Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing Lake Views/100ft Private Beach/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets/Seneca West Side

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Queen size sofa bed, 1 Full ModernBath & Kitchen - Sleeps 6

Relax in this beautifully decorated lake front cottage on Seneca Lake's west side. Unlike most Seneca Lake rentals, you will have 100 Feet of private, level lake frontage, sitting on almost an acre of land at the end of a private drive. Looking out at the lake from the back deck you will notice that you are at the widest point of Seneca Lake. The cottage is only minutes from most of the region’s premier wineries and a few blocks from the Seneca/Keuka Outlet Trail. You are also a short drive from the towns of Penn Yan, Watkins Glen, Geneva, Hammondsport and Seneca Falls. This cottage is immaculately clean - sleeps 6, and includes a lakeside hot tub, a dock, and 100 ft of level lake frontage. The kitchen and bathroom are meticulously maintained and the entire cottage was completely redecorated just a few years ago (new paint, decor etc.). The cottage is pet friendly and serves as either the perfect romantic honeymoon getaway or family lake vacation. We also do weddings. We are the highest rated accommodation in this area and have earned the Awarded for Excellence every year.

Romantic Destination Weddings: We do creative custom destination weddings, combining our cottage with our country inn, The Savannah House Inn and with a local winery. We still have openings for reservations for weddings in 2010. Plan a reasonable getaway wedding in the heart of the Wine Trail, on the water and at a local winery. Very unique - very cool. Your guests will be talking about it for years.

More Details

Owner
Pat Hoke
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017

About Pat Hoke

I'm married with two children (a girl and a boy) and I work with a small technology company in Fairfax County VA. I'm also a partner in a family run inn that sits just 7 miles south of our cottage, overlooking Seneca Lake. I grew up in northern Virginia, outside Washington, DC, and graduated from George Mason University. My family has had a cottage on Seneca since 1930 (my grandparents), and our whole family has a great attachment to the lake. Since I was a child, it was a dream of mine to one day have a place for my own family on Seneca Lake. In 2007 we made that dream a reality, and now we would love to share this beautiful spot with you!

Pat Hoke purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Pat Hoke chose Seneca Lake

I love Seneca Lake and I wanted to have my own cottage, just as others in my family do. This area happens to be one of the most choice locations on the whole lake. It has easy access all year, an awesome view of the lake, lots of privacy, and plenty of land to add on in the future. It's also one of the most convenient locations to the wineries and to shopping.

What makes this cottage unique

This cottage sits in such a unique setting, with around 100ft of private, grassy, level lake frontage. It's also very private, with only one distant neighbor. The cottage sits on the widest part of Seneca Lake and because it faces north east, you have an extremely expansive view of the lake.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The cottage was perfect for our Thanksgiving getaway. As newcomers to the area, we had no accomodations suitable for entertaining our out-of-town guests, the parents! The cottage was cozy and quiet but clean and well appointed. The kitchen was spacious and the veiws are awesome. Thanks to Pat for getting our TV glitch sorted out right away; I couldn't imagine a Thanksgiving without football!

Anyone looking for a getaway anytime of the year should look into that cottage. Cheers!
Nov 2009
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Dresden Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom is very clean and modernized.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The entire cottage has been recently renovated giving each living area it's own unique tone and feel all to coincide with the overall cozy 'cottage-like' atmosphere. Enjoy warm and inviting colors all tied in with the restored wood floors throughout. The cottage has AC available with ceiling fans in every room. Feel like getting some fresh air or relaxing with a glass of local wine? Enjoy the lake-side hot tub for hours of peace and relaxation.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing Lake Views/100ft Private Beach/Hot Tub/Wine Trail/Pets/Seneca West Side
average rating of 4.482143 based on 57 reviews
5

Great location on the water

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time and the owners were great to work with. The particular spot on the water is a slightly protected area with a no wake zone which made it great for paddling around on kayaks all week. This alone would make us choose this spot again. It's 10 minutes from Penn Yan for groceries and a lovely walkable town. The only setbacks were minor... the grill is starting to show some wear and tear (easily solved if you have a camping grill or with a hot dog toast over the fire pit). The bedrooms are right and warm with the doors closed, so if you are travelling with folks where you want tons of privacy, take that into consideration.... for my husband and I it was perfect. I saw a review about the noise next door, but those must have been the lightest sleepers in America because it never bothered us. The kitchen was well stocked, towels and linens clean, and views...perfect!!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Meredith we appreciate your wonderful comments. You took very good care of the cottage and we enjoyed visiting with you a bit. You seemed to be enjoying your stay and it's nice to get your feedback. We will take care of the grill:) Thank you for staying with us and please come again. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Bedrooms were tiny but functional. The view was nice and the water was very clear.

  • 3 of 5

Overall I would recommend this place again however just keep in mind the 1 bathroom and small bedrooms. The internet was so slow it wasn't really usable.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Adam, thank you very much for the review. I'm sorry to hear about the internet! Just as an FYI, we just got it fixed today. Just recently, Time Warner up in the Finger Lakes became Spectrum. I called the new customer service number and explained the internet problem and they told me that because of the switch, I would need to swap out the old modem for a new one (this was the first I had ever heard of this). So, we did that and put the new modem in place. Again, I'm sorry that we weren't able to fix that during or before your stay. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope you will consider us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not that good

  • 2 of 5

I'm not sure if I stayed in the same cottage at the other reviewers because my stay was not 5-stars. I can only assume that no one had stayed in this cottage for months. I couldn't imagine paying for this place in the summer. When we arrived, there were several dead bugs on the kitchen floor and a couple stink bugs in the living room. There were spider webs in the kitchen sink and in the bathroom. The bathroom spider was also alive and seemed to be doing well. There were years' worth of crumbs between the cabinets and the refrigerator and a water stain on the kitchen floor. The beds felt old and had a slight funk. The whole place had a stale odor that made me question how good it had been cleaned. Overall, it seemed like no one has paid any attention to this place in years.

The outdoor areas were not well kept. The spider webs were plentiful. The deck and railings appeared to be splintering. Based on the the lack of cleanliness and upkeep, we chose not use the hot tub.

In terms of location, it is not as nice as the pictures show. Look at the location on satellite view to understand. Next door is a working dock with barges and 24/hr security lights. A little bit south is a power plant and other industrial. Dresden didn't have much to offer, but it was centrally located on Seneca Lake.

The only saving graces for this cottage were the lake views and that we only stayed 2 nights.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate our guests providing details of their experiences at our cottage, If there are issues, we are able to make corrections and fix the problems. When we read this review, we also didn't recognize the cottage, as it has maintained a 5-star rating for 10 years. Our family has other cottages and a motel which all maintain 5-star reviews every year. The most common positive is cleanliness - so we were surprised to see guest's comments. It would appear that guest was highly disappointed from the outset. Given that, we are at a loss as to why guest never contacted us right away so we could help them. The manager is only 8 minutes away and is available 7 days a week. Also - guest waited 3 weeks to do this review. If guest was as concerned as they say, we don't understand taking so long. Not having been contacted by guest, we were unable to actually see the things they describe, so it's difficult to respond. Not sure where "Years of crumbs" comes from, but the space between the cabinet and the refrigerator is less than 1 inch. The cottage had been unoccupied for 2 weeks prior to guest's arrival, and being late spring, it is natural for bugs to emerge. This is a major farming area with 1,000's of acres of vineyards. They attract bugs. We take responsibility for not going to the cottage just before guest's arrival and taking care of any bugs. We have no idea what odor they are referring to. There is a small marina about a 1,000' to the north, that is used by crews maintaining a test platform in the middle of the lake. With all the trees on that side of the cottage, the marina is effectively blocked from view. There is a power plant about 1 mile to the south. Any view of it is blocked by many trees and distance. There is no noise or disturbance from either. Dresden is one of a few lakeside villages in the Finger Lakes, and is only 5 minutes from nearest town, in the center of the Wine Trail, and the cottage is a short walk from the 6-mile hiking trail between Seneca and Keuka Lakes. The cottage is a rarety - an acre of land on the water. Very private and peaceful. We continually make repairs and upgrades every year. This is the most popular of our cottages. Guests love it, as evidenced by their reviews over a long time. We are sorry this guest was disappointed, but we could have helped them in short order if they had contacted us while they were there, especially if they were as distressed as they say.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

This was the perfect cottage for a getaway at the Finger Lakes

  • 5 of 5

Everything about our stay was great. The cottage is clean and quaint. The cottage is in a perfect location to easily access the wineries, Watkins Glen, and surrounding towns. The lake view is amazing, especially from the hot tub. Will definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brooke your comments are amazing and very much appreciated. As always we will pass this along to the housekeeper who prepared the cottage for your stay. We thank you for your review and for taking such good care of the cottage. We hope to see you again. Pat and Brenda.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
4

Quaint and quiet

  • 4 of 5

Quiet and peaceful on the water. Enjoyed watching the ducks and geese everyday. Clean and tidy when we arrived. They were so helpful when I lost a pair of earrings and returned them to very quickly. Thank you so much! Only complaint is I have yet to see my refund for the damage deposit.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your review Ariel. FYI - you paid HomeAway directly, and they will return your security deposit in full. We have no control when that happens, but it's normally a week or so after you depart. We would be happy to have you stay with us again. Regards, Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

You'll love everything about this place.

  • 5 of 5

Only minutes away from Geneva and Pen Yan. One of the best views in town. Cozy, homey, cute and well equipped place. The hot tub facing the lake and the deck was the highlight of our stay. Will go back.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Hesam. wonderful comprehensive comment. Enjoyed having you and dealing with you. Please do come again. Pat and Brenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Car: necessary

Enjoy all that the Finger Lakes region of Upstate New York has to offer. You are only minutes from the regions premier wineries and in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine trail. Enjoy local geologic wonders such as Watkins Glen or Glenora falls, or explore the many nearby towns such as Penn Yan, Geneva, Seneca Falls, Hammonds Port or Canandaigua. If you enjoy hiking or mountain biking, the cottage is walking distance from the scenic Keuka Lake outlet trail that connects Keuka Lake with Senca Lake, and follows the historic canal that once served these two lakes. Feel like exploring other lakes besides Seneca? Within one day you can visit almost all of the region's lakes from this location.

For more photos, go to http://www.savannahhousevacation.com/CottagesANDCabins.html

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dresden Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$339
Fri,Sat
 
 
Late Fall 2017
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$199
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Wine Travel Card $0
Cleaning $75 + Tax
All linens and towels $0
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 4.0%

$25/day or $150/week for pets, with permission. We accept all credit cards.
We are rated highest in this area for accommodations on Trip Advisor - and Trip Advisor Award for Excellence every year. Cancellation after 1 month prior to arrival date is nonrefundable for any reason. Fee is $50 to cancel up to cancellation date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties