check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

IAN STURGEON

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

5B/4 1/2 BA,Cinema Room,Pool Table,Ping Pong,X360,Poker,Disney 15 Mins

110 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Davenport Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 5 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Enjoy one of the best rented houses in Orlando.

A beautiful five bedroom, four and a half bathroom two floor villa just 15 minutes from DISNEY occupying a 10,000 sq foot plot. We have a stunning 1850 sq ft pool deck which has a huge 12 seat dining table and another 8 seat dining table plus gas BBQ and a Ping Pong table for your keep fit and sporty ones.

Our gorgeous heated & illuminated swimming pool will cool you down after your relaxing hours in the glorious sunshine.Please note there is a small charge to heat the pool.

On this deck you can play ping pong, darts and we have our very own real casino poker table complete with full poker set. Great entertainment at day or night in the covered Lanai area

FREE UNLIMITED HI-SPEED WIRELESS AND WIRED CONNECTION BROADBAND INTERNET ACCESS AND FREE UNLIMITED LONG DISTANCE CALLS

With 4 1/2 bathrooms it is a pleasure getting ready to go out for the evening, no queuing in this house !!!

We have converted our double garage to a great AIR CONDITIONED game room where we have a MASSIVE 9' x 5' CINEMA SCREEN with CEILING MOUNTED DIGITAL PROJECTOR, Dolby digital 5:1 sound system with Digital Cable. We have a DVD library of APPROX 75 free movies for your viewing including some of the latest blockbusters.

We have subscribed to the digital sports package and HBO ON DEMAND so you have a great choice of channels to watch on our 9 foot screen or on our 52 inch LCD in the lounge. For those of you who have not experienced a home cinema with a 9 foot wide screen this will be a most enjoyable and memorable experience. It is quite simply awesome. We also have a Hi Definition Samsung TV in this room for the ultimate gaming experience, or just watching TV.

The sports themed game room is 425 sq' and apart from our OUTRAGEOUS 9 FOOT CINEMA SCREEN,it also has a full-size professional pool table, electronic dart board, (great fun and safe) Samsung Hi Definition TV, Video, DVD, X BOX 360, 3 massive bean bags and sofa to relax whilst watching movies. PLEASE NOTE UNLIKE MOST OTHER VILLAS OUR GAME ROOM IS AIR CONDITIONED WHICH IS VITAL. Many owners who covert their garage to a game room do not install AC and it is unbearable without A/C especially in the hotter months. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

UK CLIENTS CAN WATCH THE ENGLISH PREMIERSHIP GAMES ON OUR MASSIVE 9 FOOT WIDE SCREEN.

Just wait til you see the kids faces, (and the dads)!!! When they enter this room.

The game room is the ideal place for the kids to play after your hard day at the theme parks.If however, they are still hyperactive and want to play and splash about in the gorgeous heated pool you can sunbathe on the luxurious loungers and ..not get soaked...unlike most other villa's which have no room around the pool. This is one of the main benefits of having a massive pool deck.

Calabay Parc is one of nicest rental neighborhoods in Orlando and is your perfect holiday choice.

Our house is very special and provides fantastic facilities for your well earned break. Our south facing pool means you have sun all day every day instead of only half the day with other facing pool decks. It is floodlit for evening entertaining and is surrounded by 21 exotic palm trees.

A south facing pool deck with dining for 16 people!! Yes,..this is a big deck. Luxurious sunloungers are dotted all around the deck. A gas barbecue is free for your use.

The lounge, master bedroom #1 and breakfast area all have access to the pool. The master bed has a safe for valuables.

The lounge has a brand new massive 52 inch FULL 1080 Hi Definition flat screen LCD TV.

There are two master en suites with two of the other three bedrooms having private access to the third bathroom. The fourth bathroom is situated next to the fifth bedroom.

The bedroom set up is as follows.

1 x master ensuite with KING SIZE BED (ground floor)

The four other bedrooms are on the 1st floor

1 x master ensuite with queen bed

1 x bed room with two full beds with private bathroom access

1 x twin room with two single beds with private bathroom access

1 x twin room with two single beds (2nd floor)

There are beds to sleep 10 guests.

( our legal maximum )

There are TV's in all the bedrooms.

There is TV, DVD, Computer Printer and Hi-FI in the lounge.

The eight seat dining area is situated at the front of the house, facing the gardens,for more formal dining.

You will find if very difficult to find a home which offers so much outdoor space and facilities.

When you book you will be asked to place a $500 USD deposit to secure the home for your requested dates.This will constitute a binding agreement between both parties.The balance will be payable 12 weeks prior to arrival.

ONE OTHER MAJOR PLUS, You do not have the hassle of going to a management company office to wait in a queue to collect keys and then again at the end of your vacation to return them which can add 2 hours onto your journey. WE HAVE A DIGITAL LOCK AND YOU WILL BE GIVEN AN ACCESS CODE MEANING EVERY GUEST CAN COME AND GO AS THEY PLEASE WITH NO WORRY ABOUT WHO HAS THE KEYS.

Keywords: Villa

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
IAN STURGEON (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

About IAN STURGEON

Myself Ian and my wife Sheena originate from Glasgow, Scotland and moved to Northumberland near Newcastle Upon Tyne in Northern England some 24 years ago. We live in a little ancient Market town called Morpeth. We have two children Fraser 23 and Nikki 21.

We love travelling and Florida is our favourite destination. We use our beautiful villa 3 times per year and we get so much pleasure sharing it with our very valued clients. We take great pride in offering a home with so many great features and during every visit we carry out many upgrades to keep our home very desirable and in tip top condition.

Why IAN STURGEON chose Davenport

Calabay Parc for us was the best location overall that we could find.It is convenient for all the theme park's with Disney only 15 minutes drive away.There are plenty of shops, supermarkets, Bars, Restuarants, and Golf Courses only minutes away. With interstate 4 only 2 minutes away you are perfectly located for the scenic 45 minute drive to the beaches.

What makes this villa unique

Having stayed at many villa's prior to buying our own, we put together a list of negatives which when buying our own property we could refer to and make sure we eliminated them at the building stage of our own home. The main issues with other properties we rented were as follows.

Not enough bathrooms, not enough pool deck space to have lunch,dinner and also to entertain.

With other small pool decks when we were sunbathing and the kids were splashing about in the pool,we got wet. We doubled the size of our pool deck to include a 12 seat dining table a separate 8 seat dining table. There is a further 4 seat table which can be used to provide a prep area for you BBQ food. The Ping Pong Table on the pool deck provides great fun for all the family.

I have not seen another pool deck that offers so much space.

It is vital that the pool deck is south facing (as ours is) as that is the only way you will get sun on the deck from dawn to dusk.

Throw in the 20 exotic palm trees surrounding the pool deck and you have a unique setting.

Having a cinema system at home in England we knew that this always produced the WOW factor with our friends when they visited. We decided that this would be a great idea for the villa and our massive 9 FOOT WIDE SCREEN has probably has been the best investment we have made. With over 75 FREE DVD's to watch you are spoiled for choice.This along with the game room pool table and ping pong table on the pool deck means the kids are never bored and are not in your face after a long day at the parks. The villa has so much space you are sure to have a relaxing vacation.

Guestbook comments from the owner

WE TRIED TO BOOK YOUR HOUSE AND YOU TOLD US TO WAIT ONE MORE WEEK UNTIL THE NEW POOL DECK EXTENSION WAS COMPLETED.

ARE WE GLAD WE DID. YOUR POOL DECK IS TWICE THE SIZE OF MY WHOLE APARTMENT IN ENGLAND. IT IS ABSOLUTELY STUNNING.

OUR TWO KIDS LOCKED THEMSELVES AWAY IN THE GAMES ROOM AND WE HAD TO LITTERALLY DRAG THEM TO THE PARKS. WE COULD HAVE SAVED A FORTUNE IN PARK TICKETS IF WE ONLY KNEW HOW GREAT THIS HOUSE WAS BEFORE WE CAME. WE KNEW IT WAS GOOD BUT NOT THIS GOOD. WE CANNOT WAIT TO COME BACK. MANY MANY THANKS
Oct 2002
  • 1 of 13

Reviews

4.9
based on 110 traveler reviews

5B/4 1/2 BA,Cinema Room,Pool Table,Ping Pong,X360,Poker,Disney 15 Mins
average rating of 4.909091 based on 123 reviews
5

Great homeowner to rent from!

  • 5 of 5

If you want a trusted homeowner, and a place to stay that your family will enjoy every minute this is it! The kids truly didn't want to go to Disney they wanted to stay to swim and play ping pong... We texted the homeowner to let him know previous tenants had damaged the pool sticks etc. the very next day the house keeper showed up with bags of stuff to make our stay amazing!

Would definitely stay here again, my grown son and his wife are already planning a trip and want to rent this house next year!

Thanks for the awesome vacation ☺️

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy thank you soooo much indeed for this great 5 star review. I take great pride in providing a good professional service to all my guests and I am glad you appreciated what I did for you and that you enjoyed the house and all its great amenities. Dealing direct with the owner is much better than dealing with a management company who may have hundreds of houses on its books and cannot provide a personal service which leads to problems. Yes it can be very trying to persuade the children to leave such a great pool deck and entertainment area, I have the same problem myself when we are over. Sheena and I would love to have you stay again in the future. You were 5 star guests and my cleaning team were very pleased with the way you left the house. I thank you for that...Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house for family vacation!! (4.5 stars)

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay in this house! Ian, the owner, was very responsive and answered all my questions, no matter how trivial, very quickly. The house is a short 20 minute drive to Disney and other attractions. House was very comfortable and felt just like home! Everyone had their own space (including grandparents!)... kids (ours 10 and 14) enjoyed the cinema room. We all enjoyed the in ground pool very much, especially on those hot FL days. We actually spent many days doing nothing but lounging by pool (Yes, NO amusement parks!). There is a grill and two large tables under a LARGE covered patio area, so you can enjoy outside dining. Everything you might need or think you need, Ian has already thought of! (including a wheeled cooler if you decide to head to the beach). Highchairs for your little ones, Video games, DVDs and pool table/ping pong for your older ones. House is situated in a nice neighborhood. If you love to walk/run, this is the perfect neighborhood for steps! Lots of loops around the area. If you are even thinking of renting a house, look no further.. this is it! Perfect for 2 families!! ! We had a week of great weather, in high 80s , and used the AC with no issues). As previously mentioned, limited cleaning supplies available so I suggest doing an inventory when you arrive and getting everything you need once you are there. Grocery shopping tip: Skip Publix.. go straight to Super Wal Mart at Cagan Crossing (on US 27).. shockingly, better selection of meats/fruits & veggies and better prices.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous home, with easy access to everything and easy to find. Ian was very pleasant to work with.

  • 5 of 5

Ian, thank you for allowing us to use your vacation home. It was exactly as stated in the ad, we were very pleased with our choice. The home was clean, stocked with new dishes and pots and pans. The pool area was awesome, well laid out. We didn't get a chance to send any time in the cinema room, as we were very lucky to have beautiful weather and spent as much time outside enjoying the lanai and pool area, without being splashed by the kids.

We would love to stay again the next time the Disney urge hits us.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ann thank you so much for your great 5 star review. I am delighted you had a great time at the house and especially enjoyed the huuuuge pool deck area. Yes its great to be able to relax and not get splashed by the kids jumping into the pool. That is the huge benefit of having such a large deck. Yes all pots and pans renewed for your arrival as well as many other items. We would love to have you stay any time again as you were immensely respective of our home and that means so much to us. Thank you again...Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun time for 8 golfers

  • 5 of 5

The property was everything we could ask for, had a great time. A/C unit broke down, made a phone call and in less than 5 minutes someone was there. In less than a half hour it was working......GREAT! We had a problem w/clothes washer and I called but phone was disconnected. This wasn't a big problem as we were leaving the next day and we were trying to do the towels that we were leaving. All in all it is a nice property, also enjoyed the large cinema.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeff, thank you kindly for your nice 5 star review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time at the house and being a golfer myself (very average) I hope you enjoyed the many great courses just minutes from the house. Yes Byron my manager called me on Saturday morning the day you left to tell me the washer had packed in and I sent him straight out to buy and install a replacement that day for the next guest arriving at 4pm. Haven't had any feedback on the A/C from my manager but it is comforting that you had a response within 5 minutes and all fixed in half an hour. That is good service from them so I am very pleased. Its great you enjoyed the huge cinema screen its always a big hit with my guests. I do hope we can see you again in the future......Kind Regards Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Time of our life!

  • 5 of 5

Just got home from our vacation in Orlando and already missing it like crazy! We stayed here for two weeks during our Easter holiday. Ian (the owner) goes the extra mile for his guests. He made it possible for us to have some groceries in the house because our flight arrived in the middle of the night. That way we could enjoy our first breakfast at the pooldeck instead of running of to the nearest Publix. Now that's what I call service!

We stayed with 4 kids and 4 grandparents and enjoyed the spacious rooms. Although the previous guest seemed to have complained about the mattresses, I slept like a baby during our visit. Just to let you know: Ian ordered new mattresses for all the beds because he cares about what his guests say / complain about. I don't see many owners doing that.

Our kids just loved the heated swimming pool. It's a small extra fee for a lot of extra comfort! You can't imagine how nice it is to take a dip in the pool after spending a whole day in the Disney / Universal parks :-) And there is plenty of space too on the pool deck.

The villa has a very good location: about 20 min from all the Disney parks, 30 min to Universal. We did all the mayor attractions and had no problems getting anywhere. The nearest supermarket is Publix and is located just 3 min from the villa.

I read the previous comment and I don't agree: I'm used of camping and there's nothing that can compare to the luxury that this villa has to offer! Sure there might be a dull knife in the kitchendrawer, but come on ... that's not the reason why you book this villa. If there's a problem, Ian is the first one to offer a solution or fix it. During our stay, the A/C company came over to fix the minimum temperature for the A/C because some guest complained about the fact that the temperature couldn't be reduced below 75 degrees. For me that was cold enough though :-) That's what I mean with Ian going the extra mile: he cares about his guests.

I can honestly say that I had the time of my life over there and would not hesitate to book this villa again and recommend it to all my friends. Thank you so much Ian for letting us stay here! See you in a couple of years ;-)

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bart thank you so much for your very kind 5 star review. Considering you almost did not make the journey due to the terrible events at Belgium Airport that week it is fantastic you made it, and more importantly, had "the time of your life". It is nice that you felt the need to contradict the previous guests comments. Like you say I have already taken action and will always do so to try and ensure all our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience and yes you are right, I do care very much for each and every guest. I am delighted that you wish to come back in 2 years time and I very much look forward to welcoming you and your family again. Take Care.....Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Moncton NB, Canada
4

Wonderful vacation!

  • 4 of 5

We just spent 2 fabulous weeks in Orlando. The weather was between 25-30 degrees Celsius with no rain. Ian's house was the perfect size for our group of 6 adults, 1-12 year old and a 7 month old. With 5 bedrooms and 4 1/2 baths, no one got into anyone's way when getting ready for the morning. We paid extra to have the pool heated which was well worth the money. Everyone loved the cinema room. The lanai was very spacious. When we had issues with the pool and a toilet, Ian was quick to respond and have the repairs completed quickly. Unfortunately this is where the good review ends and the not so good review begins. We have rented houses in Europe and this was the 3rd time renting in Florida, so we know what to expect when renting a vacation home. Normally the kitchen is well stocked with utensils, pots, pans, and dishes. The kitchen had the bare minimum in it. The pots and pans should have been thrown in the garbage as they were the non-stick kind and were so scratched/damaged that it made cooking with them a chore. The kitchen knives were dull so cutting anything was nearly impossible. The fridge, washer and dryer need to be replaced. The mattresses were the cheapest mattresses I have ever slept on. The air conditioning unit was preset at 75 and you could not change it. Therefore the air conditioning was non-existent. The only way we could sleep was to open the windows at night and let the cool air in and turn on the ceiling fans. I'm glad that we were not renting in the hot months. We had an issue during the Thursday before we left with the pool. Some sort of bugs crawled under the lanai and headed for the pool. There were literally thousands of bugs in the pool and we tried to scoop them out but there were too many so we gave up. The pool was suppose to be cleaned the next day but the pool company did not show up. So we paid to heat the pool for 2 days that we were not able to use the pool. The house could also stand to be painted inside and have the walls, doors, etc cleaned. The housekeeper did an excellent job of cleaning what she is expected to. The beds in the 2 master bedrooms had a white flat sheet in place of a bedspread. The description stated that the house had 3 cribs but there is only playpens/play-yards instead. I expect this is due to liability issues. This could be an excellent home to rent but Ian needs to invest some money in it to bring it up to normal standards.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for submitting your review and I am glad you had a wonderful vacation staying at our villa during February. Yes the huge lanai and pool deck is a very big hit with all our guests and the cinema room with its 9 foot cinema screen is a big favourite also. As this guest was kind enough to e mail upon her return and give me some feedback on her findings I am please to report that we have acted swiftly and commissioned our management team to expedite immediate action. This includes all new good quality mattresses, pots and pans, kitchen knives and anything else in the kitchen that they feel is required. When we have a break in bookings we will have the high traffic areas painted. With regard to the A/C this was pre-set at 75 degrees by the A/C company in order that the units do not freeze by guests turning it down too low. I have instructed them to re-programme the stats to allow them to go down to 70 degrees which will be a lot cooler, That said to say the A/C is non existent at 75 degrees is untrue as that is what it has been set at for many years. The issue with bugs in the pool area was due to someone tearing our pool screen which is there to protect you from bugs and in Florida they can be plentiful. The damage was caused by guests throwing balls about in the pool area (which is banned) which tore the screen in three places and of course no one admits to causing the damage. There was no issue for the 1st 5 days therefore an isolated incident. I have had the torn screen panels replaced and I have had the exterior perimeter area of the pool deck sprayed with pesticide. Once again we take guests views very seriously and act swiftly upon any criticism therefore I thank this guest for their very important feedback. Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

are all conveniently located, We are 2 miles south of interstate 4 which means you have a great access route to the theme parks, 15 minutes from Disney means this house is the ideal location for the ultimate Orlando experience

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waterstone Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
November special
Oct 29 2016 - Dec 3 2016
7 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$235
 
 
New Year
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.0%

Stays less than 5 nights may be considered if available on the calendar as a stand alone block or if the dates are very imminent. A cleaning fee of $120 applies for bookings 5 nights or less. If the dates requested are within 2 calendar months to arrival full payment is required at the booking stage. Our full rental terms and conditions are available upon request inc our cancellation policy. Pool heating is available for $25 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Davenport Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2903 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1) Both master suites have their own iron board and iron., Queen size Beds (1) Both master suites have their own iron board and iron., Double Beds (2) 2 children can sleep in each of these beds, Twin or Single Beds (4) ., Free Baby Cribs (3) 3 Free cribs, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
Notes:
2 Phones, 2 separate air conditioning units, ceiling fans, 6 TVs, 4 DVD's, 75 FREE DVD Films, video games, board games including a Poker set, cribbage set hi-fi, full-size pool table, ping pong table and darts on the pool deck, playStation 2, X Box 360 3 free baby's crib, 3 free high chairs, all linens provided, 5 bedrooms, & 4, 5 baths, Floodlit 1850 square foot pool deck, south-facing illuminated pool with sun all day every day, No smoking (smoking permitted in pool deck area), No pets, We also have a safe and the house is alarmed

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties