Cottages, Hawaiiana style
Paula and Dan
About Paula and Dan
Hello. My name is Andy and I have a ten year old daughter named Hana. We love our paradise in nature and feel surrounded by serenity, beauty and an energy that is powerful and unique to our property. I have always had a passion for the ocean, exotic fruits and for gardening so this organic orchard on the ocean was the perfect find in 2009. I love adding new and more interesting specimen Palms, fruit trees, coffee, nuts, spices, cocoa and flowers such as vanilla bean orchids to the nearly 5 acre retreat. My latest interests are Dragon fruit, Hamakua coast coffee, rare orchids, heliconias and spices like true cinnamon and cloves! I am also interested in the medicinal benefits of various botanical's and I have a background in science as a doctor of Osteopathy board certified in both Internal Medicine and Emergency Medicine. We recently created a common room that may be available(check with Paula) for people to talk, read, meditate, receive massage (several therapists available) or do yoga. This is the 'Zen Space.' Consider organizing your own healing retreats here at Hale kukui. Relax in the Hammock outside with ocean views, spectacular orchard, waterfall and cliff views to sooth the soul. I am most at home in nature. I am a world traveler and have never seen such beauty as I do at Hale Kukui and I have seen nature at its finest in Switzerland, Fiji, CA, New Zealand, Bali, Europe or Australia. I also love where I am from in New England. I grew up in Maine where people are down to earth like they are in this historic part of Hawaii.
Paula and Dan purchased this Cottage in 2009
Why Paula and Dan chose Honokaa
I have traveled the world and haven't seen any property that matches the tranquil solitude and beauty seen here. It is nicely located to explore the best attractions on the island, but you might not want to leave the 5 acre botanical paradise over-looking the sea.I would prefer the charm of Hale Kukui to any BNB or 5 star hotel that I have ever stayed at in the past years of travel home and abroad.
What makes this Cottage unique
You will feel at home, but more relaxed than ever, not just as a guest but as an integral part of Hale Kukui's natural earthy beauty with ocean, cliff and waterfall views that are second to none. Caretakers Paula and Dan are eager to help with any questions or special needs during your stay - they live in a separate house on site. Kitchens are equip in case you never want to leave as many people find themselves feeling very early into their stay.You will feel in awe of your natural surroundings, wake to seeing the ocean and have so much to explore. Hawaiian permaculture organic orchard with fascinating and delicious exotic botanicals. You will not want to leave and you will definitely come back!
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
A great place to relax. Cute cottage, clean and lovely view
Beautiful, peaceful, relaxing, and private
We stayed in the cottage at Hale Kukui for the start of a long family vacation, before meeting up with the rest of my family. It was a wonderful way to wind down from work before all the family action, with the great hike to the beach in Waipi'o from the front door, the comfortable cozy places to relax during the rainy times, the great fresh fruits from the orchard, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, stargazing from the soaking tub, and gecko entertainment. We had everything we needed to cook most of our own meals, and I'm sure Paula and Dan would have provided more if we needed anything.
So beautiful and relaxing!
You won't find a more gorgeous view! Even though it rained much of the time we were there, it was still gorgeous and away from all the noise of the touristy areas. Dan was an excellent host as well. And the nearby adventures in the valleys were amazing as well. Definitely worth the money! Thank you for an excellent stay!
an amazing place!!
cant say enough. its a beautiful spot , peaceful, with great owners and caretakers.
will return for sure.
We loved the view; we hate the frogs
Andrew your property is in a very nice location. Considering the cost to rent this property we thought it needed more maintenance. The tub that is referenced in your ad was full of tree debris...who would use that; mold on railings and deck floor...I know it's wet there but maybe have the windows cleaned as you are selling a view..dirty screens and windows don't do anything for us. No hot water the first night. We understand you have hot water on demand but after running for 15 minutes we gave up and contacted caretaker at 7:30 AM. It was nice that there was a dehumidifier and a heater to make the stay more comfortable; there was adequate kitchen utensils and towels. Good areas to have walks if you can do hills..we live in the mountains so it wasn't a problem...others might.
I'm so sorry to hear disappointment.
You came and told us about the water not getting hot at about 7:30am and that fixed within minutes of you contacting us.
I wish you would have voiced your disappointment concerning the screens & windows. We could have had an opportunity to remedy the situation then.
I did mentioned the frogs during the check in process. I offered packages of earplugs,I was told you have your own.
Concerning the soaking tub on the lanai. In the confirmation email I send out , I ask for a general arrival time. That is asked for several reasons,guests requesting late check outs, which cottage needs attention first and to make another lanai cleaning and a final cleaning of the soaking tub. The tubs sit out in the open for optimal viewing /star gazing , we are surrounded with ironwoods and other trees so there is constant debris falling. The tubs are completely sanitized and clean before check in.
Paula and Dan are wonderful hosts!
We arrived to a plate full of fresh picked fruit from the orchard and a friendly smile. This is a wonderful location to relax and get away from it all. Hiking down Waipio Valley is a must and will make for a wonderful memory. Yes...there really are wild horses down there.
The cottage is clean and open with everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.
Hale Kukui, in the village of Kukuihaele, is a great stepping stone and a majestic destination itself on the Hamakua coast. Walk or drive 1/4 mile to the Waipio lookout. Travel another mile down the side of a mountain/cliff on a 25% grade narrow road (4x4 required to drive) to the longest Black sand beach in Hawaii. Enjoy remote camping or hiking in Waipio valley and the valleys beyond.
Embark on horseback riding, surfing, hiking, camping and much more locally from our village, Kukuihaele. Hale Kukui is a short easy walk to Kukuihaele's Art store with island made ice cream and a place to meet for getaways into Waipio Valley.
A 10 minute drive to Honoka'a offers a weekly farmers market and a few great places to dine. Check out this quaint village's shops. Here is a small hospital/clinic as well.
Great shopping and some of the best restaurants in all of Hawaii are in the old Hawaiian cowboy town of Waimea (Kamuela) about 20 minutes away. There is a community hospital as well.
Hilo also is a beautiful 50-60 minute drive along the Hamakua coast and has all of the amenities you might want.
White sand beaches, 5 star hotels with high-end outlet shopping, botanical gardens and Akaka falls are all within an hour drive.
Kona with great scuba, snorkeling, shopping and of course its coffee is about a 90 minute drive.
Volcanoes National park and natural hotsprings are about 2 hours away.
Also not far out of Waimea, you can drive to the top of the world's tallest mountain from the sea floor, Mauna Kea (14,000+ ft above sea level). Play or ski in snow at the top in the winter months.
**If our deluxe cottage calendar appears booked, then check into our studio cottage #499551 and our 2 bedroom cottage's #499549availability. All 3 cottages are situated on the same 5 acre property with similar views. Consider staying in all 3 for larger groups, small weddings, cycling, photography or hiking groups or family reunions. If calendar is 'emptyish' then it may not be reflecting the bookings through our website or by phone.