Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sleeps 15. Peaceful location on the outskirts of Shanklin.

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

A Large 6 Bedroom House sleeping 15 + cot. With great views of the countryside

The house is situated on a quiet country lane 5 minutes drive from Shanklin town center. The sea is visible from the 3 front bedrooms, while the 3 back bedrooms have views of the rolling hills and benefit from beautiful sunsets.

The are 6 bedrooms of which 3 are en-suite. The largest en suite bedroom measures 21' x 15' and includes a dressing room. The other bedrooms have easy access to the family bathroom which includes a bath and shower. A travel cot is available should you need one.

The ground floor offers a large 39'x15' dual aspect split level lounge/dinning room with patio doors opening onto the garden.with a 50' smart TV with Freeview and Youview, and Blu Ray player.The dinning room has a large dinning table with seating for 10 persons.

There is a large Kitchen diner, while the kitchen itself has a double oven, hob, dishwasher, fridge freezer and microwave plus a TV/DVD player. There is also a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer and an extra fridge.

There is downstairs cloakroom and a 28'x9' conservatory overlooking the rear garden. WiFi is available throughout the house.

Outside the front garden is laid to lawn with 2 large oak trees whilst the rear garden is laid to lawn and bordered with flower beds and parking for 4 cars on the driveway.

The rear patio has a dinning table seating 8.You can also relax in the 2 armchairs and sofa with coffee table.There is a raised terrace area with sun loungers which are perfect for relaxing and enjoying the uninterrupted views of the woods and Shanklin Downs.

Please note we do not accept bookings from all male or female parties and groups under 25 years old. Minimum hire period is 3 days or 1 week depending time of year.

The property is available from 4pm on the start date and must be vacated by 11am on departure day to allow for cleaning.

Included are all bed linen, towels, one per person Liquid soap in bathrooms, washing up liquid, dishwasher and washing powders and a welcome pack which includes Tea, Coffee, Sugar, Milk, Biscuits, Orange Juice and a bottle of wine.

Please be aware the house is situated on an unadopted road (see photo) and while the road is maintained privately by the residents there maybe times when there are potholes, none of which should cause a problem unless you drive too fast.

Please ensure you have holiday insurance.We will only offer a refund if you cancel if we are able to re let the property for the time you have booked.

More Details

Owner
Alec and Deborah Short.
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Alec and Deborah Short.

We are a retired couple originally from London. We love the Isle of Wight and have family here.

Alec and Deborah Short. purchased this house in 2012

Why Alec and Deborah Short. chose Isle of Wight

It's a great place for families. Set on the outskirts of Shanklin on a quiet country lane with very little passing traffic. The rear of the house backs on to farm land with lovely views of Shanklin downs.

What makes this house unique

Great countyside views, with America woods just a few yards away. Beautiful garden and patio area for relaxing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is a fabulous place to stay with family. The rooms are well decorated, clean and very welcoming. The property is well equipped with TV, DVD player, Hifi and a generous collection of books, DVDs and music CDs. It has got a lovely well maintained garden with garden furniture. There are ample wash rooms and toilets for large/ extended families. The kids loved it, the grand parents also loved it. This place deserves a revisit!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

Map

Shanklin Chine
Ventnor Botanic Gardens
The Spyglass Inn
The Crab Inn
Osborne
Carisbrooke Castle
The Royal Hotel
The Buddle Inn
Haven Street Station
Blackgang Chine
Robin Hill
Tapnell Farm
Isle Of Wight Donkey Sanctuary
The Taverners
Car: recommended

Amenities

Shanklin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • A Barbeque is provided but guests must clean this themselves before vacating the property.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Family Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Downstairs cloakroom with toilet and washbasin
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , En suite.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , 2 double bunk beds sleeping 4, ideal for children
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , En suite
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , En suite
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single
  • There is an additional travel cot available which can be placed in bedrooms 1, 2, or 4.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 15 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sleeps 15. Peaceful location on the outskirts of Shanklin.
average rating of 4.733333 based on 16 reviews
5

Lovely house, very accommodating hosts, friendly people.

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely house! The pictures of summer breeze do not do it enough justice.

The house is tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. I am especially partial to clean bathrooms and I was very satisfied with summer breeze. The beds are comfortable, the bedrooms are lovely. We were a party of 6 (including 4 kids) and loved sitting in the cozy living room and reading in the conservatory.

We were especially impressed with the collection of books, music and films. I especially enjoyed the BBC adaptations ofJane Austen and Bronté.

We had a great time with the fantastic 'Alexa' and were so impressed that we're getting one for our home.

The village of Shanklin was definitely worth a visit and we really enjoyed our time in Isle of Wight. Most interesting of all was the absolute friendliness of the people on the island. Our hosts were especially kind and forthcoming, always immediately responding when we needed anything. I loved the welcome package in the kitchen consisting of wine, biscuits, sugar and tea. A very nice touch!

Thanks to Alec and Deborah for giving us an opportunity to have a lovely time in your house.

We are definitely coming again!

I am recommending this house to all my friends.

Julia and Nektarios

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words, we would love to have you stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, comfortable and relaxing for all the family

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week at summer breeze. The family both young and old had a blast and there was lots to see and do. With Shanklin only a 5 minute drive it was well located. The house had everything we needed and Debbie and Alec were great and came over quickly to turn up the heating when we asked. Thanks for letting us stay in your home. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to see you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great week

  • 4 of 5

We found this a lovely property for a big family group including children. It was well-equipped with plenty of space for everyone. Lovely garden and outlook. The unmade access road was a bit bumpy but otherwise a good location for days out and not too far from Shanklin beach. Would just comment that the double beds in the two largest rooms had footboards, which made them a little uncomfortable for two members of our party who are 6ft 2in. However overall a most enjoyable time was had by all.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The road gets repaired 4 times a year and was treated 2 weeks after your visit, it is usually much smoother.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely, well equipped house for large groups

  • 5 of 5

A great stay here for the week, a lovely spacious house large enough for a few families with quiet spaces to sit and relax. Plenty of books/gdmes/DVD's etc to enjoy in the evening/rainy days and lovely peaceful setting overlooking countryside. Would definitely recommend, and such a beautiful Island to enjoy with your family. Thanks to the hosts.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leicester, UK
5

Perfect House for a large family

  • 5 of 5

My family and I arrived at Summer Breeze on the 22nd of July and we stayed for 1 week. We were a party of 13, with ages ranging from 67 to 3 years old.

The house was beautiful and we were all amazed when we walked in. It was spacious, beautifully decorated and had plenty of facilities to suit everyone! My parents, who aren't the best with technology, loved using the Echo Dot. The children loved using the garden to run around in (when the weather allowed) and the rest of us enjoyed spending the evenings in the huge lounge watching TV and playing games.

Thank you so much for letting us stay in this brilliant house. I would recommend it to anyone and we would definitely stay there if we ever visit the Isle of Wight again.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely lovely

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 9 adults and 4 children - age range from 18 months to 87 years stayed here for a one week duration. We had seen photographs of the property and when we entered we were not disappointed, it was very clean and well maintained, spacious, comfortable, well equipped and beautifully decorated. The garden was superb and overlooking fields, a lovely location. Would certainly recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $329.73

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund