check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marshall Happer

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Siesta Key, Modernized Direct Waterfront Condo, Huge Beach, 2BR, 2B, W/D, HDTV

60 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Siesta Key Condo Rental Photos and Description

Modernized Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Washer/Dryer, No Smoking/Pets

Our Condo is on beautiful Turtle Beach at the southern and most private end of Siesta Key directly on the Gulf of Mexico. When we say directly, we mean directly and not merely a Gulf “View” or a long car ride or a long walk to the Gulf. We call it “Paradise” and you could not choose a nicer location. Siesta Key is 7-8 miles long. Siesta Key used to terminate at Blind Pass just south Fisherman’s Cove as Blind Pass separated Casey Key from Siesta Key. However, at some time, someone filled in Blind Pass so you can actually walk (no road) across the Blind Pass area now from Siesta Key onto Casey Key. Our Condo is on the top floor (3rd floor, we are not a high rise), so no one can be above you and the views of the beach and the Gulf are terrific from our Lanai. We are in close proximity to the elevator/stairs which provides the entry from the parking lot (exclusive assigned parking space) and the entry to the beach and we are a short walk to the heated pool. Sarasota County just completed enhancing our Siesta Key beach on March 18, 2016 by adding an estimated 225'' of new beach sand and increasing the elevation of the beach by 4'+.

Our HOA and our insurance require minimum 7 day rentals. Our guest rentals commence at 4:00 PM on the beginning Saturday and conclude at 9:00 AM on the departing Saturday and we cannot rent for partial weeks. In order to maintain the highest standards for our Condo, we do not permit smoking or pets in our Condo or more than 4 occupants.

We bought our Condo in April of 2012 because we believe it has the most unique setting anywhere with the Gulf of Mexico on one side and Blind Pass Lagoon and the entrance to the Inland Waterway on the other side. Almost nobody has water on both sides. Turtle Beach is fairly narrow which makes the Fisherman’s Cove condos the closest to the Gulf and permits our guests to actually listen to the surf from open windows. The two buildings in the Fisherman’s Cove Condos were originally built in 1968-9.

Most condos have not:

1. Been completely modernized with new appliances;

2. Provide their own washer and dryer;

3. Offer HD-TV;

4. Provide beach towels for guests; and

5. Provide private and exclusive Comcast WIFI.

During 2012, we completed a major renovation of our Condo to a standard suitable for us to make it our ultimate retirement home. Our living room has new tile floors, dining for 4, a leather couch and easy chair, with a wall unit containing a 40” HDTV with a blu-ray player and stereo/mp3 players. Our living room leads to a beautiful tiled lanai with a modern panoramic window on the Gulf, which also has dining for 4. Our new kitchen has new wood cabinets and granite tops, new appliances (side by side refrigerator, icemaker, water filter, smooth top convection range with a warming drawer, dishwasher, disposal, spacemaker microwave) and a new tile floor. Our kitchen is fully stocked with equipment including a new drip coffee maker with a permanent filter, toaster oven and many other small appliances. We have a beautiful Master Bedroom with a king size bed and a large window directly on the Gulf with its own 33” HDTV and a DVD player adjoined by a newly renovated tiled private bathroom with a walk-in shower.

Adjoining our Master Bedroom is our walk-in closet in which is located our own stacked new LG Washer and Dryer so our guests do not have to use the shared coin laundry.

Our Guest Bedroom has 2 single beds with a 27” television adjoined by its own updated private bath with a walk-in shower. New carpet was installed in our bedrooms last April, which completed the replacement of all of the original flooring in our Condo.

We furnish our own quality linens with bath towels and beach towels for our guests. Housecleaning is only before arrival and after departure, but we provide our cleaning equipment for use by our guests in the interim.

We also provide an iron, ironing board, hair dryer and lots of other items for your use, including beach chairs and umbrellas and beach toys. Our HOA also provides boat slips on Blind Pass Lagoon and there is a boat rental facility in close proximity on Midnight Pass Road.

Our guests have free use of our exclusive Comcast cable WIFI which provides cable speed Internet service privately in our Condo instead of having the use the regular public network, which sometimes is unreliable and has limited bandwidth. We have wireless telephones in our Condo connected to Comcast.

You might also enjoy to read the many reviews by our guests on VRBO (Listing168135), all of which rate our Condo as 5 of 5.

The photos of the beach are for illustrative purposes only and weather, tides, and natural beach erosion cause topography changes from time to time. There is also plenty of information on our website about the fabulous restaurants nearby.

We had a recent tenant who had a great time catching fish in the Gulf right in front of our Condo!

As a result of our unique location and the important upgrades to our Condo, it is very popular, so advance booking is recommended. We are always receiving numerous inquiries for rentals, especially since we have published our new upgrades and photos internationally, and as a matter of fairness, our policy is to accept the first actual booking we receive for each weekly or monthly rental.

We live in Venice, only 30 minutes away so we personally manage our Condo rentals and we are personally available to assist all our guests. Your rental agreement will be directly with us as owners. To confirm a booking we need to have full contact information (names, addresses, telephone numbers, email, ages of children, etc.) for all occupants.

VRBO requires a reservation deposit at the time of each booking of 50% of the total rental fee and 50% of the rental fee is due 30 days in advance. All payments are non-refundable, except as follows:

(i) If the reservation is cancelled by written notice received more than 90 days in advance of the commencement of the rental, then the deposit will be refunded less a $100 cancellation fee and the short term rental agreement will be terminated.

(ii) If there is a mandatory evacuation order by a governmental authority due to a hurricane or other natural disaster, then Tenant(s) will be entitled to a prorata refund of the rent paid.

We recommend that Tenant(s) purchase Trip Insurance, if coverage is desired.

Our direct Gulf front condo means spending your day on the beach, swimming, fishing, strolling the shoreline, collecting shells or watching the magnificent Siesta Key Dolphins (or local surf boarders!).

Enjoy the mesmerizing Gulf sunsets with a cocktail on our Lanai. In the morning watch the sun peek over the Intercoastal Waterway - right out your back door! A 5 minute walk to the marina for all of your 'beach' toy rentals - from boats and wave runners to kayaks and canoes! Fish from our docks - or arrange a fishing charter - it's all here! A quick stroll (no driving required!) and you can choose from either casual or fine dining!

Feel like some 'urban' flavor? Head to downtown Sarasota or historic Venice for a unique cultural experience including shopping, dining, live theater, the world-renowned Ringling Museum and Mote Aquarium. We have activities and events to meet everyone's vacation desires! Make this Siesta Key Gulf Front Condo yours - slow motion or fast moving - a perfect vacation spot.

Keywords: Condo, Waterfront, Gulf, Siesta Key, Sarasota, Florida

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Marshall Happer (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Marshall Happer

I am a retired sports business lawyer and my wife is a sports marketing executive. We have lived in Venice since 2005 and my wife operates her international sports marketing business from our home.

Marshall Happer purchased this condo in 2012

Why Marshall Happer chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

We bought our Condo as an investment and maybe a future home, because it has the most unique waterfront location we have found on the Gulf. Last summer, I counted just 50 steps from our building to the Gulf!

What makes this condo unique

Everything. This is one of the most unique locations anywhere since we have the Gulf in close proximity on the West and Blind Pass Lagoon on the East.

Most rental condos have not been renovated to modern standards and do not have new kitchens and appliances, washer-dryer and full HDTV with Blu-Ray DVD. We do!

Fish in the Gulf or in Blind Pass Lagoon. Boat slips are available.

Since we live only 25 minutes away from our Condo, we are available to help ensure our guests have a wonderful vacation at our Condo.

Reviews

5
based on 60 traveler reviews

Siesta Key, Modernized Direct Waterfront Condo, Huge Beach, 2BR, 2B, W/D, HDTV
average rating of 4.983333 based on 60 reviews
5

Location, exceptional condo and attentive hosts

  • 5 of 5

The condo is on the beach between the gulf and an inlet. This location is certainly ideal. Water on both sides, as advertised. My family of four experienced quiet evenings and beautiful beach days. The beach is private, so not crowded. The inlet is good for fishing, boating, kayaking and paddle boarding. The beach side is good for swimming, fishing, shelling and various watercraft. The condo is well maintained. The Happers have thought of about every need a vacationer could have. They are also in the area and attentive to any other needs. We definitely experienced a five star vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to have this nice family from Pennsylvania enjoy our Condo and to receive our 60th 5 star review. We insist that our guests have a wonderful vacation in our little bit of paradise.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5

From the very beginning I knew this vacation was going to be great. Marshall was fantastic assisting my family and me in receiving the best vacation we could ask for. Booking was extremely easy! When we got to Condo A-306, I was surprised it came filled with everything we needed to maintain a full week (no food of course) and the condo itself was beautiful: Clean, updated, and very cozy. There were games to play, beach toys, beach chairs and umbrella's (which saved us at the end of our week), and a full week of magical sunsets. When they advertise they have the best sunsets, believe me, they're not lying. We were fortunate enough to have great weather and the ocean was truly a treat to the hot and humid days. The day we arrived home, my husband and I talked about when to book our next vacation, as the discussion of as to where was already made...Fisherman's Cove is our new vacation spot and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Right on the Beach

  • 5 of 5

The condo is only steps from the beach. It is very well stocked with items that we have had to bring ourselves when staying in other rentals, i.e. toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap etc. which was very helpful. They also provided beach towels, chairs and umbrellas.

We enjoyed relaxing on the beach every day, my only complaint is that the sand isn't white and powdery as it is in other parts of Siesta Key.

Over all, it's a great place to rent for a beach vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to receive another very positive review. This makes 58 great reviews for our condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing condo, all of the extras and great communication with owners

  • 5 of 5

This is our 2nd time renting in Fisherman's Cove, but our first time in 306A. From the moment we walked in until we sadly departed a week later, we were thrilled with the unit and all of its amenities. As advertised, the unit has been upgraded with a beautiful kitchen, tile floors, and laundry room. The owners thought to include everything you may need for a week's stay including plenty of beach items, umbrellas, chairs, etc. A plethora of kitchen utensils and cookware. There was nothing that I needed in the kitchen that I didn't have at my disposal. The unit is clean and well cared for. The bedrooms are very nice with ample dresser and closet space. The laundry room is phenomenal with the latest and greatest washer and dryer, a rolling laundry basket, folding table, and tall shelf with lots of empty space to store your stuff while there. The glassed-in lanai with option for sliding windows and screens was an absolute bonus. This allowed you to pop open the screen and stick your head out to take amazing and unobstructed photos of the gulf. The flat screen TVs, radio, DVD players, and games were very nice to have -- a home away from home. Thankful to the Happer's for sharing their little slice of heaven with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Needless to say, we very much appreciate this review and for having this very nice family share our condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing vacation!! Amazing condo!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Siesta Key and it is definitely going to be the first of many more return trips!! The island is absolutely amazing. The condo is exactly as advertised!! The view of the gulf is breath taking and every night we would sit in the Lanai and enjoy the sunset!! The new beach that was also amazing!! It felt like a private beach with no crowds!! The condo is super clean and has up to date amenities!! We will absolutely book this exact condo again!!!! The drive to siesta beach was a short 5 to 10 minute drive. We also highly recommend renting a boat from the Turtle marina as we did and spend the day on intercostal waterway!! You might see Dolphins!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were pleased to have another nice family of 4 from Ohio enjoy our Condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was wonderful! The view was wonderful on both sides! Fishing was fun and the beach was amazing! Condo was stocked with everything you need!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Another nice family enjoyed our condo. Yea!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Siesta Key Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
9/10/16 - 11/19/16
Sep 10 2016 - Nov 18 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
11/26/16 - 12/17/16
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 16 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
12/17/16 - 12/31/16
Dec 17 2016 - Dec 30 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
January 2017
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 27 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
February 2017
Jan 28 2017 - Feb 24 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
March 2017
Feb 25 2017 - Mar 24 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
3/25/17 - 4/14/16
Mar 25 2017 - Apr 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
4/15/17 - 4/22/17
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
4/22/15 - 6/23/15
Apr 22 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Linens $30
Cleaning $80
Admin. $25
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are for maximum of 4 Guests
50% 90 days in advance
50% due 30 days in advance
All payments shall be non-refundable, except:
(i) If cancelled by written notice received more than 90 days in advance of the commencement of the rental, the $300 deposit will be refunded less a $100 cancellation fee
(ii) Prorata refund for governmental hurricane evacuation

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Siesta Key Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 969 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both renovated with new tile floors and tiled showers
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Ceiling Fan, Cable TV, Window facing Blind Pass Lagoon/Docks
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ceiling Fan, HD-TV + DVD Player, Window on Gulf of Mexico
  • (1) King Bed in Master Bedroom, (2) Twin Beds in 2nd Bedroom
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties