Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Famous Walk-Wind N Sea Beach -Superb Location Village/Shops/Park/Pool-community

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,250 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House Or Guest Cottage Inquire 1st for which House

BEACH LOCATION IS EVERTHING. Double Lot, House and Guest House Refurbished/remodeled in Vogue, in process, 3 bed 2ba House 199nt and up, and Option-Guest House 149nt up, Inquire before paying websites cant differentiate whilch assigned by owner based on size and price per guest . Fee for additional guests. Adorable HISTORIC Charming, 3bed 2bath House with yard, and Extended covered patio and deck adding more living indoor outdoor space with outdoor furniture, table and bbq. Optional by Request Guest Granny Flat studio cottage next door books through www.vrbo.com/365092. can add as a ( 4th bedroom optional studio extra price must ask and pay for extra) Please ask when booking if you want to add cottage.We are walking distance to the beach 1500 feet, block 2 near La Jolla High school. 11 houses to shops, restaurants, spa, gym, yoga and massage. 5 houses to community olympic pool and 3 houses to Starkeys park and scenic trail. House two bathrooms, one brand new conversion of modern Travertine stone shower and floors, second bathroom has original antique "stay hot Longer for hours porcelain on metal" original claws foot tub in good condition. For those that wanted a shower we added an overhead shower head, but it is classified as a soaking tub. The house has hardwood floors and central heat, and wood stove fireplace, and lots of comortable lounging couches inside and out. Come relax, quiet for the beach!


Owner
Liza Szabo
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About Liza Szabo

We bought this property to be in the Jewel of La Jolla, wind n sea beach barber tract homes so my husband could walk barefoot to the beach with surfboard in hand.

We vacation rental it so we can enjoy it. WE are professional Retreat Teachers in

the Healing Arts, owning 6 peaceful retreat rentals at spots we love. Liza's private practice is in psychology couseling and Naturopathic nutrition and am also a Dental Hygienist. Mike is A world class Yoga teacher. Our passion is nature and homes, design and architecture. We love to make our homes available for others to enjoy and take very good care of them, with caretakers available to meet the needs of our

homes, as well as being hands one ourselves, at getting new furnishings, planting

tropicals and overseeing the cleanliness, bookings and helping our vacationers with

their reservations. Come see us at our VRBO in La Jolla, CA, Hawaii and Yosemite.

Liza and Mike

Liza Szabo purchased this house in 1996

Why Liza Szabo chose San Diego County

La Jolla was where we both wanted to live our whole lives. I had post cards in my office in

colorado when I was 22, promising that one day I would live there. When first married we saved

up enough money to buy a home by our most loved beach, Wind N Sea also voted top ten beaches in

the world and walk to it by foot along with the village atmosphere of dining, shops, parks, scenic trails and perfect weather. We now can return again and again to our property while still

enjoying our other beach home, hawaii or yosemite. Our dream come true to have beach, moutains and tropical areas. We hope to retire in the village, wind n sea beach home and in the meantime

get joy out of sharing it with other vacationers. come see the beauty of walking to all at the JEWEL our La Jolla Wind n Sea Beach home and cottage.

What makes this house unique

Everthing you can can want on vacation and never need a car. Walk to Top Ten beaches in the world wind n Sea, as well as shops

and restaurants, spa and gym 11 houses away, but be in a quite tropical neighborhood with a yard

where they are hard to come by. Walk 3 houses to La Jolla scenic trail and park, the beach 1500 feet from our door is enjoyable walkable. Or head north 10 minutes walk to the downtown entertainment of fine restaurants, art galleries and the world famous cove. The olympic community is only 5 houses away and our year round temperature average is 66 to 72 degrees, warming up in summer to the mid 70s. maybe peaking at low 80's. Enjoy all that the JEWEL of La Jolla has to offer being in the heart of the village at our Wind N Sea Beach house and Optional

cottage next door.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at the house for 3 days for a friends' reunion, and it was perfect - there was plenty of space for all of us to lounge around both indoors and outdoors, and we definitely took advantage of the fireplace and the grill. The house is a 5-minute walk to the beach and several restaurants, and a short drive away from a large grocery store. Liza was a great host who was very communicative - we had some problems getting in the front door, but we worked everything out and the trip was an absolute blast. Liza also went out of her way to make sure that we had enough towels to also take to the beach, and when I left my jacket there after the trip she was kind enough to coordinate getting it back to one of my friends. I would highly recommend staying here!

FROM: other websites readable online.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 27

Amenities

La Jolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Pay for extra Studio guest house cottage next door
  • 3. Is in. Cottage detached unit and only available if you rent both. No laundry.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Guest Cottage in Back - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Futon couch COMFY mattress IKEA , 3rd futon floor foam 6inch
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Walk to World-famous Wind n Sea Beach, Scenic Trails and Community Park, Olympic-size Swimming Pool, Shops and Restaurants all on our same block of Bonair Street and Nautilus, Fireplace and Wood Stove, Long Distance FREE in the US Phone, Beach Towels, Yard with Large Deck and Patio with Outdoor Living Area, Grill and Dinette with French Doors to enjoy Indoor and Outdoor Living

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
Famous Walk-Wind N Sea Beach -Superb Location Village/Shops/Park/Pool-community
average rating of 4.25 based on 67 reviews
5

Inspirational

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home and the location is unbelievable. My friend had CTEPH and came to UC San Diego - Thorton Hospital for PTE surgery. The Bonair (fresh air) property was an excellant quiet retreat for us. It was about a 20 min drive from the hospital. We rented the home for several weeks and family members joined us during our stay. Everyone felt so at home with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. My two favorite spots in the home were the claw foot bathtub and the deck. Even though we had more rain than S Cal had seen for about 20 years, I still enjoyed bundling up on the outdoor sofa on the covered deck. We really enjoyed the outfoor grill and had time for one rainy day fire in the outdoor fireplace. And there was nothing more relaxing than soaking in the warmth of the claw foot tub. We prepared most of our meals in the kitchen, however, there were also nice places to eat within walking distance (including the Sunday Farmer's Market). I am still missing my morning and evening walks down to the WInd & Sea Beach, just a short two blocks down Bonair Street, and the bagels and coffee just around the corner. My friend is doing very well following his surgery. Being in La Jolla and enjoying this home made our trip so nice. We are very thankful to the owners for sharing this home.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

The beach is within walking distance. If you want to go to the Children's Pool or La Jolla Cove I would suggest driving over. It's like 2 miles away. Gorgeous area. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 5 nights Sept 16-21st and we arrived early so I called Liza the Owner to see if we could check in. Liza was very attentive and arranged for Mike the Co-owner to meet us at 12:30pm and he allowed us to check in due to the house was cleaned and ready to go! Mike was a very nice person and gave us many ideas on what to do while we were in La Jolla. The house is just like the pictures very comfy, clean and with lots of character and close to the Windansea beach. We utilized the patio everyday when we weren't at the beach and settling down for the night. The house location is very close to lots of activities and attractions in the San Diego area. The owners were awesome and we will Delfinately look to stay in this renal property again in the future!! Thanks for having us!!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pleasant Haven of Beach and Village Escape

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful Home for Safety and Joy. We fled the fires in Oregon smoking us out and evacuation. I lived in La Jolla in the 90s and we knew this home as well as stayed in 2004 and now. The house has beach air and great weather, lots of bright white windows and french doors to a inviting patio with two couches and a great yard, we had no yard and most people dont so we love this about this awesome home. This listing was only a few blocks from where I lived and I love its style, flair and color as well as we knew the owners from the 90s when they hosted and owned Seasons Yoga Center and Liza treated my teeth being also in Dentistry. When we had to be evacated we called them to see if we could get in last minute. They informed me someone cancelled and they hosted us as a gift for evacuation from fires. We are every so grateful. The home is clean and well appointed with nice leather couches, great art and a remodeled kitchen with granite counters, a nice gas stove and a marble shower, they added since the last time we stayed.

Liza and Mike totally took care of us. They got us in late at night after traveling easy on a key pad and were in easy reach by cell phone. Mike met up with us mid week and gave us some heads up on new restaurants.

We love to cook and this is a well stocked and great kitchen for a beach place, everything you could need.

Beds are bahama style and very comfortable and great cable tv and fast internet for my husbands work. We had to leave early for us since we squeezed in between two bookings and we booked Liza and Mikes other house in Carlsbad beach where we are now extending out time in one of their homes, as we need a bit more time before fire containment in Oregon. We cannot say enough about how they helped us get in quickly and great to us. They asked us to help with a good review. We were appauled at the previous post to get money from the owners, as there is nothing wrong with the property and no pests or problems and we arrived day after. I would highly recommend this home for its cute ness, awesome look, yard and beach and village access by foot. Thanks! Liza and Mike!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

RAT POOP EVERYWHERE

  • 1 of 5

When we walked into the property it was stuffy and a bit smelly. So we opened up some windows and doors and turned on the fans and hopes that would help air out the property. We started to bring in our belongings and right away noticed three rat poops on the bar area of the kitchen. Thinking it was a bit of a fluke we wandered around the property. They was more rat poop on the floor under the bar area, the kitchen table , The kitchen chairs, the bedroom floors, both bedrooms shelves; and when I went to go and change my five-month-old daughter on the bed I noticed rat poop on the pillow as well. Right away I contacted the homeowners rather than going through home away.com. When they did not answer the phone call or voicemail I left I sent pictures: lots and lots of pictures. I finally got Mike on the phone and he proceeded to tell me that I was being ridiculous and overdramatic because he had just stayed there last week and he saw nothing. I was overwhelmed because he did not seem interested or did not take our Complaints seriously. I felt that he should have been out there immediately or at least indicated as such. Instead he hung up on me. Not only that but he sent me text messages that were very offensive. Continuing to call me names in the text messages. They are refusing to give us back the money and home away was so gracious to take care of us. This is our first experience and to say the least it was not a great one. The homeowner proceeded to tell us that they have six other properties and have been doing this for 20 years. If it were me and I were the homeowner I would have immediately put that renter in another one of my properties or at least been courteous enough to help them. Mike and Liza have been argumentative, confrontational and rude. I really wish that this review would allow me to post the pictures of the property as well as the screenshots of the text messages from the owners I am totally disappointed by this entire experience I will never rent from this property owner again

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is simply not truthful. Extreme in relation to quality and beauty of the property. We have 4 and 5 star reviews and our strength is location and adorable historic home. We have had the same pest company for 10 years who treats our property regularly. When traveled called and texted we both said we would get it checked asap which we did in hours. We dont have pests and current new guests from fires checked in next day , before and after not finding anything. Traveler had an agenda to get a refund or post an extreme post. She stated in her text we had a beautiful home and it just needed a cleaning, and she wanted a refund or she would by happy to post negative. We are not unkind but we do diligence to check the property, we have a professional cleaning company known well in our city and you can refer to post before and after same days as we book solid to know this is out of the ordinary and we do not have pests, if we do we can respond asap as we did but they must have not even stayed an hour. She stated that since we could not get there for 72 hours they would leave, however, we have a handyman and owners who both can come day of if there is a true emergency or send a professional staff that we have of maids, handymen, caretakers, detail cleaners, pest maintenance. Recently we put in very expensive new blinds rattan that make the place even more lovely. We are kind but if we are being told to do something and cannot check our property first,we need time to respond at dinner or late evenings to get down, we live an hour away. Our guest love the charm and location and a clean up if there is a concern is easy as the company is around the corner. My Zen maid checked it and it was in shape and ready for check in. Please disregard this as even a retired judge stayed days before and she posted a 5 star. This traveler states it was her first time and she did not realize it must be checked first before a refund if one were in order. Internet coercion, bullying and trolling are a crime. You have to be people and give people due diligence time to respond to real estate, this is not a hotel and you get so much more for your money, walk to the top ten beach in the USA and restaurants within 11 houses, park in 3 houses , community pool in 5 houses. A yard which non one has this close to the beach but we were lucky to have double lot so it is well loved, well lived and well decorated and our guests who treat us fairly. This was for a refund for something else.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sea air with beach within reach.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our family vacation at this comfortable home. There are plentiful sleeping arrangements and a lovely patio where we all ate together each night. The walk to the beach was a short one. The street and neighborhood were quiet. The owner was helpful and good about responding to our questions. We will return.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Del Mar
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
5 and 52

Everything you can imagine within the village you are staying in La Jolla Beach Community, stroll down our Bonair Street in minutes to Famous "Wind n Sea" Beach and Surf, enjoy Breathtaking Walks along the Cliffs of the "Cove" for five miles of Stunning Beauty, Hundreds of Star Restaurants, and Art Galleries galore in our village, World-famous Golfing, in La Jolla Torrey Pines Park and Tennis at La Jolla Shores all within town access, Live the dream in the Village of La Jolla and have the Best Lifestyle Vacation, you will never want to leave, Listing of Available Activities in La Jolla

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Post Maid house $165
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

This is an r2 double lot with house and studio guest cottage, both have kitchens and bathrooms and private yard, smaller for the cottage 650 sq feet and house 2000 with covered second living room patio. Pricing starts at 99 night for 1 to 2 in cottage and increases per occupancy per house. house is 3bed/2bath and cottage is a studio counting as a 4th bedroom if you rent both. WE do negotiate rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties