check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

1916 Bungalow Historic Wilmington & Near Wrightsville Beach

106 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 31 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
1 - 31 nights


Wilmington House Rental Photos and Description

2 queen bedrooms, 1 bath, queen and single foldout, sleeps 7 (3 couples + 1)

This ABSOLUTELY charming bungalow in the historic district of Wilmington was built in 1916, has 9 foot ceilings, and is located right off the popular Wrightsville Avenue amidst older homes constantly being remodeled. It has two bedrooms, each with queen beds, and a single bath, with a queen size sleeper sofa and a large chair with a single size sleeper in it, making it a great place for up to 7 (3 couples + one extra) to sleep.

You are approximately 1 mile from Front Street and the Cape Fear River (that is Downtown Wilmington) and only about 15 minutes from Wrightsville Beach. Across the street is a house used in the TV series One Tree Hill. It is the house Lucas, played by Chad Michael Murray, lives in.

Its walking distance to a wonderful little breakfast and lunch diner, a great park with a play set for kids and a large field for soccer, baseball, football, or playing with your dog. Across from the park is a Port City Java.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Allen Wyke
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Allen Wyke

Wyke Properties, LLC was founded by Allen Wyke.

Allen Wyke purchased this house in 2002

Why Allen Wyke chose Coastal North Carolina

As a child, Allen use to visit family and vacation in Wilmington, so he has always had a strong attraction and sense of belonging to the area. In 2002, when he bought the home, he was looking to find a place that needed some work, but would ultimately offer a destination...a home for friends, family and vacation renters to enjoy. The home is located on a unique one way street in its neighborhood, which was attractive, and there were numerous homes being remodeled. Fast forward to today, and nearly all of the homes on our street have been remodeled, a new Neighborhood Association has been formed, and we couldn't be more happy to not only provide the location for rental, but he also love to go himself with family and friends.


based on 106 traveler reviews

1916 Bungalow Historic Wilmington & Near Wrightsville Beach
average rating of 4.8679247 based on 106 reviews
winston-salem, nc, usa

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

The house was so beautiful! The pictures do not do it justice, it is much bigger than I had thought, we had 7 people and fit very comfortably in the home. We would have loved to stay longer, had a wonderful time and hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! You are correct, in that its hard to get pictures that show the detail in the home and the spaciousness of it. When we had the recent remodel performed, we actually hired carpenters to do the work, so all of the molding in the home (except the crown) is hand cut and routed...even the shoe molding! And by removing the wall between the living room and dining room, coupled with removing the original ceilings and having them leveled and re-sheet rocked, their 9' height really opens up the entire home. And come back any time, we would love to have you stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
47 2

Comfortable and well located

  • 4 of 5

This is a comfortable, spacious bungalow in a residential neighborhood on a quiet street a very short drive (or a half-hour walk) to downtown. Our only complaint was that the place was minimally provisioned - no linens or towels (they can be rented from a local service, which worked smoothly), a lone dish towel, no dishwasher detergent, or even an extra roll of toilet paper to be found. But the house itself was clean, comfortable, and quite pleasant. Just stop at the grocery store on the way in...

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I did want to address part of your comments though, for the benefit of others. Regarding the provision, as we clearly state in the listing and the emails we send out, we do not provide linen service. We actually made that decision several years ago, because the cost to rent linens is cheaper than the increased cost of paying a cleaning service to launder them. Or, a renter can bring their own if they wish, which will reduce their overall cost for their trip. We have tried to be mindful of cost and trying to keep fees as low as possible; since 2007 we have never increased our cleaning fee as a result, which is something we are proud of being able to do. And as for the other items, again, we are unable to guess what a given family may need, but we do, as no additional cost to the renter, provide Toiletry Starter Kit (shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, toilet paper), Condiment Packets (ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, salt, pepper, sugar, Sweet'N Low, Equal, creamer), and a Cleaning Starter Kit (laundry detergent, dish soap, paper towels) all to try and help your arrival. For sanitary reasons, and after nearly a decade of renting, we have found this model works best for the majority of people who do stay with us. Hope that helps provide some additional details and confirmation! Thanks again, and we do hope you will come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this warm and charming home . Everything was neat and clean.Our dog loved it too! Hope to come back again! The owner was very helpful.He was readily available by text. He left a book with instructions in the home as well. We enjoyed downtown Wilmington and the restaurants . Fun to see the exhibits on Park Day.Very friendly community.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful and well appointed. Much larger than it looks in the pictures. We were not in town for long, just a weekend for my father's memorial service so we didn't get a change for much exploring. No problems at all parking. The only suggestion that I have is that it may be time to consider replacing the fold out easy chair (twin size fold out). Not comfortable at all. Aside from that it was pretty perfect! I would love to rent it again and would most certainly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house is awesome. We very much enjoyed our sta

  • 5 of 5

Very good. Especially with dogs who loved the yard.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming & Practical

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and our two dogs stayed here last week, and I can't say enough nice things about this house and about Wilmington. The house was charming and nicely decorated. The solid furniture was very comfortable for us people and worked very well with our blind dog, who was able to figure out the straightforward layout of the home pretty quickly, and the fenced yard was a bonus, as anyone with dogs will appreciate. There was a nice neighborhood park with a lot of grass just a few blocks away that we went to at least twice a day with the dogs to allow the non-blind dog to chase a few tennis balls. The neighbors were all super friendly. I even borrowed a can opener from one of them when the one in the house wasn't working properly. (Allen -- I donated a new can opener.) We had never been to Wilmington before and we really enjoyed getting to know the various neighborhoods, visiting Airlie Gardens (twice!), riding our bikes, touring historic houses, sitting outside along the River Walk for afternoon drinks, and meeting up with nearby relatives. We will definitely be back. The house was quite well equipped, but remember to rent linens if you don't bring your own. I rented and the linen service worked out just fine. The one thing lacking was a big pot for cooking things like pasta or chili, so Allen, I recommend adding a big pot to the cookware collection!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

3 blocks from large pet and kid friendly park, Port City Java, wonderful 'greasy spoon' diner (open for breakfast and lunch), as well as veteran cemetery. 10 - 15 minute walk to Cape Fear river in heart of historic Wilmington. 15 minutes by car to Wrightsville Beach.


Rates & Availability

Wilmington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Transitional (Late Summer)
Sep 3 2016 - Nov 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
Off Peak
Nov 5 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Winter Getaway
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Transitional (Spring)
Mar 1 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Transitional (Late Summer)
Sep 3 2017 - Nov 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Off Peak
Nov 4 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Off Peak (January)
Jan 1 2018 - Jan 31 2018
31 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Off Peak (February)
Feb 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
28 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $65 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $75
Tax Rate 13.0%

For periods of time other than 1 week, please inquire and submit the dates range you are interested. Please note local zoning does require a minimum stay, which we have no control over. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Monthly rentals require 50% payment up front. Non-month cancellations that occur less than 1 week before your stay will be billed 1 night. Monthly cancellations that occur less than 2 weeks before your stay will be billed 1 week. DOGS MUST HAVE CURRENT FLEA AND TICK PREVENTION.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Wilmington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master - 1 queen
    Second Bedroom - 1 queen
    Living Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleep sofa and single sleep chair
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Although it is listed elsewhere, we wanted to stress the Minimum Age Limit for Renters is 25 and that all linens are provided for a fee (bed sheets and bath towels), or you are welcome to bring your own.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers