check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Paula Uusitalo

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

Custom Cedar Home - Pool - Partial Ocean View - Gated Community

24 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Puna District House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Warm, spacious, cedar home overlooking the home's natural warm pool and a partial ocean view with palm trees and lovely ocean breezes. The geothermal pool is private and relaxing, the open and covered decks are large, with a spacious open living room area for casual comfortable living. Three bedrooms, two queens, one with two single beds, all with ceiling fans. Very short walk to ocean shoreline, large warm 'Champagne Pond' and further on 'University Pond', ocean pools to snorkel and swim with green sea turtles!! Located in private gated community. Your home away from home, with beautiful sunrises, open skies while cruising on the deck...hear the ocean lulling you to sleep.

Kapoho is country oceanside living not for those who want city life, it is a quiet, relaxing community!

Currently the map is completely inaccurate, if you google map 14-4987 Kapoho Beach Road, Pahoa, HI 96778, it will be accurate. Trying to get corrected with vrbo/homeaway. Feb, 28, 2016

We are at 14-4987 Kapoho Beach Road, Pahoa, HI 96778.

Keywords: Beachhouse

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Paula Uusitalo (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

Why Paula Uusitalo chose Puna District

We purchased the land in 1984, built the house in two phases, 1992 and 1998. It was wonderful to be able to raise the kids there during the years before high school. Swimming in Champagne Pond and quiet community was wonderful.

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Custom Cedar Home - Pool - Partial Ocean View - Gated Community
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
Los Angeles, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

What a great escape! If you love to be near the

water and love to snorkel and explore, come on and

stay at this wonderful house.

The best snorkeling on the Big Island is here with

the Champagne Pond two blocks away and a view

from the deck like nothing other in the early

morning and at night. Stars for days and days to be

a star in this great retreat. If you like remote, this is

for you. Pahoa, which is about 20 mins away has

some great restaurants and a cash only market and

a great natural foods store. This place is changing

like crazy, so get there before the natural life is all

lost. Last 'real' Hawaii is here.

The conservation area, which is a short walk or

drive, is spectacular with snorkeling pools of

splendor. Coral and sealife everywhere.

Watch the tides so you know when to see the sea

turtles in the Champagne Pond. They come and go

with the high tide.

You'll sleep like a baby here, with the winds and

rain that happen to pass in the evening and early

morning.

Too splendid for your get away. Enjoy.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
4

Carefree Kapoho house

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Lovely house in a fantastic setting. Swimming and snorkeling are just moments away. Owner is a wonderful woman. The only negative I could mention was a few screens need fixing but it wasn't really a problem. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great beach location, but major bug problem

  • 2 of 5

We recently stayed at this rental property for a 2 week visit. The house is, shall we say "rustic"? It's a decent amount of space for the price, and is conveniently located within walking distance of Champagne Ponds beach, which is very difficult to access if you are not staying within this gated community, so that is a huge plus. That said, I don't know if it was just the time of year or what, but there was a serious infestation of small flying beetles (best thing I can compare them to is box elder bugs on the mainland), there were hundreds, if it thousands of them, and they were everywhere. The screens on the sliding doors were not sealed, so we had to leave the doors closed to minimize the number of bugs getting in, which made the living space very hot and stuffy. At night, we had to leave almost all the lights off so we weren't pelted by the bugs, and we spent every morning sweeping up dead bugs and eggs off the floors. Also, the listing notes the house has a crib, which was a large part of why we selected this house over others, in reality, it's just a Pack N Play, which isn't the end of the world, but it would've been nice to know that was what we'd be getting (I asked about this in advance and was told it was NOT a pack n play, but a "portable crib with a matress and crib sheet", it was a pack n play w the standard thin pad that comes with it.)

Overall, if the bug issue was resolved, the place would be a decent spot for the price, though I wouldn't recommend it for families with young children (babies, young toddlers) as the only access requires you walk up a lot of stairs, the closets w cleaning supplies, etc. are only covered w curtains, the screens aren't sealed, etc.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Alyx, I am very sorry to hear about the "coconut" beetles. On occasion, they come out of the back woods but thought they were subsiding in volume, not on the increase. I wish you had called, would have sent the handyman and cleaning lady-who lives very close by, to help deal with them. Just because you rent a place does not mean you have to handle such isues. We purchased the screens the house has, so that the view is still there in front, and not blocked by large screen doors. They do close tight, but are a little loose on the top. Sorry they did not help with the bugs, the large side windows will allow breeze. For the port-a-crib, being a first time grandmother just now and never used cribs myself, I do not know what a pack-n-pay is, again so sorry if there was an error there, I would have looked it up if you had asked me, do not remember this ask you write about. The house is a craftsman built natural wood beach house, not a fancy home, the Finnish drying racks in cupboard work really well for dishes and all, no need for a dishwasher among other things. We have vacation rented the house since 2002, with lots of families, young children and babies; they have enjoyed the house tremendously, left wonderful notes in our guest book and have returned for vacations. Many do not want to comment on line, because they want to be able to return. The larger heavy bottle cleaning supplies are on the low shelf, they will be moved, the smaller ones are high, and the screens are not secured at the top, the bottom is pretty tight, they slide out of a casing so the sides are completely there and protective. We do have two expandable child gates, that many use. Again, I am sad that you did not call about the bugs, we are happy you enjoyed Champagne Pond, happy that the house took care of your regular needs and we hope you enjoyed our pond as well, it is wonderful for relaxing. Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for a weekend. My 4 boys were in the geothermal pool from when their eyes opened in the morning until evening. Having the pool available was a convenience to keep an eye on them as I made meals. The walk to champagne pond was very short and easy to find. The water is nice, clear and warm in both ponds.

There was enough room for 10 of us to stay comfortable with the sleeping arrangements. The main bathroom opens up into the living room area so we just left the door closed and used the door from the back side by the washer/dryer. The lanai was nice to lounge on in the evening. The WiFi was helpful since we had no cell service and could I Message everyone as needed.

We would absolutely suggest this lovely home to anyone that wants the vacation without all the foot traffic like the beach lots probably get from visitors swimming in the ponds.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Warm comfortable home with a view and a great snorkeling destination for a good price!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house in a warm friendly neighborhood with fabulous snorkeling around the corner and a cool geothermal pond on the property! My children didn't want to leave the geothermal pond! They had so much fun lazing and discovering all there was to see in the warm pond with crystal clear water! And to have such an amazing snorkeling destination right around the corner was so fun! So many beautiful little fish in a super warm swimming environment. And the house was perfect for us, comfortable with cool evening breezes and a lovely view with glimpses of the ocean... Not to mention the resident gecko(s). My kids named them all! Mahalo for opening your home to us!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
cassopolis, mi
5

Great place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home for 10 days and it was wonderful!!!

The home is within a very nice, clean, gated community and we felt very safe. Being less than a 5 minute walk to the Champagne Ponds, we swam there 5 times. I had read a lot of reviews about the ponds being dirty and was honestly worried about it. But the water was warm, clean and clear. My kids ages 8,9, and 10 felt very safe swimming here. You could venture further out closer to the ocean and see the waves breaking. There was a sloping gravel break at the end of the inlet so there was very little danger of being swept out to sea (or of sharks coming in!) Because of the Champagne Pond being so close, we didn't use the pond on property. But it looked very nice!

We also went to the Waiopae tide pools twice and it was great! You have to go there!!! Only one mile away.

The home seemed to be one of the older ones in the community. But because of that there was a lot of established plant growth all around it. Tall trees, bushes and flowers. There are neighbors on both sides of the home, but the abundant plant life made you feel very secluded. Being able to see the ocean from the lanai was wonderful.

Inside, the home was well furnished. Plenty of bedding and pillows. We had one person sleeping on the couch the whole time and he had no complaints. The two full size beds were older and a little saggy.

There were plenty of windows in the home that we kept open almost all the time. The breezes were great blowing thru the home. When we first entered the house, it smelled a little musty. But after having the windows open for a couple hours, the smell blew out.

The kitchen was nice. Some of the pans were a little grimey. But we just washed them before using. Because of the home being older and in the tropics, some fixtures were a little rusty. But that in no way detracted from the trip. Be aware that the bathroom has an open ceiling. It is right next to the kitchen and living room. So when we needed to "go" we turned on the bathroom faucet to block out any noise. The home was airy enough that there was no problem with any smells coming from the bathroom.

Paula was wonderful to communicate with! She always responded quickly to my texts. Thank you for letting us stay in your home!!!

Final thoughts would be that this home is wonderfully priced for a wonderful trip! It's not fancy, but the location can't be beat. It's like a little oasis in the middle of the jungle.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Pahoa Town
Nearest Golf
28 Miles
Hilo Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Pahoa town
Car: necessary

At our home you can walk to the large warm tide pool 'Champagne Pond' and 'University Pond' for swimming/snorkeling, walking, jogging. A car is needed for the orchid farms, County public hot pond, Pahoa (8 miles), farmer's market, Volcano, Hilo & vicinity, active Kilauea volcano (Volcanoes National Park), waterfalls, tropical gardens, local entertainment & cultural shows, I'imiloa Astronomy Center, observatories, the mountains: Mauna Kea, with its observatories and Mauna Loa, much to see!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$115
$750
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.25%

Weekly rate, $750 is for the first four persons, 12 or older, additional is $10 per person. Taxes, GE and TA, 13.25% apply. For three and four night stay there is a $60.00 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Puna District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2012 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa (1) Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private natural arm geothermal pool, house phone and voice mail service, top line WIFI internet service, Dish TV, Smoke free home (smoking permitted on decks only); easy going country living

Partner Offers