check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jan Ferry-Axman

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Natural Lakefront Beauty on Private Cove, in over 150 Acres Parkland

30 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sodus Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7 to 10)

See our new video on this site..by going to picture at top and click on Video button on the picture. Also.......

See our additional cottage next door at VRBO 563369 (type number into search line on VRBO) Same family 2 Cottages next door to one another. Each is a small independent home. Rent one or both depending on size of group. We love our family cottages....come be a guest of the Ferry family at our Ferryland Cottages.

Only 3 miles from Sodus Point recreation center but

what is different about this property...

Incredibly Natural, Beautiful and Peaceful setting. Giant Pines border the enormous property. Along with an empty field on one side. Located directly on the a small cove on lake Ontario. Lots of space. Lovely hikes into Maxwell Bay/Creek Area and Beachwood State Park. Bald & Golden Eagles and Herons fly over cove and nest in state park and point. Take a short hike to Beaver Dam. Great for Kayaks and Canoes along edge and into Maxwell creek area. Tons of space, Cottage has huge yard. Directly on,easily accessible beachfront. Cove and Maxwell Bay/creek make small craft boating as well as swimming lovely.

Located on Lake Ontario ½ mile from nearest paved road. Over 100 feet of beachfront in your front yard. State park lands in your back yard. Wild, natural, secluded and peaceful.

Sit on one of two decks under huge maple, hemlock, and aspen trees and gaze out at Lake Ontario. Swim, boat and fish from hundreds of feet of secluded beachfront. Or hike in the 'back yard'; hundreds of acres of woods and orchards wild state lands featuring nesting bald eagles and Beaver pond.

Launch or rent a power boat at Sodus Bay recreation area (2 mi) or drive to Rochester or the beautiful Finger Lakes (@30 mi).Fishermen will delight in Salmon, Steelhead, Rainbow Trout, Brown, Trophy Lake. Lake Ontario and Sodus Bay are known for prize winning Bass, Walleye and Perch. Birders will love the Bald Eagles, Blue Herons, swans and hummingbirds.

The cottage has two bedrooms and a sleeping couch and daybed, full bath with shower,a large carpeted living room with views of the lake.Kitchen with dishwasher,microwave, coffee maker, toaster,etc. Linens and laundry available @ $50/week. New Gas grill on rear deck, plenty of parking or Tent, trailer space. Bringing Tents or trailers requires a special request with advance permission-Please. Lots of space for outside lawn games, extra cars, screen rooms etc.

See our website for more pictures of area around cottage. This is the homeowners Assn. for Sprong Bluff Cottage Association.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Jan Ferry-Axman (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

About Jan Ferry-Axman

I am the youngest of 4 siblings who own this cottage. We are a large and loving extended family and this was Grandmas and Grandpas cottage until 2010 when they passed away leaving it to my Brothers and sister and I. We are owners and already were sharing with one another and now YOU! Watch the video on this site if you want to see me,specifically. I live in Rochester NY and love sharing our cottage and helping people find the many fun activities around the area.

Jan Ferry-Axman purchased this cottage in 1982

Why Jan Ferry-Axman chose Sodus Bay

The Ferry family is large and close knit. Our parents purchased the property over 30yrs ago with the idea of fixing it up for retirement. Over the years we have loved visiting and over 30 years we have become a pretty large group who has spent a great deal of time trying out all the activities and restaurants in the area. Two or the four siblings who own the cottage live locally near Rochester but our larger family is spread from San Diego to Fla and NYC. We all LOVE to come back to Sodus and bring our many kids and now grand kids.

What makes this cottage unique

The Sprongs Bluff area, a small cove set into Lake Ontario, is remote and beautiful. We love that we have a huge lot, beautiful sunsets and LOTS of space. The little set of cottages here are completely surrounded by NYS forever wild parkland. The old GirlScout camp next door was also purchased by NYS and turned into Beachwood Sate Park. We have a private path leading back there. Beachwood has Maxwell Creek running through it as well as Maxwell Bay. This makes for great Canoe and Kayak trips into the Maxwell Creek area. Bald Eagles nest on the point and beauty and tranquility surround you. Lastly when you want to eat out, get a fishing charter, enjoy a drink and entertainment, walk a sandy beach and long pier a quick 3-4mi. drive to Sodus Point and additional fun can easily be had. Also we are about 3-4mi. in the other direction to Sodus village for a post office, grocery store,library, bank and more restaurants. We think we have the perfect spot to enjoy peace, beauty quiet and a just about any fun activity.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We appologize for the poor reviews which were unreported to us at the time of rental. We have been renting for 5 years with many repeat customers and these are the first complaints we have had.



We are a family owned cottage and in 2012 we worked hard to fix any issues... completely repainting, repairing and replacing many features including a new grill, sofa and stove, one bed and overhaul of all interior spaces. Additionally, the entire interior was repainted and a new manager for the property and specialized cleaning services were obtained.
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.2
based on 30 traveler reviews

Natural Lakefront Beauty on Private Cove, in over 150 Acres Parkland
average rating of 4.2 based on 31 reviews
New Jersey
5

Our Slice of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We recently rented this house for our 7th time and have thoroughly enjoyed this gem each of the six years we have stayed. Each time we return, the property wraps itself around us as we are warmly welcomed by the owner Nancy and her family who offer us whatever hospitality we may need to make our stay pleasurable. We are always treated like family.

We always find the house and property to be immaculate and the layout of the house affords spectacular lake views. Our son and daughter-in-law come when they can and we all enjoy the comfort of the house as well as the amenities of the lake and property.

There are many gems to find and explore from Oswego (to the east) to Rochester (to the west) and the Finger Lakes (to the south) but the gem we enjoy the best is the house at the lake. We consider it to be one of the most beautiful, most pure locations that nature can offer.

We already miss our house and our family at the lake and look forward to returning next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
Pittsburgh, PA
5

a weekend of friendship

  • 5 of 5

I travelled to this wonderful cottage for a weekend with several friends, and cannot express how beautiful it was. The stars over the lake, the sunsets from the back porch, and the orchards were all gorgeous. My friends and I kayaked around the point, taking in the sights and sound of nature and friendship. The indoors were clean and cozy, and we've struck up a friendship with the owners. I recommend exploring the coast of the lake!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Friendly!

  • 5 of 5

Very relaxing and everything was very clean. My children and I had a great time. We plan on coming back in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful family weekend at the Ferry cottage. The house is comfortable - great to have a dishwasher with a large group! The lake and cottage setting was so peaceful. It was fun to swim, hike, kayak and relax. The sunsets were gorgeous. A good time was had by all!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! it was great to have you. We love sharing with families who love the area as much as we do and enjoy our lovely sunsets.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful view!

  • 4 of 5

Great view and the cottage is very cozy! We had a great week. The owner is very helpful and takes care of any concerns and questions immediately. We are planning on returning next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! It was lovely to have you! We love to share our Family cottage with other families who enjoy the area. We are blessed with the nature and beauty of the outdoors in the area. And are happy you enjoyed it. Hope we do see you again soon. Thanks Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Impressed with the location, BUT!!

  • 2 of 5

We were traveling with our parents who are both 70+ and a pet. We rented this house for 4 nights. The first evening was like a much anticipated relaxing vacation. And then, post dinner, all hell broke lose. There was flooding in the kitchen from the sink and the dishwasher. We called the owner the next morning.

Amidst the non-stop apologies from the owner/care takers, it took them 3 days to resolve the issue. We couldn't use the kitchen or the laundry. We had people running in and out of the house all 3 days. We had to use the kitchen next door (also owned by the same owner). We ended up doing a lot of back and forth because the owner couldn't move us due to another booking. There was a very nasty smelling chemical used on one of the days while our pet was still in the house. And we couldn't use the laundry on any of the days.

The owner and care takers were apologetic and tried their best to make us feel better. (The owner even refunded us for 2 nights). But, we were the one's who bore the brunt of the inconvenience.Though it was a lovely location, home and the plumbing issues were probably just a one time freak incident, all the problems we faced doesn't make us want to rent this place again.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am a real home owner and occasionally real issues happen just as in any home. I am very sorry for this unusual situation. Some issues you have little control over. My Plumber (A-Z our of Lyons NY) FOUND THAT GUESTS HAD DUMPED GREASE DOWN THE SINK! We do not know if it was these guests, multiple guests, past guests or a combo. Additionally not only was the problem fixed but Never did the guest loose the ability to cook. And for most of the time the kitchen drain was simply "slow". These guests informed me the sink backed up the morning after the first night of their stay after they had run the dishwasher after cooking. A handyman/plumber was send out immediately. He plunged and cleared the main drain. Water flowed and all seemed well, the dishwasher was run. My cleaning did all their dishes as a kindness. These guests were huge cooks as her parents were visiting from India and vegetarian so they informed me, they did not eat out but preferred cooking large homemade indian meals. Which is fine and they Continued to cook and use the kitchen that evening. At 10pm after using the kitchen all day the guest contacted me to say it had slowed to a very very slow drain again. I sent my handyman out again the following day and my cleaning staff to help clean dishes for the guests and offer our next door cottage for use when fixing and particularly for cooking another large meal. I refunded them for the 2nd nights stay. The issue was fixed for good by the plumber at great expense. IT WAS FOUND THAT EXTENSIVE GREASE HAD BEEN DUMPED DOWN THE DRAIN AND SOLIDLY BLOCKED PIPES. Power snakes and pipe section clean outs showed a major Solid Grease clog. Very expensive 2 plumbing trips. Major plumbing expense and full refunds for a bit more than 2 nights, along with a temporary move next door cottage kitchen so as not inconvenience their extensive cooking. I am proud of the excellent job of handling this situation over which I as homeowner had no control and was created by Guests at some point. Not necessarily these guests but perhaps so it simply impossible to know who put what down when. Either way the issue was fixed as quickly as possible, cleaning on behalf of the guest and access to a full kitchen. No meal they desired to cook went unprepared. We work hard to accommodate our guests. We now have a sign NO GREASE and a glass jar with Grease on the side is under the sink for guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Sodus Bay Heights
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Burnaps fruit farm and Cafe & many in Sodus Pt.
Nearest Beach
Your front yard or sandy public beach-Sodus Point

Sodus Point-Sandy beach, pier, lighthouse, ice cream, food, rent a boat, fishing charter. Sodus Bay - The largest bay on Great Lake Ontario. Beechwood Park next door. Maxwell Creek next door. Chimney Bluffs State Park near by. W/in one hour: Rochester, Syracuse the Finger lakes and much more....Renaissance Festivals, Amusement Parks, Museums. If you have an interest please let us know we love to help!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sodus Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jul 9 2016 - Aug 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,625
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$1,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Fall
Sep 12 2016 - Sep 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,075
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Fall
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
$155
From
$165
Fri,Sat
$950
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall, Winter
Oct 28 2016 - Dec 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
From
$155
Fri,Sat
$900
$1,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$1,050
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

2ND ADDITIONAL COTTAGE RIGHT NEXT DOOR AVAILABLE, CONTACT OWNER.
Summers booking weekly unless week has not rented -See calendar.
We rent our Boats for additional $55 for week $30 weekend. Boats include kayak, 2p kayak, canoe, row, paddle, oars & lifejackets.
Weekend and shorter stays available off season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sodus Bay Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1364 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 toilet 1 sink 1 tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Sleeping Attic room - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Bed (sleeps 2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa(1), Futon in living area(1) Sleeping Loft Sleeps (4)one double,two single.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Particularly suited to large all day family reunions, parties, graduations,weddings etc. We have hosted 80 people here several times. We require renting additional party tent & port-a-potty. Catering can be arranged as well. Contact the owner to discuss large parties, catering etc. We have land and space for cars and more.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties