check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kathe

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Weekend Retreat - Lovely Home

14 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Avalon House Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom Home + 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Experience why we love our home and our little island paradise of Avalon. Your accommodations are the upper level which is the entryway of our large home. This is a large piece of property. Your rental includes the entire top floor which is the entry level-no stairs. Open kitchen with skylight and large butcher block with seating plus table and chairs The sliding doors from the kitchen open up to a very large deck with a patio table and chairs and a BBQ. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and cookware, micro, coffee pot, toaster and an instant hot water filter. The living room is spacious and surrounded by windows. The sofa has a pullout queen bed.There is a bathroom with a toilet and sink adjacent to the living room. The master bedroom and bath are quite large and there are sliding glass doors that exit to a beautiful deck and an ocean view and patio furniture. Our home will accommodate 4 guests. 2 in the master bedroom which has a king bed and 2 in the living room on a pull out queen size bed.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Kathe (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About Kathe

This a family home and is very quiet. There are also 2 separate studio apartments on the property. Our caretaker lives in one of the units and will be happy to assist you.

Kathe purchased this house in 1956

Why Kathe chose Los Angeles County

The property has been passed down through the generations. The current home was built in 1981. Our family has been coming to the island since 1927 and has been a special place since our grandparents first started coming to the island.

Reviews

4.8
based on 14 traveler reviews

Weekend Retreat - Lovely Home
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
5

The perfect family home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have been happier with this property. Aside from the amazing location to just about anything you would ever want to do, it was absolutely darling. Completely stoked with every comfort imaginable and the caretaker, Paula, was the kindest most accommodating person ever. If you're heading to Catalina this house makes the perfect home away from home. We will be back!!! Loved it!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
California
5

Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful experience we had on Catalina Island and much of it was due to the hospitality and kindness of the owner. We were here for a bachelor party (no not the wild kind!) and it was the perfect blend of comfort, relaxation, and activity. The home is spacious, beautiful and perfect if you are looking for a relaxing retreat with all of the amenities you could ask for. This is a top-notch place to stay and we plan on coming back! Many thanks to Kathe, the owner, for being so wonderful and available when needed.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests were ideal and met our criteria. Very communicative and we made sure our home met their expectations. At no time were we concerned about renting to this group as they were up front that this was a celebration and respected our home. When they departed, the house was left as they found it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sebastopol, CA
5

Great Catalina Home

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay in this spacious, comfortable house. It is well equiped, especially the kitchen! It also has a nice deck with a great BBQ, tables and chairs. Beach paraphernalia is also provided: towels, chairs, etc. The comfort of the beds and living room furniture is also a plus. We are looking forward to staying here again and would certainly recommend it to friends. Barb Coltrin and Bettie Shepard

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our home as comfortable as we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elk, CA
5

Comfortable, Peaceful Island Home

  • 5 of 5

Santa Catalina has been our annual vacation spot for years, and this well-maintained and comfortable home is our favorite retreat when on the island. Conveniently located on a quiet hill-side street, this house honors the history and traditions of Catalina with photographs and art of the island and its intriguing past. With all the comforts of home (and then some): sunny decks, outdoor dinning, ocean view, a short walk to the beaches, you will be in want of nothing. Furthermore, Kathe, the owner, is a delight; she is very responsive and helpful with anything from the house to things to do on the island.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We so pleased that you found our home a very pleasant place to stay. We strive to make our guests visit a truly positive experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Clemente
5

wonderful vacation experience!!

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleasantly surprised with how nice this property was. The proximity to the water front was very close by as well as to all of the towns restaurants and activities. The house was stocked almost as well as our home. We will most definitely come back. The owners were also very nice to deal with.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Nicole. We loved having you as guests and are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Very Dirty - So disappointed!

  • 2 of 5

We arrived before the cleaning man had completed but stayed out of his way on the patio. I'm not sure if he cut his time short because we were waiting to get in, but I observed that he did not even mop the kitchen/dining floor - he just swept (at) it a bit......the bathroom floors were filthy and there was dust in ALL of the bathroom rugs. The bathmats had NOT been washed and they were in dispictible condition. There were old (very used and cracked) soaps in the showers and dirty sponges as well.....

There was a mildew odor to the downstairs bedrooms and we had to keep the windows wide open and purchase special sprays to try and cover these odors. The downstairs tentant smoked outside on his patio all hours of the day and night and the smoke came in through the upstairs master bedroom all night long - we had to shut out the ocean air to save ourselves from the cigarate smoke filling our room.

The upstairs livingroom only had about a 13" inset television whereas the downstair (with the bedrooms mildew odors) had the large TV.....As the upstair livingroom was off the main floor with kitchen/dining room it seemed that the televisions should have been the other way around. Our son had to put a diningroom chair in front of the TV to watch the golf game....he said he couldn't see it well from other areas and we all agreed - trying to follow a golf ball in the air on TV is difficult enough without trying to follow it on a 13" (inset) TV!

I would not rent this house again. I'm hoping that they shook out the bathroom rugs if not washed them before the next rental. Perhaps they don't do the laundry but every other week for this home - but we were NOT impressed - very, very dirty!

We rented this particular house based not only on the sleeping accommodations but also because it said there was a deck with an ocean view. Unfortunately, when we received the key (the week prior to our stay) we were told that they had a problem with the railing on that deck and we would not be able to use it during our stay. Very disappointing because we would have loved the view.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was much chagrined reading your review regarding the experience you had staying at our home. As we stay at the house as much as guests do, we try very hard to make it as comfortable for guests as we do for our family. I was at the island when I received your review and found the house to be in satisfactory condition. Cleanliness has never been an issue, however, I immediately contacted our housekeeper, who we have had for the past 7 years. I shared with them your experience, and the only misstep we could conclude was perhaps the turnaround time of departure of the previous tenants and your arrival, did not leave enough time to complete cleaning the house as we would hope for you. We apologize sincerely. I also contacted the tenants that were there both before and after your stay. As cleanliness has never been an issue, I was extremely concerned. Cleanliness and comfort are our two most important objectives for our home and anyone that stays there. Both tenants found the house to be in the condition we strive to maintain. Please know that I did address your complaints with the housekeepers. I shared your review with our tenant. He is aware that there is absolutely no smoking allowed on the premises. I was not aware that he was smoking or I would have resolved this issue immediately. He has been put on notice that he must discontinue smoking on the premises or move from them. Regarding the railing, I received a call from our housekeepers when the damage to the rail occurred. It happened just before you were scheduled to stay. We were not able to schedule repairs before your arrival, nor did we want to burden you with the mess and confusion of repairs. We were gravely concerned with safety and liability, and decided the most prudent action would be to close that portion of the deck. You were notified with your rental instructions. We have scheduled our handyman to repair the damage after the summer season. I understand it was disappointing. We love that little area, particularly for morning coffee, but we do have lovely views elsewhere on the premises particularly from the upstairs living room. It is stated in the house instructions to please contact me if there are any problems. I am easily accessible by email, phone or cell phone, and I would have done anything possible to make your stay up to expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: not necessary

Catalina Island Museum is now open. Go to www.catalinamuseum.org for information on upcoming events.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Avalon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
FALL RATE
Sep 12 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
WINTER RATE-Upstairs Only
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
THANKSGIVING
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$2,400
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$600
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $200

This is a NON SMOKING home.
Pets are not permitted under any conditions.
We will not rent to vacationing students or singles under 25 years of age unless accompanied by an adult guardian or parent. Children and their ages (no children under 10) are counted in the total occupancy. Undisclosed guests and/or over-occupancy are considered serious violations of your lease and may result in a charge against your security deposit and/or the immediate termination of occupancy without refund.
A maximum of 4 people stay at the house.
All debris, rubbish and discards are placed in trashcans, and soiled dishes are placed in the dishwasher..
No linens including beach towels are lost or damaged.
No food left in the refrigerator
No loud or unreasonable noise may continue outside as stated in the City of Avalon ordinance requires that all loud or unreasonable noise cease between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. in such a manner as to be plainly audible at a distance of fifty (50') feet from the location.
We reserve the right to refund rents, refuse rental, or terminate occupancy if, in our sole discretion, the occupancy may be or is detrimental to the property. NO REFUND will be given if occupancy is terminated as a result of violation of our rental regulations or if the reservation was obtained under false pretenses.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Avalon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet
  • 1 and a half bath upstairs, 1 bath downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Upstairs includes: Large open living room with fireplace, stereo, WiFi & cable TV with Blue Ray DVD player and convertible sofa Spacious master bedroom with king size bed, large master bath, cable TV with DVD player and deck with ocean view. Large master bath with shower Plus 1/2 bath Full kitchen and utility room with washer/dryer, utility sink Large deck with patio furniture and gas bbq
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We are only 1/2 block to the beach and from street. Avalon is only 1 square mile and most people walk. We have 2 bicycles available for your use and there is also golf rental shops if you wish to rent. There is a trolley that makes several stops around the island. There is also a taxicab service available. Other Things to Note As with the rest of California, the island is experiencing serious drought conditions. Our island water source is rain fed resevoirs. We have just been notified that the island is in Stage 3 of water conservation. This means that everyone on the island must cut their water consumption by 25%. We have low flow showerheads, aerators our faucets, salt water toilets, and a water saving front load washing machine. Please use water wisely and remember to run the dishwasher and washing machine only when you have a full load. Information is posted on the bulletin board in the utility room. Please use water wisely. We appreciate your cooperation.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties