check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Walkabout Retreat Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Tropical Paradise Oceanfront Home with Pool, Beach, Hot Tub.

22 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cudjoe Key House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This beautifully decorated home with private beach and large floating dock is surrounded by thick, lush, tropical foliage including banana, papaya, palm trees, and many tropical flowers. The master bedroom overlooks the swim tub and ocean. There is one king bed, one queen beds, 2 single beds and 1 queen futon. The screened-in porch encloses with vinyl sliding windows.

Kayaks and bikes are provided. Great restaurants, day spa and gym within one mile.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Walkabout Retreat Vacation Rentals (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Walkabout Retreat Vacation Rentals

I've been in the vacation rental business for 11 years and specialize in providing lovely water front homes in the lower Florida Keys. I've lived in the Keys for 23 years and love to help my customers create the best vacation experience ever.

Walkabout Retreat Vacation Rentals purchased this house in 1995

Why Walkabout Retreat Vacation Rentals chose Lower Florida Keys

The Lower Florida Keys has peace and quiet, nature, tropical living, Bahia Honda State park and Key West.

What makes this house unique

The Tropical Paradise has lush tropical landscape including papayas, mangos, avacados, bananas, coconuts and other fruits and tropical flowers. The ocean view is one of the best.

Reviews

4.6
based on 22 traveler reviews

Tropical Paradise Oceanfront Home with Pool, Beach, Hot Tub.
average rating of 4.590909 based on 22 reviews
Charleston, SC
5

So glad I changed our plans and found this house!

  • 5 of 5

I had originally reserved a larger house a few streets down from this one. That was when there was going to be a much larger group. However, due to the fact that some friends were unable to commit to a vacation so far out, we had to cancel that house and I found this one.

Tropical Paradise is the perfect name for this house. The views are better than what you'd see on the Travel Channel. I wish I could post some pictures, words just can't do it justice. We spent a week there and had a fantastic time! I brought my boat and we went out fishing and snorkeling just about everyday. Being just 20 minutes or so from Key West we did go into town a few times, but this allowed us to be able to explore more of the Keys and find the secret spots only the locals know about. If you can find it, Boca Chica beach is amazing for exploring and the stories you can hear from the locals are fantastic. There is also a great snorkeling place at the Ram Rod Yacht Club. It's not on a map, but if you ask the right questions, it's supper easy to find.

We cooked most of our meals at the house, but I do wish we had been able to eat them all at Mangrove Mama's. I highly recommend it. Best conch fritters (more conch meat than any we had in Key West) in the Keys and their smoked fish dip is to die for. The house was perfect for two couples. It had everything we needed. The kitchen is fully stocked and the screen porch is perfect for dinner. The pool, while not huge was perfect for relaxing after a long day in the hot sun, or for watching the sun rise. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and my wife loved the sheets so much, she found out the brand and bought a set the moment we got home. Our friends enjoyed the kayaks and going out into the bay to watch the sunsets.

Although there was a little hiccup with getting the deposit in on time, Shannon and Amy worked well with us and were extremely accommodating. The only suggestion I have is to look into accepting payment via Pay-Pal. It is a very safe a secure method of on-line payments and is usually quicker than cashing a check. Overall, I will recommend this house to all of my friends and I am already planning my return trip.

Thank you Shannon and Amy for a fantastic vacation. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Checks a Lot of Boxes

  • 5 of 5

Wow, view from back of house is awesome. What a great place to relax for a week! Your backyard is Cudjoe Bay, you have a pool, a hot tub, hammock and accessible kayaks every day. And, they are pet friendly, so dog and daughters were happy, too. Very close to great snorkeling and Key West. If you want to feel secluded, but also close to big fun, this is your place.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rosemary

  • 5 of 5

My husband and i were very impressed with the property. Beautiful location, lovely home and extremely friendly management. i have recommended this home to several friends.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

This house is wonderfully sited with vegetation blocking the neighbors on one side, providing a feeling of privacy. It is truly a tropical paradise with wonderful plantings and a fabulous water view. You can eat inside, on a large screen porch facing protected Cudjoe bay, or outside on the deck under an umbrella. Although not of upscale construction, the house and grounds are impeccably kept by a caring staff. The house catches the prevailing southeast breezes, so one is always cool. Besides the pool and hot tub, there is even a float for swimming or boating. A perfect vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couldn't be a better Keys beachfront rental!

  • 5 of 5

The 2br house and grounds are a perfect Florida Keys experience. And just 20 minutes north of Key West.

Lush tropical landscaping provides a very private Caribbean-like environment, with a gorgeous view that overlooks the open ocean from both the pool deck & master BR.

House is in excellent condition and fully equipped. And all the hi-quality critical amenities (water sports/restaurants/grocery stores) are just minutes away.

We also had perfect weather (mid-May) so I can only say: Excellent!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Holland, Michigan
5

Beautiful paradise

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say how much we loved this house! We spent one week in this tropical paradise. We were 6 people: my husband and I, our 3 children (16,13 and 10) and grandma! There was something to do everyday for everyone! The house was very clean, beds were very comfortable, kitchen had everything one needed... The pool was perfect... Even though it is small my 10 year old would spend most of her time in it. The older kids enjoyed the dock fishing and using the kayaks in the bay! We all enjoyed snorkling just a few miles away from the house and caught some delicious lobsters. We also took day trips to Bahia Honda and key west which are both just a short trip away! There is a store right down the road for things you might have missed and bait for fishing. The key next to Cudjoe key has a Winn Dixie where you can get all your supplies for the week!

We enjoyed watching the iguanas sunbathe every morning on the sea wall.. The kids named then Ralph, Zoe and jasper. We also rented a boat in summerland key for 2 days. It worked perfect to go to Looe key snorkling and explore nearby islands. We used it to go fishing, lobstering and snorkling! Shannon has a recomendation folder with all the local restaurants and their menus. This was very helpful. We enjoyed the quietness of the area, sunrises, sunsets and incoming thunderstorms which would only last about 15 min. She also has two other properties next to each other but they all have their own boat dock and private beach access! I do think thought that the tropical paradise has the most privacy. The house also comes with a washer and dryer which was very handy with kids. We had to contact Shannon about a problem with the pool but she was there in 20 min. and solved it very quickly. Overall I can't wait to go back to this beautiful place again. Thumbs up all the way! Thanks Shannon for this beautiful house!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Car: necessary

21 miles from Key West, 15 miles from Bahia Honda State Park which has beautiful beaches. Kayaks come with rental.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cudjoe Key House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Special Fall Discount
Sep 24 2016 - Oct 22 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$267
$1,869
 
 
Fantasy Fest
Oct 23 2016 - Nov 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$372
 
 
Fall Discount
Nov 2 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$297
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,193
 
 
Fall Discount
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 23 2016
3 night minimum stay
$297
$2,075
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,513
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,689
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Security Damage Waiver $74
Cleaning Fee $211
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.5%

Keys Holiday's: Christmas Week, New Years Week, Mini Lobster Season (last week in July) Opening Lobster Season (first 2 weeks in August) & Thanksgiving
Holiday Rate: $3307/week + tax
Cleaning Fee: $184.00-$215.00 depending on number of people and pets
Pet Fee: $100.00
Taxes: 12.5%
Security Deposit: $200.00 (Refundable)
Security Waiver: $74.18

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cudjoe Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties