Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Newly built expansive home near Owen park, downtown and West Chop

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

5 Bedroom, 41/2 Bath, 8-10

Walk to town, ferry, shopping, dining, Art Galleries, movie Theater, Tennis, Library and Owen Little Beach, Owen Park and Harbor as well as the Vineyard Haven Yacht Club. Set on 3/4 of an acre, this 3600 sq foot home has all of the amenities. Central AC, hot tub-outside, steam shower and jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom, Thermador Appliances, full dining room, family room with 46 inches LCD TV, Blue Ray DVD player and Wii Games, bonus playroom have a basketball game, 3 in 1 game table( pool, table tennis,air hockey), Samsung 40' LCD 3D TV with Kinect games, Blue Ray 3D DVD Player and fitness room in the basement w/fitness equipment (bowflex and elliptical trainer). Expansive fenced in yard with a great play center. Internet ready. Nicely decorated, this is a great vacation home as well as child friendly. Crib and toys available on request.


Owner
Rainy Goodale
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, indonesian
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2017

About Rainy Goodale

We live year round on the island since 2001, the house was built in 2005 and we've rented the house since 2006. We both works at a family business since we moved here in 2001. We have 3 kids.

Why Rainy Goodale chose Vineyard Haven

Location is very convenient to downtown Vineyard Haven and yet you still have the feeling of privacy and space.

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Martha's Vineyard Airport
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Mink Meadows Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
Le Grenier
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Owen Park, Tashmoo beach
Car: not necessary

Walk to town, ferry, shopping, dining, Art Galleries, movie Theater, Mink Meadows Golf Course, Tennis, Library and Owen Little Beach, Owen Park and Harbor as well as the Vineyard Haven Yacht Club.

Amenities

Vineyard Haven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , steam shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - outdoor shower
  • Master Bath #1 has a double sinks, jetted tub,steam and 6 towers shower. We also have outdoor shower and the 5th full bathroom is down in the basement.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , full w/trundle & twin
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • Master Bedroom #1 has its own bath and a walk in closet; two bedrooms #2 and #3 have access to a shared full bath from the room. Bedroom #4 has a common full bath. Bedroom #5 share a half bath.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Child's Swing
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Sand Box
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Newly built expansive home near Owen park, downtown and West Chop
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
1

Renters Beware!!!

  • 1 of 5

I will start out by saying that the home is in good condition and in a great location. However, I would caution anyone who rents this home. The home is advertised on HomeAway, but the home owner does not follow the agreement on the website.

1st red flag: The home was listed on the HomeAway website for a certain rate for the week. When attempting to rent the home, the home owner writes back to say the regular rate is actually higher than listed. False advertising, but fair enough, I agreed to the change.

2nd red flag: When we arrived, the home had a very strong curry/spice smell that we had to open the windows to air out every time we got back to the house. When it was time to go to bed, we found a blood stain on one of the pillows downstairs along with hair and stains on the sheets. The master bedroom shower had a very strong odor of mold and actual black mold growing on the tile grout and door along with rusty fixtures. Another bathroom had black mold growing on the shower curtain. We all shared one shower. Half the bathroom sinks and showers would not drain properly (clogged). There were plenty of spare sheets and we did not spend a lot of time in the home so we did not contact the owner. Since we did not give the owner a chance to remedy the situation, we did not request any reduction in the advertised cleaning fee.

3rd red flag: When requesting the damage deposit back, the owner states that the website is wrong about the cleaning fee and that the “real” cleaning fee will be deducted from the damage deposit. She also added a trash fee for any trash we accumulated, but when we arrived, all 5 bins were full of trash, and we had to get a separate box to add our trash to. More evidence that the cleaners probably did not come to the home.

Long story short, renters beware of hidden charges.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to this renter claims on this review. This renter contacted me before the season of 2016 is over so I still probably have all the rates from previous season. Which he was looking to rent at the end of the summer season for the following year which I haven't updated the rate yet. I usually ended the season a week of labor day weekend as the last week of the summer season. I don't think there is any false advertising on my part. I know I am probably not fast on updating info on the site as I should have.. for the 2nd flag, Unfortunately my care taker without letting me know he had to leave for the weekend and he did the trash for the previous week renter a day early not the day of the check out day. So between the rest of the trash from the outgoing renter and the cleaners after they have done cleaning the house we might have some trash. So in this case I will take the blame for that. But this renter did not even mentioned that when he arrived which I can certainly have someone take care of the trash for him. I just found this out now reading his review. The same about all his complains about the sheets, bathroom, shower curtains etcs. He emailed me all this complains the night before he check out of the house. If he did let me know all this complains right away, I would have had someone come check it all out and try to solve all of his complains and have the cleaners come back and clean the house again. If renters tell me after the facts, I cannot complain to the cleaners if I don't have any proof that they're not doing what they're suppose to do. About the cleaning fee, I did call homeaway and ask about the website why aren't they listing the amount as I listed for. They said they can only put the minimum price that I listed and not putting the explanation it depends on how long the cleaners take to clean the house. Beware of this renter I should have noticed that when he said he will do the rent thru the site directly instead of directly with the homeowners. He mentioned something if he needs to cancel, I didn't really think much of that until I just realized that apparently he requested to his credit company to request his deposit back which I am willing to return after I got the cleaning bill but I guess he refused to wait and just submitted a request thru his credit card company and said that HE CANCEL THE RESERVATION TO STAY IN OUR HOUSE which it's obvious that he did in fact stay in our house.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Rhode Island
5

Perfect Home

  • 5 of 5

What a "gorgeous home" with lots of amenities and plenty of living space. During our stay we felt right at home with the large kitchen, expanded "great room", jacuzzi tub and the recreation room was just what we needed on our 1 and only day it rained. Rainy and Peter were gracious landlords who respond to your request in a reasonable time. I wish the two of them the "BEST" with their comfy, gorgeous home..... BTW... can't wait to return in 2017!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful home with great owners

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our needs. The house is well-appointed, clean, and spacious. The owners were very helpful and responsive whenever we had a question. I can't say enough about them and their commitment to the home and us. The furniture is comfortable in all living areas and bedrooms. The description and pictures that appear in the listing are accurate. The location is great, being so close to shops, restaurants, and anything else we wanted to do in Vineyard Haven. We hope to return to Vineyard Haven in the future and to this great rental home.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward your next visit to the Vineyard.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

  • 5 of 5

We found this home to be everything we could have asked for. From the wonderful hot tub to the basement exercise room and the second floor game room. All the beds were very comfortable and the master bedroom was awesome. Would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great rental property - beautiful home!

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our time at our home away from home for the week. House was perfect for 4 couples. Could have had 1 more couple and still been perfectly comfortable. Dishwasher didn't work which is why I didn't rate it 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. The 4th day you texted me you're using the dishwasher and it leaked. So my husband came and checked on the dishwasher and we thought we fixed it. He did tested and it runs with no leaks. Unfortunately two days later the dishwasher leaked again on your last night and you said you don't need the dishwasher to be fix for you because you're leaving the next day. So the next day we came and check our dishwasher. We found that the top drawer there is a leak, and we found that the bottom drawer works. We did call the professional to come fix our top drawer which schedule to be fix this saturday. So we have a bottom drawer of the dishwasher works. You did ask me if the bottom drawer works or not and I didn't think I gave you an answer on that, I am sorry, you could've had one dishwasher drawer works for you. I am sorry that you had a problem with the dishwasher, other than the dishwasher I hope you had a wonderful vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place for a Family Get Together

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable place and a very short walk into Vineyard Haven. Everything worked well for us. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are most welcome Richard! I'm glad that everything worked well for you and your family. Looking forward to rent to you and your family again. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $35/hr,approxim $280
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Rental is $3200-$4000/Week, saturday 3pm check in thru saturday 9 am checkout.
Weekly rate June 13th 2015 thru June 27TH is $3600 June 27th thru August 1st is $3800 rent saturday thru saturday, August 1st thru Aug 29th is $4000, check in time 3:00 pm, checkout time 9:00 am.
Deposit $ 1000.00 refundable, Full rental due three months before the rental date and cancellation fee $ 750.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties