check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Houdini Estate - Historical 5-Acre Private Estate in Hollywood Hills

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights


Hollywood Hills Estate Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms, sleeps 8 to 14 with couches and rollaway beds.

The 12 million-dollar former home of legendary magician Harry Houdini, the historic Houdini Estate, is a masterpiece of intricate craftsmanship and design. Located in the Hollywood Hills minutes from Sunset Blvd., Beverly Hills, and Universal City, the five-acre property is the most famous estate in America still in private hands.

Highlights include a dramatic, three-story waterfall fed by a natural mineral spring, century-old palms and exotic trees, canyon views, one hour of hiking trails, pool, spa, BBQ patio, 7 gazebos, terraced gardens, koi pond, and parking for 80+ cars.

The house features an open-plan kitchen, 3 large bedrooms, 4 granite bathrooms, 3 fireplaces, washer/dryer, wireless Internet availability, and flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Available for film shoots, still shoots, charity events, romantic get-aways, relaxing vacations, family bonding, and other regenerative life events. Sleeps 8 to 10.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Lori Seyer
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Manager


based on 6 traveler reviews

Houdini Estate - Historical 5-Acre Private Estate in Hollywood Hills
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
Los Angeles, CA

This place will be on the top of the list for many people very soon.

  • 5 of 5

we got the place for our wedding and were shocked we could find a place like this unique and magical. multiple layers on the property for different parts of the night. terraced garden / cabana and pool area / living quarters for late night dancing / hidden nooks for friends and couples to escape in. it's all fairly priced given there was a 3-night minimum. but the 3-night minimum is perfect if you plan to go late into the night, especially past the 2 AM LA cut-off. also, if you're doing the setup a day before, it's nice to have the whole day beforehand to get everything where it needs to be and just wake up and get ready for your day.

Our friends uber'ed there and we made it the most memorable night of our life.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Houdini Estate's Stood Up to Their Reviews.

  • 5 of 5

Houdini Estate's stood up to their reviews.

Lori the caretaker was very friendly and super accommdating.

Lori, the well manicured grounds and the kitchen are the reasons for 5 stars.

The place is very well kept, not the best venue for parking, yet Lori came to the rescue.

I simply loved the grounds and would recommend it for some types of event not all types as long as the weather is nice.

They have a very nice restroom near the grounds and two more inside the house.

The Mansion burned down in 1959.

I would strongly suggest you do a walk through before booking it for your event.

It would be good to take the caterer along on the walk through.

It was a peaceful Vibe and the grounds once decorated were lovely.

They have a lot of interesting things to see on the grounds and take pictures of.

Fact: you must take the trash with you and and purchase insurance in order to have an event there. There are lots of stairs to walk down to the main grounds.

SERVERS have to park down the way on the other side of the street and CROSS LAUREL CANYON(wow scary)

Other than that it was a beautiful event!

Clean up is very high maintenance.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to host your party.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Hills, CA

We will cherish this day and our time at the Houdini forever!!!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter wanted a fantasy wedding and we looked at numerous location around L.A. before coming to the Houdini, it was just perfect!

From our first meeting with Lori, to our last e-mail with her, it has just been perfection. Not just the amazing location, but Lori and her amazing staff, and her recommendations for services, made this a perfect day for our daughter and our new son in law.

One of the things we loved about this venue is that in photo's, you could be placed in Italy or Spain. It is truly a magical location!

We will cherish this day and our time at the Houdini forever!!!

Thank you Lori!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport Beach, CA

We looked at 72 venues in Southern California. Seventy two! I have the spreadsheet.

  • 5 of 5

I started googling "estate weddings" and ran across VRBO and Homeaway. I emailed and called all the mansion venues in SoCal and started making appointments to view the places.

There was a place called the Houdini Estate. I first saw their website and thought it was nice. When I went and actually saw the place, I fell in love.

It was so unique, romantic, and intimate. Jose, the owner, has built so much character into the estate. There is a huge parking space on the ground floor that would fit enough for a wedding. Then the guests would walk to the foyer of the estate where there is a beautiful fountain. There is a waterfall to the right with huge trees and flowers in the garden. The guests would walk up the stairs to see the lawn to their right where the reception would be. The lawn is big enough for more than 300 guests. The layout is perfect for anyone to decorate it however way they want. I envisioned my ceremony to be on top of the estate where the house is. There is a beautiful arch for a wedding. There are red roses blooming there right now in springtime. I have seen pictures of a wedding where they had the ceremony on the lawn and reception in front of the house but I just thought the lawn would be such great space for dinner and dancing. The patio in the back of the house is perfect for cocktail hour. Guests can also take advantage of the indoor space of the house so it is really fitting for people who want both an indoor and outdoor wedding. There is just so much to do with the estate that you can get very creative.

I truly believe that the Houdini Estate is under-marketed. When I talk to vendors, not a lot of people have heard of it. My photographer told me when I first signed with her that she hadn't heard of it but a couple weeks later, she spread the word to her network and scheduled a style shoot there at the estate. It's one of those places that are not well-known right now but will become big soon. Therefore, the price to rent this estate for the entire weekend for a wedding is half the cost of a similar estate venue in featured in websites like Style Me Pretty and The Knot.

This is a hidden gem that isn't commercialized and that's one of the many reasons why my fiancé and I LOVE IT!!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and unique property

  • 5 of 5

I found the Houdini house to be absolutely amazing! I coordinated a wedding there in November for a unique couple who wanted a non-tradish event and the guests would not stop raving about the property. It truly was the highlight of the event. Since November I have returned to see about booking more events there and each time I come in there are new improvements and amenities. They have a coffee maker and fridge in each room. Swimming pool, jacuzzi and huge TV's in every room that worked fine when we were there. We even did an after party where guests came in and played Guitar Hero and then at 2 am decided to go swimming with the remaining guests. Talk about unique, you will not find another rental so flexible and willing to accommodate.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
15 1

Not ready for renting!

  • 1 of 5

We were quite surprised to arrive and find that there was a lot of renovation going on on the grounds of the property as well as renovation and fixes inside the property.

The heat did not work the first night we were there and it was an extremely cold night.

In addition, the house has significant pest issues (ants and what the owner said were "gophers" in the walls of the house).

There were holes in the walls where in progress wiring work was happening and only one of the four big screen flat panel televisions worked.

The sofa in the main room needed to be replaced as well as the dining table and chairs.

There was just crap everywhere in the pantry and kitchen cabinets and drawers!

I could go on and on. Needless to say, the renter did not disclose any of these things to me prior to agreeing to rent to me. In fact, he specifically misled me.

Please do not waste your money!!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: That was back in November 2007 when we had just acquired the property. We're very sorry for your unfortunate experience. When you visited the Houdini Estate, the property was under complete renovation and a different management. It should not have been rented at that time even at the then very low rate you paid. We changed managers soon after your visit, and Houdini is now again a resplendent jewel! See our most recent reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
30 3


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Los Angeles International
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
33 Miles
Santa Catalina, San Pedro
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Union Station, Los Angeles
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway US 101
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Car: recommended

The Houdini Estate is located in one of the most intriguing areas of Los Angeles, close to many of the area's main attractions such as Sunset Boulevard, Hollywood Blvd, The Chinese Theater, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, West Hollywood, the Kodak Center, the Hollywood Bowl, Griffith Park, and Universal Studios.


Rates & Availability

Hollywood Hills Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Halloween Wknd
Oct 28 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving Day
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 24 2016
1 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Christmas Wknd
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
2 night minimum stay
New Years Wknd
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
ML King Wknd
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
Valentine's Day
Feb 14 2017 - Feb 14 2017
1 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Presidents Day Wknd
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
Easter Wknd
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day Wknd
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
Independence Day
Jul 4 2017 - Jul 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Labor Day Wknd
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Refundable damage deposit $5,000
Cleaning $350
Tax Rate 14.0%

National holiday weekends, Easter and Halloween all cost 66% more.

Any party, event or gathering must be authorized by property manager.

Comfortably sleeps up to eight guests, ten with couches. Please inquire for additional guests.

Long-term rentals available. Event rates available.

Available for charitable events and film or photo shoots.

Event prices range from $5,000 up to 30 people to $16,000 for 400 guests. Please inquire.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hollywood Hills Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Outside
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Four roll-away beds are available by request.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 20 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers