check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Property Manager

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish

Modern Apartment in the Historic Center of Oaxaca

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

RUTA INDEPENDENCIA Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom (Sleeps 2), 1 Bath and Kitchenette

Welcome!

Oaxaca's historic center is at your doorstep--the apartments are located six blocks north of the Zocalo and two blocks west of the Santo Domingo Church.

While you are exploring the delights of Oaxaca, we provide a comfortable, safe, private and affordable home in the heart of our beautiful city.

The completely furnished one-bedroom apartments have private Living, Dining, Kitchenette, and Bathroom areas. Each is carefully designed to have ample amounts of natural light, a view of the garden and plenty of privacy.

The apartment is one of six apartments we offer at this location, each with the same amenities and services.

Thank you for considering our location and please contact us with any questions.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)
Modern Apartment in the Historic Center of Oaxaca
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
4

Enjoyed our stay

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Casa Camila for five nights during a recent visit to Oaxaca. It is extremely well located on Calle Vigil--a short walk to the Zocolo and well situated for the many nearby excellent places to east in the 500 and 600 blocks of Vigil. The Sanchez Pascuas food market is just a couple of blocks away. Apartments are well built and maintained with plenty of room for two people. Most importantly, the off street inner courtyard location provided a lot of peace ad quiet. And the apartments are good value for money.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Independence, MO, USA
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 10 nights in the second floor 'Otono' apartment. It was super clean and nicely furnished. Although we didn't cook any meals the kitchen appeared to be stocked well enough to do so. Drinking water was provided. It has plenty of natural light and big windows to let a nice breeze in, it never felt hot. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom has a nice size closet. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. The wifi is fast and has a good signal, the router is right outside the front door. The location is perfect. It is directly across the street from the Iglesia Carmen Alto which made it very easy to tell the taxi driver to take you to the church instead of giving a street address. The only down side was when the stool was flushed there was a sewer odor but we told them about it when we left and they were going to call a plumber so I would assume that is no longer a problem. All in all an excellent value for the money.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Wanaka , New Zealand
5

A month in Oaxaca

  • 5 of 5

I was lucky enough to stay in three of the Casita camilla apartments during my month in Oaxaca I found them to be even nicer than the photos and particularly loved their simplicity,Each day arriving home with my purchases , the apartment started to be transformed into my own little Oaxaca,,All three apartments had their own charm. To step off Garcia Vigil street through the solid door into the shop of beautiful local artefacts , through the next locked door to the calmness of the apartments and garden area meant coming home each day from the colourful alive Oaxaca was a safe clean oasis.Well equipped , cleaned by Rosi x 2 per week , and greeted by Selene as you leave or arrive home , a welcome addition to what the apartments provide,.I loved having a blender to make fruit smoothies from daily fresh fruit at the market around the corner, to have a coffee machine , to have constant hot water , and to have a very comfortable bed . I was lucky enough to meet Adriana whom I had dealt with by Internet and she is delightfully gracious and helpful as was Her husband John. I had been recommended the apartments by another New Zealand friend and am so happy to have followed her recommendation,Central Oaxaca , a few steps from wonderful restaurants and St Domingo plaza and a gentle stroll to the Zocalo...and then home to your safe haven..what more could one want.!!,Thankyou Casita Camilla for a wonderful month of rich Oaxacan hospitality,

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Alberta, Canada
2

cm

  • 2 of 5

The location is excellent, very central for all of historic Oaxaca. Also, felt very safe. While the apartment was basically clean do not expect it to look like the pictures in the review. When I think of Mexico I think of bright colours and the apartment is all drab browns and tans, no pictures on the living room walls, no carpet under the coffee table and very worn out bedding and towels. Bedding was changed once a week and only one bath towel and hand towel allowed. I asked for a second bath towel as I have very thick hair - didn't get it. The kitchen is poorly equipped. The only knife other than the 4 table knives was a 10" bread knife - try peeling fruit with that! Rosie, who cleans, doesn't speak English and when Selena came (once) while I was there she whipped through and I didn't know who she was until after she was gone.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have updated all photos to represent current conditions in the apartments. We have also changed out all sheets and towels and have added addition utensils in the kitchen, including additional knives. Selene operates the shop in front of the apartments and is present most days. And as the guest mentioned, Rosi is present in the apartments most days. We are also accessible through phone and internet.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2
Victoria, BC, Canada
3

Great location, some issues for improvement

  • 3 of 5

As other reviewers noted, the location is perfect. The price is reasonable and email communication with Adriana for arranging the rental was efficient. Other people staying in the complex were super helpful and friendly. However, in the interest of honesty, we need to point out some areas for improvement for the Sol apartment that we rented for a week. 1) better arrangements for checking in and getting the key. Waited over an hour, then had to go phone before someone showed up. Fortunately, other people staying there had a phone number to give us and kindly let us into the front area to wait after checking that we had email confirmation and were bona fide guests. 2) better housecleaning -- the bottoms of our sandals have never been so black and the tiny bath mat in the bathroom was stained and smelly -- we had to put it elsewhere, otherwise the bathroom would have been too stinky. 3) large red ants crawling in the bedroom area and stairs -- fortunately, weren't bitten but killed many. 4) only one outlet in the bedroom so if the very loud fan was on, cannot have the bedside light on. 5) wi-fi signal was very poor. 6) dangerous outlet for fridge -- over the gas stove! No other available outlet. For a short stay, it was ok, but presumably the other units are better, given the reviews and return customers.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate and welcome the client's comments. We do take them seriously and will review and address all concerns. We do attempt to provide excellent service, amenities and wish to be proactive to all concerns. We only wish we had heard from the client during their stay. We wish to welcome the client back so we can show what we truly offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
SF Bay Area, CA, USA
5

Truly Lovely Place

  • 5 of 5

We want to join the chorus of other good reviews and say that Casa Camila is an absolutely lovely place! For the past four or five years, this has been our home base in Oaxaca. It is quiet, super clean, and a great location for exploring the city. Adriana and Selene do a wonderful job with managing the apartments - and Rosi, the housekeeper, is as sweet as can be. On the one hand, we don't want this secret to get out; on the other, Adriana and Selene need to be recognized for their stellar efforts in creating such a comfortable and safe place in downtown Oaxaca. Note: If you want to party hard, this is not your place. If you want a quiet getaway in an ideal location in Oaxaca, this is it.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

RUTA INDEPENDENCIA Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$50
$350
$840
 

Additional information about rental rates

Additional rate breaks at 2 weeks and 3 weeks

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

RUTA INDEPENDENCIA Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom -
  • Shower, pedestal sink and toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Maid Service

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties