400
 
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 2 2017
10 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
High Season
Jan 3 2017 - May 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,450
$8,400
 
 
Low Season
May 6 2017 - Sep 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$290
$2,030
$8,120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $700

A Short Term Rental Agreement Must Be Signed And A Deposit Will Be Charged To Book the dates. CHRISTMAS & NEW YEARS **** There is a 10 night minimum stay at $800 per night. Water and electric are per guest usage during the Christmas & New Year holiday.
Prices may vary for Holidays & more than 8 persons.
Maids Cleaning fee is paid Upon Arrival of $160 in cash to house keeper Jenny. This includes cleaning Monday - Saturday. Cleans the dishes, the bathrooms, cleans the floors, and out the beds together.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Aruba House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Outside - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Yes, after a dip in the ocean we do have an outdoor shower. We do provide a cell phone with 25 minutes prepaid to the states or worldwide. the phone has taxi drivers numbers, restaurants, casino, hotel and many other phone numbers. The house is LOCATED IN MALMOK, just 30 seconds from the MARRIOTT RESORT & PALM BEACH
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • The master bedroom has its own 40' TV, new beds and full bath. The second bedroom is very large about 16' X 23' with two beds and a 42' plasma TV. The third bedroom is a regular bedroom with a bathroom attached with a 40' TV. This house is right in along a small road that faces the beach, unobstructed views of the ocean. Ocean Front. ASK ABOUT POSSIBLY RENTING BACK APARTMENT THAT HAS FULL KITCHEN WITH GRANITE TOPS, MODERN BATHROMM AND 2 BEDROOMS. $1550 PER WEEK TOTAL OF 5 BEDROOMS, The Washer and dryer are for the maids only, very sorry if that is an issue.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers