check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Wanda or Tom Berman

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Picturesque Lancaster County Cabin

15 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pennsylvania Cabin Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom and sleeping loft, sleeps 4

This idyllic Cabin nestled in a wooded area on the banks of a picturesque creek, features a king size bedroom, slate bathroom, large great room with a cathedral ceiling, comfortable fully equipped Kitchen and two screened in porches. Relax and enjoy nature. The Wrightsville cabin is centrally located only 20 minutes from Lancaster’s Amish Country, 20 minutes from York, and 45 minutes from Hershey. We are ¼ mile from the Long Level Boating area on the Susquehanna River. The Cabin is perfect for family retreats or a well deserved getaway with good friends or for the independent traveler. Dogs and Children welcome

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Wanda or Tom Berman (Property Manager)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

About Wanda or Tom Berman

Combine a love for the Victorian Era and antiques with an unwavering tradition of gracious hospitality and you will find the perfect description for Tom and Wanda Berman and the product of their endeavors

Wanda or Tom Berman purchased this cabin in 1985

Why Wanda or Tom Berman chose Pennsylvania

This quaint boating community is one of the few navigable areas along the Susquehanna River. We purchased this secluded cabin because of its central location; only 35 minutes from Hershey, 20 minutes from Lancaster & York and less then an hour from Baltimore, with all the conveniences of shopping, dining and entertainment.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We came for a get-a-way from Phila!! It’s our 25th anniversary! Love the peace and tranquility. Nothing quite like getting back to the basics in life!! We rested and enjoyed the quiet in our life- did not go anywhere just vegetated. We brought our miniature dachshund along for the celebration- he enjoyed running around with no leash- no cars- no other dogs! Hope we can make it back again.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 13

Reviews

4.5
based on 15 traveler reviews

Picturesque Lancaster County Cabin
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 28 reviews
Newark, DE
5

All I can say is WOW!!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just returned home from our stay at this Cabin. We had such a "magical" stay. As soon as you arrive all of your stress is forgotten! There is nothing that I would change. The cabin owners have made sure that any and every thing that you might need is there. The place was clean and cozy. The only thing that we missed while there were our three dogs! Next time we will see about taking them (they are all well behaved girls, who love to travel) The cabin is close to many things but far enough away that you feel as though you have escaped. I loved that they had wifi so that we could connect to the web via our laptop to explore sightseeing options! When vacationing we always hope for great weather, so while on our drive to the cabin we saw rain clouds, but never fear when the rain did come we sat comfortably in the rocking chairs in the screend in porch and listened to the soft rainfall, talk about being one with nature! To end I would HIGHLY recommend this place to familys, couples, pet owners! We are trying to plan our Thanksgiving Holiday at the cabin if they will have us back!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Dunellen, NJ, USA
5

A little piece of heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5

This vacation was just what the doctor ordered, and the cabin was the perfect prescription for relaxation. We, and our three dogs, loved it! The cabin is fully equipped, nicely maintained, and has a variety of areas both inside and out to sit and enjoy a good book and a hot cup of coffee. The yard behind the house provided plenty of space for our dogs to romp around, and the sound of the stream out front is wonderfully soothing. Best of all are the two screened-in porches, so you can enjoy nature without dealing with the bugs!

One fantastic find was "Jeff's Got Crabs" in York, a hole-in-the-wall restaurant that serves five-star seafood, crabs, & BBQ. Another highlight was the Mason Dixon Trail that goes from directly across the road from the cabin into Native Lands County Park and the Native Lands Heritage Trail - a beautiful one-mile walk through woods and meadows.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Your words of kindness and praise for our cabin are very appreciated and it is nice to know that others enjoy the peace and serenity as much as we do. Please come to visit again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Cozy Cabin Beyond Our Expectations

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the property immensely. The cabin is clean, well kept and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the cabin during Thanksgiving week. We arrived to a beautiful fall scene and were treated to a gorgeous snowfall. The cabin provided us with an idyllic setting from which to snuggle by the fire and enjoy the peaceful snowfall and look out at the picture-worthy view. The many windows (including a lovely skylight in the bedroom) provide a ton of light making the cabin feel open and inviting and bring the incredible outdoor view in.

We travelled with 3 adults and a baby and had plenty of room for everyone. The property was wonderful for our situation as the baby was not moving around much during our stay, however we found it would be best suited for older children or adults as the steps up to the loft, bedroom and bathroom are steep and the living room fire place is open.

The area has many great attractions. It is just a short walk down the road from the cabin to the Susquehanna River and the Historic Center. We also enjoyed visiting Flinchbaugh's Orchard and taking in the views from Samuel Lewis State Park (we visited both multiple times).

We were very impressed by how easy the owner and property manager were to get a hold of whenever we needed to reach them (both before and during our stay). They were kind and very helpful.

We look forward to returning to this cabin for a visit soon and would very highly recommend a stay in this property.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for spending your Thanksgiving holiday with your family at our Wrightsville Cabin! The foliage in Wrightsville this time of year, coupled with the first snow of the year must have been breathtaking! We are so glad that you enjoyed the warm, open lighting of the cabin and our management team! Thank you for recommending your favorite attractions there for our future guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

Beyond our expectations! Everything was exactly as shown in the pictures on the website. We absolutely loved this place. The quality of the furnishings, the tasteful and thoughtful decorating and attention to detail really impressed us. The cabin was clean and comfortable and they even provided some toiletries...very thoughtful. The bed was VERY comfortable and we were treated to a show of sparkling fireflies outside the bedroom door each night. Every aspect of our vacation was seamless, from booking to follow-through with the refund of our security deposit. We highly, highly recommend this cabin.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Jersey
2

Not Good...

  • 2 of 5

First off let me state what was good about this cabin. The inside of the Cabin has been maintained very well. The furniture, the antique items, etc. The loft in the cabin is awesome, as well as the decor of the place. Now the bad. Since I am the first person reviewing this property for 2013, my findings will hold more weight than a review from a year or 2 or 3 ago that are on this website. The outside of the Cabin is NOT maintained, PERIOD!! Me and my girlfriend pulled up, you have to enter the cabin through the porch. The porch has a screen. That screen is draped with spider webs, debris, and dead insects. Not on it, on it and in it. Meaning, it has been there for a significant amount of time. The fire pit does NOT look like the pictures. I'm sure it did at some point. But now, the bricks are deteriorated, and the landscape has not been maintained. The hammock they show you in the picture is no longer there. In the bedroom there are doors that open up to an outside patio. This patio is completely dirty and not maintain. Over ran by spiders and anything else that wish to setup a colony there. We did not go out there nor clean it as some other guest has done. That is not our job. They charge a cleaning fee. They should clean that. You CANNOT use the washer to clean your clothes. It's there, but you’re not allowed to use it. The gas barbecue grill was DIRTY! They do not clean it and prepare it for new guess. I had to clean the grill top and grill grates myself, as I am not going to cook on a dirty grill. Also, some burners on the grill do not work! Grill needs to be replaced. The most despicable part, there is a HUGE "stink bug" infestation at the Cabin. My girlfriend and I killed more bugs in two days then terminix. Stink bugs specifically. The cabin is full of them. Don't know how or where they're getting in at, but it's pretty darn awful. Could not walk around with your shoes off, because you might step on one somewhere. Here's the Kicker: I paid for 6/17 through 6/19, departing on 6/20. The evening of 6/18 I got sick. And the morning of 6/19, I was considerably ill. So much my girlfriend took me to the ER and I was diagnosed with Acute Bronchitis, treated and released home with antibiotics, steroids, inhaler, etc. So we never stayed there 6/19. I called and tried to get a refund for that day. Was told they don't give refunds. I do not recommend this property. And I am left questioning the integrity of the owners.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to learn that you had a disappointing experience during your stay at our cabin. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We are sorry you became ill and were unable to stay through the period you contracted to rent the cabin. Unfortunately, we were unaware that you needed to leave the property one day early and were not notified of your leaving until several days AFTER your contracted departure date making it impossible for us to re-rent the cabin. This cabin is located in the woods. This natural setting, although beautiful, does include insects. We have outdoor lights on the porches to provide lighting for late arrivals. This lighting does attract insects including spiders. Since a spider takes only 30 minutes to spin a web, we can knock down spider webs in the morning and by that evening there are more. The same is true for stink bugs during certain times of the year. We regularly have the cabin treated for insects but in this natural environment we cannot eliminate ALL insects. The fire pit is only a year old, and still looks the same as when we built it the only difference is the bricks are now charred from use as one would expect to find in any fire pit. Please refer to current pictures of the fire pit and the updated landscaping, brick steps and pathway which were added last month. We do apologize that the housekeeping staff overlooked the cleaning of the grill. The grill is less than one year old and we were unaware of any issues with the burner. We installed the grill last year when we upgraded the porch area by adding the new slate wall, the granite countertops and stainless steel cabinets. The hammock is still at the cabin and is still usable. We’re sorry you didn’t notice it inside by the front door. We keep the hammock indoors safe from inclement weather, spiders and pollen.. As stated in our advertising, laundry facilities are not available at the cabin due to our on-site septic system. The washing machine is for emergency use or weekly rentals only. Guests staying for only a few nights do not usually require use of the washing machine. We take all guest comments seriously and appreciate the opportunity to respond. We realize that unfortunately emergencies do occur and we try very hard to accommodate our guest’s needs, but we cannot correct items we are unaware of or refund money after the fact.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0
New York, NY
5

A Lovely Cabin

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved this cabin, a fireplace in every room [even the kitchen], a king-size comfy bed and a bathroom reminiscent of a NY Spa. This romantic cabin is in a lovely locale and it’s rustic enough to make a city girl happy without having to give up any degree of comfort. As I mentioned to the owner, Wanda, I’ve passed on the Wrightsville Cabin secret to my friends and colleagues, though my first inclination was to keep it a secret <smile>. While I would wholeheartedly recommend this cabin, I don't think it's good for families with very young children because of the stairs to the bedroom and loft, and too easy access to the fireplaces. But an absolute great get away from NYC.

Thanks again, we hope to visit your lovely cabin in the near future.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Lancaster
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Cool Creek Golf
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Lancaster
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Route 30
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lancaster Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Rates
Jul 6 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 6 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
September Rates
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Columbus Day
Oct 6 2016 - Oct 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Fall Rates
Oct 12 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Winter
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Holiday
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Winter Rates
Jan 2 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Memorial Day
May 25 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Summer Rates
May 30 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
July 4th Holiday
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Summer
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Labor Day
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$198
$1,200
 
 
Fall Rates
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Columbus Day
Oct 5 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Fall Rates
Oct 10 2017 - Nov 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
Winter
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 
 
Holiday Rates
Dec 24 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$198
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation within 14 days (30 days for holiday and special events) will be charged the entire amount of the reservation if we are unable to re-rent the accommodation. No shows and premature check-outs will also be charged the entire amount of the reservation.
We strongly recommend travel insurance. Travel insurance is readily available and covers family emergencies, bad weather & health issues.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pennsylvania Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 964 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • River
  • Rural
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Full Size Sleeper Sofas
  • In the upstairs Loft there are two full size sleep sofa.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Smoking is only permitted out doors. Linens and towels are not provided. Please call for details.

Partner Offers