Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

HOT TUB! WIFI, AIR HOCKEY! Big 3-level house!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,110 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, Sleeps 10

This home, Peak Retreat, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.


PLUS! A 4th sleeping area off the side of the downstairs family room!

Easy access into and around the main level of the house for guests with mobility issues.

Peak Retreat is near the top of the mountain. Bring your family and build a memorable vacation.

Walk to the ski lodge and take to the slopes! Walk to skiing, snowboarding & snow tubing and go-karts & mini-golf. Walk to the outdoor pool.

This lovely stone and cedar home is not only near skiing & snowboarding & snow tubing, swimming, golfing... Fareways restaurant, hiking and the scenic Overlook are also nearby.

Lots of windows make this spacious and cozy home light and inviting.

Relax in the screened porch out back, or on the deck. Cookout on the gas grill.

Watch the deer stroll by and browse almost all day long.

A large living/dining room and a cozy welcoming kitchen await you.

The house has a game/recreation room with a foosball table and an extra sleeping area. There are board games for family fun.

This home is next door to our Acorn Lodge home. Just down the street are our Rainier Lodge and Stone Splendor vacation houses.

Around the corner are our Alpine Vista, Blue Ridge Overlook, Grey Rocks Lodge, the Hollow and Shenandoah Sunrise homes! These homes are ideal for family reunions.




Enter the Ground Floor: Cozy and light living room with cable TV & DVD player. Eat-in kitchen. Screened porch is off the kitchen, and the deck is attached to the screened porch. Down the hall, the master bedroom has a King bed, large walk-in closet and full bathroom with a big spa shower.

There is a half bath in the hallway.

Upper Floor: One bedroom has 2 twin beds. The other bedroom has a queen bed. Between both bedrooms is a full bath with jacuzzi tub/shower.

Lower level: Out the back door is the hot tub!

A very large family room with sofas & a massaging chair, foosball table, TV & VCR and gas log fireplace, (Fireplace use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY).

A side section, at the back of the family room, has a futon permanently set up in the upright position, a queen air mattress with electric pump and a full bathroom with a tub/shower.


This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 2110 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Soaps & detergents

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!


1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.


1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 800-644-1355 for more info.


WALK to the outdoor swimming pool, ski lodge, mini-golf, go-karts & more! Less than 5 minutes to 2 golf courses. Less than 10 minutes' drive to the WATER PARK!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017


Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2110 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master Bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • Top floor: One full bathroom with jetted tub and shower. Middle/entry floor: One full bathroom with spa shower. One half bath. Bottom floor: One full bathroom with a shower. Guests must bring bath towels, hand towels & wash cloths and towels for the water park and pool.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 king bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 twin beds- side by side
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen bed
    Family Room - queen futon (permanently fixed upright), queen air mattress
  • Top floor: 2 bedrooms. Middle/entry floor: 1 bedroom. Bottom floor: large open family/game room with sleeping area off to one side. All linens for the beds are provided: mattress pads, sheets, pillows & cases, blankets, quilts or comforters. Guests must bring linens for futons, air mattresses.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Whirlpool
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

HOT TUB! WIFI, AIR HOCKEY! Big 3-level house!
average rating of 3.857143 based on 7 reviews

lovely and charming mountain retreat

  • 4 of 5

This house fit our needs perfectly. It was updated, clean, and close to Massanutten amenities such as mini golf (almost walkable) and Water Park (short drive). We would definitely stay there again! However, there were two small inconsequential issues: the driveway is not paved and it's very slanted. It was difficult to park there. Also, the upper level (where the majority of the bedrooms are) got very hot even when A/C is was on a comfortable setting for main level. But overall, we really liked the house and enjoyed the vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and had a great vacation. The driveway is a half circle, and sandstone gravel. It is slightly sloped from the street level down to the house and garage. There is also parking at the streetside, in front of the property. To get more cool air to the top floor, close some vents in the basement level. To get more warm air to the basement, close some vents on the upper levels. We're here for you! Just call us while you're here and we'll give you tips on how to have things run smoothly for your stay! ☺ Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

House has great bones but...

  • 3 of 5

Booked this home for JMU graduation. Large home with plenty of living space. Driveway is precarious but I guess can't be helped with the size and drastic slope of the lot. My issues with the house; for the price, the great room furnishings are REALLY tired looking, aka old and worn. Also, one 32" TV in great room (very limited cable) and a tube TV in basement. That's it for TVs, none in the bedrooms. Not the standard for today's vacation rental properties. Also, one HVAC for entire home--3 floors--doesn't really insure all will be comfortable. The basement was cold while we were there and no way to warm it up as the gas fireplace was cut off at the end of April. Remember, one of your sleeping areas as well as one full bath is down there so there needs to be flexibility on the gas availability depending on weather. The property was clean when we arrived. Probably would not recommend to a friend based on price point, I think there are properties in the area that offer more value for money.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. In response to the points you made: 1) The driveway is a gentle slope and nowhere near as sttep as many driveways in Massanutten, There is also a parking area right at the street level that will accommodate 2 or 3 cars. 2) The great room furniture is not even 2 years old, very sturdy and firm and it looks almost like new. 3) If you were expecting more TVs, TVs other than what we describe and have pictured in our listing, then we understand your comment. The listing clearly explains and shows the TVs and where in the house they are. The Comcast/Xfinity cable package is the Double Play package, with lots of channels. 4) The basement is cooler than the rest of the house because it is the basement. Heat rises, cool air sinks. Science is fun! To make the basement cooler close some vents on the upper floors. If you have the heat on this will force more heated air to the basement. If you had called our office or maintenance about this, we would have told you the solution since you didn't know it, already. 5) Fireplaces are for guest use October 1st through March 31st. We don't want guests lighting fires and cranking up the air conditioning at the same time. We've had guests do so in the past, with no regard to the home owners' utility bills. We appreciate you pointing out the house was clean. Our housekeepers work very hard to get each home clean for guest arrivals! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

fun ski weekend

  • 4 of 5

We(4adults, one 10 year old, one 8 year old) rented for a ski weekend. The house was neat and clean, the kitchen really fully equipped, and all exactly as described on the VRBO website. There were 4 good surprises, one quirky amenity, and 2 caveats worth noting. The surprises were the easily adjustable hot tub, the simple one switch fireplace, the massage chair that the skiers used apre ski and the kids used like a plastic horse outside Walmart, and the empty 2 car attached garage that made loading and unloading easy. The quirk was the shower in the master bath. The shower had 4 horizontal chest high nozzles (2 front, 2 back) and an overhead sprinkler. It took 2 full minutes for hot water to reach the nozzles and the overhead sprinkler water never got hotter than tepid.

The controls were complicated. The 2 caveats concern the driveway and the distance to the ski lodge. The driveway is short(25 feet?), reaches the garage at an angle, and the slope is maybe 12-15%. The driveway was part gravel, part ice and partly packed snow covered. I had asked about bringing a shovel and some sand in a phone call and was told there was deicer and a shovel in the garage. The shovel was there, not the deicer. Having mentioned this here, I suspect there will be plenty of deicer in the future since the realtor struck me as very reliable. The distance to the ski lodge is a matter of opinion. Walking through the woods, the junk yard, and the parking lot, it's a 10 minute walk going downhill to the ski lodge. Returning uphill, it's probably twice as long. Walking on the roads, it's over a mile to the ski lodge. However, by Massanutten standards, this is close.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed the house! There are many perks and extras to this house. Because our goal is your perfect vacation, we have taken care of the small number of issues you had during your stay. The far end of the semi-circle driveway goes almost straight to the garage, making it convenient for guests to unload their belongings right into the house. Our snow removal teams clear driveways and put de-icer down on the driveways so our guests can easily get in and out. Each house has a snow shovel for guests' convenience, just in case it starts snowing and they want to get out before the snow removal guys get there. The walk, on the road, to the ski lodge is under three-quarters of a mile, paved and safe. We do not suggest to guests to walk through the woods, with ski equipment, snow on the ground, etc. to get to the slopes. Where the junk yard is, is a mystery. We have never seen one in Massanutten and the resort does not know about one. We hope you will come back to stay with us! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice house, Bad rental company

  • 2 of 5

Overall the house is nice. We did not like how close it was to the other homes in the area. Gas fireplace downstairs was great. Beds were comfortable. The hot tub was not warmed up prior to our stay. I alerted the company but it still took over 24 hours to warm up so we were not able to use it at all during our 2 night stay. Since renting a house with a hot tub was our ONLY must have, we were super disappointed by Massanutten vacation's attention to detail. If you want a hot tub that is actually hot, don't rent this house. I would recommend going with another agency as well.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased you liked the house, and sorry you had a problem with the hot tub. As explained to you, if the power goes out, if there is a power surge, it can, and has, set the hot tub to a lower temperature or even turn it off. We are not made aware when the electrical power does this, and we don't have a staff member at our houses 24 hours a day to keep checking everything. Once the power is back on, and the hot tub settings are re-set to where they are supposed to be, the hot tub heats quickly. We are proud of our beautiful Peak Retreat vacation rental house and are proud of how many returning families we have in it. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful weekend stay here with some friends and was very pleased with everything. We had some minor issues when we arrived but one call to maintenance and they were there quickly to fix everything and the rest of the stay was a great time. This house has a very spacious basement with air hockey, a television, and wifi which is great for getting the whole gang together for some fun. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always wonderful to know our guests are happy with our homes. We look forward to having you back, to stay with us. the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Peak Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Very clean. Nice and quiet location. Would definitely recommend this house to others !!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're always pleased to get this type of feedback from our guests. We'll be happy to have you return. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Massanutten Resort is located in the beautiful and historic Shenandoah Valley in North-Western Virginia. Just about a 2 hour drive from Washington DC and Richmond VA, Massanutten is loaded with things to do- golf & mini-golf, horseback riding, a huge indoor water park that is open year-round with the outdoor portion open during summer, go-kart track, summer tubing slopes, skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing and so much more!

Nearby : Skyline Drive, caverns (Luray Caverns is about 45 minutes away!), museums, shopping, antiquing, theaters, colleges & universities and lots more.


Rates & Availability

Massanutten House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
Christmas - New Year's
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
MLK Jr Day weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
Presidents' Day weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Mar 19 2018 - Mar 29 2018
2 night minimum stay
Mar 30 2018 - Apr 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
Apr 2 2018 - May 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
JMU Graduation weekend
May 3 2018 - May 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
Late Spring
May 7 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day weekend
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day weekend
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $100

A $200 down payment is required if you are arriving more than one month after we receive your completed lease, then the balance is due one month prior to your arrival date.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties