check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

1916 Bungalow Historic Wilmington & Near Wrightsville Beach

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 31 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 31 nights

Description

Wilmington House Rental Photos and Description

2 queen bedrooms, 1 bath, queen and single foldout, sleeps 7 (3 couples + 1)

This ABSOLUTELY charming bungalow in the historic district of Wilmington was built in 1916, has 9 foot ceilings, and is located right off the popular Wrightsville Avenue amidst older homes constantly being remodeled. It has two bedrooms, each with queen beds, and a single bath, with a queen size sleeper sofa and a large chair with a single size sleeper in it, making it a great place for up to 7 (3 couples + one extra) to sleep.

You are approximately 1 mile from Front Street and the Cape Fear River (that is Downtown Wilmington) and only about 15 minutes from Wrightsville Beach. Across the street is a house used in the TV series One Tree Hill. It is the house Lucas, played by Chad Michael Murray, lives in.

Its walking distance to a wonderful little breakfast and lunch diner, a great park with a play set for kids and a large field for soccer, baseball, football, or playing with your dog. Across from the park is a Port City Java.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Allen Wyke
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Allen Wyke

Wyke Properties, LLC was founded by Allen Wyke.

Allen Wyke purchased this house in 2002

Why Allen Wyke chose Coastal North Carolina

As a child, Allen use to visit family and vacation in Wilmington, so he has always had a strong attraction and sense of belonging to the area. In 2002, when he bought the home, he was looking to find a place that needed some work, but would ultimately offer a destination...a home for friends, family and vacation renters to enjoy. The home is located on a unique one way street in its neighborhood, which was attractive, and there were numerous homes being remodeled. Fast forward to today, and nearly all of the homes on our street have been remodeled, a new Neighborhood Association has been formed, and we couldn't be more happy to not only provide the location for rental, but he also love to go himself with family and friends.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(109 traveler reviews)

1916 Bungalow Historic Wilmington & Near Wrightsville Beach
average rating of 4.8715596 based on 109 reviews
winston-salem, nc, usa
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

The house was so beautiful! The pictures do not do it justice, it is much bigger than I had thought, we had 7 people and fit very comfortably in the home. We would have loved to stay longer, had a wonderful time and hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! You are correct, in that its hard to get pictures that show the detail in the home and the spaciousness of it. When we had the recent remodel performed, we actually hired carpenters to do the work, so all of the molding in the home (except the crown) is hand cut and routed...even the shoe molding! And by removing the wall between the living room and dining room, coupled with removing the original ceilings and having them leveled and re-sheet rocked, their 9' height really opens up the entire home. And come back any time, we would love to have you stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
47 2
5

Amazing stay on Wrightsville Avenue

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Allen for letting us postpone our trip due to the hurricane. We spent a wonderful weekend in Wilmington. I can't decide which I enjoyed more walking the neighborhood and speaking to all the neighbors or touring downtown and eating at some amazing restaurants. We did enjoy our stay and would love to visit again in the spring.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wilmington-o-fun

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in this house and in Wilmington. The owner was super responsive any time we had any questions, and was very flexible in letting us stay an extra day at last minute.

Most things are very walkable but worst case an Uber to down town was less than $5. Lots of good restaurants and bars in the area. We particularly liked Elijah's, The Greek, and Fat Tony's pizza for food. Bar wise, check out Blue Post Billiards. It looks like a shady place but has a cool arcade inside. Slainte is a hole in the wall Irish pub we really enjoyed. Reel Cafe was also ok, but it was mostly interesting because of how it emphasized all of movies and shows filmed in Wilmington. There is also a hidden speakeasy down the alley next to Front Street Brewing called The Blind Elephant. It is a prohibition themed bar, but be warned, we were turned away due to my boyfriends camo shorts, so dress appropriately.

If you get the chance, walk the river walk, take the ferry to Southport, and see all the beaches you can. Great town to visit and this house made the trip perfect. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute Wilmington Bungalow

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a wonderful trip! The house is in a cute, walkable neighborhood and has a perfect outdoor table for warm fall days. Everything was clean and organized. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable and well located

  • 4 of 5

This is a comfortable, spacious bungalow in a residential neighborhood on a quiet street a very short drive (or a half-hour walk) to downtown. Our only complaint was that the place was minimally provisioned - no linens or towels (they can be rented from a local service, which worked smoothly), a lone dish towel, no dishwasher detergent, or even an extra roll of toilet paper to be found. But the house itself was clean, comfortable, and quite pleasant. Just stop at the grocery store on the way in...

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I did want to address part of your comments though, for the benefit of others. Regarding the provision, as we clearly state in the listing and the emails we send out, we do not provide linen service. We actually made that decision several years ago, because the cost to rent linens is cheaper than the increased cost of paying a cleaning service to launder them. Or, a renter can bring their own if they wish, which will reduce their overall cost for their trip. We have tried to be mindful of cost and trying to keep fees as low as possible; since 2007 we have never increased our cleaning fee as a result, which is something we are proud of being able to do. And as for the other items, again, we are unable to guess what a given family may need, but we do, as no additional cost to the renter, provide Toiletry Starter Kit (shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, toilet paper), Condiment Packets (ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, salt, pepper, sugar, Sweet'N Low, Equal, creamer), and a Cleaning Starter Kit (laundry detergent, dish soap, paper towels) all to try and help your arrival. For sanitary reasons, and after nearly a decade of renting, we have found this model works best for the majority of people who do stay with us. Hope that helps provide some additional details and confirmation! Thanks again, and we do hope you will come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this warm and charming home . Everything was neat and clean.Our dog loved it too! Hope to come back again! The owner was very helpful.He was readily available by text. He left a book with instructions in the home as well. We enjoyed downtown Wilmington and the restaurants . Fun to see the exhibits on Park Day.Very friendly community.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

3 blocks from large pet and kid friendly park, Port City Java, wonderful 'greasy spoon' diner (open for breakfast and lunch), as well as veteran cemetery. 10 - 15 minute walk to Cape Fear river in heart of historic Wilmington. 15 minutes by car to Wrightsville Beach.

Rates & Availability

Wilmington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off Peak
Nov 5 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
Winter Getaway
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$105
From
$110
Fri,Sat
$700
$1,700
 
 
Transitional (Spring)
Mar 1 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$995
 
 
Peak
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,095
 
 
Transitional (Late Summer)
Sep 3 2017 - Nov 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$995
 
 
Off Peak
Nov 4 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
Off Peak (January)
Jan 1 2018 - Jan 31 2018
31 night minimum stay
$1,700
Flat fee
 
 
Off Peak (February)
Feb 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
28 night minimum stay
$1,650
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$175
From
$185
Fri,Sat
$1,095
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $65 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $75
Tax Rate 13.0%

For periods of time other than 1 week, please inquire and submit the dates range you are interested. Please note local zoning does require a minimum stay, which we have no control over. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Monthly rentals require 50% payment up front. Non-month cancellations that occur less than 1 week before your stay will be billed 1 night. Monthly cancellations that occur less than 2 weeks before your stay will be billed 1 week. DOGS MUST HAVE CURRENT FLEA AND TICK PREVENTION.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wilmington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master - 1 queen
    Second Bedroom - 1 queen
    Living Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleep sofa and single sleep chair
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Although it is listed elsewhere, we wanted to stress the Minimum Age Limit for Renters is 25 and that all linens are provided for a fee (bed sheets and bath towels), or you are welcome to bring your own.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties