check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Golden

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private Getaway Connected to State Park and Golf Course

14 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pineville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

You will be enchanted by this unique and very private mountain retreat fronting a championship 18 hole golf course. Wasioto Winds, a Golf Digest nationally ranked course, is out your front door, yet this property is surrounded by undeveloped mountain property, part of a private family estate, and the Pine Mountain State Resort Park, with its miles of hiking trails (including the famous 'Chained Rock'), beautiful lodge, swimming pool and dining room.

Your stay at this home will entitle you to a special rate of only $25.00 (any time, any day, including green fee and cart) at Wasioto Winds. No clubs? $10.00 rental fee and you're good to go! Call the Wasioto Winds clubhouse at 606-337-1066 to book your tee times! Pro Jerry Shofner will be glad to fill you in on this beautiful course.

Don't feel like golf today? Go right out your door on a leisurely nature walk or a rigorous mountain hike offering stunning views, secret rock shelters, pure mountain streams, blooming Mountain Laurel and Rhododendron. Hike the old L&N rail road bed alongside Clear Creek to an 1893 rail road tunnel and tressel, where you can fly fish for trout, small mouth bass, redeye and sunfish.

A pure mountain stream runs right through the front yard offering a cool retreat on hot summer days and endless crawdad-hunting entertainment for youngsters. After an invigorating day of golf or hiking, RELAX on the front porch while you grill up some steaks and enjoy your favorite beverage.

Pine Mountain State Resort Park surrounds this property and offers miles of hiking trails with names like The Living Stairway, Honeymoon Falls, Rock Hotel and the famous Chained Rock. Pine Mountain is Kentucky's oldest state park and hosts the beautiful Kentucky Mountain Laurel Festival at the Laurel Cove Ampitheater each May where the governor crowns the Mountain Laurel Festival Queen from among candidates from every college in the state.

Those who want to enjoy the mountain scenery from an ATV can access the fantastic and scenic Wilderness Trail Offroad Park less than 10 miles distant. Or they can travel 35 miles to nearby Harlan County with its nationally popular 30,000 acre+ ATV recreation area, Black Mountain Recreation Park and Evarts Trail Head, a #1 national off-road destination! We have plenty of room to park your trailer and an area where you can wash down your ride for the trip back.

If you are here during the big game, watch it on either of two Sony flat screens with High Definition programming from Direct TV.

The home has 12 rooms, 5,000 square feet, five bedrooms and four full baths. There are 3 king beds, 1 queen bed and 1 set of twin beds. Plenty of room for two families to share a memorable vacation

Each bath is modern with newer Kohler fixtures and even a whirlpool bath and separate steam shower.

An updated kitchen offers granite countertops, Jennair cooktop and oven, microwave, coffee maker and a fireplace!

If you're here during tournament time, no worries. You can watch the big game on either of two Sony flat screen TVs with HIGH DEFINITION programming from Direct TV. It doesn't get any better than that!

WARNING: Spend a week here and you will never want to leave!!!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jim Golden (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Jim Golden chose Kentucky

This property was our home until spring of 2008 when we purchased another treasured family home in nearby Pineville. We could not bear to sell this wonderful, secluded home and it gives us great pleasure to allow others to enjoy its many charms.

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Private Getaway Connected to State Park and Golf Course
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
5

Beautiful and very peaceful! Family had a great ti

  • 5 of 5

We stayed July 30-Aug 4th. It was the best vacation we ever had. It was a beautiful place, everything we could ask for. So much room. The owners were wonderful to work with. Would highly recommend this place. We will definitely rent it again.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Fall Setting

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time in the house. There was plenty of room to spread out and the kitchen was very well stocked. We took full advantage of the trails that run in front of the property and the indoor and outdoor fireplaces. It should also be said that the house is a great place for hide and seek in the dark!

Our only negative is that the house was musty upon arrival. we washed sheets and bedspreads in all the rooms except one. After a few well placed candles the house was perfect. I would suggest a serious deep clean top to bottom. We live at the beach in Virginia and we understand humidity. Deep cleans happen here twice per season.

Thanks again for sharing the property.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad that your family enjoyed our home, and thank you for that information. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent getaway for a group

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for more! This house was ideally located, outfitted with all of the necessities, and had ample space inside and out for socializing, cooking, and relaxing. By the time we left we were already talking about coming back. Jim was also wonderful to coordinate with. I HIGHLY recommend this house to anyone staying in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So very happy

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed with the house, the area, and the atmosphere of it all! We are hoping to come back in June 2015! We want to make it an annual family trip!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Carmel, IN
5

Great Getaway Location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a long weekend here with two other couples. The house offers plenty of space for everyone. The kitchen is well-stocked and large - we found all of the kitchenware that we needed for meal preparation. Close to Cumberland Gap National Park, sight-seeing and hiking was a short drive away. We really enjoyed pre-dinner conversation on the spacious front porch, and after-dinner conversation at the fire pit one evening. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a nice time and hope you will come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Lexington, KY
5

Fantastic getaway near the state park

  • 5 of 5

Me and a group of friends rented this house to have a better view on the Perseids meteor shower. The house was really lovely. Very clean, extremely spacious, and the front porch is fantastic! It (the porch) has TWO ceiling fans and was extremely comfortable, even in the 100% humidity 88 degree weather. The owner is a really nice guy that lives nearby, who was most pleasant to rent from. I couldn't have had any trouble getting back the security deposit, because he gave it back to me before our last night! I guess a group of librarians doesn't seem too intimidating. :)

There are great hiking trails that begin on the property, I believe one spills onto a parking lot for the state park. The kitchen was fully stocked, and the place had a couple nice big TVs for retreating inside. The house has several distinct areas for people to lounge that are nicely spread apart. Perfect for groups that want a few different places for kids or what have you.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad your group enjoyed our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Near nationally popular Harlan County ATV riding areas, including Black Mountain, Evarts, Kentucky. 15 minutes from Cumberland Gap National Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pineville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
$3,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Stated rates do not include cleaning fee and tax, and actual rates do vary according to season, length of stay and particular dates. Upon enquiry, you will receive a specific quote for the dates requested.

Please limit number of guests to 10. Exception may be made for infants, but please ask first. Groups exceeding 10 may be allowed with extra charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pineville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Private bath adjoining bedroom 1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , This bathroom is located between bedrooms 2 and 3
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is between bedrooms 4 and 5
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Separate full bath
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (3) There are 3 separate king bedrooms!, Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) This is a play pen. This is a large house, but it cannot accommodate your extended family of 13, 15 or 18 people. Please limit the number of guests to 10. Exception may be made for babies.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • spelunking
  • swimming
Notes:
Hiking Trails, Nature walks, golf on Golf Digest rated Wasioto Winds championship golf course!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties