check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Liza Mishler

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College

24 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New Paris House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 baths. Huge yard to accommodate a gathering of friends

This property, while in the country, is still close to many interesting activities. The house is conveniently located near Johnstown, Altoona, Bedford and State College. The guest house is just 10 minutes off the turnpike.

There are brochures in the guest house for information on local places to visit. The brochures will direct guests to everything from spa's, shopping, antiques, bike trails, museums, covered bridges, hiking, skiing, and so much more.

I have been a life long antique and folk art collector as well as a shop keeper for over 25 years. The guest house showcases all that I love, antiques, folk art, quality reproductions coupled with my commitment to provide all the comforts of home. One of our guests wrote "the house is a great respite to decompress from the daily grind, sitting on the back porch listening to the birds sing."

This three bedroom house is on a 144 acre farm that is rich with history. The Spring Meadow farm was deeded in 1796 and the earliest owners were Quakers. Some of the Quakers that lived on this farm were involved in the underground railroad. Another interesting fact is just before the civil war President Buchanan would visit here. In the 1880's senator John M. Reynolds bought the farm at a sheriff sale. He had the road paved between the barn and the train station so he would have a smooth horse and buggy ride when he needed to head to Washington. It was the only paved road in the entire county. That is a sampling of the history here.

The guest house is nestled between the 1840's house and the barn. Come sit on the screened in back porch and sip coffee, tea, or drink of choice and enjoy the scenic views and the wildlife (birds, ground hogs, and deer). In the evenings you can grill out on the porch, swing in the hammock,or have a bon-fire. We also provide 2 cannondale bikes for your use. A great place to unwind with all the amenities of home.

We have hosted reunions, birthdays, quiet getaways and even weddings. Rent our Guest House and revisit life in simpler times.

Try a women's weekend! I have had many groups of women who have come and enjoyed a girls weekend. Some shopped, some cooked, some did crafts, some just enjoyed chatting with their friends, some have had a wine tasting party, and some have celebrated birthdays. No matter what they came to do, they all have enjoyed this guest house. Many are planning return visits. You can't go wrong spending a weekend with your girlfriends.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Liza Mishler (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
Yellow Springs, OH
4

Perfect Bedford & Flight 93 Memorial Location

  • 4 of 5

Tastefully appointed guest home with early American decor. Lovely country setting. Bedford (restaurants, shops, etc.) are only 15 minutes away and Flight 93 Memorial is a lovely 30 minute drive though the mountains. Only thing that could have made it better would be central air (vs. window a/c & fans) and more clarity on the "smart" TV.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience at the Spring Meadows Guest house. Was perfect for family get togethers and lots of room for the kids to play. The owners were very accommodating, we'll definitely be back for another stay.....Eva and Bryan

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was my pleasure to have your family stay at Spring Meadow guest house. I was happy that you were able to have friends and family come visit during your stay. With all the ground and parking it is a great gathering place. I look forward to your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orlando Florida
5

Great family space

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here while in town for a family reunion. The kids loved the country, fishing, campfires, grilling out, eating on the porch, space to run around and it was so nice to have our own space to return home to after a long day! Great having a washer and dryer also

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5

My experience included a great day with friends!! The quiet setting added to the ambiance of the quaint home we stayed in. The private area was so accommodating with parking and space for all to enjoy! All necessities were available and I felt at home during our stay. I look forward to another great gathering!!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mobile, AL
5

Adorable and spacious getaway

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a long girls weekend. Cottage is full of antiques and so much character, has all the amenities you could need for a getaway. Very clean and well kept, it's obvious the owners care (and are super friendly). Huge screened porch with a lovely PA countryside view, we even had the opportunity to build a fire and roast some smores! Highly recommended

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your stay and your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bedford, PA
5

Most thought out and charming vrbo I've ever stayed at!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed there for my bachelorette gathering. It was wonderful! The setting outside is gorgeous as well as the decorating style inside. The owners were fabulous and had firewood for us to have a campfire in the evening. We loved our time on the back porch having a glass of wine. There were also yard games available for us to use. We had a fabulous time! This is great for a girls weekend! This house does not disappoint!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

I recommend to our guests to try and visit some of the things listed here.Omni Bedford Springs Spa, The Coverlet museum, Old Bedford Village, The Fort Museum, Antique shopping, Johnstown Flood museum and Heritage museum, Shawnee Park, Blue Knob Park, Lakemont Amusement Park, DelGrosso Amusement Park, Altoona Curve baseball, Frank LLoyd Wright's Falling Waters, & more. There are many things to do within driving distance. Or many guests opt to just relax at the house play yard games and have evening bonfires.

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Paris House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$169
Fri,Sat,Sun
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%

Please call for more information 814 839-9120

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

New Paris House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
Notes:
Located on a historic 144 acre farm, antique and gift shop located on property. Nearby covered bridges, lots of bike trails, fishing nearby, close to two state parks Blue Knob and Shawnnee Park (fishing, boating, and skiing).

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties