check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cindy Houck

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Popular Rainforest Villa for Families with Views of the Ocean & Lots of Wildlife

14 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Manuel Antonio Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 1 Bedroom + Trundle bed in Living Room, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Villa Mot Mot in Tulemar has one bedroom with two Queen size beds. There is also a pull-out trundle style day bed in the living room. There is a kitchen with a large wrap-around deck that looks out onto the ocean and is visited daily by the families of monkeys in the area. The veranda is covered for outside seating and dining and includes a hammock. The villa is located in a private gated property in the rainforest that has a private beach, the only one of its kind in the area.

Wireless Internet, phone for local calls

Full maid service included

Keywords: Villa, rainforest, private, private beach, beach, monkeys, sloth, toucan, retreat, family, honeymoon, romantic, couple

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Cindy Houck (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Cindy Houck

Cindy Houck

Guestbook comments from the manager

My family of 4 just returned from an amazing week in Costa Rica! Our 2nd half of the trip was in Tulemar, in Villa Mot Mot. The service was amazing, from the time we made the reservation to the time we departed. Our personal assistant Chris sent emails on preparing for our vacation, and ideas on things to do. He even sent directions for our drive from Arenal to Manuel Antonio, and gave us a personal tour of Tulemar when we arrived. He set up excursions, made our reservations, and was always available. The grounds and private beach were amazing! Plenty of wildlife, pools, and shuttles to help with the steep hills. Loved everything about our stay- the view, the free kayaks and boogie boards, large Villas, location, service! This was definitely one of the best vacations that we have ever have. We will definitely be back!



This is not a 5 star property, it is a 10 star property.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 14 traveler reviews

Popular Rainforest Villa for Families with Views of the Ocean & Lots of Wildlife
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
Sonoma, CA
5

The best villa in the resort

  • 5 of 5

When we checked in the concierge at the front desk said "Oh! You have the best villa at the resort". We thought, he probably says that to everybody. That was before we opened the front door and stepped inside. It was fully air conditioned and that day it was extremely hot and humid. It was so welcoming. There was even an ice maker! Oh happy day! The owner had thought of everything. The interior inside was so tastefully decorated and colorful. No sooner were we there and 15 minutes later a large family of spider monkeys came to check us out on the balcony. Everyday there were monkeys, always the curious Capuchins, and one morning we were serenaded by the howler monkeys on a tree next to the villa. If you hear noises at night it's the monkeys on the roof. There was an abundance of wildlife at this resort and our concierge Jonathan was extremely friendly and helpful. Always a phone call away if we needed anything. Our 13 year old enjoyed the pools, but mostly the boogey board down at the private beach. We took a zipline tour through Canopy Safari one day in the pouring rain, but it was warm. The next day we headed to Manuel Antonio National Park and took a guided tour. We saw lots of sloths and interesting insects/snakes, but it's a very touristy place on the beach so we decided to go back to Tulemar and use our own private beach. We ate at several restaurants and loved Aqua Azul and if you visit please say hi to Caesar who owns the Wagon Wheel (they make wood fired pizzas there). Everyone in the area is super friendly and we definitely would recommend Villa Mot Mot and Tulemar Resort as a prime destination in Costa Rica.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Holli....thank you so much for the excellent review on Villa Mot Mot....so glad you enjoyed your time with us.....Villa Mot Mot is one of the best and most popular villas in Tulemar.....hope to have you with us again! Tulemar Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA
5

Villa Mot Mot = Monkeys

  • 5 of 5

Tulemar Villas is very near to the other upscale hotels in Manuel Antonio and a short, 5-minute drive to the National Park. Of all the small, octagonal villas in Tulemar, reviews seemed to peg Villa Mot Mot as the best for close-up monkey-viewing, since it's situated higher up on the hill and is even with the top of a forest canopy that serves as a sort of "monkey highway". The first afternoon, a troop of the endangered squirrel monkeys was hanging out for about a half hour in the trees just in front of our deck. The next morning around dawn, a few white-faced capuchin monkeys ran across the roof. At Tulemar's beach, we had a capuchin troop passing through during our second afternoon. On our last morning, only about an hour before we were planning to leave, we got a BIG experience: a troop of capuchins spent 20 minutes romping on our deck and rolling around in the hammock as we sat there beside them in awe.

The interior of Mot Mot seemed either newly updated or simply well maintained. The two queen beds and trundle worked well for mom, dad and our teenaged son. The a/c was needed and great. The pool, fortunately, is only a short hike up the hill from Mot Mot.

The concierge team gets in touch with you and emails a list of activities as soon as you book. You generally deal with the same person via email leading-up to your arrival and the response time to any questions is very quick. In our case, we booked a mangrove swamp boat tour while we were there, with the help of our excellent personal concierge, Al.

There are trails to the beach and if you're feeling lazy, a free shuttle ride to and from. Oh yeah, here's a nice touch: there is a ton of free gear available at the beach to Tulemar guests, including boogie boards and kayaks. There's also a tent set-up to serve snacks, as well as a bar and several nice, umbrella-covered tables under the trees.

Villa Mot Mot was a great way to experience wildlife up close and personal. I wouldn't recommend just sitting around the room, however. Manuel Antonio National Park is right down the road and there is plenty of wildlife there as well. We watched with delight, squirrel monkeys in the trees there, raccoons on the beach and an uber-large crocodile in the river delta. If you're looking for a fun stay in a wildlife rich environment, this is your place.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Pam, Thank you for the wonderful review. It sounds like you were pretty busy enjoying Tulemar with all of its amenities. It definitely is one of a kind property. Lots to do and see and close to everything. Please come back and stay with us again. There is always more to do or just relax at our wonderful beach or pools. Pura Vida, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hillsborough, NJ
5

So perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

We are here right now, staying in Villa Mot Mot. It is heaven. The property is beautiful. The staff is super friendly. Our concierge Al, has been so helpful. Always there to give us a dinner recommendations, a ride to the supermarket, or just there to ensure our excursions are on track. The pools, beach and restaurants have been great for us. 3 kids ages 6,8,10...love it here. Monkeys on our deck and by the pools and beach. We did the Quepos canyoning tour, surf lessons and are going white water rafting tomorrow. Loving Costa Rica!! Mot Mot is perfect for us.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bill, I agree, Mot Mot is heaven. Everyone who stays there says the same thing. It is pretty hard to get a family to go back home from Tulemar. I am so glad that you are enjoying Tulemar and the area. Please come back and stay with us again. Pura Vida, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA
5

Beautiful Stay in Villa Mot Mot

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent a week in Manuel Antonio on the beautiful property of Tulemar. It is a very resort like atmosphere - pools, restaurant on site, private beach, shuttle drivers, personal concierge - with a Costa Rican twist. That "twist" would be the amazing monkeys, sloths, iguanas, etc that you can see just by hanging out on the property. We stayed in Villa Mot Mot and found it very beautiful. My husband and I, our two kids, and my 84 year old dad stayed in the villa. There are 2 queen beds and a sofa bed that has a pull out mattress for a separate person. That gave us all the room we needed. The balcony was huge with an amazing view of the ocean - plus, it is RIGHT ON the path that the white faced Capuchins like to take to go down the the beach. Several times were were lucky enough to see them come through the trees and play on the balcony for a bit before they moved on their way. We also came home one day to a sloth hanging off the tree just 5 feet from where we were standing. That was so awesome. There are lots of inclines and steps around the property - this Villa in particular is located down lots of little steps so my 84 year old dad really got to get some exercise. Once you get to the top however you can have a shuttle pick up and take you to the beach or up to the front gate of the property. Our concierge for the week was Alcione who worked SO HARD to make everything perfect for us. He checked in everyday, booked our tours, drove us to get our groceries the first day, took us to Quepos, and took our laundry to get done. The man was awesome. He made our stay at Tulemar so easy and comfortable - we really can't thank him enough.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Barb, Thank you for the nice review. Tulemar is a special place as you know. There is so much to do and see. Mot Mot is such a wonderful property that offers great views from balcony. Lots of animals stopping by to say hello. Everyone who stays in this property loves it. I know you can see why. We hope you do come back and stay with us again soon. Pura Vida, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stratham, NH
5

Villa Mot Mot

  • 5 of 5

Spent 5 nights at Villa Mot Mot with our two daughters. Villa was beautiful with a nicely equipped kitchen, great furniture, wifi, comfortable beds, amazing deck overlooking the ocean and lush vegetation. Various monkeys (Titi and White-faced) came and visit multiple times! Concierge service was outstanding - Al and Diego truly take care of all your needs and are always available for you, which provides a great piece of mind. The location is extremely quiet. Beach is nice and quiet as well. Fun amenities are available at no cost - kayaks, boogie boards....David at the beach was great too. So helpful! Restaurant at the main pool was very good - smoothies were delicious. Overall, top quality service and place to stay. Memorable trip. Thanks so much.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks William for staying with us at Mot Mot. I am so glad that you and your family had a great time. Please come back and visit again soon. Tulmar is truly paradise isn't it? Pura Vida, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
5

Villa Mot Mot

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place with an amazing staff. If you are looking for a fantastic place in Manual Antonio, look no further. Everything from the room, view, check-in/out, pools, private beach, and personal concierge was just wonderful. We especially loved our personal concierge, Chris. He was so helpful! He and the other staff members provide you with the best excursions and arranges everything for you (trust me there are some bad excursions/guides if you are not careful). In addition, the place is gated and we felt secure at all times. I never vacation in the same spot twice, but my wife & I agreed we will surely come here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tom for the nice review. Tulemar is a special place as you know. There is so much to do and see. We hope you do come back and stay with us again soon. Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Quepos Airport
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Tulemar Beach
Car: not necessary

Our properties are surrounded by jungle and the wildlife is abundant; you'll see monkeys, sloths and exotic birds throughout the property and on our hiking trails. At the Tulemar Beach you'll find warm, tropical waters with a sandy beach and lots of shady palm trees plus free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towels and food/beverage service.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Manuel Antonio Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sept-Nov 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$375
$2,395
 
 
Pre-Holiday 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Dec 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$450
$2,895
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,725
 
 
Jan 2 - Feb 10, 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 10 2017
1 night minimum stay
$450
$2,895
 
 
Feb 11 - Feb 24, 2017
Feb 11 2017 - Feb 24 2017
1 night minimum stay
$525
$3,395
 
 
Feb 25 - Apr 7, 2017
Feb 25 2017 - Apr 7 2017
1 night minimum stay
$450
$2,895
 
 
April 8 - April 21, 2017
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,795
 
 
Apr 22 - Apr 30, 2017
Apr 22 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$450
$2,895
 
 
May 1 - Aug 31, 2017
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$395
$2,545
 
 
Sep 1 - Nov 17, 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 17 2017
1 night minimum stay
$375
$2,395
 
 
Pre-Holiday 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Dec 22 2017
1 night minimum stay
$450
$2,895
 
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$4,725
 
 
Test Rate
Oct 16 2018 - Oct 17 2018
1 night minimum stay
$96
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$375
$2,395
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 4.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Manuel Antonio Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Access to the only private beach in the area.

Partner Offers